The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 4: Vegetables
Onion, Leek

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Downy Mildew, Purple Blotch, Botrytis Leaf Blight
  3. Leek Moth
  4. Onion Maggots
  5. Thrips
  6. Learn More

Introduction

In this chapter, a description of various onion and leek pests will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

Downy Mildew, Purple Blotch, Botrytis Leaf Blight

Downy mildew, purple blotch and Botrytis leaf blight are common fungal diseases, causing leaf spotting and discolouration, particularly on Egyptian tree onions, onions grown from sets, Spanish onions and multiplier bulbs. Under humid conditions, fuzzy fungal growth may be observed. The diseases favour wet conditions.

Management Options

Destroy diseased onion leaves and discarded bulbs at harvest time. Plant in open, sunny locations and avoid overhead watering. Do not apply too much nitrogen. Dry cooking onions properly for winter storage can discourage bulb rot.

Leek Moth

The leek moth, or onion leafminer, is an invasive pest from Europe that damages species in the allium family. In Eastern Ontario and Quebec, leek moth damage has been recorded in garlic, leek and onion fields. The larvae tunnel mines and create pinholes in leaf tissue and scapes, sometimes causing leaf distortion. They occasionally attack the bulb and stem. Damage to garlic cloves may predispose them to diseases. Larvae are yellowish-green with small, greyish spots and a pale brown head. The adult is a small, reddish-brown moth with a white triangular mark on the middle of the folded wings. Adults emerge in the spring when temperatures reach 9.5°C, mate and lay eggs. There are three generations per season, with damage typically increasing as the season progresses.

Management Options

Remove and destroy old and infested leaves, and destroy all plant debris following harvest. Inspect plants for pupae or larvae and destroy them. Early harvesting can help to avoid damage by the last generation of larvae and reduce population build-up. Use of floating row covers can help protect developing plants from leek moth damage.

Onion Maggots

Onion maggots can cause severe damage every year in some areas but not in others. Be guided by local experience. In May, the first-generation flies lay their eggs near onion plants, seldom near leeks. The white maggots attack the lower stem of the plant soon afterwards and tunnel inside, killing many plants. Yellowing of leaves is usually the first sign of a problem, and indicates that maggots are feeding on the roots. Maggots from second generation flies cause less damage during late July and early August and plants are seldom killed. The last generation eggs hatch in mid-September.

Management Options

Plant onion sets (small, dormant bulb) after June 1 to escape most first-generation maggots. Do not sow seeds at this time, as it is too late. Buy sets early and store them in a refrigerator to keep them in good condition until planting time. If all affected onions are collected and destroyed, there will be very few maggots to overwinter. Follow proper garden sanitation procedures.

Thrips

Thrips cause stippling or streaking on leaves. The small insects are seldom observed but can be found in the centre of the plant or in the folds of the leaf. Spanish onions and green onions are particularly susceptible. On Spanish onions, severe thrips injury promotes secondary bacterial rots. For more information, see the Thrips section of Chapter 1.

Management Options

Thrips may migrate in from weedy areas and grasslands, so try to avoid planting near these areas. A spray of water will help reduce thrips populations. Vigorous plants are more resistant to damage so ensure plants are not stressed. Follow garden sanitation procedures.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 4: Légumes
Oignon, poireau

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Mildiou, tache pourpre de l'oignon, moisissure grise de l'oignon
  3. Teigne du poireau
  4. Mouche de l'oignon
  5. Thrips
  6. Liens connexes

Introduction

Ce chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs des oignons et des poireaux ainsi que des conseils sur diverses méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Les jardiniers amateurs peuvent encore se procurer certains biopesticides et certains pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Mildiou, tache pourpre de l'oignon, moisissure grise de l'oignon

Le mildiou, la tache pourpre de l'oignon et la moisissure grise de l'oignon sont des maladies fongiques communes qui se manifestent par des taches et une décoloration des feuilles, surtout sur les oignons arborescents d'Égypte, les oignonets, les oignons espagnols et les bulbes de multiplication. Par temps humide, on remarque parfois l'apparition d'une moisissure diffuse. L'humidité favorise ces maladies.

Méthodes de lutte

Détruire les feuilles d'oignon malades et les bulbes rejetés au moment de la récolte. Cultiver dans un emplacement dégagé et ensoleillé, et éviter l'arrosage par aspersion. Éviter l'excès d'engrais azotés. Pour l'entreposage hivernal, le séchage adéquat des oignons de cuisson permet d'éviter en partie la pourriture du bulbe.

Teigne du poireau

La teigne du poireau est une espèce envahissante d'origine européenne qui s'attaque aux plantes de la famille de l'ail. Dans l'Est ontarien et au Québec, on a relevé des dommages causés par ce ravageur dans les cultures d'ail, de poireaux et d'oignons. Les larves creusent des galeries et font des piqûres d'aiguille dans les tissus foliaires et les gousses, ce qui cause parfois une déformation des feuilles. À l'occasion, elles s'attaquent au bulbe et à la tige. Les dommages infligés aux gousses d'ail peuvent prédisposer celles ci aux maladies. Les larves sont vert jaunâtre avec de petites taches grisâtres et une tête brun pâle. L'adulte est un petit papillon brun rougeâtre qui porte une marque triangulaire blanche au milieu des ailes lorsque celles ci sont repliées. Au printemps, lorsque les températures atteignent 9,5 oC, les adultes émergent, s'accouplent et pondent. Il y a trois générations par saison, les dommages devenant généralement de plus en plus importants au fur et à mesure que la saison avance.

Méthodes de lutte

Enlever et détruire toutes les vieilles feuilles et celles qui sont infestées, et détruire tous les débris végétaux après la récolte. Inspecter les plants pour y rechercher les pupes et les larves, et les tuer. Il peut être utile de récolter tôt pour éviter les dommages causés par la dernière génération de larves et limiter la croissance de la population. Les cloches peuvent être utiles pour protéger les plants en développement de cet insecte.

Mouche de l'oignon

Dans certaines régions, la larve de la mouche de l'oignon cause chaque année des dommages sérieux tandis que d'autres régions sont épargnées. Il est donc conseillé de se renseigner sur les antécédents de sa région. En mai, les mouches de la première génération pondent leurs oeufs à proximité des oignons, mais rarement près des poireaux. Peu après, les larves blanches attaquent la partie inférieure de la plante et y creusent des galeries. De nombreux plants en meurent. Le jaunissement des feuilles est habituellement le premier symptôme observé et signifie que les larves ravagent les racines. De la fin juillet au début d'août, les larves de la deuxième génération de mouches causent moins de dégâts et les plants meurent rarement. Les œufs de la dernière génération éclosent à la mi septembre.

Méthodes de lutte

Planter les oignonets (petits bulbes dormants) après le 1er juin pour éviter la plupart des larves de la première génération. Il est trop tard à cette date pour semer en pleine terre. Acheter les oignonets tôt dans la saison et les mettre au réfrigérateur pour les garder en bon état jusqu'au repiquage. Si tous les oignons infestés sont ramassés et détruits, très peu de larves hiverneront. Entretenir rigoureusement le jardin.

Thrips

Les thrips laissent des pointillés ou des marbrures sur le feuillage. On voit rarement ces petits insectes car ils se cachent au centre de la plante ou dans les plis de la feuille. Les oignons espagnols et les oignons verts y sont particulièrement sensibles. Sur les oignons espagnols, les dommages graves causés par les thrips peuvent dégénérer en pourritures bactériennes secondaires. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur les thrips au Chapitre 1.

Méthodes de lutte

Comme les thrips peuvent migrer à partir des espaces envahis par les mauvaises herbes et les prairies, éviter de placer les cultures près de ces endroits. Un jet d'eau permet de réduire les populations de thrips. Comme les plants vigoureux résistent mieux aux dommages causés par ces ravageurs, éviter de les exposer au stress. Entretenir soigneusement le jardin.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca