The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 4: Vegetables
Cucumber, Melon, Pumpkin, Squash, Zucchini

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Cucumber Beetles
  3. Cucumber Scab
  4. Cucurbit downy mildew
  5. Leaf Spots
  6. Powdery Mildew
  7. Seed-corn Maggots
  8. Squash Bugs
  9. Squash Vine Borers
  10. Learn More

Introduction

Cucurbits are pollinated by bees and some insecticides may be very harmful to them.

In this chapter, a description of various cucurbit pests will be provided along with suggested management options. These management options will not include the use of pesticides. Some biopesticides and certain reduced risk pesticides are still available to the homeowner for controlling weeds and pests in lawns and gardens. For more information, refer to Chapter 2 of this handbook and the Ministry of the Environment's website. For suggestions on managing specific weeds and pests, consult local horticulturalists, Master Gardeners or your local garden supply centre.

Cucumber Beetles

Cucumber beetles are a common problem. They are striped yellow and black or yellow with black dots and are about 6 mm long. They move quickly when disturbed. Young plants are killed by defoliation and older plants wilt and die from bacterial disease carried by beetles.

Management Options

Remove beetles by hand or, for large numbers, use a portable vacuum to remove adults in the early evening. Place in a sealed plastic bag or a bucket of soapy water and dispose of them. Floating row covers may prevent damage to young seedlings, but need to be removed when blossoms appear to allow for pollination.

Cucumber Scab

Cucumber scab symptoms appear as grey, sunken spots on the fruit, darkening and sinking with age, sometimes exuding a gummy substance. Most of the injury occurs on the fruit but leaves may have water-soaked spots and stems may have cankers. Cooler night temperatures from mid-summer on favour this disease.

Management Options

Remove and destroy all plant residues in fall. Plant resistant cultivars or consider a long crop rotationrotating out of cucurbit crops for 2 to 3 years.

Cucurbit Downy Mildew

Downy mildew is a serious fungal disease of cucurbit crops. Infected leaves develop pale green areas on the upper leaf surface. The lower leaf surface may be covered with a downy, grey-to-purple mould with visible black spores. Cucumbers are the most susceptible to infection; however melons and other vine crops can be affected by certain strains of this disease. Cucurbit downy mildew will not affect plants from other crop families. Downy mildew is windborne and highly infectious. It can destroy a crop in less than 1 week. Downy mildew is favoured by cool, wet or humid weather conditions. At present downy mildew spores do not appear to be able to survive Ontario's cold winters. The disease overwinters in southern regions and spores usually blow in from the southern U.S. and Mexico, during the spring and early summer. In recent years, spores have been blowing up in late May or early June, resulting in early infection of cucumber crops.

Management Options

Purchase transplants from reliable sources and ensure they are free from disease. Ensure there is adequate air circulation between plants. Avoid overwatering and water in the morning so plants have time to dry. Avoid watering the foliage by directing the water toward the base of the plant. Cucurbit downy mildew is a devastating disease and, once it appears in an area, plant loss is generally unavoidable. In some areas of Ontario it may be very difficult to maintain cucumbers throughout the growing season.

Leaf Spots

Leaf spots on cucurbits can be caused by a number of bacterial or fungal pathogens. Small, circular spots appear on the leaves. They may be "water-soaked" and angular in appearance, or dry and reddish brown with a yellow halo, yellow to brown with concentric rings. The lesions often turn brown and fall out, leaving holes in the leaf, or grow together, causing the leaves to drop from the vines and leading to a reduction in crop yield and quality.

Management Options

Plant resistant varieties. Remove infected leaves and remove and destroy all plant residue at the end of the season to eliminate overwintering sites. Do not compost. Avoid wetting the leaves when watering. For some leaf spot pathogens, it may be necessary to rotate out of cucurbits for 2-3 years.

Powdery Mildew

Powdery mildew is a fungal disease that appears as a dry talcum powder-like mass of white spores on upper leaf surfaces during hot, humid days and cool nights, resulting in the death of the leaf tissue. When severe, mildew significantly reduces crop yield and causes the plant to die prematurely.

Management Options

Plant resistant varieties. Plant in unshaded areas and ensure air circulation is adequate. If symptoms are limited in extent, remove and destroy diseased tissue.

Seed-corn Maggots

For information and management options, see the section on corn pests.

Squash Bugs

Squash bugs are sap-sucking insects in the plant bug family affecting mainly pumpkin and squash, but sometimes cucumber and melon. Young bugs, or nymphs, are grey; adults are dark brown and about 17 mm long. Affected areas of leaves, stems and vines are lighter in colour at first and later turn brown and die. For more information see the Plant Bug section of Chapter 1.

Management Options

In June, place traps of boards and stones between plants and remove bugs from under them each morning. Hand pick and destroy any adults, eggs or immature insects observed on plants. Remove and destroy all plant residue after harvest to remove possible overwintering sites.

Squash Vine Borers

Squash vine borer adult moths, which have metallic olive-brown wings and an abdomen ringed with red and black, lay large reddish-brown eggs on stem near the soil in late June through late July. They hatch into creamy white, brown-headed insects, enter and feed inside vine stems for four to six weeks. Coarse greenish-yellow excrement, pushed out by the borer through holes, can be seen along the sides of the stem. Plants wilt suddenly and may break or rot from the point of attack. Fruit is poor and small. The insect overwinters in the soil and once it is in a garden, the problem occurs every year.

Management Options

Destroy eggs before they hatch. When vines wilt and the holes of the borer are noticed, slit stem lengthwise and remove borer. Mound soil over injured area and over vines near leaves to promote new root growth from stems. The Butternut variety is resistant to the squash vine borer.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 4: Légumes
Concombre, melon, citrouille, courge, zucchini

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Chrysomèle du Concombre
  3. Gale du concombre
  4. Mildiou des cucurbitacées
  5. Tache Foliaire
  6. Oïdium
  7. Mouche des légumineuses
  8. Punaise de la courge
  9. Perceur de la courge
  10. Liens connexes

Introduction

Ce sont les abeilles qui pollinisent ces espèces, et certains insecticides peuvent leur être très nocifs.

Ce chapitre contient une description de divers ravageurs des cultures de cucurbitacées ainsi que des conseils sur diverses méthodes de lutte excluant l'utilisation de pesticides. Les jardiniers amateurs peuvent encore se procurer certains biopesticides et certains pesticides à faible risque pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes et les ravageurs des pelouses et des jardins. Pour avoir plus d'information, voir le Chapitre 2 de ce manuel et le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement. Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lutte contre certains ravageurs ou mauvaises herbes en particulier, s'adresser à un horticulteur, à un maître jardinier ou à un centre de jardinage de votre localité.

Chrysomèle du Concombre

La chrysomèle du concombre constitue un problème courant. Longue de 6 mm, elle est striée de jaune et de noir ou est jaune à pois noirs. Elle fuit rapidement lorsque dérangée. Les jeunes plants meurent par défoliation et les plants plus âgés, d'une flétrissure bactérienne transportée par la chrysomèle.

Méthodes de lutte

Enlever les adultes à la main ou, s'ils sont très nombreux, à l'aide d'un aspirateur portatif, au début de la soirée. Les placer dans un sac de plastique scellé ou dans un seau d'eau savonneuse, et les éliminer. Les cloches peuvent protéger les jeunes plantules, mais on doit les enlever avant l'apparition des fleurs pour permettre la pollinisation.

Gale du concombre

La gale du concombre se manifeste par l'apparition de taches creuses de couleur grise, qui noircissent et s'enfoncent avec le temps, libérant parfois une substance collante. La gale intéresse surtout le fruit, mais les feuilles peuvent porter des taches détrempées et les tiges, des chancres. Les nuits plus fraîches de la deuxième moitié de l'été favorisent cette maladie.

Méthodes de lutte

Éliminer et détruire tous les résidus végétaux en automne. Planter des cultivars résistants ou prévoir une rotation avec deux à trois ans sans crucifères.

Mildiou des cucurbitacées

Le mildiou est une maladie fongique grave des cucurbitacées. Sur la face supérieure des feuilles infectées, il apparaît des taches vert pâle. La face inférieure peut être couverte d'une moisissure duveteuse grise à violette où des spores noires sont visibles. Ce sont les concombres qui sont les plus susceptibles à l'infection, mais certaines souches de la maladie s'attaquent aux melons et autres cucurbitacées. Le mildiou des cucurbitacées ne touche pas les plantes cultivées des autres familles. Cette maladie est propagée par le vent, et l'infection se produit très facilement; elle peut détruire une récolte en moins d'une semaine. Elle est favorisée par le temps frais ou humide. Actuellement, en Ontario, les spores ne semblent pas survivre aux températures hivernales. Le champignon passe l'hiver dans les régions du Sud, et les spores sont généralement apportées par le vent depuis le Sud des États Unis et le Mexique au printemps et au début de l'été. Au cours des dernières années, des spores sont arrivées à la fin mai ou au début de juin, ce qui a provoqué une infection précoce chez les cucurbitacées.

Méthodes de lutte

Se procurer les plants auprès de fournisseurs fiables et s'assurer qu'ils sont exempts de la maladie. Maintenir une bonne circulation d'air entre les plants. Arroser le matin, en évitant les quantités d'eau excessives, pour permettre aux plants de s'assécher. Diriger le jet d'eau vers le pied du plant et éviter d'arroser le feuillage. Le mildiou des cucurbitacées est une maladie très grave et, lorsqu'elle fait son apparition quelque part, la perte des plants est généralement inévitable. Dans certaines régions de l'Ontario, il peut être très difficile de conserver des cultures de concombres pendant toute la durée de la saison de croissance.

Tache Foliaire

Sur les cucurbitacées, la tache foliaire peut être due à plusieurs bactéries ou champignons. Sur les feuilles, il se forme de petites taches circulaires. Celles ci peuvent paraître gorgées d'eau ou anguleuses, ou sembler sèches avec une teinte brun rougeâtre et une auréole jaune, ou bien jaunes à brunes avec des anneaux concentriques. Les lésions finissent souvent par brunir et par tomber en laissant des trous dans les feuilles, ou elles peuvent se rejoindre en provoquant la chute de celles ci, ce qui mène à une réduction du rendement et de la qualité de la récolte.

Méthodes de lutte

Planter des variétés résistantes. Enlever les feuilles infectées, enlever et détruire tous les résidus végétaux à la fin de la saison pour éliminer les sites d'hibernation. Ne pas les jeter au compost. Pendant l'arrosage, éviter de mouiller les feuilles. Pour certains des pathogènes en cause, il peut être nécessaire d'effectuer une rotation sans culture de cucurbitacées pendant deux ou trois ans.

Oïdium

L'oïdium est une maladie fongique qui se reconnaît à la masse sèche de spores blanches semblables à du talc qui apparaît sur la surface supérieure des feuilles pendant les périodes de journées chaudes et humides et de nuits fraîches; il en résulte la mort des tissus foliaires. Dans les cas graves, l'oïdium réduit considérablement la productivité des cultures et entraîne la mort prématurée des plants.

Méthodes de lutte

Planter des variétés résistantes. Placer les cultures dans des zones sans ombre et maintenir une bonne circulation d'air. Si l'étendue des symptômes est limitée, enlever les tissus malades et les détruire.

Mouche des légumineuses

Pour trouver de l'information et connaître les méthodes de lutte, voir la partie sur les ravageurs du maïs.

Punaise de la courge

Cet insecte de la famille des punaises se nourrit principalement de la sève des citrouilles et des courges, mais aussi parfois du concombre et du melon. Les jeunes sujets (nymphes) sont gris; les adultes, d'une longueur de 17 mm, sont brun foncé. Les parties touchées des feuilles, des tiges et des sarments pâlissent, puis brunissent et meurent. Pour plus d'information, voir la partie sur les punaises au Chapitre 1.

Méthodes de lutte

En juin, placer des pièges de planches et de pierres entre les plants et ramasser les punaises chaque matin. Ramasser à la main tous les adultes, les œufs et les immatures trouvés sur les plantes et les tuer. Pour éliminer tous les sites possibles d'hibernation, enlever et détruire tous les résidus végétaux après la récolte.

Perceur de la courge

La noctuelle du perceur de la courge a les ailes et l'abdomen brun olive métallique et rayés de rouge et de noir. Elle pond de gros oeufs brun roux sur la tige près du sol, de la fin juin à la fin juillet. À l'éclosion, l'insecte blanc crémeux à tête brune entre à l'intérieur des tiges sarmenteuses et s'en nourrit pendant quatre à six semaines. Le perceur expulse des excréments grenus de couleur jaune verdâtre le long des tiges. Les plants flétrissent subitement et peuvent casser ou pourrir au point d'attaque. Les fruits sont médiocres et petits. L'insecte hiverne dans le sol et lorsqu'il se loge dans un jardin, le problème revient à chaque année.

Méthodes de lutte

Détruire les œufs avant l'éclosion. Dès que les tiges sarmenteuses se flétrissent et qu'on y voit les galeries du perceur, les couper dans le sens de la longueur et détruire le perceur. Renchausser les zones endommagées du plant pour favoriser la prise de nouvelles racines. La courge musquée est une variété qui résiste au perceur de la courge.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 juin 2010
Dernière révision : 9 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca