The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 3: A Word about Soil
Fertilizers

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Organic Fertilizers
  3. Chemical Fertilizers
  4. Chemical vs. Organic Fertilizers
  5. Learn More

Introduction

Think of fertilizers as plant food. By that definition, any material added to a soil to enhance the nutrition of plants could be considered a fertilizer. This includes commercially prepared fertilizers, and organic materials such as manure, mushroom compost, fishmeal, or blood and bone meal.

Organic Fertilizers

Organic fertilizers include manure and compost, and their value to gardens and lawns is often under-estimated. Manure and compost contain many micronutrients and organic matter, which helps to build and maintain soil structure. They also contain all the nutrients required for plant growth. The problem is that they may not necessarily be present in the proportions required by all species or soil types.

Cow and Sheep Manure

Well composted cow and sheep manure are readily available in most garden centres. It is applied at a rate of 120-250 kg manure per 1000 m2 of soil. Turn under manure with 9.75 kg of 0-20-0 fertilizer (spread the manure on the soil, broadcast fertilizer overtop and then work both into the soil surface with a spade or fork). Fresh poultry, rabbit, and sheep manure are much higher in nutrients and soluble salts than livestock manure, so reduce the rate of application to one-third, compost it thoroughly first, or apply it in the fall.

Leaves, Lawn Clippings, Peat, Sawdust

This type of organic mulch is broken down by micro-organisms in the soil. This process, unfortunately, uses important nitrogen stores required for plant growth. To prevent this, turn the mulch under with 12.5 kg of 15-15-15 fertilizer per 100 m2 of soil.

Compost

Compost bins can be bought at most hardware stores and garden centres, or you can build your own of wire fencing supported by posts, boards or masonry. Place the bin in a semi-shaded and well-drained spot protected from cold winds. Do not place it under trees where roots will grow up into the compost. Line the bottom of the bin with straw to soak up any liquid that may run out.
Alternate layers of organic matter with soil. For each 15 cm of organic matter, packed down, provide 3 cm of soil. This will add micro-organisms to the compost.

If compost is composed largely of straw, sawdust or fallen leaves, apply a nitrogen fertilizer such as 10-6-4 to speed up the breakdown of the material and therefore improve the nutrient content of the compost. A rate of 360 g fertilizer per 35-40 L of organic matter is recommended. Manure can be used instead of fertilizer and dolomitic limestone (60 g per 40 L compost) added to counteract acidity and speed up decomposition.

Compost made up largely of kitchen scraps and yard waste such as grass clippings or spent flower blooms is nutrient-rich. Additional fertilizer is rarely required, and if used, not more than 40-50 g fertilizer per 35-40 L of organic matter is recommended.

Compost can be built up to 1.0-1.5 metres. It is helpful to have more than one bin to produce compost throughout the year. Keep it moist but not soggy, and turn it two to three times every two weeks to hasten decomposition and reduce odour. Compost started in fall is ready to be used in June.

Chemical Fertilizers

Most garden and lawn soils in new subdivisions are deficient in several essential plant nutrients, especially phosphorus and potassium. This is particularly true when the topsoil has been disturbed and redistributed after house construction. By using the proper chemical fertilizer, these nutrients can be added to the soil at the optimum rate, thereby improving plant growth. The best method of determining the kind and amount of nutrient required is a soil test.

Established garden and lawn soils can also benefit from the application of a low rate of a balanced chemical fertilizer. This will help replace nutrients used by the previous crop or during the previous growing season. Once soil fertility is high, however, you only need to apply enough fertilizer to maintain fertility levels.

Fertilizer Grade and Ratio

All fertilizers sold in Canada are sold by grade, which tells you the nutrient percentage of the product by weight. It is expressed as a set of three numbers: total Nitrogen (N), available phosphate (P2O5) and soluble Potash (K2O). A 10-6-4 fertilizer, therefore, contains 10% N, 6% (P2O5), and 4% (K2O).

Grade is one of the most important factors to consider when buying fertilizer; it is certainly more important than the trade name. A fertilizer under the trade name "Tree Food", with a grade of 30-10-10, can be used anywhere that a 30-10-10 fertilizer grade is required.

Ratio defines the proportion of nutrients in the fertilizer. Thus, 7-7-7 is in a 1:1:1 ratio, while 21-7-7 is in a 3:1:1 ratio and 4-8-12 is in a 1:2:3 ratio.

Substituting Fertilizer Analysis

When the required fertilizer grade is unavailable, it is possible to substitute with another of similar ratio, but you must first calculate the amount of nutrients required. This is done by multiplying the amount of fertilizer applied by the grade for each nutrient, and dividing by 100.

For example: 10 kilograms of 10-6-4 provides:
Nitrogen: 10 kg × 10% /100 = 1.0 kg Nitrogen
Phosphate: 10 kg × 6% /100 = 0.6 kg Phosphate
Potash: 10 kg × 4% /100 = 0.4 kg Potash

Let's say, for example, that it has been recommended that you apply 5 kg per 100 m of 7-7-7 grade fertilizer, but only a 10-10-10 product is available. This will be suitable, as each fertilizer has a ratio of 1:1:1. You must, however, correct for the amount of fertilizer that you use. With this example, the recommended 7-7-7 fertilizer will supply 0.35 kg of nitrogen (5 kg of fertilizer x 7% nitrogen), 0.35 kg of phosphate and 0.35 kg of potash. If substituting a 10-10-10 fertilizer, 3.5 kg per 100 m will provide you with the same amount of nutrients.

You can use these calculations to substitute other grades of fertilizers. Try to substitute a grade of the same, or similar, ratio. Some common substitutions are usually listed on the back of your soil test report form.

Toxicity of Fertilizers

All fertilizers are toxic if too much or too concentrated an amount is applied. As well, some nutrients - especially micronutrients - are toxic even at low levels. A fertilizer's solubility can also play a role in determining its toxicity to plants. For example, ammonium nitrate and calcium nitrate are both used in chemical fertilizers as a nitrogen source. Ammonium nitrate, however, dissolves far more quickly when it comes into contact with moist soil than does calcium nitrate. If you accidentally spill fertilizer on your lawn or garden, therefore, the chance of damage to plants is far greater if ammonium nitrate is used.

Chemical vs. Organic Fertilizers

Chemical fertilizers are usually much cheaper per kilogram of actual nutrient than are manure or compost. As well, they provide you a balanced nutrient content, and allow you to choose the grade and ratio needed for your garden.

Manure is generally more expensive, and a considerable amount needs to be incorporated into the soil to meet the needs of the crop. However, manure has the added benefit of providing a good source of organic matter that maintains soil structure and increases earthworm and microbial activity. And when purchased in pre-bagged amounts at a garden centre, its nutrient content is usually balanced. For those wishing to avoid chemically manufactured forms of nitrogen, therefore, manure is a viable option.

The use of home compost as the sole fertilizer in your garden is not as viable. This is because it is extremely difficult to know its nutrient make-up. Nutrient content also varies according to the ingredients used. As a source of organic matter, however, home compost is excellent.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 3: Le sol - Quelques mots sur la terre que nous cultivons
Engrais

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Engrais organiques
  3. Engrais chimiques
  4. Engrais chimiques c. organiques
  5. Liens connexes

Introduction

Il faut considérer les engrais comme la nourriture des plantes. Selon cette définition, toute matière ajoutée au sol pour enrichir l'alimentation des plantes constitue un engrais. Elle englobe donc les engrais du commerce et les matières organiques comme le fumier, le compost de champignons et les farines de poisson, de sang et d'os.

Engrais organiques

Les engrais organiques comprennent le fumier et le compost. Trop souvent, on sous-estime leur utilité dans les jardins et les pelouses. Le fumier et le compost regorgent d'oligo-éléments et de matières organiques qui contribuent à établir et à maintenir la structure du sol. Ils contiennent aussi tous les nutriments nécessaires à la croissance des végétaux, mais pas nécessairement dans les proportions requises par tous les types de plantes ou de sols.

Fumier de vache et mouton

La plupart des centres de jardinage vendent du fumier de vache et de mouton bien décomposé, qu'il faut appliquer à raison de 120-250 kg par 1 000 m? de sol. Retourner le fumier avec 9,75 kg d'engrais 0 20 0 (épandre le fumier au sol, y jeter de l'engrais à la volée puis incorporer le tout dans le sol au moyen d'une bêche ou d'une fourche). Comme le fumier de volaille, de lapin et de mouton frais est plus riche en nutriments et en sels solubles, il faut réduire d'un tiers le taux d'épandage, composter le fumier d'abord ou l'appliquer à l'automne.

Feuilles, débris de tonte, tourbe, sciure de bois

Les micro-organismes du sol décomposent ce type de paillis organique. Malheureusement, le processus de décomposition utilise d'importantes réserves d'azote nécessaires à la croissance des plantes. Pour contrer cette perte, il faut ajouter au paillis 12,5 kg d'engrais 15 15 15 par 100 m2 de sol.

Compost

On peut se procurer un bac à compostage dans la plupart des quincailleries et des centres de jardinage ou en construire un en clôture grillagée soutenue par des poteaux, des planches ou de la maçonnerie. Placer le bac dans un endroit semi-ombragé et bien drainé, à l'abri des vents froids. Ne pas le placer sous les arbres, car les racines sortiraient de terre et entreraient dans le compost. Recouvrir de paille le fond du bac afin d'absorber tout liquide qui pourrait s'en écouler.

Mettre de la terre entre les couches de matière organique. À chaque tranche de 15 cm d'épaisseur de matière organique bien tassée, ajouter 3 cm de terre afin d'enrichir le compost en micro-organismes.

Si le compost se compose surtout de paille, de sciure de bois ou de feuilles tombées, y ajouter un engrais azoté, par exemple du 10 6 4, afin d'accélérer la décomposition et d'améliorer ainsi la valeur nutritive du compost. Il est recommandé d'employer 360 g d'engrais pour 35 L à 40 L de matières organiques. On peut utiliser du fumier au lieu d'engrais et ajouter du calcaire dolomitique (60 g pour 40 L de compost) pour contrer l'acidité et accélérer la décomposition.

Un compost constitué principalement de déchets de table d'origine végétale et de débris de jardinage comme du gazon coupé et des fleurs fanées est riche en nutriments. Il est rarement nécessaire d'y ajouter un engrais et, le cas échéant, pas plus de 40 g à 50 g d'engrais par 35 L à 40 L de matières organiques.

Le tas de compost peut atteindre une hauteur de 1,0-1,5 mètre. Il peut être utile de posséder plus d'un bac pour produire du compost toute l'année. Le compost doit être humide mais non détrempé. Il faut le retourner deux ou trois fois toutes les quinzaines afin d'accélérer la décomposition et de minimiser les odeurs. Le compost démarré à l'automne peut être utilisé dès le mois de juin.

Engrais chimiques

Dans les nouveaux lotissements, la plupart des terres à jardin et à pelouse manquent de plusieurs nutriments essentiels aux plantes, en particulier de phosphore et de potassium, surtout lorsque la couche arable a été dérangée et replacée après des travaux de construction domiciliaire. L'utilisation du bon engrais chimique peut redonner au sol ces nutriments en quantités optimales et améliorer ainsi la croissance des végétaux. Pour savoir exactement quels nutriments ajouter et en quelle quantité, l'idéal est de faire analyser le sol.

Les sols de jardin et de pelouse établis peuvent aussi profiter de l'épandage d'une petite quantité d'un engrais chimique équilibré. L'engrais contribue alors à remplacer les nutriments absorbés par la culture précédente ou durant la saison de croissance précédente. Une fois que le sol est bien fertile, il ne reste ensuite qu'à appliquer assez d'engrais pour maintenir un niveau de fertilité élevé.

Teneur des engrais et rapport

Tous les engrais vendus au Canada sont désignés par leur teneur, c'est à-dire le pourcentage de nutriments contenus dans le produit au poids. Cette teneur est désignée par une formule de trois nombres : la quantité totale d'azote (N), la quantité de phosphate (P2O5) et la quantité de potasse (K2O) soluble. Un engrais 10 6 4 contient donc 10 % de N, 6 % de P2O5 et 4 % de K2O.

La teneur est l'un des critères les plus importants à prendre en considération lors de l'achat d'un engrais. Elle est indéniablement plus importante que l'appellation commerciale. Un engrais appelé « Nutriplante » ayant une teneur de 30-10-10 peut s'utiliser partout o un engrais 30-10-10 est prescrit.
Le rapport désigne la proportion des nutriments dans l'engrais. Ainsi, un engrais 7 7 7 a un rapport 1:1:l tandis qu'un engrais 21-7-7 a un rapport 3:1:1 et un 4-8-12, un rapport 1:2:3.

Substitution d'engrais

Si l'on ne parvient pas à se procurer l'engrais ayant la teneur souhaitée, il est possible de le remplacer par un autre engrais ayant un rapport semblable, mais il faut d'abord calculer la quantité de nutriments requise. Pour ce, il faut multiplier la quantité d'engrais épandue par la teneur de chaque nutriment et diviser par 100.

Par exemple: 10 kilogrammes de 10-6-4 fournissent:

  • Azote : (10 kg x 10 %) /100 = 1,0 kg d'azote
  • Phosphate : (10 kg x 6 %) /100 = 0,6 kg de phosphate
  • Potasse : (10 kg x 4 %)/100 = 0,4 kg de potasse

Supposons qu'il faille appliquer 5 kg d'engrais 7-7-7 sur une superficie de 100 m mais que l'on ne dispose que d'un engrais 10-10-10. Ce dernier pourra faire l'affaire, car son rapport est le même (1:1:1). On ne pourra toutefois pas épandre la même quantité d'engrais. En vertu du présent exemple, l'engrais recommandé (7-7-7) fournira 0,35 kg d'azote (5 kg d'engrais x 7 % d'azote), 0,35 kg de phosphate et 0,35 kg de potasse. Si on lui substitue un engrais 10-10-10, il suffira d'en épandre 3,5 kg par 100 m pour obtenir la même quantité de nutriments.

On peut effectuer les mêmes calculs aux fins de la substitution d'engrais ayant différentes teneurs. Dans la mesure du possible, substituer par un engrais ayant un rapport identique ou semblable. Certaines substitutions communes figurent habituellement au verso du formulaire de rapport de l'analyse du sol.

Toxicité des engrais

Tous les engrais sont toxiques si on en applique des quantités excessives ou trop concentrées. De même, certains nutriments, en particulier les oligo-éléments, sont toxiques même en petites quantités. La solubilité influe aussi sur la toxicité d'un engrais à l'égard des plantes. Par exemple, le nitrate d'ammonium et le nitrate de calcium sont tous deux employés comme source d'azote dans les engrais chimiques. Cependant, le nitrate d'ammonium se dissout beaucoup plus rapidement lorsqu'il entre en contact avec un sol humide que le nitrate de calcium. Si l'on échappe de l'engrais sur une pelouse ou un jardin, il est donc beaucoup plus risqué d'endommager les plantes avec du nitrate d'ammonium.

Engrais chimiques c. organiques

Les engrais chimiques coûtent habituellement moins cher le kilo de nutriments que le fumier ou le compost. De même, ils fournissent une teneur en nutriments équilibrée et permettent de choisir la teneur et le rapport requis pour le jardin.

Le fumier coûte généralement plus cher et il faut en incorporer beaucoup au sol pour répondre aux besoins des cultures. Cependant, le fumier a l'avantage de fournir une bonne source de matière organique qui améliore la structure du sol et stimule l'activité des vers de terre et des microbes. En outre, lorsqu'on l'achète en quantités ensachées dans les centres de jardinage, sa teneur en substances nutritives est habituellement équilibrée. Si l'on souhaite éviter les formes d'azote fabriqué chimiquement, le fumier constitue donc une option intéressante.

Le compost maison employé comme seule source d'engrais pour le jardin constitue une option moins intéressante, car il est extrêmement difficile de connaïtre sa composition nutritionnelle. Sa teneur en substances nutritives varie aussi en fonction des ingrédients dont il est fait. Le compost maison constitue cependant une excellente source de matière organique.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 juillet 2005
Dernière révision : 01 juin 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca