The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 3: A Word about Soil
Plant Nutrition

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Major Nutrients and Micronutrients
  3. Learn More

Introduction

Plants take up their water and nutrients from the soil. For healthy plant growth, therefore, the soil must be adequately supplied with both. A number of nutrients are essential for plant growth, and plants take up these various elements at different rates depending on the stage of growth.

In the spring and summer, when plants are in a vegetative stage, great levels of nitrogen and phosphorus are required. At flowering and fruiting, higher levels of potassium and calcium are needed, and very little nitrogen is absorbed. Perennial plants as well as trees, shrubs and grass will absorb a high amount of nitrogen from the soil and store it both in the roots and crown. This will be used for mobilization in the spring when the rate of growth is very rapid.

Major Nutrients and Micronutrients

Nutrients fall into two categories depending on the amount used by the plant. Major plant nutrients are nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, magnesium and sulphur. Of these, nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium are most likely to be deficient in lawn and garden soils. Calcium and magnesium deficiencies are rarely seen except in low pH or sandy soils.

Micronutrients, although required in small quantities, are equally important and essential to plant growth and development. These nutrients include zinc, manganese, iron, copper and boron. Generally, they are not deficient in lawn and garden soils. Depending on the plant species, micronutrient deficiencies may occur in sandy soils, in back-filled areas, or when soils are too alkaline.

Lime-induced iron chlorosis is the most common micronutrient deficiency problem in home gardens, especially with azaleas, rhododendrons, blueberries, Hydrangea macrophylla, and pin oak. Leaves yellow, though the veins remain green; as the problem worsens, leaf tissue becomes almost white, with burning around the edges.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 3: Le sol - Quelques mots sur la terre que nous cultivons
Nutrition des plantes

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Principaux nutriments et oligo-éléments
  3. Liens connexes

Introduction

Les plantes puisent leur eau et leurs nutriments dans le sol. La croissance de plantes saines exige donc un sol bien pourvu des deux. Un certain nombre de nutriments sont essentiels à la croissance des plantes, qui en absorbent différentes quantités selon leur stade de croissance.

Au printemps et à l'été, pendant leur croissance végétative, les plantes absorbent beaucoup d'azote et de phosphore. Lors de la floraison et de la mise à fruits, elles ont besoin de concentrations plus élevées de potassium et de calcium et absorbent très peu d'azote. Les plantes vivaces, les arbres, les arbustes et le gazon extraient du sol de grandes quantités d'azote, qu'ils emmagasinent dans leurs racines et leur collet en prévision du printemps, période d'accélération de la croissance.

Principaux nutriments et oligo-éléments

Les nutriments se divisent en deux catégories selon la quantité employée par la plante. Les principaux nutriments des végétaux sont l'azote, le phosphore, le potassium, le calcium, le magnésium et le soufre. L'azote, le phosphore et le potassium sont ceux dont le risque de carence est le plus élevé dans les pelouses et les jardins. Les carences en calcium et en magnésium sont rares, sauf dans les sols acides ou sablonneux.

Les oligo-éléments, même s'ils ne sont absorbés qu'en petites quantités, sont tout aussi importants et essentiels pour la croissance et le développement des végétaux. Le zinc, le manganèse, le fer, le cuivre et le bore sont des oligo-éléments. En général, les sols des pelouses et des jardins en contiennent suffisamment. Tout dépendant des espèces cultivées, des carences en oligo-éléments peuvent s'observer dans les sols sablonneux, les zones remblayées ou les sols trop alcalins.

La chlorose ferrique provoquée par la chaux est la carence en oligo-éléments la plus courante dans les jardins privés, surtout avec les azalées, les rhododendrons, les bleuets, Hydrangea macrophylla et le chêne palustre. Les feuilles jaunissent, mais les nervures demeurent vertes; quand le problème empire, les feuilles blanchissent et leurs bords sont brûlés.

Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 juillet 2005
Dernière révision : 02 juin 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca