The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 3: A Word about Soil
The Nature of Soil

Table of Contents

  1. Minerals and Soil Texture
  2. Soil Structure
  3. Organic Matter
  4. Clay Colloids
  5. Soil Fertility
  6. Soil pH
  7. Soluble Salts
  8. Learn More

Minerals and Soil Texture

The mineral component of a soil is made up of clay, silt and sand, often referred to as fine, medium and coarse size particles respectively. The percentage of each of these determines the texture of a soil.

  • Clay soils contain a larger percentage of clay (fine) particles.
  • Loam soils contain a balanced proportion of sand, silt and clay particles.
  • Sandy soils contain mostly sand (coarse) particles.

Soil texture is difficult to change. It is a basic soil property. However, if yours is a heavy clay garden soil, you can slowly alter its texture by adding sand and organic matter such as compost, manure or peat moss over successive seasons.

Soil Structure

Soil structure refers to the way soil particles cling to each other in clumps or aggregates. A well-structured soil contains small aggregates and is easy to work. Each aggregate holds water and nutrients, and the air between the aggregates allows excess water to drain away.

Poor soil structure reduces root growth of seedlings, making them more susceptible to drought. It also results in soil compaction after rain or when walked on, and this leads to poor water penetration and a lack of oxygen. Plants that grow in such soil are smaller, less vigorous, more prone to drought and lower yielding than those grown in healthier soil.

Good soil crumbles when forked or spaded. If a soil breaks into blocky clods with flat surfaces and sharp corners, soil structure is poor. You can improve your soil's structure by adding organic material such as peat moss, manure or compost. It is also a good idea to seed a garden with grass if it has been under cultivation for several years and the soil breaks into clods. Grass has an extensive root system that grows throughout the top 15 cm layer of soil and breaks up the clods. The roots also release substances that promote the bonding of smaller aggregates. In addition, grass roots, shoots and clippings provide plenty of organic matter to improve soil structure. To achieve the best results, a garden should remain seeded for two to three years.

Organic Matter

Matter in soil is mainly decayed plant material. In most soils, it accounts for up to 10% of the mixture. Soils with 17% or more of their weight as organic matter are called organic soils. Generally, the darker the soil, the higher the organic matter content.

Organic matter plays an important role in soil structure. It acts as a cementing agent to bind soil particles together. It is also the most chemically active component of soil and is a source of plant nutrients.

The surface of organic matter contains exchange sites that attract and hold plant nutrients. As nutrients are removed from the soil by plant roots, they are replenished by nutrients from these exchange sites. When fertilizer is applied, the exchange sites are saturated, creating a reservoir of nutrients for future use.

A garden that is cultivated year after year without the regular addition of compost or manure soon begins to lose organic matter. Over time, the soil becomes tight and compacts very easily. The quality of plant growth is reduced.

Clay Colloids

Like organic matter, clay colloids act as reservoirs of plant nutrients. The glue like minerals (colloid means glue) hold onto nutrients and release them into the soil as plant roots take up nutrients and water. A productive soil, therefore, should contain a balance of organic matter and clay.

Soil Fertility

Soil fertility is an important part of good lawn and garden management. Good fertility promotes plant growth, reduces the susceptibility of plants to insect and disease damage, improves drought tolerance and reduces weed populations in lawns. Usually, fertility problems are easily corrected. However to ensure successful gardening, it is also important to:

  1. select the most suitable plant varieties;
  2. control insects, diseases and weeds; and
    3. provide adequate water and light

Soil pH

Soil pH is a measure of the acidity or alkalinity of a soil. A pH of 7.0 is neutral. A pH below 7.0 is acidic and above 7.0 is alkaline. Soil pH has an important effect on the availability of many nutrients. As the soil becomes more basic (high pH), the availability of nutrients such as iron and manganese is reduced. Most plants grow well in soils with pH values of 6.0 to 7.5. However, some plants such as Rhododendron, Azalea, heathers, blueberries, and pin oak require acid soils and only grow well below pH 5.5. In most of Southern Ontario, soils are neutral to alkaline, though there are areas where soils are too acidic for optimum growth of most plants. Many soils on the Canadian Shield are low in pH.

You can get a general idea of your soil's pH by using pH strip papers that change colour to reflect pH levels. A low pH condition can be corrected by adding agricultural dolomitic limestone to the soil. Because of the chemical nature of high alkaline soils, however, it is very difficult to do the opposite and lower a high pH condition. Success can be achieved on medium and course textured soils with the addition of sulphur. If your soil has a high pH, and you wish to grow ericaceous plants and blueberries, it is best to build raised beds or to excavate the existing soil and replace it with a mixture of peat moss, composted bark or oak leaves and sandy topsoil. Sulphur should be incorporated into the soil mix and added yearly to keep the pH low.

Soluble Salts

Soluble salts are dissolved mineral ions in the soil. Some occur naturally, some come from fertilizers and some are the result of the decomposition of manure, mushroom compost or similar organic matter. Ontario soils are naturally low in soluble salts. Where the level of soluble salts is high, there have usually been excessive applications of fertilizers, manure or mushroom compost.

High concentrations of soluble salts can affect seed germination and plant growth. When soluble salts increase, water absorption by plant roots decreases, because the water is held in the soil with greater force. When salt levels are high, plants suffer abiotic drought.

Wilting of plants during the brightest and warmest times of day even though the soil may be moist is usually the first symptom of a high salt content. Plant growth will also be reduced, and leaves often appear small and dark green. As salt levels continue to increase, the tips and edges of leaves burn, and the root system is damaged. Plant growth is affected most under higher temperatures and low moisture periods. Damage from soluble salts does not include roadside salt spray damage to trees and shrubs.

Some plants such as begonias, impatiens, cucumbers and lettuce, are more sensitive to soluble salts than others. Seedlings are more sensitive than older plants, and will die if soluble salts are excessive.

Soluble salts can be measured in the laboratory by measuring the electrical conductivity of a soil-water slurry. Table 7 provides an interpretation of soil conductivity readings in a 2:1 water:soil paste, the procedure recommended by the OMAFRA accredited soil testing programme.

Table 7. Soil Conductivity (soluble salts) Interpretation

Conductivity mS/cm Rating Plant Response
0-0.25 Low Suitable for most plants if recommended fertilizers are used
0.26-0.45 Medium Same as above
0.46-0.70 High May reduce emergence and cause slight to severe damage to salt sensitive plants
0.71-1.0 Excessive May prevent emergence and cause slight to severe damage to most plants

 

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 3: Le sol - Quelques mots sur la terre que nous cultivons
Nature du sol

Table des matières

  1. Minéraux et texture du sol
  2. Structure du sol
  3. Matière organique
  4. Argile colloïdale
  5. Fertilité du sol
  6. pH du sol
  7. Sels solubles
  8. Liens connexes

Minéraux et texture du sol

La partie minérale du sol se compose de particules d'argile, de limon et de sable, souvent qualifiées de fines, moyennes ou grossières, respectivement. Ce sont les proportions de chacune de ces particules qui déterminent la texture d'un sol.

  • Un sol argileux contient plus de particules (fines) d'argile.
  • Un sol limoneux renferme du sable, du limon et de l'argile en proportions à peu près égales.
  • Un sol sablonneux contient surtout des particules (grossières) de sable.

La texture d'un sol est difficile à modifier. C'est l'une des propriétés fondamentales du sol. Néanmoins, il est possible d'amender progressivement une terre argileuse lourde en y ajoutant à chaque saison du sable et de la matière organique, entre autres du compost, du fumier ou de la mousse de tourbe.

Structure du sol

La structure du sol désigne la façon dont les particules du sol s'agglutinent les unes aux autres. Un sol bien structuré contient de petits agrégats et se travaille facilement. Chaque agrégat contient de l'eau et des nutriments, et l'air qui sépare les agrégats permet le drainage du surplus d'eau.

Une mauvaise structure limite la croissance des racines des jeunes plants, ce qui les rend plus vulnérables à la sécheresse. Un sol mal structuré se tasse après la pluie ou lorsqu'on le piétine, ce qui nuit à la pénétration de l'eau et de l'oxygène. Les plantes cultivées dans pareil sol sont plus petites, moins vigoureuses, plus vulnérables à la sécheresse et moins productives que celles qui poussent dans des sols plus sains.

Une bonne terre s'effrite lorsqu'on la travaille à la fourche ou à la bêche. Si le sol se sépare en mottes polyédriques à surfaces plates et à arêtes nettes, alors sa structure est pauvre. On peut l'amender en y ajoutant de la matière organique comme de la mousse de tourbe, du fumier ou du compost. Une autre solution consiste à semer du gazon sur un jardin que l'on cultive depuis plusieurs années et dont le sol forme des mottes. Le gazon possède un système radiculaire important qui s'enfonce 15 cm dans le sol et défait les mottes. Ses racines libèrent aussi des substances qui favorisent la formation d'agrégats plus petits. En outre, les racines, les pousses et les débris de la tonte du gazon fournissent quantité de matières organiques améliorant la structure du sol. Pour des résultats optimaux, le jardin doit demeurer gazonné pendant deux ou trois ans.

Matière organique

La matière organique du sol est constituée principalement de débris végétaux décomposés. Dans la plupart des sols, elle est présente dans une proportion maximale de 10 %. Les sols contenant en poids 17 % ou plus de matière organique sont qualifiés de sols organiques. En général, plus le sol est foncé, plus il est riche en matière organique.

La matière organique influe beaucoup sur la structure du sol. Elle est le ciment qui lie les particules de sol. Elle est aussi le composant le plus actif au point de vue chimique et fournit des nutriments aux végétaux.

La matière organique est couverte de sites d'échange qui attirent et retiennent les nutriments utilisés par les végétaux. À mesure que les racines des plantes extraient des nutriments du sol, ces sites d'échange les remplacent. L'épandage d'un engrais sature les sites d'échange, qui se transforment donc en réservoirs de nutriments pour usage ultérieur.

Un jardin que l'on cultive à chaque année sans y ajouter de compost ou de fumier à intervalles réguliers a tôt fait de se vider de sa matière organique. Au fil des ans, le sol devient serré et se compacte très facilement. La qualité de la croissance végétative diminue.

Argile colloïdale

À l'instar de la matière organique, les colloïdes d'argile servent de garde-manger pour les végétaux. Semblables à de la colle (colloïdal signifie « ayant l'apparence de la colle »), ces minéraux emmagasinent des nutriments et les libèrent dans le sol à mesure que les racines des végétaux y puisent l'eau et les substances nutritives dont elles ont besoin. Un sol productif doit donc contenir des proportions équilibrées de matières organiques et d'argile.

Fertilité du sol

La fertilité du sol exerce une influence considérable sur la qualité de la pelouse et la tenue du jardin. Une bonne fertilité stimule la croissance des végétaux, accrot la résistance des plantes aux ravages des insectes et des maladies, améliore la tolérance à la sécheresse et réduit les populations de mauvaises herbes dans les pelouses. D'habitude, les problèmes de fertilité se corrigent facilement. Néanmoins, pour s'assurer d'avoir un jardin vraiment réussi, il importe aussi de:

  1. choisir les variétés de végétaux les mieux adaptées aux conditions ambiantes;
  2. lutter contre les insectes, les maladies et les mauvaises herbes;
  3. fournir l'eau et l'éclairage nécessaires aux plantes.

pH du sol

Le pH du sol est une mesure de l'acidité ou de l'alcalinité d'un sol. Un pH de 7,0 est neutre. Un pH inférieur à 7,0 est acide et un pH de plus de 7,0 est alcalin. Le pH du sol influe notablement sur la disponibilité de nombreux nutriments. Dans un sol plus basique (pH élevé), la disponibilité de nutriments comme le fer et le manganèse diminue. La plupart des végétaux poussent bien dans des sols ayant un pH de 6,0 à 7,5. Cependant, des plantes comme le rhododendron, l'azalée, la bruyère, le bleuet et le chêne palustre ont besoin de sols acides et ne poussent bien que si le pH est inférieur à 5,5. La plupart des sols du sud de l'Ontario sont neutres à alcalins, mais, dans certaines régions, les sols sont trop acides pour permettre une croissance optimale de la plupart des végétaux. Le sol du Bouclier canadien a souvent un pH faible.

Pour avoir une idée générale du pH du sol, on peut employer des bandes de papier indicateur de pH dont la couleur change en fonction du pH du sol. Un pH trop bas peut être corrigé par l'ajout de pierre à chaux agricole. Toutefois, en raison de la nature chimique des sols très alcalins, il est très difficile de faire le contraire et d'abaisser un pH élevé. On peut y parvenir dans les sols de texture moyenne ou grossière par l'ajout de soufre. Si le sol dans lequel on souhaite planter des éricacées et des bleuets a un pH élevé, il est préférable de construire des planches de culture surélevées ou d'excaver le sol pour le remplacer par un mélange de mousse de tourbe, de feuilles de chêne ou d'écorces compostées et de terre arable sablonneuse. Il faut incorporer du soufre au mélange de sol et en ajouter tous les ans pour garder le sol acide.

Sels solubles

Les sels solubles sont des ions minéraux dissous dans le sol. Certains sont présents à l'état naturel, d'autres viennent des engrais et certains résultent de la décomposition du fumier, du compost de champignons ou de matières organiques analogues. En Ontario, les sols contiennent naturellement peu de sels solubles. Les concentrations élevées de sels solubles résultent habituellement d'épandages excessifs d'engrais, de fumier ou de compost de champignons.

En concentrations élevées, les sels solubles peuvent nuire à la germination et à la croissance des végétaux. Les racines des plantes ont plus de difficulté à puiser l'eau dans le sol car les sels solubles l'y retiennent avec plus de force. Des concentrations élevées de sels provoquent la sécheresse physiologique des végétaux.

Des plants qui se flétrissent aux heures les plus ensoleillées et les plus chaudes de la journée même si le sol est humide constituent habituellement le premier symptôme d'une teneur élevée en sel. La croissance des plantes sera aussi réduite et les feuilles paratront souvent petites et vert foncé. Si les concentrations de sels continuent d'augmenter, les pointes et le bord des feuilles brûlent, et le système radiculaire subit des dommages. La croissance des plantes est affectée surtout pendant les périodes chaudes et sèches. Il faut faire une distinction entre les dommages causés par les sels solubles et les dommages causés aux arbres et aux arbustes par l'épandage de sel sur les routes.

Certaines plantes, notamment les bégonias, les impatiens, le concombre et la laitue, sont plus sensibles que d'autres aux sels solubles. Les plantules, moins résistantes que les plants plus vieux, meurent lorsqu'il y a trop de sels solubles.

Il est possible de déterminer la teneur en sels solubles d'un sol en mesurant la conductivité électrique d'une boue liquide du sol. Le tableau 7 fournit une interprétation de mesures de la conductivité du sol effectuées sur une boue constituée de deux parties d'eau pour une partie de sol, conformément aux recommandations en vertu du programme accrédité d'analyse du sol du MAAARO.

Tableau 7. Conductivité du sol (sels solubles)

ConductivitéConcentrationRéaction des végétaux
0 - 0,25FaibleConvenable pour la plupart des plantes moyennant l'emploi des engrais recommandés
0,26 - 0,45MoyenneComme ci dessus
0,46 - 0,70ÉlevéePeut réduire la levée et causer des dommages bénins à sévères aux plants sensibles au sel
0,71 - 1,0ExcessivePeut empêcher la levée et causer des dommages bénins à sévères à la plupart des plantes

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 juillet 2005
Dernière révision : 01 juin 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca