The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 2: Integrated Pest Management
Natural Control Methods

Table of Contents

  1. Biological Control Methods
  2. Promoting Beneficial Insects
  3. Augmentation
  4. Learn More

Biological Control Methods

Biological control uses a pest's natural enemies to help suppress populations. The natural enemies, collectively known as "beneficials", may be predatory insects, parasites, pathogens or nematodes. Predatory insects kill and consume multiple other (usually smaller) insects and include ground beetles, lady beetles, praying mantids and certain mites (Table 3). Parasitic insects or parastioids lay their eggs in or on the bodies of another insect, and the parasitoids young feed on the host insect, typically killing it (Table 4). Most parasitic insects are tiny wasps or flies. Pathogens are microorganisms which infect and kill insects and mites. Insects are naturally susceptible to a wide variety of bacteria, fungi, protozoa and viruses. Finally, nematodes are tiny worms similar to those that attack plants. However instead of plants, they invade insects through natural openings and feed on them from the inside out, killing them.

Many predators and parasitoids are closely related to the pest species and will look very similar. You would be wise, therefore, to get to know the more common beneficial species in the garden. Pictures and information on beneficial insects can be found on the OMAFRA website. To determine whether an insect is the problem or part of the solution, look for feeding injury on the plant. Watch the insect to see if it is feeding on the plant or on another insect. Look at its movements; fast-moving insects are generally predators as they need to catch their prey.

There are two main ways gardeners use biological control - by taking various actions to promote and conserve naturally occurring populations of beneficial organisms, and by augmenting these populations through the addition of commercially available natural enemies.

Promoting Beneficial Insects

The best way to encourage biological control in your garden is to promote natural enemy populations by providing them with favourable habitat. For many insect parasites, the adults will survive longer if they have a source of nectar to feed on, while some predators must feed on pollen before they can reproduce. Many natural enemies also do better when sources of shelter are provided. To promote populations of these insects in your garden, plant a variety of flowering plants which provide pollen and nectar for adult beneficial insects. When selecting plants, ensure you have selected species that will not become weedy or invasive in your garden. Native plant species may be a good choice for this purpose. Maintaining a diverse habitat in and around the garden will provide beneficial insects with shelter. There are several tactics that you can use to do this, but there are risks. Mulch between rows of plants provides a natural refuge for predators such as ground beetles, but may also encourage slugs and sowbugs.

You must also be careful in your use of pesticides in the garden, as some beneficial insects are killed by smaller doses of insecticides than are required to kill harmful insects. You must also take care to avoid pesticide drift to neighbouring plants which may harbour beneficial insects.

Augmentation

Numerous species of natural enemies are sold for release in crops and gardens as biological control agents. While release of these biological controls has been very successful in greenhouses, many have limited value in home gardens. Some, such as preying mantids, are generalist predators which feed on so many species that they will have limited impact on populations of the particular pest you want to control. Many introduced natural enemies will not remain in your garden for long periods of time.

Native predators such as ladybird beetles can be introduced, but if you buy beetles (Hippodamia convergens) imported from the U.S. you will realize little benefit. These beetles are collected while wintering in the mountains of California. Upon release here, they fly away before settling down to feed again. Few if any will remain in your garden to provide the desired control. As well, the ladybird beetle can only help control outbreaks of non mobile insects such as aphids, and is only effective if introduced before the pest population is well established. On the other hand, there are beneficial parasitoids and predators that occur naturally in Ontario, are suited for home use, and can be bought from suppliers. Routine introductions are necessary if they are to be successful.

A number of products based on insect-parasitic nematodes are available for sale in Ontario. These can be effective in helping to control populations of certain soil pests. Because these products are based on living organisms, close attention to storage and application instructions on the labels is important to their effective use.

A variety of pathogens of pest insects and plants are available commercially, however they are formulated and regulated as insecticides, and will not be discussed in this handbook.

If you do choose to introduce natural enemies, stick with commercially available products from reputable suppliers. Never introduce a beneficial insect you or someone else have collected from other areas and transported to Ontario. Introducing foreign organisms is against the law, and could lead to serious ecological problems in the long run.

Table 3: Common Predators and Their Prey

Predator Prey
Lady beetles and larvae aphids, mites, thrips and other small insects and insect eggs
Ground beetles caterpillars and small soft bodied insects
Syrphid flies aphids and small caterpillars
Lacewing larvae aphids, insect eggs, thrips and other small insects and larvae
Assassin bugs aphids, insect eggs, leafhoppers and other small insects and caterpillars
Other true bugs, including predatory stink bugs, pirate bugs, big-eyed bugs and damsel bugs mites, thrips, aphids and other small insects and larvae, insect eggs and caterpillors
Dragon flies and damsel flies mosquitoes and other flying insects
Praying mantis general feeders on a wide variety of insects
Frogs, snakes and mice a variety of insects

 

Table 4: Common Parasitoids and Their Hosts

Parasitoid Host
Ichneumonid wasps moth, butterfly, beetle and fly larvae and pupae
Braconid wasps moth, beetle, and fly larvae and various insect pupae and adults

 

Table 5: Commercially Available Natural Enemies

Target Pest Natural Enemy
Type Species
Mites Predatory Mites Phytoseiulus persimilis
Galandromus occidentalis
Amblyseius fallacis
Mesoseiulus longipes
Neoseiulus californicus
Predatory Flies Feltiella acarisuga
Predatory ladybeetles Stethorus punctillum
Whiteflies Parasitic wasps Eretomocerus mundus
Eretomocerus eremicus
Encarsia formosa
Predatory Ladybeetles Delphastus catalinae
Aphids Predatory Ladybeetles Hippodamia convergens
Adalia bipunctata
Predatory Lacewings Chrysoperla carnea
Chrysoperla rufilabris
Praying mantis (predatory) Tenodera aridifolia
Predatory fly larvae Aphidoletes aphidomyza
Parasitic wasps Aphidius colemani
Aphidius matricariae
Aphelinus abdominalis
Thrips Predatory mites Amblyseius swirskii
Amblyseius cucumeris
Amblyseius degenerans
Orius insidiosus
Caterpillars Predatory Soldier bugs Podisus maculiventris
Parasitic wasps Trichogramma pretisoum
Trichogramma minutum
Trichogramma ostriniae
Parasitic nematodes Steinernema carpocapsae
Various soil beetle larvae Parasitic nematodes Heterorhabditis bacteriophora
Heterorhabditis megidis
Steinernema kraussei
Leafminers Parasitic wasps Dacnusa sibirica
Diglyphus isea
Mealybugs Parasitic wasps Leptomastix dactylopii
Predatory ladybeetles Cryptolaemus montrouzieri
Scale insects Parasitic wasps Aphytis melinus
Metaphycus spp.
Predatory ladybeetles Lindorus lophanthae
Slugs Parasitic nematodes Phasmarhabditis hermaphrodita

Note that many, though not all, of these natural enemies are targeted more for greenhouse situations and may not achieve successful control in outdoor landscapes. Not all natural enemies are equally effective.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 04 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 2: Lutte Intégrée
Méthodes de lutte biologique

Table des matières

  1. Méthodes de lutte biologique
  2. Protection des insectes utiles
  3. Liens connexes

Méthodes de lutte biologique

La lutte biologique consiste à utiliser un ennemi naturel d'un ravageur pour réduire les populations de ce dernier. Ces ennemis naturels, qualifiés collectivement d'espèces « utiles », peuvent être des prédateurs, des parasitoïdes, des organismes pathogènes ou des nématodes. Les prédateurs tuent et dévorent de nombreux autres insectes (généralement plus petits qu'eux); ce sont les carabes, les coccinelles, les mantes religieuses et certains acariens (Tableau 3). Les insectes parasitoïdes pondent leurs œufs à la surface du corps d'un autre insecte ou à l'intérieur de celui ci, et les jeunes se nourrissent aux dépens de leur hôte, qui finit généralement par mourir (Tableau 4). La plupart des insectes parasitoïdes sont de minuscules guêpes ou mouches. Les pathogènes sont des micro organismes qui infectent les insectes et les acariens et les tuent. Les insectes sont naturellement sensibles à une vaste gamme de bactéries, champignons, protozoaires et virus. Et enfin les nématodes sont de minuscules vers semblables à ceux qui s'attaquent aux plantes. Cependant, au lieu des végétaux, ils envahissent le corps des insectes par leurs orifices naturels et se nourrissent de leur chair à partir de l'intérieur, ce qui finit par les tuer.

De nombreux prédateurs et parasitoïdes sont de proches parents des espèces nuisibles et leur ressemblent beaucoup. Il est donc souhaitable de se familiariser avec les espèces utiles les plus communes du jardin. À cet effet, des photos et des informations connexes sont affichées sur le site Web du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales. Afin de déterminer si un insecte donné est utile ou nuisible, inspecter les plantes sur lesquelles il se trouvait pour voir s'il s'en est nourri. L'observer pour voir s'il mange la plante ou un membre d'une autre espèce. Voir également comment il se déplace : les prédateurs sont généralement rapides, leur agilité leur permettant d'attraper leurs proies.

Il y a deux principales formes de lutte biologique, soit la mise en œuvre de diverses mesures pour favoriser et protéger les populations d'espèces utiles présentes naturellement, ou l'introduction d'ennemis naturels achetés dans le commerce.

Protection des insectes utiles

La meilleure stratégie de lutte biologique consiste à favoriser les populations d'ennemis naturels des ravageurs en leur offrant un habitat qui leur convient. Chez de nombreux parasites des insectes, les adultes survivent plus longtemps s'ils peuvent se nourrir de nectar, et certains prédateurs doivent s'alimenter de pollen pour pouvoir se reproduire. De plus, beaucoup de ces espèces utiles se portent mieux lorsqu'elles disposent d'abris. Pour favoriser leurs populations, faire pousser diverses plantes à fleurs dont les adultes pourront consommer le pollen et le nectar. Veiller à choisir des végétaux qui ne se comportent pas comme des mauvaises herbes envahissantes; à cet égard, les espèces indigènes peuvent constituer un bon choix. On pourra offrir un abri aux insectes utiles en maintenant un habitat diversifié dans le jardin et autour de celui ci. Il existe plusieurs stratégies possibles à cet effet, mais aussi certains risques. Les paillis que l'on pose entre les rangs de cultures forment un refuge pour des prédateurs comme les carabes, mais ils font également le bonheur des limaces et des cloportes.

Au jardin, il faut utiliser les produits chimiques avec prudence parce que certains insectes utiles résistent à des doses moins fortes d'insecticide que les espèces nuisibles. Éviter aussi la dérive de ces produits vers les plantes du voisinage qui peuvent abriter des insectes utiles.

Introductions

De nombreux ennemis naturels des ravageurs peuvent être achetés dans le commerce et relâchés dans les cultures et les jardins pour lutter contre les ravageurs. Bien que ces agents biologiques donnent de très bons résultats dans les serres, beaucoup d'entre eux ne présentent qu'un intérêt limité pour les jardins familiaux. Certains, comme les mantes religieuses, sont des prédateurs généralistes qui s'attaquent à un si grand nombre d'espèces qu'ils ont un effet limité sur les populations du ravageur visé. De plus, de nombreux prédateurs naturels introduits ne restent pas longtemps sur place.

On peut aussi relâcher des prédateurs naturels indigènes comme les coccinelles, mais l'achat de l'espèce Hippodamia convergens, importée des États Unis, n'est pas d'une grande utilité. Ces coccinelles sont recueillies pendant leur hivernation dans les montagnes de Californie. Dès qu'elles sont relâchées, elles s'envolent et parcourent de grandes distances avant de reprendre leur activité prédatrice. Il en restera donc tout au plus quelques unes pour livrer bataille dans le jardin. De plus, les coccinelles ne peuvent que contribuer à circonscrire les invasions d'insectes non mobiles comme les pucerons, et seulement si on les introduit avant que la population de ravageurs soit bien établie. Par contre, certains parasitoïdes et prédateurs utiles présents à l'état naturel en Ontario se prêtent bien aux introductions dans les jardins privés et peuvent être achetés auprès de fournisseurs. Pour qu'ils soient efficaces, il faut en relâcher à intervalles réguliers dans le jardin.

Dans la province, il est également possible d'acheter divers produits à base de nématodes parasites des insectes, qui peuvent donner de bons résultats contre les populations de certains ravageurs terricoles. Comme ces produits contiennent des organismes vivants, pour assurer leur efficacité, il faut bien suivre les instructions sur l'entreposage et le traitement qui figurent sur l'étiquette.

Divers pathogènes des insectes et des plantes nuisibles sont vendus dans le commerce, mais ils sont préparés et réglementés comme des insecticides et nous n'en parlerons pas dans le présent manuel.

S'en tenir aux ennemis naturels des ravageurs qui sont vendus dans le commerce par des fournisseurs reconnus. Ne jamais relâcher d'insectes utiles capturés par vous même ou une autre personne hors de l'Ontario et amenés dans la province. L'introduction d'organismes étrangers est illégale et peut causer de graves problèmes écologiques à long terme.

Tableau 3. Prédateurs communs et leurs proies.

Prédateur Proie
Coccinelles et leurs larves Pucerons, acariens, thrips et autres petits insectes ainsi que leurs œufs
Carabes Chenilles et autres petits insectes à corps mou
Syrphes Pucerons et petites chenilles
Larves de chrysopes Pucerons, œufs d'insectes, thrips et autres insectes et larves de petite taille
Réduves Pucerons, œufs d'insectes, cicadelles et autres insectes et chenilles de petite taille
Autres punaises, notamment pentatomes, anthocorides, Geocorus spp. et nabidées Acariens, thrips, pucerons et autres petits insectes et leurs larves, œufs d'insectes et chenilles
Libellules et demoiselles Moustiques et autres insectes ailés
Mantes religieuses Généralistes, prédateurs d'une vaste gamme d'insectes
Grenouilles, serpents et souris Divers insectes

 

Tableau 4. Parasitoïdes communs et leurs hôtes.

Parasitoïde Hôte
Ichneumonides Papillons de nuit, papillons, larves et nymphes de coléoptères et de mouches
Braconides Larves de papillons de nuit, de coléoptères et de mouches et divers autres insectes, nymphes ou adultes

 

Tableau 5. Ennemis naturels des ravageurs disponibles dans le commerce.

Ravageur viséEnnemi naturel
TypeEspèces
AcariensAcariens prédateursPhytoseiulus persimilis
Galandromus occidentalis
Amblyseius fallacis
Mesoseiulus longipes
Neoseiulus californicus
Mouches prédatricesFeltiella acarisuga
Coccinelles prédatricesStethorus punctillum
AleurodesGuêpes parasitoïdesEretomocerus mundus
Eretomocerus eremicus
Encarsia formosa
Coccinelles prédatricesDelphastus catalinae
PuceronsCoccinelles prédatricesHippodamia convergens
Adalia bipunctata
ChrysopeChrysoperla carnea
Chrysoperla rufilabris
Mante religieuse (prédatrice)Tenodera aridifolia
Larves prédatrices de mouchesAphidoletes aphidomyza
Guêpes parasitoïdesAphidius colemani
Aphidius matricariae
Aphelinus abdominalis
ThripsAcariens prédateursAmblyseius swirskii
Amblyseius cucumeris
Amblyseius degenerans
Orius insidiosus
ChenillesPunaise prédatricePodisus maculiventris
Guêpes parasitoïdesTrichogramma pretisoum
Trichogramma minutum
Trichogramma ostriniae
Nématodes parasitesSteinernema carpocapsae
Diverses larves terricoles de coléoptèresNématodes parasitesHeterorhabditis bacteriophora
Heterorhabditis megidis
Steinernema kraussei
MineusesGuêpes parasitoïdesDacnusa sibirica
Diglyphus isea
Cochenilles farineusesGuêpes parasitoïdesLeptomastix dactylopii
Coccinelles prédatricesCryptolaemus montrouzieri
CochenillesGuêpes parasitoïdesAphytis melinus
Metaphycus spp.
Coccinelles prédatricesLindorus lophanthae
LimacesNématodes parasitesPhasmarhabditis hermaphrodita

À noter que beaucoup de ces espèces, sinon toutes, sont davantage destinées aux cultures en serre et peuvent ne pas donner les résultats escomptés en plein air; de plus, elles n'ont pas toutes la même efficacité.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 4 juillet 2005
Dernière révision : 18 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca