The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 2: Integrated Pest Management
Introduction

Introduction

It is normal for garden plants to suffer some damage from pests. Healthy plants can withstand pest attack better than those growing under difficult conditions. A few blemishes on fruit or spots on leaves are not usually worth the cost and time spent in control efforts. Maintaining a healthy lawn or garden is the homeowner's best defence against unwanted pests. Gardeners are encouraged to use natural practices such as mechanical, cultural and biological methods whenever possible. Information on non-pesticide controls are provided throughout this handbook. If natural methods fail and you want to investigate allowable pesticide options, use only those reduced risk pesticides or biopesticides permitted for cosmetic use under the cosmetic pesticides ban, or contact a professional pest management company, consult staff at garden centres, or your local Master Gardener's group.

Identification of the target pest and determining its life cycle and biology is critical to choosing appropriate and effective control methods. This includes the damaging stages of the pest, when the pest is present and when it is most vulnerable in its life cycle. To be effective, controls must be implemented at the proper developmental stage of the pest.

Integrated Pest Management

An integrated pest management strategy is one that combines all available tools to reduce pest populations to an acceptable level in the most economic and environmentally friendly fashion. These tools include cultural, mechanical, biological and chemical pest control measures, as well as regularly monitoring for pests. It is important to note that most of these tools do not involve pesticides. There are numerous non-pesticide options that can be used to help prevent or reduce the impacts of pests in the lawn or garden, including cultural and natural controls. While many of these measures on their own might not provide sufficient control, in combination they may reduce the problem to below threshold levels. It is the most effective and environmentally friendly way to minimize problems in your garden.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 04 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 18 August 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 2: Lutte Intégrée
Introduction

Introduction

Il est normal que les plantes de jardin subissent certains dommages dus aux ravageurs. Les plantes en santé résistent mieux aux attaques de ces derniers que celles qui poussent dans des conditions difficiles. Quelques taches sur les fruits ou sur le feuillage ne valent souvent pas le temps et l'argent qu'impliquerait un effort de lutte antiparasitaire. Pour les jardiniers, le maintien d'une pelouse en bonne santé est la meilleure forme de défense contre les ravageurs. Nous les encourageons à employer des méthodes naturelles (mécaniques, culturales et biologiques) aussi souvent qu'ils le peuvent. Dans tout le présent manuel, ils trouveront des informations sur les méthodes de lutte sans pesticides. Si celles ci ne donnent pas les résultats escomptés et si vous voulez en savoir plus sur l'utilisation des pesticides autorisés, limitez vous aux produits à risque réduit ou aux biopesticides encore permis à la suite de l'interdiction des pesticides utilisés à des fins esthétiques; vous pouvez également communiquer avec une entreprise professionnelle de lutte contre les ravageurs, consulter le personnel d'un centre jardinier, un paysagiste professionnel ou un maître jardinier de votre région.

Pour savoir quelles sont les méthodes de lutte qui sont appropriées et efficaces, il est essentiel d'identifier le ravageur en cause et de connaître son cycle vital et ses caractéristiques biologiques, par exemple les moments où il est présent, les stades auxquels il est nuisible et ceux auxquels il est le plus vulnérable. Pour que les mesures de lutte soient efficaces, elles doivent être mises en œuvre lorsque le ravageur est au stade de développement approprié.

Lutte intégrée contre les ennemis des cultures

Une stratégie de lutte intégrée consiste à combiner tous les outils disponibles pour réduire les populations de ravageurs à un niveau acceptable de la façon la plus économique et la plus écologique possible. Il peut s'agir de méthodes culturelles, mécaniques, biologiques et chimiques, ainsi que d'un suivi régulier des ravageurs. Il importe de remarquer que la plupart de ces outils ne font pas appel à des substances chimiques. Pour prévenir ou limiter les effets des ravageurs sur les pelouses ou les jardins, il existe de nombreuses méthodes non chimiques, notamment culturales et naturelles. Appliquées isolément, bon nombre de ces méthodes ne donnent pas de résultats satisfaisants, mais combinées, elles peuvent empêcher le problème d'atteindre un certain seuil. C'est le moyen le plus efficace et le plus écologique de protéger un jardin.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 4 juillet 2005
Dernière révision : 18 août 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca