The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 1: Causes of Plant Injury
Abiotic Injury

Table of Contents

  1. Abiotic Injury
  2. Learn More

Abiotic Injury

Abiotic diseases are those not caused by a living organism or virus, but by soil and weather conditions, or man-made physical and chemical disturbances. Leaf and root systems are usually affected and of the two, root problems are the most serious.

Unless root conditions are improved, the plant may die.

The plant's response to abiotic injury depends upon the severity of the problem and the plant species itself. Oak, maple, ash and spruce, for example, are very sensitive to soil compaction, drought, root damage or sudden changes in weather conditions. Abiotic injury can also weaken the plant and predispose it to attack by insect pests and diseases.

To control abiotic diseases, improve overall growing conditions, avoid damaging factors and, whenever possible, select plants that are resistant to abiotic damage.

Air Pollution

Air pollution - particularly ozone, nitrogen oxides and sulphur dioxide - damages some plants more than others and is more severe in some areas of Ontario than in others. Ozone and nitrogen oxides are found in smog. Sulphur dioxide is formed primarily during the combustion of coal and oil.

The type of damage seen varies with pollution levels, as well as with the sensitivity of the plant. Symptoms include leaf stippling or chlorosis and premature ageing of the leaves.

Autumn Shed of Conifers

This natural phenomenon is not a disease. All conifers undergo annual needle shed to varying degrees. Beginning in early autumn, needles toward the inside of the tree (closest to the trunk) turn yellow or brown and fall. Cedars and many junipers have scale like needles covering tiny branchlets. These trees also shed the oldest branchlets in the fall.

Trees of low vigour, or under stress from factors such as drought, transplant shock, poor drainage or soil compaction may lose more than one year's quota of foliage. In such cases, identifying the problem and alleviating the stress will minimize autumn shed.

Compacted Soil

Pavement or compacted soil around trees prevents air and water from penetrating the soil. Heavy equipment working on a landscape site or considerable foot traffic can also result in soil compaction, especially in clay soils, resulting in the slow decline of both young and old trees.

Dieback

Dieback affects shade trees, and is found throughout Ontario. The gradual loss of vigour and dying back of branches are classic symptoms. The presence of short internodes, small, discoloured leaves and premature autumn colour may also occur. Maple, ash, oak and beech are particularly susceptible.

In Norway maples over 30 years, for example, dieback of individual branches, or smaller leaves overall, is a common sight. Other trees may begin to prematurely develop their fall colours. Dieback may appear very suddenly or so gradually you may not know it is happening.

The causes of dieback are poorly understood. Root stresses such as soil compaction, poor drainage, site alteration, and high soil temperature are contributing factors, as are viral diseases. Girdling wires and ropes left on after transplanting can also be the culprit.

To prevent dieback, institute a proper watering and fertilization program, as this will promote healthy tree growth. With older trees, avoid changes to drainage patterns or the use of heavy equipment on top of the root systems.

Dog Injury

All evergreens, particularly eastern white cedar, are sensitive to urine from male dogs. Symptoms include rapid browning and blackening of lower leaves, and a distinctive greasy appearance. Damaged growth does not recover.

To avoid injury, protect the lower portion of the shrubs.

Injury to lawns results from dogs urinating on the lawn killing the above-ground portion of the turf. Symptoms usually include circular or oblong patches of dead turf surrounded by a dark green, more rapidly growing ring of turf. Recovery usually occurs within two to three weeks under favourable moisture conditions. Thorough watering of the damaged spots will help leach salts from the urine. However, severely damaged lawns may have to be renovated.

Edema

Edema is associated with extreme fluctuations in soil moisture. Tiny water-soaked spots first appear on lower leaf surfaces, and later develop into corky ridges. Older leaves with severe edema turn yellow and die. It is most common with ivy geranium and other waxy-leaved annuals.

To prevent edema, avoid fluctuating soil moisture conditions, especially in times of high humidity or low temperature. Replant large plants that dry rapidly into larger containers to minimize this condition.

Fertilizer Injury

Too much fertilizer, or fertilizer that is improperly applied, can cause burning. Not enough fertilizer can result in deficiency symptoms, often seen as an overall yellowing of the leaves or weak, spindly growth.

Frost or Chilling Injury

Frost injury is caused by freezing temperatures after growth has begun. Symptoms are different for different types of plants:

  • Annuals: blackened leaves and stems. Poorly hardened off transplants are particularly susceptible
  • Deciduous plants: leaf crinkling and blackened leaf margins
  • Early flowering shrubs: flower buds fail to open or appear tattered and brown along the petal edges.
  • Coniferous trees: wilting and possible dying off of young shoots.

Girdling Root

Roots that constrict some part of the base of a tree are called girdling roots. They have become a major problem in the urban landscape, causing the decline of many 25-30 year old Norway and red maples. Nursery grown trees are most susceptible, as they are often cultivated close to the stem or grown in containers, causing small roots to grow tangentially to the trunk. Years later, once both trunk and roots are established, constriction by the tangential roots occurs.

Girdling roots can usually be found within 15 cm of the soil line. Their presence is often indicated by a lack of normal flaring where the trunk meets the roots. Visible symptoms include slow growth over a period of several years, small leaf size, premature autumn colour and dieback. These symptoms do not appear until girdling roots have done irreversible damage. Because the problem is usually restricted to one side of the tree, some branches may die while others remain healthy.

To prevent this problem, remove any spiral-like roots before planting young trees.

Herbicide Injury

Plants can be seriously harmed by accidental exposure to herbicides. Careless application, spray drift or leaching into the root zone are common culprits. The severity and type of damage depends upon the amount and type of herbicide involved. Slight exposure may have no long-term effects at all. Exposure to soil-borne herbicides that are active over a period of months or even years, however, is far more damaging.

Once accidental exposure has occurred, there is little you can do to correct the damage beyond watering and fertilizing to relieve some of the stress to the plant. Prevention is the better practice. Read the herbicide label carefully before using, and follow all instructions. To avoid problems caused by spray drift, do not apply sprays on windy days.

Herbicide-Specific Symptoms

Non-selective herbicides such as paraquat kill leaves and green twigs by direct contact only. Spray droplets cause discrete brown spots similar to leaf spots caused by fungi.

Glyphosate - commonly known by its trade name Roundup - is absorbed by the green tissues of plants, and is then transferred to the root system. Symptoms of damage include yellowing and browning of leaves as well as deformities of new growth.

Leaf and Root Scorch

Leaf scorch is a typical example of what can occur when plants have difficulty taking up water. Horse chestnut, oak, harlequin maple, and many others are susceptible, and the problem is most common along city streets.

Leaf scorch is seen most often in mid-August, and usually develops on branches in the upper canopy first. It appears as sudden leaf death or browning, either interveinally or at the margins. A late spring leaf scorch of maple and beech has been attributed to sudden exposure of leaves to full sunlight following a wet, cloudy period.

Root scorch is caused by high levels of salt in the soil, either due to salty irrigation water or salt residues from winter snow removal.

To treat leaf scorch, water deeply once a week during dry spells to minimize stress to the tree.

Natural Gas

Natural gas leaking from a pipeline seriously harms plants.

Chemical Injury

Spraying chemicals at midday during hot weather may injure the leaves of plants because the plants are already under stress and because the pesticides dry too quickly. The younger, softer growth is most prone to injury. Symptoms appear as marginal leaf burn or as small brown spots throughout the leaf where small, beaded chemical droplets remained.

Poorly Drained Soil

Most plants do not grow well in poorly drained, waterlogged soil because it lacks the air necessary for healthy root development. Under these conditions, most plants develop poor, weak root systems or very shallow systems that are prone to root rot. Only certain species of woody plants will tolerate these types of conditions: silver maple, willow, dogwoods, balsam fir, black spruce and buttonbush.

Salt Injury

Salt injury from runoff and spray drift caused by passing traffic occurs widely along roads where de-icing salt is used extensively in winter. When plant tissues are wet and temperatures are above freezing, salt enters the plant and accumulates. Typically, the injury develops on the side of the tree facing the road and on the side of the road facing the prevailing wind.

Salt Spray Injury

  • Deciduous plants: failure of flower and leaf buds to open, small misshapen leaves, tip dieback and shoot tufting.
  • Conifers: needles or branchlets turn brown from the tip down and then fall, leaving bare stems.

Salt Injury from Root Uptake

Salt runoff from melting ice and snow from roads and sidewalks will accumulate in the soil until damaging levels are reaches. When a plant takes up too much salt through the root system, leaf size can be reduced, there may be marginal leaf scorch, and leaves can fall prematurely. Trees known to be sensitive include white pine, eastern white cedar, sugar maple, linden, red and white oak and crabapple.

Austrian pine, blue spruce, Russian olive, sumac and Norway maple are quite tolerant.

Walnut Injury

The roots of the butternut and black walnut (though not the English walnut) have a harmful effect on many plants growing within their root zone because of the juglone produced by their roots. Tomato is one of the most susceptible vegetables and will wilt and collapse about the time the fruit begin to size. Other susceptible vegetables include broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower, eggplant, peas, pepper, and potato. Susceptible ornamentals include potentilla, azalea, rhododendron, euonymus and red and white pines.

If you notice that a plant near one of these trees is growing poorly, avoid planting that species in the future. The best remedy may be to remove the tree, but the harmful effects last for more than one year. Using raised beds may be helpful. Another alternative is to plant tolerant plants, including vegetables such as beet, onion, snap beans or sweet corn or ornamentals such as mock oranges, viburnums, honeysuckle, hosta, iris, periwinkle and many others.

For further information, see OMAFRA Infosheet, Black Walnut Toxicity.

Wind, Hail or Lightning Injury

Wind or hail injury can cause tattering of leaves on flowers, vegetables, trees and shrubs. Because strong winds are often seen in the spring, young, immature leaves are most susceptible to tattering.

A direct lightning strike to trees can cause serious damage, tearing bark and turning leaves black.

Winter Injury

Many trees and shrubs suffer winter injury because they are only marginally hardy to your area. If the winter is particularly harsh or if there are rapid temperature fluctuations during winter, leaf and flower buds can be killed. The effects are often not evident until late spring, when new growth collapses and inner wood appears black to the core. To guard against this, do not over-fertilize. This will prevent late fall growth and ensure adequate hardening off.

Symptoms of winter injury are varied. Broad-leaved and coniferous evergreens can dry out if planted in exposed, windswept areas. An early warning sign in broad-leaved evergreens is leaf margins that curl down and in. If moisture loss is severe, buds, leaves, needles and small branches eventually turn brown and die. In foundation plantings, water well late in the fall, use thick mulch on the soil surface to insulate the root system, and use protective screens of burlap to reduce exposure.

For young, thin-barked trees such as maples, linden, London plane and flowering cherry, winter injury takes the form of frost cracks or `south-west injury'. These are long splits in the bark mainly on the south or west side of the trunk. Wrapping the trunk with burlap or painting it with a white latex will reduce this problem.

Many ornamental trees and shrubs may only be marginally hardy to your area. Extreme low temperatures or rapid fluctuations during late winter will result in the death of leaf or flower buds - flower buds are the most sensitive.

To guard against winter injury in all plants, do not over-fertilize; this prevents late fall growth and ensures adequate hardening off. As well, plant any injury prone trees and shrubs in the most protected locations around your property.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 04 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 1: Comment les dommages sont causés
Dommages d'origine abiotique

Table des matières

  1. Dommages d'origine abiotique
  2. Liens connexes

Dommages d'origine abiotique

Les affections d'origine abiotique sont celles qui ne sont causées ni par un organisme vivant, ni par un virus, mais plutôt par le sol, les conditions météorologiques, ou des perturbations physiques ou chimiques résultant de l'activité humaine. Elles touchent généralement le feuillage et le système racinaire, ce dernier étant le plus gravement atteint.

La plante risque de mourir à moins qu'on améliore l'état des racines. Sa réaction aux dommages d'origine abiotique dépend de la gravité du problème et de l'espèce végétale en question. Le chêne, l'érable, le frêne et l'épinette, par exemple, sont des essences très sensibles à la compaction du sol, à la sécheresse, aux dommages causés aux racines ou aux variations soudaines de température. Les dommages d'origine abiotique peuvent aussi affaiblir la plante et la rendre plus vulnérable aux insectes et aux maladies.

Pour combattre les affections d'origine abiotique, améliorer l'ensemble des conditions de culture, éliminer les facteurs en cause et, dans la mesure du possible, sélectionner des variétés pouvant résister à ces types de dommages.

Pollution de l'air

La pollution de l'air (particulièrement l'ozone, les oxydes d'azote et l'anhydride sulfureux) cause davantage de dommages à certaines plantes qu'à d'autres et sévit plus gravement dans certaines régions de l'Ontario que dans d'autres. L'ozone et les oxydes d'azote sont présents dans le smog. Quant à l'anhydride sulfureux, il est principalement formé par la combustion du charbon et du pétrole.

Le type de dommage varie selon le niveau de pollution et le degré de sensibilité de la plante. Les symptômes comprennent l'apparition de mouchetures sur les feuilles ou chlorose et le vieillissement prématuré des feuilles.

Chute des aiguilles de conifères à l'automne

Il s'agit d'un phénomène naturel et non d'une maladie. Tous les conifères perdent une quantité variable d'aiguilles chaque année. Dès le début de l'automne, celles qui font face à l'intérieur de l'arbre (les plus près du tronc) jaunissent ou brunissent et tombent. Les thuyas et de nombreux genévriers ont des aiguilles en forme d'écaille qui recouvrent les ramilles. Chez ces espèces, les ramilles les plus anciennes tombent aussi à l'automne.

Les arbres peu vigoureux ou stressés par la sécheresse, le choc de transplantation, le mauvais drainage ou la compaction du sol peuvent perdre une plus grande partie de leur feuillage qu'ils ne le feraient en un an dans des conditions normales. En pareil cas, on pourra limiter la chute des aiguilles ou des écailles en identifiant le problème et en réduisant le stress.

Sol compacté

Le pavage et la compaction du sol autour des arbres empêchent la pénétration de l'air et de l'eau dans la terre. Les travaux effectués sur un terrain paysager avec un matériel lourd ou le passage de nombreux piétons peuvent également entraîner une compaction, surtout sur les sols argileux, ce qui entraîne un dépérissement progressif des arbres, jeunes ou vieux.

Dépérissement

Le dépérissement frappe les arbres d'ombrage et s'observe partout en Ontario. La perte progressive de vigueur et la défoliation des branches en sont les symptômes classiques. Le raccourcissement des entre-noeuds, la diminution de la taille des feuilles et leur décoloration ainsi que l'apparition prématurée de la coloration automnale peuvent également se produire. L'érable, le frêne, le chêne et le hêtre sont particulièrement prédisposés au dépérissement.

Chez les érables de Norvège âgés de plus de 30 ans, par exemple, le dépérissement de certaines branches et la diminution de la taille des feuilles sont fréquents. D'autres arbres peuvent prendre leurs couleurs d'automne prématurément. Le dépérissement peut survenir soit de façon soudaine, soit d'une manière tellement graduelle qu'on peut ne pas le remarquer.

Les causes du dépérissement sont mal connues. On sait toutefois que la compaction du sol, le manque de drainage, l'altération du milieu et l'échauffement trop prononcé du sol produisent un stress sur les racines et prédisposent au dépérissement, tout comme les maladies virales. Ce phénomène peut aussi être dû à la corde ou au grillage employés pour ceinturer l'arbre et qu'on a laissés en place après la transplantation.

Pour prévenir le dépérissement, mettre en œuvre un programme d'arrosage et de fertilisation adéquat qui favorisera une bonne croissance des arbres. En ce qui concerne les arbres plus âgés, éviter de modifier le mode de drainage ou de faire passer du matériel lourd sur leur système racinaire.

Dommages causés par les chiens

Tous les conifères, et en particulier le thuya occidental, sont sensibles à l'urine des chiens mâles. Les symptômes sont le brunissement et le noircissement rapides de la partie inférieure du feuillage, qui prend un aspect graisseux caractéristique. La croissance des parties endommagées ne reprend pas.

Pour prévenir ce genre de problème, protéger la partie inférieure des arbustes.

Sur les pelouses, l'urine de chien tue la partie aérienne du gazon. Parmi les symptômes, on remarque habituellement des zones circulaires ou allongées de gazon mort entourées de gazon vert foncé à croissance plus rapide. Lorsque le degré d'humidité est suffisant, la pelouse se rétablit généralement en deux ou trois semaines. Un arrosage copieux de la portion endommagée contribuera à éliminer les sels de l'urine. Cependant, il peut devenir nécessaire d'envisager la rénovation des pelouses très endommagées.

Œdème

L'œdème se produit lorsque l'humidité du sol subit des fluctuations extrêmes. Il se traduit d'abord par l'apparition, sur la face inférieure des feuilles, de minuscules taches gorgées d'eau qui deviennent bientôt des bourrelets liégeux. Dans sa forme la plus grave, l'œdème fait jaunir et mourir les plus vieilles feuilles. Cette affection est très courante chez le géranium lierre et chez d'autres plantes annuelles aux feuilles couvertes de pruine.

Pour prévenir l'œdème, éviter de faire fluctuer l'humidité du sol, surtout par temps froid ou humide; rempoter dans de plus gros contenants les plants déjà bien développés qui sèchent rapidement.

Dommages causés par la fertilisation

L'engrais mal appliqué ou en quantité excessive peut brûler les plantes; par ailleurs une fertilisation insuffisante peut se traduire par des symptômes de carence comme le jaunissement de l'ensemble du feuillage, ou par un étiolement et une croissance chétive.

Dommages causés par le gel et le froid

Les dommages causés par le gel apparaissent lorsque la température est inférieure au point de congélation après le début de la croissance. Les symptômes varient selon le type de plante :

  • Annuelles: noircissement des feuilles et des tiges. Les plants repiqués dont l'aoûtement n'est pas suffisant y sont particulièrement sensibles.
  • Plantes décidues: recroquevillement des feuilles et noircissement de leur bordure.
  • Arbustes à floraison hâtive: absence d'ouverture des bourgeons floraux ou brunissement et déchiqueture du bord des pétales.
  • Conifères: flétrissure et, parfois, mort des jeunes pousses.

Étranglement par les racines

Les racines qui compriment une partie de la souche d'un arbre sont appelées racines constrictives. Cette affection, qui entraîne le dépérissement d'un grand nombre d'érables rouges et d'érables de Norvège âgés de 25 à 30 ans, constitue aujourd'hui un problème majeur dans nos villes. Les arbres cultivés en pépinière sont les plus prédisposés à l'étranglement par les racines parce qu'ils sont souvent sarclés au ras des tiges ou cultivés en contenants, de sorte que les petites racines contournent le tronc, qu'elles finissent par étrangler après des années de développement.

Les racines constrictives se trouvent en général à moins de 15 cm sous la surface du sol. On peut souvent en soupçonner la présence lorsque la souche ne s'élargit pas normalement à la jonction du tronc et des racines. Les symptômes visibles peuvent être le ralentissement de la croissance pendant plusieurs années, la diminution de la taille des feuilles, l'apparition prématurée de la coloration automnale et le dépérissement. Lorsqu'ils apparaissent, les racines constrictives ont déjà causé des dégâts irréversibles. Comme l'étranglement ne touche généralement qu'un côté de l'arbre, certaines branches peuvent mourir tandis que d'autres restent en bonne santé.

Afin de prévenir l'étranglement par les racines, enlever toutes les racines en spirale des jeunes arbres avant leur mise en terre.

Dommages causés par les herbicides

L'exposition accidentelle aux herbicides peut endommager sérieusement les plantes. Ce phénomène résulte souvent d'un manque de soin apporté à la pulvérisation, de la dérive de l'herbicide ou de son écoulement dans la rhizosphère par lessivage. Ces dommages peuvent être causés même par les produits à risque réduits qui sont encore permis depuis l'interdiction des pesticides utilisés à des fins esthétiques. La nature des dégâts et leur gravité dépendent de la quantité et du type d'herbicide employé. Une légère exposition peut n'avoir aucun effet à long terme; cependant l'exposition à des herbicides persistant dans la zone racinaire pendant plusieurs mois, voire plusieurs années, peut avoir des conséquences beaucoup plus graves.

Une fois que l'exposition accidentelle s'est produite, il n'y a plus grand-chose à faire pour y remédier si ce n'est l'irrigation et la fertilisation qui permettent d'atténuer le stress subi par la plante. En matière d'exposition aux herbicides, mieux vaut prévenir que guérir. Lire attentivement l'étiquette du produit avant de s'en servir et suivre toutes les instructions . Pour éviter la dérive, ne pulvériser aucun herbicide par temps venteux.

Symptômes propres aux herbicides

Les herbicides non sélectifs tels que le paraquat ne tuent que le feuillage et les tiges qu'ils touchent directement. Les gouttelettes causent de petites taches brunes semblables aux taches foliaires causées par des champignons.

Le glyphosate (qu'on connaît surtout sous le nom de Roundup, son appellation commerciale) est absorbé par les parties vertes des plantes, puis il est diffusé jusque dans le système racinaire. Les symptômes peuvent être le jaunissement et le brunissement des feuilles ainsi que la déformation des nouvelles pousses.

Roussissement des feuilles et des racines

Le roussissement des feuilles est un symptôme typique des végétaux qui absorbent mal l'eau. Le marronnier d'Inde, le chêne et l'érable «Drummondii» ainsi que de nombreuses autres essences sont prédisposés à cette affection qu'on observe surtout le long des voies urbaines.

Le roussissement des feuilles est plus fréquent à la mi-août; généralement, il atteint d'abord les branches du houppier. Il provoque la mort soudaine des feuilles ou le brunissement de leur limbe ou de leur bordure. On a déterminé que le roussissement du feuillage de l'érable et du hêtre à la fin du printemps était lié à l'exposition soudaine du feuillage au plein soleil après une période de temps humide et nuageux.

Le roussissement des racines est causé par une forte concentration de sel dans le sol, qui peut résulter de l'irrigation effectuée avec de l'eau saline ou des résidus du sel épandu sur les routes en hiver.

Pour traiter cette affection, pendant les périodes de sécheresse, arroser profondément une fois par semaine pour réduire le stress causé à l'arbre.

Gaz naturel

Les fuites de gaz naturel des gazoducs endommagent gravement les plantes.

Dommages d'origine chimique

Par temps chaud, la pulvérisation de produits chimiques au milieu de la journée peut endommager le feuillage des plantes, parce que celles-ci subissent déjà un stress et que les pesticides sèchent trop rapidement. Les jeunes pousses encore tendres sont celles qui sont les plus exposées à ces dommages. Les symptômes sont la brûlure du bord des feuilles ou l'apparition de petites taches brunes sur le feuillage, aux endroits où de petites gouttelettes perlent encore.

Mauvais drainage du sol

La plupart des plantes ne poussent pas bien lorsque le sol est gorgé d'eau ou mal drainé, ce qui les prive de l'air nécessaire à la croissance de racines saines. Dans ces conditions, leur système racinaire se développe mal, est affaibli ou s'enfonce très peu dans le sol, et il est ainsi prédisposé au pourridié. Seules certaines espèces de végétaux ligneux tolèrent de telles conditions : érable argenté, saule, cornouiller, sapin baumier, épinette noire et platane occidental.

Dommages causés par le sel

Le sel contenu dans les eaux de ruissellement et les embruns provenant de la circulation automobile produit très souvent des dommages le long des routes où l'on utilise de grandes quantités de sel de déglaçage en hiver. Il pénètre et s'accumule dans les tissus végétaux lorsque ceux-ci sont mouillés et que la température est positive. Les symptômes apparaissent généralement sur la face du végétal qui fait face à la route, du côté exposé aux vents dominants.

Dommages causés par le sel contenu dans les embruns

  • Plantes décidues : absence d'ouverture des bourgeons floraux et foliaires, petite taille et déformation des nouvelles feuilles, dépérissement des rameaux et formation de branches touffues et très ramifiées.
  • Conifères : brunissement des aiguilles ou des ramilles à partir de l'extrémité des rameaux, suivi de leur chute qui fait apparaître des branches dénudées.

Dommages causés par l'absorption excessive de sel par les racines

Les résidus de sel laissés sur les routes et les trottoirs par la fonte de la glace et de la neige s'accumulent dans les sols avoisinants, où ils atteignent une concentration suffisante pour causer des dommages à la végétation. Lorsque le système racinaire d'une plante absorbe une quantité excessive de sel, on remarque parfois une réduction de la taille des feuilles, la brûlure du bord des feuilles et leur chute prématurée. Les essences sensibles à ce phénomène sont le pin blanc, le thuya occidental, l'érable à sucre, le tilleul, le chêne rouge, le chêne blanc et le pommetier.

Le pin noir d'Autriche, l'épinette bleue, le chalef à feuilles étroites, le vinaigrier et l'érable de Norvège tolèrent bien le sel.

Dommages causés par les noyers

Les racines du noyer cendré et du noyer noir (mais pas celles du noyer commun) sécrètent de la juglone, substance toxique pour de nombreuses espèces végétales qui occupent la même rhizosphère. La tomate est l'une des espèces les plus sensibles aux dommages causés par les noyers; les plans flétrissent et s'affaissent à peu près au moment où les fruits arrivent à maturité. L'aubergine, le brocoli, le chou, le chou de Bruxelles, le chou-fleur, le poivron, le pois et la pomme de terre y sont également sensibles. Parmi les végétaux d'ornement qui sont prédisposés à cette affection, on note la potentille, l'azalée, le rhododendron, le fusain, le pin rouge et le pin blanc.

Si une plante croissant à proximité de l'un de ces deux arbres se développe mal, éviter par la suite de planter cette espèce au même endroit. Le traitement le plus radical consisterait à enlever le noyer, mais ses effets toxiques persistent au moins un an après le déracinement. La culture sur billons pourrait constituer une solution de rechange. On peut également planter des végétaux tolérant la juglone, par exemple des légumes comme la betterave, le haricot mange-tout, le maïs sucré ou l'oignon, ou bien des végétaux d'ornement comme le seringa, la viorne, le chèvrefeuille, l'hosta, l'iris, la pervenche et beaucoup d'autres.

Pour plus d'information, voir la fiche technique du MAAARO sur la toxicité des noyers, Walnut Toxicity (disponible en anglais seulement).

Dommages causés par le vent, la grêle ou la foudre

Le vent ou la grêle peuvent déchirer les feuilles des plants de fleurs et de légumes, des arbres et des arbustes. En raison des vents forts qui sont fréquents au printemps, les jeunes feuilles immatures sont les plus exposées à ce phénomène.

Les arbres frappés directement par la foudre peuvent être gravement endommagés (déchirement de l'écorce et noircissement des feuilles).

Dommages causés par l'hiver

De nombreux arbres et arbustes subissent des dommages au cours de l'hiver parce qu'ils ne sont que très légèrement rustiques dans la région où ils poussent. Si l'hiver est particulièrement rude ou que la température fluctue rapidement, les bourgeons foliaires et floraux peuvent mourir. Les dégâts produits par l'hiver passent souvent inaperçus jusqu'à la fin du printemps, moment où l'on peut constater l'affaissement des nouvelles pousses et le noircissement complet du cœur du bois. Pour prévenir ces effets, ne pas employer d'engrais en quantité excessive. Cela permet d'éviter la croissance des pousses à la fin de l'automne et d'assurer un aoûtement adéquat.

Les symptômes des dommages causés par l'hiver sont multiples. Les feuillus à feuilles persistantes et les conifères peuvent se dessécher s'ils sont exposés au vent. Chez les feuillus à feuilles persistantes, un signe précoce de dommages est l'enroulement du bord des feuilles vers le bas et vers l'intérieur. Si la perte d'humidité est importante, les bourgeons, les feuilles, les aiguilles et les rameaux brunissent et finissent par mourir. Pour ce qui est des plantes de fondation, bien les arroser jusque tard en automne, placer un paillis épais sur le sol pour isoler le système racinaire, et étendre des toiles protectrices en jute.

Chez les jeunes arbres à écorce mince tels que l'érable, le tilleul, le platane à feuilles d'érable et le cerisier décoratif, l'hiver produit des gélivures (fentes longitudinales généralement situées sur la face sud-ouest des troncs). Pour circonscrire ce problème, on peut entourer le tronc de jute ou le couvrir de latex blanc.

De nombreux arbres et arbustes ornementaux peuvent n'être que très légèrement rustiques dans la région où ils poussent. Les froids extrêmes ou les fluctuations rapides de la température à la fin de l'hiver peuvent causer la mort des bourgeons foliaires et floraux, ces derniers étant les plus sensibles.

Pour protéger toutes les plantes contre les dommages causés par l'hiver, éviter de surfertiliser; on empêchera ainsi la croissance des pousses à la fin de l'automne et on assurera un aoûtement adéquat. En outre, planter les arbres et arbustes prédisposés aux dommages causés par l'hiver aux endroits les mieux abrités de la propriété.

Liens connexes



Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 4 juillet 2005
Dernière révision : 18 mai 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca