The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 1: Causes of Plant Injury
The Larger Pests

Table of Contents

  1. The Larger Pests
  2. Learn More

The Larger Pests

Mice, Rats and Voles

In winter, mice live under the snow, travelling in and on the soil. They can become a problem when their normal food source is scarce. The damage they cause to bark, roots and lawns is not noticed until spring.

Voles can cause significant damage to young trees and perennials by girdling the lower stem and by feeding on the roots and crowns of perennials. Meadow voles usually feed on grass seeds and herbs but shift to bark in fall and winter.

Management Options

Avoid rodent infestations in home gardens by eliminating sources of food, water or shelter. For example, keep garbage cans, recycling bins, compost boxes and all other sources of food (e.g. bird seed) covered and remove all potential areas near gardens where rodents can build nests (e.g. lumber piles, firewood stacked close to the ground). Keep areas near gardens well mowed, as tall grass provides protection for voles.

Place wire mesh tree guards around young trees, pushing them into the soil to a depth of 5 cm and surround them with stones to prevent digging. Maintain a grass free area around young trees and shrubs, and keep all grass mowed short to prevent the creation of a desirable environment for the animals to live and feed in during the summer and fall.

Taste repellents may be available for domestic use. Animals are repelled by the bitter taste but are not harmed. For a list of repellents and baits allowed under the Cosmetic Pesticide Ban, refer to the Ministry of the Environment website. Brush or spray repellents on bark or on the ground in a protective band around trees (refer to the product label for specific instructions) in late fall before a major snowfall. Temperatures should be above freezing. Apply when the bark is dry and rain is not expected, so that the repellent will dry thoroughly. One treatment properly applied gives protection until spring. Place crushed stones around the base of plants to prevent mice from feeding below the treated bark or on the roots. Severe infestations are rare in a normal urban garden, and are usually only a problem in rural areas.

Moles

Moles are small, plump, short tailed burrowing animals with no visible ears and small, poorly developed eyes. They spend most of their lives underground, burrowing constantly in search of worms, grubs and other soil insects. They can cause serious damage by lifting roots of perennials, bulbs, lawns and strawberry and raspberry patches. The tunnels they create let in air that dries out the roots.

Management Options

Set live traps to catch moles and release them elsewhere. Specially designed mole traps work on trip mechanisms, which the mole pushes as it tunnels through an existing burrow.

Rabbits

In winter when food is scarce, rabbits eat bark, twigs and buds of fruit trees and many ornamental trees and shrubs. When snow surface is frozen, they can reach a considerable height. If completely girdled, trees, shrubs or single branches die. Rabbits can also be a problem in the vegetable garden in the summer. Damage due to rabbits is usually a more serious problem in rural areas.

Management Options

Place tree guards (available at garden supply stores) or chicken wire around individual trees or shrubs. Guards must be tall enough to give protection under highest possible snow conditions. In the summer, vegetables can be covered with chicken wire netting, or a chicken wire fence can be placed around vulnerable areas of the garden. Fences should be sturdy and partially buried, to prevent burrowing underneath it.

Brush or spray repellents on bark of fruit trees, ornamental crabapples and other susceptible woody plants in late fall before a major snowfall. Temperatures must be above freezing. Apply when bark is dry and rain is not expected, so that the repellent can dry thoroughly. One treatment properly applied gives protection until spring. Rabbits, deer and rodents are repelled by the bitter taste but are not harmed. For a list of repellents allowed under the Cosmetic Pesticide Ban, refer to the Ministry of the Environment website.

Skunks

Skunks dig up lawns searching for grubs.

Management Options

Management options to reduce grub populations in lawns will minimize the food supply for skunks. See Chapter 7 for suggestions on how to reduce grub populations in lawns.

Squirrels

Squirrels may strip bark from maples, eat buds off trees and rhododendrons, nibble on cherry, peach, pear and apple fruits, dig up bulbs and plant acorns and black walnuts where they are not wanted.

Management Options

Secure pieces of galvanized wire netting over newly planted bulbs using pegs or rocks.

Nail a 45-50 cm sleeve of aluminum, such as those used on roofs, around the tree trunk to prevent squirrel damage if there are no other trees from which the squirrels can jump. Strips should be at least 2 m tall. One end is nailed down at the corners and the other end is tucked under to hold it in place. Allow enough length for trunk expansion as tree grows and loosen nails periodically so the corners do not become embedded in the bark. Branches hanging lower than 2 m should also be pruned off. The same method can be used to prevent porcupines from climbing a tree to feed on bark.

Woodchucks or Groundhogs

Groundhogs or woodchucks can be found in a variety of habitats: fields, old pastures, fence rows, gardens and backyard hedges. They feed on grasses, clovers and succulent garden plants. They may also damage fruit trees or ornamental trees by gnawing the bark, and ruin root systems by digging burrows.

Management Options

Control must be a neighbourhood activity, to prevent animals entering from adjacent property.
Wire fencing around the garden may help stop groundhogs from digging under. Bury the base to a depth of 15-20 cm and turn it outward in a trench, causing groundhogs and woodchucks to dig on an angle.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 04 July 2005
Last Reviewed: 25 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 1: Comment les dommages sont causés
Les ravageurs de plus grande taille

Table des matières

  1. Les ravageurs de plus grande taille
  2. Liens connexes

Les ravageurs de plus grande taille

Souris, rats et campagnols

En hiver, les souris vivent sous la neige et circulent sur le sol ou dessous. Elles peuvent devenir nuisibles lorsque leur source de nourriture habituelle se raréfie. Ce n'est qu'au printemps qu'on constatera les dommages qu'elles ont infligés à l'écorce, aux racines et aux pelouses.

Les campagnols peuvent causer des dommages considérables aux jeunes arbres et aux plantes pluriannuelles; ils encerclent le bas des tiges et se nourrissent des racines et du collet de ces dernières. Les campagnols des champs se nourrissent généralement de graines de gazon et d'herbes mais se tournent vers l'écorce en automne et en hiver.

Prévention et lutte

Pour éviter les invasions de rongeurs dans les jardins, éliminer les sources de nourriture, l'eau et les abris. Couvrir les poubelles, les boîtes de recyclage et de compost et toutes les autres sources de nourriture (p. ex. graines pour oiseaux), et enlever tout ce qui permet à ces animaux de construire leur nid (p. ex. bois de construction ou de chauffage empilé à faible hauteur). Près des jardins, garder les pelouses bien tondues parce que les herbes hautes constituent un abri pour les campagnols.

Entourer les jeunes arbres d'un corset métallique qu'on enfoncera à 5 cm de profondeur et qu'on entourera de cailloux pour empêcher le creusage. Ne pas laisser l'herbe pousser près du tronc des jeunes arbres et arbustes et garder le gazon court pour éviter de créer un milieu où les animaux pourront s'installer et se nourrir au cours des mois d'été et d'automne.

Il existe des antiappétants à usage domestique; ces produits ont un goût amer qui repousse les animaux sans leur nuire. Pour voir la liste des répulsifs et appâts permis depuis l'interdiction d'utilisation des pesticides à des fins esthétiques, voir le site du ministère de l'Environnement. Étendre les répulsifs ou les vaporiser sur l'écorce ou le sol pour former une bande protectrice autour des arbres (voir les instructions spécifiques sur l'étiquette du produit) à la fin de l'automne, avant la première forte chute de neige. La température doit être au dessus de zéro. Appliquer lorsque l'écorce est sèche et qu'on ne prévoit pas de pluie pour laisser au répulsif le temps de sécher complètement. Si le traitement est effectué correctement, son effet protecteur durera jusqu'au printemps. Entourer la base des plantes d'une couche de pierre concassée pour empêcher les souris de se nourrir d'écorce sous la partie traitée ou de manger les racines. Les infestations graves sont rares dans les jardins urbains ordinaires, et elles ne surviennent généralement que dans les zones rurales.

Taupes

La taupe est un petit animal fouisseur trapu, à la queue courte, sans oreilles visibles et aux yeux petits et peu développés. Elle passe la plus grande partie de sa vie sous terre, où elle creuse constamment à la recherche de vers, de vers blancs et d'autres insectes terricoles. Les taupes peuvent causer des dégâts importants parce qu'elles arrachent les racines des plantes pluriannuelles, des bulbes, des pelouses et des plantations de fraisiers et de framboisiers. Les galeries qu'elles creusent laissent entrer de l'air qui assèche les racines.

Prévention et lutte

Si les dommages sont limités, il est possible d'aplanir les taupinières et de semer par dessus.

Lapins

En hiver, lorsque la nourriture se raréfie, les lapins mangent l'écorce, les rameaux et les bourgeons des arbres fruitiers et de nombreux arbres et arbustes d'ornement. Lorsque la surface de la neige est gelée, ils peuvent atteindre des hauteurs surprenantes. Les arbres, les arbustes et les branches qui sont complètement encerclés finissent par mourir. En été, les lapins peuvent aussi s'attaquer aux potagers. Ils causent généralement davantage de dégâts dans les zones rurales.

Prévention et lutte

Entourer les arbres et les arbustes d'un corset de protection (offert chez les fournisseurs d'articles de jardinage) ou de grillage à volaille. Ces corsets doivent s'élever assez haut pour protéger les arbres même lorsque la couche de neige est très épaisse. En été, on peut couvrir les légumes d'un grillage à volaille ou entourer les parties vulnérables du jardin d'une clôture à volaille grillagée. Les clôtures doivent être résistantes et partiellement enterrées pour empêcher l'animal de passer dessous en creusant.

À la fin de l'automne, avant une forte chute de neige, étendre le répulsif ou le pulvériser sur l'écorce des arbres fruitiers, des pommetiers d'ornement et des autres plantes ligneuses sensibles. La température doit être au dessus de zéro. Appliquer lorsque l'écorce est sèche et qu'on ne prévoit pas de pluie, pour laisser au répulsif le temps de sécher complètement. Si le traitement est effectué correctement, son effet protecteur durera jusqu'au printemps. Ces produits ont un goût amer qui repousse les lapins, les cervidés et les rongeurs sans leur nuire. Pour voir la liste des répulsifs permis depuis l'interdiction d'utilisation des pesticides à des fins esthétiques, voir le site du ministère de l'Environnement.

Mouffettes

Les mouffettes creusent les pelouses à la recherche de vers blancs.

Prévention et lutte

On peut restreindre la quantité de nourriture dont les mouffettes disposeront en limitant les populations de vers blancs dans les pelouses. Voir au Chapitre 8 les suggestions sur la réduction des populations de vers blancs dans les pelouses.

Écureuils

Les écureuils peuvent arracher l'écorce des érables, dévorer les bourgeons des arbres et notamment des rhododendrons, grignoter les cerises, les pêches, les poires et les pommes, déterrer des bulbes et planter inopinément des glands et des noix de noyer noir dans les plates bandes.

Prévention et lutte

Installer des morceaux de grillage en fil galvanisé au dessus des bulbes nouvellement plantés et les fixer avec des piquets ou des pierres.

Si les écureuils ne peuvent pas sauter à partir d'arbres voisins, autour du tronc à protéger, clouer un corset d'aluminium de 45 à 50 cm (du type de ceux qu'on utilise dans la construction des toits). Ces bandes métalliques doivent avoir au moins deux mètres de hauteur. Clouer les coins d'un côté et glisser l'autre côté dessous. Laisser assez de jeu pour permettre la croissance du tronc et dégager les clous de façon périodique pour empêcher les coins de s'enfoncer dans l'écorce. Par ailleurs, il est conseillé d'élaguer les branches qui se trouvent à moins de deux mètres du sol. Cette méthode permet également d'empêcher les porcs épics de grimper aux arbres pour se nourrir d'écorce.

Marmottes

Les marmottes fréquentent divers habitats : champs, anciens pâturages, bordures des terrains agricoles, jardins et haies des terrains résidentiels. Elles se nourrissent de graminées, de trèfles et de plantes potagères succulentes. Elles peuvent aussi endommager les arbres fruitiers et d'ornement dont elles rongent l'écorce, et détruire les systèmes racinaires en creusant leurs terriers.

Prévention et lutte

Il faudra obtenir l'aide des voisins pour empêcher les marmottes de migrer d'une propriété à l'autre.

On peut entourer le jardin d'un grillage de façon à les empêcher de passer dessous en creusant. Tracer un sillon et enfoncer la base du grillage à une profondeur de 15 à 20 cm en la tournant vers l'extérieur pour former un coin qui arrêtera la marmotte.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 4 juillet 2005
Dernière révision : 18 mai 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca