The Online Gardener's Handbook 2010
Chapter 1: Causes of Plant Injury
Insects and Other Invertebrates Causing Plant Injury

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Defoliators and Chewing Invertebrates
  3. Sucking Insects
  4. Borers
  5. Gall Markers
  6. Soil Pests

Introduction

A wide variety of insects, spiders, snails, slugs and other invertebrates are commonly found in and around home gardens. While some are damaging to garden plants, most are not. Some may even be beneficial, such as pollinators (e.g. bees) or those that act as natural predators of pest insects (e.g. ladybeetles). The simple presence of an invertebrate in your garden is not necessarily a reason to undertake control measures. Ensure it is actually damaging your garden before trying to remove it, keeping in mind that many landscape plants can tolerate considerable cosmetic damage without significant long term impacts. Additionally, remember that any control measure used against a pest insect could also be harmful to their natural enemies or to pollinators.

Many kinds of insects and mites cause injury to ornamental plants and it is not possible to discuss them all in this publication. Only commonly observed problems are mentioned in this book. Invertebrate pests can be broadly divided into five categories according to their feeding habits/mouthparts and the damage they cause - chewing insects that defoliate leaves or attack fruit, sucking insects, wood borers, gall makers and soil pests.

Some damage is distinctive, allowing identification of the insect that caused it without even seeing the pest at work (see Table X Location of Plant Damage Symptoms and possible Causes). A hand lens (e.g. 10x-20X) can be helpful to see some tiny pests such as mites. Other pests develop within the plant tissues, concealed from view.

Some common types of insect pests from each category are listed below. More detailed information on specific pests is listed under each crop.

Defoliators and Chewing Invertebrates

Defoliating and chewing invertebrates eat plant tissue, including leaves, flowers, buds, stems, fruit and seeds. They may feed singly or in dense colonies and their feeding habits vary. They chew or scrape plant parts. Defoliators attack leaves and stems, consuming leaf edges, interveinal tissue or entire leaves. Some remain hidden, feeding inside the leaf and creating extensive mines visible as blotches or trails. Either way, photosynthesis is affected, and the plant is deprived of food. While some defoliators can be seen, many others hide within a web, folded leaf or portable shelter. Other species of chewing insects feed directly on fruits, nuts, vegetables or seeds, and are often more damaging then those that feed on foliage alone.

Fruit- and Leaf-Feeding Caterpillars

Caterpillars are the immature, or larval, stages of moths and butterflies. They may feed on foliage, fruits or nuts; either in colonies or individually. Some feed on the surface of the leaf or fruit, while others chew their way inside and may be difficult to detect. The adult stages do not have chewing mouthparts; many do not feed at all while others feed only on nectar or other sources of sugar.

Caterpillars have three pairs of true legs on their thorax, located just behind the head. Up to 5 pairs of fleshy "prolegs" with hooks on the bottom are located further back on their abdomens. This group also includes loopers (inchworms) that have only two or three pairs of prolegs. Some caterpillars make shelters for themselves by folding or rolling leaves around themselves, holding these together with webbing. Caterpillars making this type of shelter are known as leafrollers. Others form large colonies of insects living on or in extensive webs or tents. These shelters help protect them from predators and parasites.

Cutworms

Cutworms are members of a group of caterpillar species that often cause a distinct type of damage early in the growing season. They attack stems of seedling plants, clipping them near the soil level and causing plants to fall over. Large cutworms can destroy several seedlings, leaving patches of dead plants. Some species will also attack foliage or other plant parts later in the season. Cutworms feed only at night and remain hidden on or just below the soil surface during the day. They are most active in May and June. Cutworms are variable in appearance but are usually dull grey to brown with darker markings, and are often hairless and greasy looking. They tend to curl into a "C" when disturbed.

Fruit- and Leaf-Feeding Beetles

Beetles feed as larvae and adults, though the type and location of plant parts consumed can vary with their life stage. They can completely devour, skeletonize (leave only the veins behind) or mine the leaves. Those attacking fruit may cause direct damage to fruit and fruiting vegetables, or they may feed on damaged areas caused by other animals.

Leafminers

Leafminers are the immature stage of some small insects, typically flies (maggots) or caterpillars, which develop within leaf tissues. As they grow, they move through the leaf's interior, feeding on the sap and tissues and leaving characteristic tunnels which are easy to identify. Tunnels can be straight, serpentine or irregular.

Fruit- and Seed-Feeding Maggots

Maggots are the larval stages of flies. They are typically small, white and legless. While some maggot pests attack roots (see soil insects), others damage aboveground parts. Some species attack seeds and germinating seedlings (e.g. the seedcorn maggot) while others damage fruits above ground (e.g. the apple maggot).

Sawflies

Sawflies are related to bees, wasps and ants. The adults are stout-bodied, have two pairs of wings and resemble small, amber-coloured bees. The larvae of most species look similar to caterpillars, with 3 pairs of true legs on the thorax, close to the head. They usually have seven or eight pairs of prolegs (with no hooks), located on their abdomen, a feature which distinguishes them from caterpillars. Many sawflies feed in colonies and quickly strip leaves from their host plants. Others, including some infesting apple and pear, are found singly.

Slugs and Snails

Slugs and snails are molluscs and so are more closely related to clams than insects. Both are soft-bodied, slimy and legless, however slugs do not have an obvious external spiral shell. They have rasping mouthparts that they use to eat holes in leaves, roots and other parts of many different plant species. They generally hide during the day in dark, moist places and feed at night, leaving behind glistening, sticky slime trails, which serve as evidence of their activity. Slugs are often more damaging than snails. Damp, rainy weather and mulches favour slugs.

Sucking Insects

Sucking insects weaken plants by removing water, nutrients and other material. Some also inject secretions that injure or kill plant cells. Some sucking insects can transmit certain plant diseases. Because leaves are not chewed or torn, infested plants may suffer severe injury before symptoms appear. Signs of damage include mottling and fading leaf colour, curling and twisting leaves, wilting of foliage and tender shoots, and malformed flowers.

Aphids

Aphids (plant lice) are small, soft bodied, pear-shaped insects of varying colour (often green, red or black), They can be distinguished from other similar insects by the presence of two projectionsnear the tip of their abodomen, called cornicles or tailpipes. Aphids have long, thin straw-like mouthparts that they use to pierce plant tissue and suck out fluids. As they feed, they secrete a sweet sticky substance on which black sooty mould may grow. Aphids often form dense colonies, clustering on new growth and young shoots, on the underside of leaves, along the stem or on petioles. Aphid populations can increase very quickly under favourable conditions.

Leafhoppers

Leafhoppers are small (approximately 3-5 mm long), wedge-shaped active insects, usually green, yellow or striped. They can be distinguished from aphids by the lack of cornicles and their tendency to run, hop or fly away when disturbed. They are related to aphids, and also posess piercing-sucking mouthparts which they use to feed on the undersides of leaves, causing stippling or bleaching; small, white dots appear on the upper surface of leaves. Some leafhoppers secrete toxin that can kill tissue, leading to leaf margins turning black (necrosis). The cast skins of the nymphs often remain attached to the lower surface of leaves.

Mites

Mites are relatives of spiders. Mites have either 2 or 4 pairs of legs and two main body regions that may appear fused; in contrast, insects have three pairs of true legs and three body regions. Most are extremely small, and are not readily seen with the naked eye. One of the most common mite pests in gardens are spider mites, which produce webbing to protect themselves from their natural enemies and from being dislodged. Mites reproduce rapidly during hot dry weather, and can build up to damaging levels very quickly. They insert their mouthparts into the tissue of a variety of plants, causing speckling, bleaching or bronzing of the foliage.

Plant Bugs

Plant bugs belong to a group of insects known as true bugs. Adults of most species can be identified by the "X" shape made by their wings when folded on their backs, and by the distinctive triangle located behind their heads. Plant bugs are related to aphids and also use strawlike mouthparts to suck sap from plant tissue. Both adults and nymphs cause damage, often injuring the young, developing shoots and leaves. Symptoms of damage include stippled leaves, deformed leaves and stunted shoots. On fruits and vegetables, they often cause depressions in the tissues around where they feed.

Scale Insects

Scale insects are usually tiny and immobile for most of their lives. Only adult males and newly hatched nymphs are mobile. Adult females are wingless, often lack discernable legs, and usually are covered by hard or waxy coating, giving them a distinctive appearance that can sometimes make them difficult to recognize as insects. This waxy covering makes scales very hard to manage; often the only vulnerable stage is the newly hatched nymph which has not yet secreted a shell. Scale insects are related to aphids, plant bugs and leafhoppers and also have sucking mouthparts. They can be found on the bark of woody plants or on leaves, stems or fruit. On soft tissue, their feeding causes yellow spots or lesions while on woody plants it may cause the bark to split. They often blend in with the host plant, making them hard to see. Scales can be divided into three groups:

Armoured Scales

Armoured scales vary from 2-3 mm in length or diameter and posess a hard, protective covering over their bodies that can be removed to reveal the insect underneath. They may be circular, oblong or pear shaped and commonly attack trees and shrubs. When they are present in large numbers, infested bark may appear crusty.

Soft Scales

Soft scales are either bare or enclosed in waxy or cottony secretions. They typically appear more raised than armoured scales when viewed from the side, and are round or oval. Unlike armoured scales, the waxy coating of soft scales cannot be separated from their bodies.

Mealybugs

Mealybugs are soft-bodied insects usually covered with a powdery or cottony wax. The edges of their bodies usually have waxy filaments extending from them. Mealybugs produce honeydew. Unlike other scale insects, mealybugs are mobile throughout their life.

Thrips

Thrips are tiny, very slender-bodied insects with distinctively fringed wings. They attack the leaves and flowers of several woody and herbaceous plants. Thrips have rasping mouthparts that they use to scrape off the surface of plant tissue and suck out the fluids. Thrips feed in protected places, often inside a leaf or flower bud, and damage often goes unnoticed until infested buds open to reveal mottled and distorted growth.

Borers

Borers are beetle and moth larvae that tunnel into the buds, shoots, bark or wood of trees and shrubs. Some species attack healthy trees, but most attack trees and shrubs already under stress from another cause.

Infested plants are often damaged beyond repair before you are aware of the presence of borers, so prevention is critical. Signs of damage include canopy dieback, dead branches or areas of bark, bark splitting, shoots/suckers emerging from the trunk, sap flows and sawdust like material on the bark or on the ground. Emerald ash borer and Asian long-horned beetle are examples of invasive alien borers that have received a lot of media attention due to their destructiveness.

Gall Makers

Galls are abnormal growths produced by a plant in response to insect irritations. They can occur on any part of a plant. Causes include feeding, stinging, egg-laying or toxin injection. Galls generally benefit the pest by providing a protective shelter for the insect to complete its life cycle. Aphids (and aphid-like insects such as phylloxera), mites, midges (flies), gall wasps and some beetle and moth larvae can all produce galls. Galls very greatly in size, colour and complexity, but each insect species produces a characteristic gall formation. They rarely kill plants, but can greatly affect their appearance.

Soil Pests

Pests below the soil line can seriously damage plants before most gardeners are aware of their presence. It is often difficult to determine the extent of the pest problem or the effectiveness of treatment.

Grubs

White grubs are the immature stage of scarab beetles, notably the Japanese beetle, the June beetle and chafers. They have plump, milky-white bodies; brown heads; three pairs of legs and move into a distinctive "C" shape when disturbed. Larvae of white grubs are very similar in appearance and cannot easily be distinguished from one another.

Although white grubs are traditionally considered pests of turf, some introduced species have been expanding their host range. In the last several years, white grubs have been found feeding on the roots and crowns of woody nursery plants, and vegetables and fruits in southwestern Ontario. Some grubs, particularly the Japanese beetle, can also be very destructive as adults, feeding however instead of roots they attack the fruit and foliage of many plants.

Root-Feeding Maggots

Maggots are the immature stages of flies. They are typically small, white and legless. Some species attack underground parts, such as the roots of cabbage, broccoli and related plants (e.g. the cabbage maggot).

Root weevils

Root weevils are the immature stages of snout beetles, named for the mouthparts of the adult stage, which is extended into a distinctive snout. They are white with a brown head and can be distinguished from white grubs by the absence of legs and the uneven thickness of their bodies (they are fatter in the centre than at their ends). The larvae feed extensively on roots of a variety of ornamental and fruit plants, sometimes killing them when numbers are high enough. Adult weevils will feed on fruit and foliage, however adult damage does not usually affect the health of the plant.

Wireworms

Wireworms are the immature stages of click beetles. They are orange, hard-bodied larvae with six legs. The larvae will attack the roots of a variety of vegetable crops including carrots, potatoes, onions and corn. They are often confused with millipedes.

Learn More

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 03 May 2010
Last Reviewed: 01 June 2010

Manuel du jardinier
Chapitre 1: Comment les dommages sont causés
Insectes et autres invertébrés ennemis des cultures

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Invertébrés défoliateurs et broyeurs
  3. Suceurs
  4. Perceurs
  5. Insectes gallicoles
  6. Ravageurs terricoles
  7. Liens connexes

Introduction

De nombreuses espèces d'insectes, d'araignées, d'escargots, de limaces et d'autres invertébrés sont communes dans les jardins familiaux. Quelques unes s'attaquent aux plantes, mais la plupart ne le font pas. Certaines peuvent même être utiles, comme les pollinisateurs (abeilles) ou les prédateurs naturels des insectes ravageurs (coccinelles). La simple présence d'un de ces invertébrés dans votre jardin n'est pas une raison suffisante pour entreprendre des mesures de lutte. Assurez vous d'abord qu'il est réellement nuisible à vos plantations avant de tenter de l'éliminer, sans oublier que l'aspect esthétique de nombreuses plantes paysagères peut être gravement affecté sans que cela ait d'effets significatifs à long terme. En outre, n'oubliez pas que toute intervention visant un insecte ravageur donné peut aussi nuire à ses prédateurs naturels ou aux pollinisateurs.

Les espèces d'insectes et d'acariens qui s'attaquent aux plantes ornementales sont trop nombreuses pour qu'on puisse toutes les traiter dans la présente publication, et nous nous limiterons donc aux plus fréquentes. On peut classer grossièrement les invertébrés nuisibles en cinq catégories selon leur mode d'alimentation ou la forme de leurs pièces buccales, et selon le type de dommages qu'ils causent : les broyeurs qui détruisent les feuilles ou s'attaquent aux fruits, les suceurs, les perceurs, les insectes gallicoles et les ravageurs terricoles.

Certains types de dommages sont caractéristiques et permettent d'identifier le ravageur en cause même sans le voir en action (voir Tableau 1, Identification des lésions produites par les ravageurs sur les plantes). Une loupe (10 x ou 20 x) peut être utile pour voir certaines espèces minuscules comme les acariens. D'autres ravageurs se développent à l'intérieur des tissus végétaux, où on ne peut les voir.

Une liste des ravageurs communs de chacune de ces catégories est présentée ci dessous. On trouvera également des informations plus détaillées sur chacun de ces ravageurs dans la partie consacrée à chaque type de culture.

Invertébrés défoliateurs et broyeurs

Les invertébrés défoliateurs et broyeurs s'alimentent de diverses parties des plantes (feuilles, fleurs, bourgeons, tiges, fruits et graines). Ils peuvent se nourrir individuellement ou en colonies denses, et leurs habitudes alimentaires sont variables. Ils peuvent mâcher ou racler les tissus végétaux. Les défoliateurs s'attaquent aux tiges ou aux feuilles (bordure, limbe entre les nervures ou limbe entier). Certains d'entre eux restent cachés à l'intérieur de la feuille où ils se nourrissent en créant des réseaux étendus de galeries qui apparaissent sous la forme de boursouflures ou de traînées. Dans tous les cas, la photosynthèse est altérée et la plante est privée de nourriture. Certains défoliateurs sont visibles et d'autres se cachent dans des cocons, s'enroulent dans les feuilles ou se déplacent avec leur abri. D'autres espèces de broyeurs se nourrissent directement sur les fruits, les noix, les légumes ou les graines, et elles font plus de dégâts que celles qui ne s'attaquent qu'au feuillage.

Chenilles frugivores et phyllophages

Les chenilles représentent les stades immatures (larvaires) des papillons et des papillons de nuit. Elles se nourrissent de feuilles, de fruits ou de noix, en colonies ou individuellement. Certaines s'alimentent à la surface de la feuille ou du fruit, d'autres s'enfoncent à l'intérieur et peuvent être difficiles à détecter. Les adultes n'ont pas de pièces buccales broyeuses; beaucoup d'entre eux ne se nourrissent pas du tout et d'autres ne consomment que du nectar ou d'autres substances sucrées.

Les chenilles ont trois paires de vraies pattes situées sur le thorax, juste derrière la tête. Elles peuvent avoir jusqu'à cinq paires de pseudopodes (fausses pattes) charnus garnis de crochets et placés plus en arrière, sur l'abdomen. Ce groupe comprend aussi les arpenteuses qui n'ont que deux ou trois paires de pseudopodes. Certaines chenilles, qu'on appelle enrouleuses, se fabriquent un abri avec une feuille qu'elles replient ou enroulent autour de leur corps et qu'elles retiennent avec un réseau de fils. D'autres forment de grandes colonies qui vivent sur ou dans de grandes toiles ou tentes, se protégeant ainsi des prédateurs et des parasites.

Vers gris

Les vers gris sont un groupe de chenilles qui causent souvent des dommages reconnaissables au début de la saison de croissance. Ils s'attaquent aux tiges des plantules qu'ils coupent près du sol et qu'ils font tomber. Les gros vers gris peuvent ainsi tuer des groupes de plusieurs plants voisins. Plus tard dans la saison, certaines espèces s'attaquent aussi au feuillage ou à d'autres parties des plantes. Les vers gris ne se nourrissent que la nuit et restent cachés sur le sol ou juste sous sa surface pendant la journée. C'est en mai et juin qu'ils sont les plus actifs. Ils ont un aspect variable, mais ils vont généralement du gris terne au brun avec des marques plus foncées; ils sont souvent dépourvus de poils et semblent graisseux. Lorsqu'on les dérange, ils se recroquevillent généralement en arc de cercle.

Coléoptères frugivores et phyllophages

Les larves et les adultes de coléoptères se nourrissent de matière végétale; cependant, selon leur stade, ils peuvent consommer diverses parties de plantes situées à des endroits différents. Ils peuvent dévorer entièrement les feuilles, les réduire à l'état de squelettes (ne laisser que les nervures) ou creuser des galeries à l'intérieur de celles ci. Les espèces frugivores peuvent s'attaquer directement aux fruits ou aux légumes fruits, ou bien ils peuvent se nourrir sur les parties déjà endommagées par d'autres animaux.

Mineuses

Les mineuses peuvent représenter le stade immature de certains petits insectes, généralement de mouches (asticots), ou bien il peut s'agir de chenilles qui se développent à l'intérieur des tissus foliaires. Au fur et à mesure qu'elles se développent, elles se déplacent à l'intérieur de la feuille en se nourrissant de la sève et des tissus foliaires; elles creusent ainsi des galeries caractéristiques faciles à identifier qui peuvent être rectilignes, sinueuses ou irrégulières.

Asticots frugivores et phyllophages

Les asticots représentent le stade larvaire des mouches. Ils sont généralement petits, blancs et dépourvus de pattes. Certains d'entre eux s'attaquent aux racines (voir la partie Ravageurs terricoles), et d'autres aux parties aériennes des plantes. Certaines espèces consomment les graines et les plantules en cours de germination (mouche des semis) et d'autres les fruits au dessus du sol (mouche de la pomme).

Tenthrèdes

Les tenthrèdes sont apparentées aux abeilles, guêpes et fourmis. Les adultes sont trapus, ils ont deux paires d'ailes et ont l'aspect de petites abeilles ambrées. Les larves de la plupart des espèces ressemblent à des chenilles avec trois paires de vraies pattes portées par le thorax, près de la tête. Elles ont généralement sept ou huit paires de pseudopodes (sans crochets) situés sur l'abdomen, ce qui permet de les distinguer des véritables chenilles. De nombreuses espèces de tenthrèdes se nourrissent en colonies et dépouillent rapidement les plantes hôtes de toutes leurs feuilles. Chez d'autres espèces, dont certaines qui infestent les pommiers et les poiriers, les individus vivent seuls.

Limaces et escargots

Les limaces et les escargots sont des mollusques, et ils sont donc apparentés aux coquillages plutôt qu'aux insectes. Les membres des deux groupes ont un corps mou, gluant et sans pattes, et les limaces n'ont pas de coquille externe spiralée visible. Ils ont des pièces buccales râpeuses avec lesquelles ils creusent dans les feuilles, les racines et les autres parties de nombreuses espèces végétales. Pendant la journée, ils de cachent généralement dans les endroits sombres et humides; ils se nourrissent la nuit et laissent des pistes de bave luisante caractéristiques. Les limaces sont souvent plus nuisibles que les escargots. Elles sont favorisées par le temps humide et pluvieux ainsi que par la présence de paillis.

Suceurs

Les suceurs affaiblissent les plants dont ils prélèvent l'eau, les éléments nutritifs et d'autres substances. Certains leur injectent également des sécrétions qui nuisent aux cellules végétales ou les tuent. Certains suceurs transmettent des maladies aux plantes. Comme les feuilles ne sont ni rongées ni déchirées, les plants infestés peuvent subir de graves dégâts avant que des symptômes deviennent visibles. Les feuilles peuvent être marbrées ou décolorées, recourbées ou tordues; on peut remarquer un flétrissement du feuillage et des pousses tendres ainsi que l'apparition de fleurs mal formées.

Pucerons

Les pucerons sont de petits insectes à corps mou en forme de poire et de couleur variable (souvent verts, rouges ou noirs); ils se distinguent des insectes semblables par la présence de deux cornicules, qui sont des appendices situés près de la pointe de leur abdomen. Ils ont de longues pièces buccales semblables à des pailles avec lesquelles ils percent les tissus végétaux pour en aspirer les liquides. En s'alimentant, ils sécrètent une substance sucrée et collante sur laquelle se développe parfois une moisissure noire comme de la suie (fumagine). Les pucerons forment souvent des colonies denses qui s'agglutinent sur les nouvelles pousses, sur la face inférieure des feuilles, sur les tiges ou sur les pétioles. Lorsque les conditions s'y prêtent les populations de pucerons peuvent se multiplier très rapidement.

Cicadelles

Les cicadelles sont des insectes actifs en forme de coin et de petite taille (longueur de 3 à 5 mm environ), généralement verts, jaunes ou rayés. On les distingue des pucerons par l'absence de cornicules et par leur habitude de courir, de sauter ou de s'envoler lorsqu'on les dérange. Elles sont apparentées aux pucerons. Comme eux, elles ont des pièces buccales de type perceur suceur avec lesquelles elles s'alimentent sur la face inférieure des feuilles, qui prend alors un aspect moucheté ou délavé; de petites pustules blanches apparaissent également sur la face supérieure. Certaines cicadelles sécrètent une toxine qui peut tuer les tissus et qui fait noircir la marge des feuilles (nécrose). Les mues des nymphes adhèrent souvent à la face inférieure des feuilles.

Acariens

Les acariens sont apparentés aux araignées. Ils ont deux ou quatre paires de pattes et leur corps se divise en deux principales parties qui peuvent sembler fusionnées, contrairement aux insectes qui ont trois paires de vraies pattes et le corps divisé en trois parties. La plupart des acariens sont minuscules et difficiles à voir à l'œil nu. Les tétranyques sont parmi les acariens nuisibles les plus communs dans les jardins; ils produisent une toile qui les protège de leurs prédateurs naturels et leur évite d'être délogés. Ils se reproduisent rapidement par temps chaud et sec, et ils peuvent très vite devenir assez nombreux pour être nuisibles. Ils insèrent leurs pièces buccales dans les tissus de diverses plantes et produisent des tachetures, une décoloration ou un bronzage sur le feuillage.

Punaises

Les punaises forment un groupe distinct parmi les insectes. Les adultes de la plupart des espèces se reconnaissent au X dessiné par leurs ailes repliées sur leur dos, et au triangle caractéristique visible derrière leur tête. Les punaises sont apparentées aux pucerons et, comme eux, elles ont des pièces buccales en forme de paille avec lesquelles elles aspirent la sève des tissus végétaux. Les adultes et les nymphes causent des dommages; ils s'attaquent souvent aux feuilles et aux pousses jeunes et en développement. Parmi les symptômes, on remarque l'apparition de mouchetures sur le feuillage, la déformation des feuilles et le mauvais développement des pousses. Sur les fruits et les légumes, il apparaît souvent des dépressions dans les tissus qui entourent les endroits où les punaises se sont nourries.

Cochenilles

Les cochenilles sont généralement minuscules et immobiles pendant la plus grande partie de leur vie. Seuls les mâles adultes et les nymphes nouvellement écloses sont mobiles. Les femelles sont dépourvues d'ailes et n'ont souvent pas de pattes visibles; elles sont généralement recouvertes d'un revêtement dur ou cireux de sorte qu'il est parfois difficile de les identifier comme des insectes. Ce bouclier cireux rend très difficile la lutte contre les cochenilles; souvent, le seul stade vulnérable est la nymphe fraîchement éclose qui n'a pas encore sécrété cette couche protectrice. Les cochenilles sont apparentées aux pucerons, aux punaises et aux cicadelles, et elles ont aussi des pièces buccales de type suceur. Elles vivent sur l'écorce des plantes ligneuses, ou bien sur les feuilles, les tiges ou les fruits. Sur les tissus mous, en se nourrissant, elles produisent des taches ou des lésions jaunes; sur les plantes ligneuses, elles peuvent provoquer le fendillement de l'écorce. Elles sont souvent difficiles à voir parce qu'elles sont de la même couleur que la plante hôte. Les cochenilles se divisent en trois groupes:

Cochenilles à bouclier

Les cochenilles à bouclier ont une longueur ou un diamètre allant de 2 à 3 mm; leur corps est recouvert d'une couche protectrice dure qu'on peut enlever pour découvrir l'insecte. Elles peuvent être circulaires, allongées ou piriformes, et elles s'attaquent souvent aux arbres et aux arbustes. Lorsqu'elles sont présentes en grand nombre, l'écorce infestée peut prendre un aspect croûté.

Cochenilles à corps mou

Les cochenilles à corps mou sont nues ou entourées de sécrétions cireuses ou cotonneuses. Lorsqu'on les regarde de côté, elles paraissent généralement plus soulevées que les cochenilles à bouclier, et elles ont une forme arrondie ou ovale. Il est impossible de séparer leur revêtement cireux de leur corps, ce qui n'est pas le cas pour les cochenilles à bouclier.

Cochenilles farineuses

Les cochenilles farineuses sont des insectes à corps mou habituellement recouvert d'une cire poudreuse ou cotonneuse. On remarque généralement des filaments cireux qui partent de la bordure de leur corps. Elles produisent un miellat. Contrairement aux autres cochenilles, elles sont mobiles pendant toute leur vie.

Thrips

Les thrips sont de minuscules insectes au corps très élancé dont les ailes ont une bordure caractéristique. Ils s'attaquent aux feuilles et aux fleurs de plusieurs plantes ligneuses et herbacées. Ils ont des pièces buccales râpeuses avec lesquelles ils usent la surface des tissus végétaux pour en aspirer les fluides. Les thrips se nourrissent dans les endroits protégés, souvent à l'intérieur des bourgeons foliaires ou floraux; les dommages qu'ils infligent passent donc souvent inaperçus jusqu'à l'ouverture des bourgeons infestés, et ce n'est qu'à ce moment qu'on remarque les mouchetures et les déformations de la partie en croissance.

Perceurs

Les perceurs sont des larves de coléoptères et de papillons de nuit qui creusent des galeries dans les bourgeons, les pousses, l'écorce ou le bois des arbres et des arbustes. Certaines espèces s'attaquent aux arbres en bonne santé, mais la plupart jettent leur dévolu sur les arbres et les arbustes déjà stressés pour une autre raison.

Les dégâts infligés aux plantes infestées sont souvent irrémédiables lorsqu'on remarque la présence des perceurs, et la prévention est donc essentielle. Les symptômes sont le dépérissement du couvert végétal, la mort de certaines branches ou parties de l'écorce, le fendillement de l'écorce, la production de pousses ou de rejets à partir du tronc, l'écoulement de sève et l'accumulation de matière ressemblant à de la sciure sur l'écorce ou sur le sol. L'agrile du frêne et le longicorne asiatique sont des perceurs envahisseurs non indigènes dont les médias ont beaucoup parlé à cause de l'ampleur des dégâts qu'ils provoquent.

Insectes gallicoles

Les galles sont des excroissances anormales que la plante produit en réaction à l'irritation provoquée par la présence d'insectes gallicoles. Elles peuvent apparaître n'importe où sur la plante; elles peuvent être provoquées par l'insecte lorsqu'il se nourrit, pique, pond ou injecte des toxines. Les galles sont ordinairement bénéfiques aux insectes gallicoles parce qu'elles leur fournissent un abri où ils peuvent achever leur cycle vital. Les pucerons (et les insectes apparentés comme le phylloxera), les acariens, les moucherons (mouches), les cynipidés et certains coléoptères et larves de papillons de nuit peuvent produire des galles. Celles ci sont très variables par leur taille, leur couleur et leur complexité, mais elles sont toujours caractéristiques de l'espèce d'insecte qui les produit. Les plantes en meurent rarement mais cela nuit beaucoup à leur apparence.

Ravageurs terricoles

Les ravageurs vivant dans le sol peuvent endommager sérieusement les plantes avant même que la plupart des jardiniers ne remarquent leur présence. Il est souvent difficile d'évaluer l'étendue du problème ou l'efficacité du traitement.

Vers blancs

Les vers blancs représentent le stade immature des scarabées, notamment du scarabée japonais et des hannetons. Ils ont un corps charnu blanc laiteux, une tête brune et trois paires de pattes, et ils se recroquevillent en arc de cercle lorsqu'on les dérange. Ces larves se ressemblent beaucoup entre elles et il est difficile de les distinguer les unes des autres.

Bien que les vers blancs soient considérés depuis toujours comme des ravageurs des gazons, certaines espèces introduites ont étendu leur spectre d'hôtes. Au cours des dernières années, on a constaté que les vers blancs s'alimentaient des racines et des couronnes de plantes de pépinière ligneuses, ainsi que dans les plantations de légumes et de fruits du Sud Ouest de l'Ontario. Les adultes de certains de ces insectes, notamment du scarabée japonais, peuvent aussi causer de graves dommages en s'alimentant; ils ne s'attaquent plus aux racines, mais plutôt aux fruits et au feuillage de nombreuses espèces végétales.

Asticots rhizophages

Les asticots représentent le stade immature des mouches. Ils sont généralement petits, blancs et dépourvus de pattes. Certains d'entre eux s'attaquent aux parties souterraines des plantes comme les racines des choux, du brocoli et des espèces apparentées (mouche du chou).

Charançons des racines

Les stades immatures des charançons s'attaquent aux racines; les pièces buccales des adultes sont allongées et forment un " museau " caractéristique. Les larves sont blanches à tête brune, et on les distingue des vers blancs par l'absence de pattes et la forme de leur corps, d'épaisseur inégale (plus épais au centre qu'aux extrémités). Elles consomment une grande quantité de racines de diverses plantes ornementales et fruitières, dont elles provoquent la mort lorsqu'elles sont assez nombreuses. Les charançons adultes se nourrissent des fruits et du feuillage, cependant ils ne nuisent généralement pas à la santé de la plante.

Vers fil-de-fer

Les vers fil de fer représentent le stade larvaire des taupins. Ce sont des larves orange au corps dur, avec six pattes. Ils s'attaquent aux racines de nombreux légumes cultivés dont les carottes, les pommes de terre, les oignons et le maïs. On les confond souvent avec les mille pattes.

Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 4 juillet 2005
Dernière révision : 18 mai 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca