Ontario Field Crop Report
2007 Cereal Crop Seasonal Summary

Table of Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Winter Cereals
  3. Fall 2007
  4. Spring Cereals
  5. Challenges for 2008

For emerging issues, questions or to provide feedback on this report, contact the CropLine at 1-888-449-0937. Technical information can also be obtained at the OMAFRA Field Crops Webpage and Crop Pest Ontario. Referenced OMAFRA Publications include the Agronomy Guide for Field Crops (Publication 811), the Field Crop Protection Guide (Publication 812), Guide to Weed Control (Publication 75), and Ontario Weeds (Publication 505). These can be obtained from your OMAFRA Resource Centre, or by calling 1-800-668-9938.

Summary

Winter cereal production was challenged right from planting, with wet fall conditions in 2006 resulting in a small acreage (550,000) and late planting. Lack of moisture throughout the 2007 growing season, especially in southwestern and central Ontario, further stressed both winter and spring crops. Eastern Ontario was the exception, with generally sufficient rainfall during the cereal growing season.

Despite these severe challenges and extreme yield variability, overall provincial yields were very close to average. Quality was mostly excellent, with heavy test weights and almost no downgrading. The biggest impact was on reduced straw yields which lead to price levels setting new records and shorting supply in some areas.

Excellent conditions and very high wheat prices contributed to a record acreage of wheat planted this fall with an estimated 1.2 million acres in the ground. Abnormally warm conditions throughout October, has the wheat crop in ideal condition as we approach winter.

Winter Cereals

Planting

The dry summer of 2006 gave way in September, followed by a cold wet October. Many producers fought to harvest soybeans, and planted wheat into soggy conditions as more rain fell. Thanksgiving planted wheat was the hardest hit, with most severely affected fields having "tile run" wheat long before winter closed in. Significant acreage was planted in November, and even into December, with a few acres planted in January. Much of this late planted wheat performed very well, often better than October wheat, with 90% of the late wheat being designated as acceptable stands by Agricorp in the spring 2007. Part of this impressive performance is likely due to an unreasonably warm, open season that lasted well into January.

Growing Season

Spring came early and dry, allowing nitrogen and weed control applications to be made on time. Survival was variable, with many fields having some barren areas. However, the bulk of the crop was left in place because of high prices and straw demand. Dry conditions limited disease pressure throughout the season, but aphid populations were extremely high and exceeded thresholds in some fields. The result was high levels of late infection from Barley Yellow Dwarf Virus (BYDV). Yields were not severely affected with the late infection timing. Several cold snaps in May did cause significant frost injury, with a near miss in many fields just prior to the early wheat heading out.

As the lack of precipitation continued, sand fields that had looked the best in May, traded places with clay fields that had looked tough early. Fusarium concerns evaporated as the dry conditions became entrenched.

Harvest

Growers were amazed as harvest unfolded. Even with knolls burnt off and wet spots drowned out, yields were near average. Wagons and trucks groaned against heavy loads, with test weights often 64 to 66 lbs/bu and the quality was generally excellent. Provincial average yield was down only 2%, at 75.8 bu/ac. Straw yields were significantly reduced, with most areas reporting 2/3rds of average.

Fall 2007

With memories of the deluge of 2006 hard to forget, in many cases growers chose to go to the field early and hard. Many growers did not hold back, with significant acreage planted by September 15th, and even some wheat planted in August. High prices have driven acres up, with a new record acreage of winter wheat being planted, estimated at 1.2 million acres. Above normal temperatures throughout October have resulted in more top growth and leaf disease pressure than normal. While the outcome of this early planted wheat and disease pressure remains to be seen, in general the wheat crop looks excellent. This crop has excellent yield potential and may break the 100 bu/ac barrier.

Spring Cereals

Planting

Dry conditions allowed for timely planting into excellent soil conditions. Uneven emergence was a problem in some fields due to dry soils and/or shallow planting.

Growing Season

Several bouts of cold night temperatures made timing of weed control more difficult, but most herbicides were applied in a timely fashion. Lack of rainfall kept disease pressure at extremely low levels. Oat rust scouts were on high alert, with record rust pressure on the alternate host (Buckthorn), but dry conditions meant the disease never developed. Aphid populations were well above threshold in some fields, resulting in significant BYDV in susceptible cultivars. Lack of moisture kept the crop extremely short and virtually eliminated any lodging concerns.

Harvest

While the dry conditions continued in southwestern and central Ontario, eastern Ontario received significant rainfall during grainfill. Some late rust did develop in the spring wheat crop, but had little yield effect. Yields were extremely variable, with some areas below ½ tonne/acre. Eastern Ontario fared better, with yields average or above. Quality was excellent, with high test weights, although the higher yields in eastern Ontario resulted in lower protein levels in the spring wheat crop. Provincially, barley and oat yields were 4% below average at 1.13 t/ac, while spring wheat was 7% above average at 51 bu/ac. This reflects the higher percentage of the spring wheat crop in eastern Ontario. As with winter wheat, straw yields were down significantly, with many growers reporting only one-half of a normal straw yield.

Dry weather took its toll as harvest results came in. Yields were only average for the barley, oat and mixed grain crop, at about 2600 lbs/ac (2900 kg/ha). Test weights were marginal for the oat crop, indicating the importance of early planting to achieve high quality oats again being driven home. Spring wheat yields were somewhat better, about 6% above average at 49.2 bu/ac. Protein and quality of the spring wheat crop was excellent, although some downgrading due to mildew did occur in later harvested fields. Much of the improved yield of spring wheat can again be attributed to early planting, and the fact that a higher proportion of the crop is grown in the areas that were less affected by the dry weather.

As always, this report would not be complete without discussing straw yields from barley, the only reason many growers have for growing the crop. With the exception of the driest areas, most growers were pleased with good straw yields due to cool conditions, and thus, will grow barley yet again next year, despite spring wheat being more profitable.

Acreage intentions for 2007 are much increased for spring wheat, with heavy soil areas that were unable to plant winter wheat now banking on frost seeding spring wheat into those acres. As prices improve for corn and soybeans, acreage intentions for barley and mixed grain continue to slide. Oat acreage intentions appear to be less impacted by prices for these other commodities, although intentions appear down slightly. All this, of course, may change drastically by spring!

Challenges for 2008

Managing early planted wheat

"how goes the soybean harvest, so goes wheat planting". This adage has meant wide swings in winter wheat acreage from year to year, resulting in wide fluctuations in supply. It is important to have wheat acres at a more consistent level to meet market opportunities. Early planting is one area that could assist in this. However, this practice invites several potential concerns not associated with later planted wheat, including BYDV, Hessian fly, and snow mould. Management techniques to address these issues will need to be investigated, including genetic and pesticide options that will ensure that the practice does not jeopardize the crop.

Wheat in the rotation

as wheat acreage increases, there will be increased desire to plant wheat in less than ideal rotations, such as wheat following corn, wheat following barley, and wheat following wheat. The impact of these rotations needs to be assessed, along with any management options to mitigate the problems associated with these rotations.

Managing Pests

Increased aphid pressure noted this year may become a more regular occurrence should the warm conditions attributed to climate change continue. Very little Ontario data exists to support management thresholds or techniques. New fungicide products continue to become available, some now with multiple modes of action. These fungicides gave greater response than expected in 2007. These results need to be validated, and the impact of multiple modes of action considered.

Oat Rust

While oat rust did not developed as feared in 2007, much of the genetic resistance in current varieties has been overcome by the disease. Scouting and control methods, as well as effort on new genetic resistance, will need to continue.

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 15 November 2007
Last Reviewed: 15 November 2007

Rapport sur les grandes cultures de l'Ontario
Sommaire de la saison 2007 pour les cultures de céréales

Table des matières

  1. Sommaire
  2. Les céréales d'automne
  3. Automne 2007
  4. Les céréales de printemps
  5. Les défis de 2008

Vous pourrez également trouver des renseignements techniques sur la page Grandes cultures du site Web du MAAARO. Les publications du MAAARO mentionnées sont la publication 811F Guide agronomique des grandes cultures, la publication 812F Guide de protection des grandes cultures, la publication 75F Guide de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes et la publication 505 Ontario Weeds. Ces publications sont disponibles à votre centre de ressources locales du MAAARO, ou par téléphone au 1 888 466 - 2372.

Sommaire

La production de céréales d'automne a été difficile dès les semis, le temps humide de l'automne 2006 ayant entraîné l'ensemencement d'une petite superficie (550 000 acres) à une date tardive. Pendant toute la saison de croissance de 2007, le manque d'humidité a créé un stress supplémentaire pour les cultures d'automne et de printemps, notamment dans le Sud Ouest et le centre de l'Ontario. Cependant l'Est ontarien a fait figure d'exception à cet égard, puisqu'il a généralement reçu assez de pluie pendant la saison de croissance des céréales.

Néanmoins, malgré l'importance de ces difficultés et la variabilité extrême des rendements, à l'échelle de la province, ceux ci étaient finalement très voisins de la moyenne. Dans la plupart des cas, on note une qualité excellente, de bons poids au boisseau et une quasi absence de déclassements. La principale conséquence néfaste a été la faiblesse des rendements de paille, qui a fait monter les prix vers des sommets inégalés et provoqué une réduction des approvisionnements dans certaines régions.

Une superficie record évaluée à 1,2 millions d'acres a été ensemencée en blé cet automne, ce qui s'explique en partie par les excellentes conditions qui ont prévalu et par les prix du blé très élevés. Grâce au temps anormalement chaud qui s'est prolongé tout le mois d'octobre, le blé est dans un état idéal à l'approche de l'hiver.

Les céréales d'automne

L'ensemencement :

Le temps sec qui a caractérisé l'été 2006 a pris fin en septembre, et le mois d'octobre a été froid et humide. De nombreux producteurs ont éprouvé des difficultés à récolter leur soya, puis ils ont semé le blé dans un sol détrempé alors qu'il pleuvait encore. Le blé semé vers l'Action de grâces a été le plus touché; dans les champs les plus durement frappés, le blé n'avait survécu que le long des drains alors même que l'hiver était encore loin. Des superficies importantes ont été ensemencées en novembre et en décembre, et même en janvier dans quelques cas. Une bonne proportion de ce blé semé tardivement a donné de bons résultats, souvent meilleurs que ceux du blé d'octobre; en effet, au printemps 2007, Agricorp a désigné 90 % des peuplements tardifs comme acceptables. Ces résultats impressionnants s'expliquent probablement en partie par le temps exceptionnellement chaud qui s'est prolongé jusque tard en janvier.

La saison de croissance :

Le printemps hâtif et sec a permis d'effectuer les épandages de produits azotés et d'herbicides à temps. Le taux de survie a été variable, de nombreux champs présentant des zones dénudées. Cependant le gros des cultures a été laissé en place parce que les prix étaient élevés et que la demande de paille était forte. Pendant toute la saison, le temps sec a limité l'incidence des maladies, mais les populations de pucerons sont devenues extrêmement nombreuses et ont dépassé les seuils dans certains champs, provoquant de nombreuses infections tardives par le virus du nanisme jaune de l'orge. Toutefois, comme cette maladie est apparue assez tard, elle n'a pas beaucoup nui aux rendements. Au mois de mai, plusieurs vagues de froid se sont accompagnées de gelées qui ont produit d'importants dégâts; dans de nombreux champs, la crise a été évitée de peu juste avant l'épiaison du blé précoce.

En mai, c'étaient les champs sablonneux qui avaient le plus bel aspect; cependant la persistance du temps sec a fini par avantager les champs argileux qui n'avaient pas belle allure au départ. Avec la sécheresse prolongée, les inquiétudes suscitées par Fusarium ont disparu.

La récolte :

Les producteurs ont été très étonnés par la récolte. Malgré la présence de buttes brûlées et de zones inondées, les rendements sont restés voisins de la moyenne. Les remorques et les camions ployaient sous la charge, les poids au boisseau atteignaient souvent 64 à 66 lb/bo et la qualité était généralement excellente. Le rendement moyen pour toute la province était de 75,8 bo/ac, soit seulement 2 % de moins que la normale. Cependant les rendements de paille étaient très faibles, n'atteignant que des deux tiers de la moyenne dans la plupart des régions.

Automne 2007

De nombreux producteurs qui se souvenaient encore du déluge de 2006 ont résolument choisi de semer tôt, et ils ont ensemencé une importante superficie avant le 15 septembre et même en août. La hausse des prix a entraîné un accroissement de la superficie ensemencée en blé d'automne, qui a atteint une valeur record de 1,2 millions d'acres. Le temps exceptionnellement chaud qui a duré tout le mois d'octobre a stimulé la croissance des parties aériennes et accentué la pression due à la maladie foliaire. Bien qu'il reste à voir le produit de cet ensemencement précoce et les effets de la maladie, les cultures semblent généralement en excellent état. Le rendement pourrait être très élevé et même dépasser le seuil de 100 bo/ac.

Les céréales de printemps

Les semis :

Le temps sec a permis d'effectuer les semis à temps dans un sol en excellent état. Dans certains champs, la levée a été irrégulière parce que les sols étaient secs ou que les semis avaient été effectués à faible profondeur.

La période de croissance :

Plusieurs périodes de nuits froides ont compliqué le choix du moment de la mise en œuvre de la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes, mais la plupart des épandages d'herbicides ont pu avoir lieu en temps opportun. Grâce à l'absence de pluie, l'incidence des maladies est restée extrêmement faible. Les dépisteurs de la rouille de l'avoine étaient en alerte parce que la présence de cette maladie atteignait des niveaux record sur l'hôte intermédiaire (nerprun), mais le temps sec l'a empêchée de se propager. Les populations de pucerons dépassaient largement les seuils dans certains champs, d'où une incidence significative du nanisme jaune de l'orge dans les cultivars sensibles. L'absence d'humidité a fait que les plants sont restées très courts, ce qui a pratiquement éliminé tout risque de verse.

La récolte :

L'Est de l'Ontario a reçu une bonne quantité de pluie pendant la formation des grains, alors même que la sécheresse se prolongeait dans le Sud Ouest et le centre de la province. Le blé de printemps a tout de même été touché par une rouille tardive, qui a cependant eu peu d'effet sur les rendements. Ceux ci ont été extrêmement variables et même inférieurs à une demi tonne par acre dans certaines régions. On a relevé de meilleurs rendements dans l'Est de l'Ontario, où ils étaient voisins de la moyenne ou supérieurs à celle ci. Le produit était d'excellente qualité et les poids au boisseau étaient élevés; cependant, dans l'Est ontarien, les rendements plus élevés de la récolte de blé de printemps se sont accompagnés d'une baisse de la teneur en protéines. À l'échelle provinciale, les rendements de l'orge et de l'avoine étaient de 1,13 t/ac (4 % de moins que la moyenne); celui du blé de printemps était de 51 bu/ac (7 % de plus que la moyenne), ce chiffre reflétant les meilleurs résultats obtenus dans l'Est de l'Ontario. Comme dans le cas du blé d'automne, les rendements de paille étaient très bas, de nombreux producteurs ayant déclaré la moitié de la valeur normale.

Les défis de 2008

Gestion des cultures de blé semées à une date précoce :

On dit souvent que les semis de blé sont le reflet des conditions qui prévalaient pour la récolte de soya. D'une année à l'autre, ce mode de pensée a créé grandes fluctuations de la superficie ensemencée en blé d'automne, ainsi que de l'offre. Pour qu'on puisse mieux répondre à la demande, il faut que la superficie de blé soit plus constante, et les semis précoces peuvent y contribuer. Cependant, cette pratique expose les cultures à plusieurs risques qui sont inexistants dans le cas des semis plus tardifs (nanisme jaune de l'orge, mouche de Hesse, moisissure des neiges). Pour éviter que l'adoption de telles méthodes ne compromette les récoltes, il faudra effectuer des recherches sur les outils de gestion pertinents, y compris dans le domaine de la génétique et des pesticides.

Place du blé dans la rotation :

Au fur et à mesure que la superficie ensemencée augmentera, on sera de plus en plus tenté d'inclure le blé dans des rotations qui s'y prêtent moins bien (blé après du maïs, blé après de l'orge, blé après du blé). Il faudra donc évaluer les conséquences possibles de ces rotations ainsi que les méthodes de réduction de leurs répercussions néfastes éventuelles.

Lutte contre les ravageurs :

La présence accrue des pucerons que l'on a remarquée cette année pourrait devenir un phénomène plus fréquent si les effets du réchauffement climatique se confirment. En Ontario, il existe peu de données sur les seuils et les techniques d'intervention On assiste à l'apparition de nouveaux fongicides, certains à modes d'action multiples, qui ont donné de meilleurs résultats que prévu en 2007; cependant, il reste à confirmer ces données et à étudier les effets de ces modes d'action multiples.

Rouille de l'avoine :

En 2007, la rouille de l'avoine n'a pas atteint les proportions que l'on craignait, mais dans de nombreux cas elle a vaincu la résistance génétique des variétés actuelles. Il faudra donc poursuivre les opérations de dépistage et de lutte et travailler à la création de nouvelles souches résistantes.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 08 novembre 2007
Dernière révision : 07 juillet 2017

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca