Ontario Field Crop Report
2006 Cereal Crop Seasonal Summary

Table of Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Winter Cereals
  3. Fall Plantings
  4. Spring Cereals
  5. Challenges for 2007

Technical information can also be obtained at the OMAFRA Field Crops Webpage and Crop Pest Ontario. Referenced OMAFRA Publications include the Agronomy Guide for Field Crops (Publication 811), the Field Crop Protection Guide (Publication 812), Guide to Weed Control (Publication 75), and Ontario Weeds (Publication 505). These can be obtained from your OMAFRA Resource Centre, or by calling 1-800-668-9938.

Summary

The record acreage and yields of 2006 have given way to dismal plantings into extremely poor conditions for the crop next year (2007). Spring cereal acreage blipped up nicely in 2006, with average to above average yields. Quality was generally good across all cereals, although oat test weights tended to be lower, and hard red winter wheat had very low protein levels. The shift in rust to new races, overcoming genetic resistance for both winter wheat and oat, is of concern for production next year and into the future.

Winter Cereals

A record of 1.1 million acres coupled with a new yield record of 85.5 bu/ac.

The fall of 2005 was almost ideal for wheat plantings, with warm temperatures through early October and an early soybean harvest. Of the 1.1 million acres, at least 80% was planted early or on-time, giving excellent yield potential. Growth in the fall was excellent on early plantings, although cool weather through the last half of October and November resulted in less growth on crops planted on typical dates. Mild conditions in early January melted the snow cover, and cold temperatures through late January without snow raised concerns of low temperature injury. However, the crop showed virtually no injury from this weather stress as the season progressed.

Warm temperatures again took the snow away in March, and between the January and March conditions, there was more frost heave injury than normal. Shallow planting depths exacerbated this problem. Many crops were extremely thin right through to harvest from this injury, and yield predictions on these thin fields by most agronomists missed the mark widely. Early planting and mild winter temperatures had the wheat crop 10 days ahead of normal except for eastern Ontario where lack of snow and icing conditions destroyed over 50% of the winter wheat crop.

April was ideal for timely nitrogen applications. Several severe cold spells (as low as -8°C) through late April and May destroyed all green tissue in some locations. These cold spells made herbicide applications a bit tricky, but not impossible. With the wheat crop still 7 to 10 days ahead of normal, these freezing night temperatures in late May were a major concern with the earliest heading fields in the southwest. In a few isolated locations, freezing temperatures did interfere with pollination and small areas of these fields yielded zero. A near miss for a major impact on the crop!

Overwintering rust was found by field scouts in a few fields in the Woodstock to Mount Forest corridor. Overwintering rust is unusual, and was an indicator of things to come. As the season progressed, rust was the main disease concern, although the source of the rust outbreak was not related to overwintering.

The other diseases of note this year were the viral diseases (wheat soil borne mosaic, spindle streak mosaic) and Cephalosporium stripe. Cephalosporium stripe was prevalent and related to variety. Yields dropped by 10% or more in severely affected fields. There are no effective control options for these diseases.

Fortunately, fusarium was a non-issue in this year's wheat crop. Dwarf bunt, while not significant, was present at much higher levels than expected, demonstrating that seed treatment coverage is imperative to good control.

Harvest was a tough go, particularly through the London-Woodstock corridor. Rainfall prevented harvest for a two week period on the perimeter of this band, and for three to four weeks within this band. As a result, mildew downgraded some crop across the southwest, with sprouting and low falling number reducing grade in the heart of the affected area. The soft white winter crop was affected the most, with almost no top quality soft white harvested.

As harvest unfolded, yields were spectacular, ending up a full 10% above the previous provincial record, at 85.5 bu/ac (previous record in 2003 of 77.5). Protein levels were a full point below a year ago levels, meaning that much of the hard red winter crop did not achieve protein premiums. All other quality parameters were excellent, with the 2006 Ontario winter wheat crop being well received by all end users.

Fall Plantings

Wheat acreage this fall is dismal, at about 475,000 acres, barely ½ of intentions, with nearly all wheat planted later than desirable and into less than ideal conditions. This has been the complete opposite of last fall, and none of the wheat looks ideal as of this report. Many growers have been forced to roll futures contracts forward to the 08 harvest, as they simply were unable to plant wheat. Fall conditions have continued unusually wet and cool, giving rise to the potential for more acres of fall kill (drownout) than normal. This is extremely disappointing given the mainstay that wheat has become in many growers profit column.

Spring Cereals

Acreage of all spring cereals increased this year, with poor crop prices and high input costs for other crops. Spring wheat increased the most at 40%, with barley showing the least increase at 10%. Amazingly, and almost disturbingly, mixed grain acreage spiked up 20%, even though this crop has very limited marketability.

Planting moved ahead rapidly into excellent soil conditions, with 65% of the crop planted by April 25th and fully 80% of the crop planted by May 5th. There was not as much opportunity for frost seeding as some growers would have hoped for, but acreage that was frost seeded in late March once again showed huge yield gains for this practice (40%).

The crop enjoyed predominantly cool, dry conditions across much of the growing region. These conditions kept leaf disease levels extremely low until late in the year, when spot blotch (barley), rust (oat and wheat), and fusarium (wheat) became a concern. Dry conditions allowed both fertilizer and herbicide applications to occur in a timely manner, making it a relatively easy start to the season. Unfortunately, the dry weather continued in some areas, with crops on eroded knolls withering and producing very little in these regions. Weed pressure also developed in these regions, particularly foxtail, forcing growers to spray for annual grasses that they do not normally have to control.

Physiological fleck was prevalent in many fields this year, and many growers confused this with disease. Disease pressure was significant in this year's barley planted into previous barley fields, but this was simply a rotation issue. Spot blotch developed late in the season on barley, and did give rise to some shrunken kernels, but was not of major impact. Fusarium hit the spring wheat crop, with a near miss in many areas. While the bulk of the crop was clean, some fields did reach as high as 9% fusarium. Again, in most of these fields the spring wheat was grown on corn residue, and rotation played a major role in this outcome.

RUST! The race of leaf (crown) rust has shifted in oat, and has overcome much of the genetic resistance which growers have relied on over the past years. While new genetics are in the pipeline, oat growers will need to scout closely in the short-term, and maximize the benefit from foliar fungicides by ensuring timely application. Test weight was significantly reduced in many oat fields due to rust infestations. Similar to winter wheat, rust also hit the spring wheat crop, with genetic differences again becoming more defined.

European chafer destroyed some spring cereal fields on sandy soils along Georgian Bay. Wireworm was another insect pest in specific fields causing severe injury. Armyworm was a significant problem in some areas in the Ottawa Valley and Alliston area, with some fields requiring control measures. Fortunately, natural parasites were sufficient to destroy the pest in many locations. Cereal leaf beetle was found at a number of locations, but similar to armyworm, natural parasites were effective in limiting damage in most fields.

Dry weather took its toll as harvest results came in. Yields were only average for the barley, oat and mixed grain crop, at about 2600 lbs/ac (2900 kg/ha). Test weights were marginal for the oat crop, indicating the importance of early planting to achieve high quality oats again being driven home. Spring wheat yields were somewhat better, about 6% above average at 49.2 bu/ac. Protein and quality of the spring wheat crop was excellent, although some downgrading due to mildew did occur in later harvested fields. Much of the improved yield of spring wheat can again be attributed to early planting, and the fact that a higher proportion of the crop is grown in the areas that were less affected by the dry weather.

As always, this report would not be complete without discussing straw yields from barley, the only reason many growers have for growing the crop. With the exception of the driest areas, most growers were pleased with good straw yields due to cool conditions, and thus, will grow barley yet again next year, despite spring wheat being more profitable.

Acreage intentions for 2007 are much increased for spring wheat, with heavy soil areas that were unable to plant winter wheat now banking on frost seeding spring wheat into those acres. As prices improve for corn and soybeans, acreage intentions for barley and mixed grain continue to slide. Oat acreage intentions appear to be less impacted by prices for these other commodities, although intentions appear down slightly. All this, of course, may change drastically by spring!

Challenges for 2007

  1. Rust in Wheat and Oat: With the high level and early appearance of rust in this year's crop, growers will need to scout and be prepared to control rust. The wheat rust risk may well be higher in specific varieties, if a race shift has occurred. Samples are currently under analysis and a determination will be available before spring.
  2. Management of late planted wheat: Management techniques to improve yields and save questionable stands will be essential next spring since so few acres were planted and those in the ground have experienced poor growth this fall. Fields will need to be scouted early and decisions made quickly on whether to carry through with the crop next spring. Optimal timing of fertilizer, herbicide and fungicide applications will be critical in maximizing the potential of the limited acerage in place.
  3. Nitrogen management for protein: Low protein levels in the hard red winter crop have increased the need for improvements and/or changes in management. Techniques to achieve a consistently acceptable protein level, in the hard red winter wheat crop, are to be evaluated over the next several years.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Rapport sur les grandes cultures de l'Ontario
Sommaire de la saison 2006 pour les cultures de céréales

Table des matières

  1. Sommaire
  2. Les céréales d'hiver
  3. Les semis d'automne
  4. Les céréales de printemps
  5. Les défis de 2007

Vous pourrez également trouver des renseignements techniques sur la page Grandes cultures du site Web du MAAARO. Les publications du MAAARO mentionnées sont la publication 811F Guide agronomique des grandes cultures, la publication 812F Guide de protection des grandes cultures, la publication 75F Guide de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes et la publication 505 Ontario Weeds. Ces publications sont disponibles à votre centre de ressources locales du MAAARO, ou par téléphone au 1 888 466 - 2372.

Sommaire

La superficie et le rendement record de 2006 ont entraîné un ensemencement dans de mauvaises conditions pour la récolte de l'année suivante (2007). En 2006, la superficie de céréales de printemps a considérablement augmenté, et les rendements vont de moyens à supérieurs. La qualité a généralement été bonne pour toutes les céréales, bien que les poids de l'avoine au boisseau se soient souvent montrés inférieurs, et que les concentrations de protéines du blé de force rouge d'hiver soient très basses. L'apparition de la rouille sur de nouvelles espèces, et ce, en dépit de la résistance génétique du blé d'hiver et de l'avoine, risque de constituer un problème pour la production de l'an prochain et des années suivantes.

Les céréales d'hiver

La superficie record de 1,1 million d'acres s'est accompagnée d'un nouveau record de rendement de 85,5 bois/acre.

Avec les températures douces qui ont duré jusqu'au début d'octobre et une récolte précoce du soya, les conditions de l'automne 2005 étaient quasi-idéales pour l'ensemencement du blé. Au moins 80 % du 1,1 million d'acres a été ensemencé tôt ou au moment le plus propice, ce qui laissait prévoir un excellent rendement potentiel. La croissance de l'automne s'est avérée excellente dans les plantations précoces, et ce, même si le temps frais de la mi-octobre et de novembre a ralenti la croissance des cultures ensemencées dans des conditions normales. Le temps clément du début de janvier a fait fondre la couverture de neige. Lorsque les températures sont redescendues à la fin de janvier, l'absence de neige a fait craindre des dégâts dus à la basse température. Cependant, plus tard en saison, on a pu constater que la culture n'avait que peu souffert de ces conditions climatiques.

Le réchauffement a de nouveau fait fondre la neige en mars. Ajoutées à celles de janvier, ces conditions ont provoqué plus de soulèvement par le gel qu'à la normale. Le problème a été exacerbé par la profondeur insuffisante des plantations. Suite à ces dégâts, plusieurs cultures sont restées très clairsemées jusqu'à la récolte, et les prévisions de rendement faites pour ces champs par la plupart des agronomes se sont avérées complètement fausses. Du fait de l'ensemencement précoce et des températures clémentes de l'hiver, la production de blé a pris une avance de 10 jours sur les délais normaux, sauf dans l'est de l'Ontario, où le manque de neige et le gel ont détruit plus de 50 % de la culture de blé d'hiver.

Le mois d'avril a présenté des conditions idéales pour l'épandage d'azote. Dans certains endroits, les grosses vagues de froid successives de la fin avril et de mai (jusqu'à -8° C) ont détruits tous les tissus verts. Ces vagues de froid ont quelque peu gêné les épandages d'herbicide, sans toutefois les rendre impossibles. La culture de blé ayant pris une avance de 7 à 10 jours, le gel nocturne survenu à la fin mai a fait craindre pour l'épiaison précoce de certains champs de la région sud-ouest. Dans certains endroits isolés, le gel a entravé la pollinisation et certaines zones de ces champs ont eu un rendement NUL. La crise a été évitée de peu pour cette culture!

De la rouille hivernante a été détectée dans quelques champs allant de Woodstock jusqu'au corridor de Mount Forest. Assez rare, la rouille hivernale annonce souvent d'autres problèmes. Au fur et à mesure de la saison, et bien que l'épidémie n'ait rien à voir avec l'hivernation, la rouille est devenue la maladie la plus préoccupante.

Pendant la saison, les cultures ont également subi des maladies virales (mosaïque rosette, filosité panachée du blé) ainsi que la strie céphalosporienne. Très répandue, la strie céphalosporienne a été liée aux variétés. Dans les champs très atteints, les rendements ont diminué d'au moins 10 %. Il n'existe aucun moyen de lutte efficace contre ces maladies.

Heureusement, cette année, le fusarium a brillé par son absence. La carie naine, quoique bénigne, s'est manifestée à des concentrations plus élevées que prévu, ce qui prouve que le traitement des semences est essentiel pour une lutte efficace.

La récolte a été chaotique, surtout dans le corridor London-Woodstock. Des précipitations ont retardé la récolte de deux semaines aux alentours de cette zone, et de trois à quatre semaines à l'intérieur. Du coup, la moisissure a déclassé certaines cultures de la région sud-ouest, et la germination et les faibles indices de chutes ont réduit le grade au cœur de la région touchée. C'est le blé tendre d'hiver qui a été le plus atteint : il n'y a pratiquement eu aucune récolte de blé tendre de qualité.

Les rendements ont été spectaculaires, et après la récolte, on a constaté une augmentation de 10 % par rapport au précédent record provincial (85,5 bois/acre contre 77,5 au précédent record en 2003). Les concentrations de protéines ont été d'un point inférieures aux concentrations de l'an dernier, ce qui signifie que la plus grande partie de la culture de blé de force rouge d'hiver n'a pas atteint le prix pour la protéine. Tous les autres critères de qualité étaient excellents, et la cuvée 2006 du blé d'hiver de l'Ontario a été très appréciée de tous.

Les semis d'automne

Cet automne, la superficie du blé est restreinte. Environ 475 000 acres ont été plantés (à peine la moitié des intentions); presque tout le blé a été ensemencé plus tard qu'il ne l'aurait fallu et dans de mauvaises conditions. Nous connaissons une situation radicalement inverse à celle de l'automne passé et, jusqu'à présent, le blé est très mal parti. Parce qu'ils n'ont pas été en mesure d'ensemencer du blé, plusieurs agriculteurs ont dû signer des contrats pour la récolte de 2008. Les conditions climatiques de l'automne ont été inhabituellement humides et froides, ce qui fait craindre des dégâts automnaux supérieurs à la normale (inondations). Vu la place que tient le blé dans les recettes de plusieurs producteurs, cette situation est très décevante.

Les céréales de printemps

Cette année, étant donné son faible coût de production par rapport aux autres cultures, la superficie de céréales de printemps a augmenté. C'est le blé de printemps qui arrive en tête, avec une augmentation de 40 %, tandis que l'orge vient en dernier, avec une augmentation de 10 %. Bizarrement, bien que cette récolte n'ait qu'une qualité marchande très restreinte, la superficie de grains mélangés s'est accrue de 20 %.

L'ensemencement s'est déroulé rapidement dans de bonnes conditions pour le sol : 65 % de la récolte était plantée le 25 avril, et 80 % le 5 mai. Les occasions d'ensemencement en sol gelé ont été inférieures à ce que certains producteurs espéraient. Cependant, l'important gain de rendement constaté dans la superficie ensemencée en sol gelé à la fin du mois de mars (40 %) a, encore une fois, démontré la rentabilité de cette pratique.

La culture a profité du climat généralement frais et sec dans la plus grande partie de la région agricole. Grâce à ces conditions, les niveaux de maladies folicoles sont restés extrêmement faibles presque toute l'année, jusqu'à ce que la tache helminthosporienne (orge), la rouille (avoine et blé) et le fusarium (blé) ne deviennent un problème. Le temps sec a favorisé l'épandage en temps opportun des engrais et de l'herbicide, ce qui a facilité la gestion en début de saison. Malheureusement, le climat sec a perduré dans certaines régions. Les cultures situées sur des talus érodés se sont flétries et la production de ces régions a été moindre. Les mauvaises herbes (plus particulièrement le vulpin) sont également apparues, obligeant les producteurs à pulvériser pour lutter contre des graminées annuelles dont ils n'ont habituellement pas à se préoccuper.

Cette année, les mouchetures physiologiques se sont répandues dans de nombreux champs, et bien des producteurs les ont prises pour une maladie. La menace de maladies a été forte pour l'orge replantée cette année dans les précédents champs d'orge, mais il s'agissait surtout d'un problème de rotation. La tache helminthosporienne apparue dans l'orge en fin de saison a entraîné l'émergence de grains échaudés, mais n'a pas eu un impact important. Le fusarium a touché la culture de blé de printemps, et on a évité la catastrophe dans bien des régions. Bien que la plus grande partie de la culture ait été épargnée, quelques champs ont connu des taux très élevés (9 %). Une fois encore, ces champs comportaient des résidus de maïs au sol, et la rotation a été pour beaucoup dans ce problème.

La rouille! La rouille brune a contaminé l'avoine. Elle surmonte maintenant la plupart des résistances génétiques auxquelles les producteurs se sont fiés au cours des dernières années. Avec les nouveaux développements en génétique, les producteurs d'avoine auront avantage à effectuer des dépistages à court terme, et à profiter au maximum des fongicides foliaires en procédant à des épandages dans les temps. La prolifération de la rouille a sensiblement réduit le poids au boisseau dans de nombreux champs d'avoine. Tout comme le blé d'hiver, le blé d'été n'a pas échappé à la rouille, les différences entre les hybrides devenant encore plus définies.

Le hanneton européen a détruit plusieurs champs de céréales de printemps plantés dans du sol sablonneux le long de la baie Georgienne. Le taupin a également causé des dégâts importants dans certains champs, tandis que certaines régions comme la vallée d'Ottawa et la région d'Alliston étaient aux prises avec la noctuelle ponctuée, contre laquelle une lutte a dû être menée dans certains champs. Les parasites naturels ont cependant été assez nombreux dans certains endroits pour venir à bout de ces ravageurs. On a détecté la présence ponctuelle de criocères des céréales, mais comme pour la noctuelle ponctuée, les parasites naturels ont limité les dégâts dans la plupart des champs.

La récolte a été affectée par le temps sec. Les rendements de l'orge, de l'avoine et des grains mélangés ont été assez moyens (environ 2 600 lb/acre, ou 2 900 kg/ha). Le poids au boisseau des récoltes d'avoine a été négligeable, ce qui démontre l'importance d'un ensemencement précoce pour revenir à une production d'avoine de grande qualité. Les rendements de blé de printemps se sont un peu améliorés (6 % de plus que la moyenne, 49,2 bois/acre). Malgré quelques déclassements dus à la moisissure dans certaines récoltes tardives, les concentrations de protéines et la qualité du blé de printemps ont été excellentes. L'amélioration de la plus grande partie du rendement de blé de printemps peut une fois encore être attribuée à l'ensemencement précoce, et au fait qu'une proportion plus élevée a été cultivée dans les régions les moins touchées par le temps sec.

Comme toujours, ce rapport ne serait pas complet sans un état du rendement de la paille provenant de l'orge, qui, pour plusieurs, représente la seule raison de cultiver. À l'exception des régions les plus sèches, la récolte de paille doit son succès à la fraîcheur du climat. La plupart des producteurs cultiveront donc à nouveau de l'orge l'an prochain, et ce, bien que le blé de printemps soit plus rentable.

En 2007, on prévoit une augmentation de la culture de blé de printemps. Pour les régions de sols lourds dans lesquelles l'ensemencement de blé a été impossible, les producteurs misent sur un ensemencement en sol gelé du blé de printemps. Les prix du maïs et du soya augmentent, ce qui explique que les intentions de cultures d'orge et de grains mélangés continuent à s'effondrer. Bien qu'elles se restreignent lentement, les intentions concernant l'avoine semblent moins sensibles au prix. Bien entendu, tout ceci pourrait avoir radicalement changé d'ici le printemps!

Les défis de 2007

  1. La rouille dans le blé et l'avoine : Étant donné les concentrations élevées de rouille cette année et son apparition précoce, les producteurs devront procéder à des dépistages et se préparer à la lutte. La rouille du blé pourrait atteindre des niveaux encore plus hauts dans certaines variétés, s'il y a eu alternance d'espèces. Des analyses d'échantillons sont actuellement en cours et des résultats seront émis avant le printemps.
  2. La gestion du blé tardif : Au printemps prochain, il sera essentiel d'utiliser des techniques afin d'améliorer les rendements et de préserver les peuplements douteux. La superficie ensemencée est faible et la croissance automnale des plantations déjà en terre est assez mauvaise. Il faudra effectuer des dépistages précoces dans les champs et prendre des décisions rapides en ce qui concerne la culture. Les épandages d'engrais, d'herbicide et de fongicide devront être faits dans les temps pour améliorer le potentiel de la faible superficie ensemencée.
  3. La gestion de l'azote pour les protéines : Les faibles concentrations de protéines du blé de force rouge d'hiver ont démontré la nécessité d'améliorer ou de modifier le mode de gestion. Au cours des prochaines années, des techniques permettant d'atteindre des concentrations de protéines acceptables dans le blé de force rouge d'hiver seront évaluées.

Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 30 novembre 2006
Dernière révision : 07 juillet 2017

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca