Ontario Field Crop Report
2006 Canola and Edible Bean Seasonal Summary

Table of Contents

  1. Spring Canola
  2. Winter Canola
  3. Edible Beans

Technical information can be obtained at the OMAFRA Field Crops Webpage and Crop Pest Ontario. Referenced OMAFRA Publications include the Agronomy Guide for Field Crops (Publication 811), the Field Crop Protection Guide (Publication 812), Guide to Weed Control (Publication 75), and Ontario Weeds (Publication 505). These can be obtained from your OMAFRA Resource Centre, or by calling 1-800-668-9938.

Spring Canola

In 2006, Ontario farmers planted one of the smallest canola crops on record of approximately 13,000 acres because of concerns with marketing options and higher input costs. This seasons weather conditions were much more favourable than in 2005, resulting in above average yields, ranging from 1700 lbs/ac to a phenomenal 3500 lb/ac. Crop quality was generally excellent, although there were a couple of reports of canola not being accepted by ADM due to brown seed content. The early planting of the crop in mid to late April into ideal soil conditions contributed to the good yields experienced. Early planting promotes earlier canopy growth and row closure when conditions are cooler and more favourable for canola development. In particular, the optimum daytime temperature for canola is 20 - 25°C, with nighttime temperatures in the mid teens. Moderate temperatures and adequate soil moisture conditions during July and August in most canola growing areas allowed for good pod set and grain fill. The lower stress experienced this year compared to 2005 contributed to higher yields and improved quality of grain.

Green stems at maturity resulted in a delayed and slower harvest in some cases. The exact cause of green stem syndrome is not known. One explanation is that plants accumulate excess nitrogen and sugars in the stalk relative to the sink capacity of the pods and seeds. Without sufficient sink volume, sugars accumulate in stems leading to the green stem syndrome.

Insect and disease pressure was lower than normal, although sclerotinia pressure was high in some stands. Swede midge injury was identified in several fields of late planted canola in counties with known infestation. Swede midge is a relatively new pest of canola, and its potential to impact the crop is not yet well understood. Further information and updates on swede midge can be found on the OMAFRA Canola Page.

Winter Canola

Survival of winter canola tended to be poor in the southwest on heavier clay soils, and better in other areas which had well drained soils. Heaving and root rot appeared to be the principal factors affecting survival. Cool temperatures through most of May and June favoured development of a thick canopy and resulted in early pollination and good pod set.

Populations of cabbage seedpod weevil were lower than in previous years. Sclerotinia pressure was generally low in most stands. Yields of winter canola generally ranged from 1 - 1.5 t/ac, with good quality (Grade 1).

Dry conditions through August and early September allowed timely planting of winter canola this fall. Extremely wet conditions following emergence delayed plant development, with some stands not reaching the 4- 6 leaf stage considered ideal for winter survival. Slug pressure was incredibly high in places, resulting in the complete loss of some stands on conventionally tilled land, which is rare. Acreage is estimated to be similar to previous years (4 - 5,000 ac).

Challenges for 2007

Market Opportunities

Canola is a valuable rotational cash crop in shorter season areas of the province, but marketing issues have limited expansion in acreage. The Ontario Canola Growers Association continues to explore alternative market opportunities. The cause of lower grade canola due to brown seed requires further research.

Varietal Research

Several growers field tested a new winter - spring hybrid variety with encouraging yields of up to 3400 lb/ac. Growers plan to further assess this hybrid in 2007, including evaluation of very early planting. Spring canola hybrids display genetic differences in susceptibility to brown seed production. Additional field evaluations of this trait are required.

Edible Beans

It is estimated that over 80% of the edible bean crop has been harvested. Hopes of harvesting the remaining acreage is quickly fading. On going wet weather since early September has made harvest incredibly frustrating. A large portion of the early crop which received a desiccant in early September was just ready for harvest when the rains set in. Despite harvest difficulties, anyone able to get the crop off in a timely manner have generally combined above average yields although deteriorating field conditions resulted in high harvest losses. Coloured bean growers faced the greatest challenges, since direct harvest was the only option for salvaging the crop. The range of reported yields is from 14 - 30 cwt/ac.

Edible bean growers faced numerous production challenges this season from root rot, anthracnose, bacterial blight, white mould and adverse weather. Geography was a factor in how much these issues impacted individuals. Southern growing areas generally suffered to a greater extent due to a combination of challenges. Most of the edible bean crop was planted on time into good soil conditions with few replants occurring. Intense thunderstorms following emergence in some areas resulted in an early outbreak of root rot. Rainfall that fell over the province during mid to late July resulted in a large flush of growth in the late vegetative - early flowering stage. By late July, the crop was ahead of normal in development, ranging from 50% flower to early pod set. Frequent and heavy rains during this period caused root rot to flare up, often resulting in yellowing and wilting of some stands.

The most challenging decision during this time period when beans were at 10 - 40% flower was whether to apply a fungicide for white mould. Although soil moisture conditions were ideal for germination of sclerotia and plant infection, the high daytime temperatures (34°C) and rapid drying of the canopy prevented infection. Delaying application was the correct decision in most cases, as early infection did not occur. When cooler conditions occurred 2- 3 weeks later the result was a late infection of sclerotinia during early pod fill. Leaf symptoms of anthracnose also became evident in some white bean fields during this period. Early leaf symptoms were sometimes difficult to discern from other causes. Anthracnose quickly advanced to infect pods. Fungicide applications for anthracnose were generally very effective in arresting further advancement of the disease.

This was one of the worst years for bacterial blight. Leaf symptoms progressed very rapidly in some fields, resulting in premature defoliation. Foliar applications of copper based products were tried in some cases to arrest the blight with little success.

Growers who used Cruiser insecticide seed treatments generally avoided having to apply foliar insecticide for leafhopper control. Research trials conducted by RCAT using Cruiser have shown effective leafhopper control for the first 4- 6 weeks after planting, which in some years means season long control.

Challenges for 2007

Soil Compaction

Wet harvest conditions this fall have increased the likelihood of soil compaction. Edible beans are very sensitive to soil compaction and yield reductions of up to 50% have been documented. Tillage operations alone are often not enough to alleviate compaction. In 2007 select fields which have good soil structure, higher organic matter levels and have been in a good crop rotation. In some cases following a cereal/forage crop may be a preferred due to compaction concerns with corn fields from the fall 2006 harvest.

Plant high quality seed

Both anthracnose and bacterial/halo blight were significant problems in some fields of Ontario beans and both diseases are seed borne. Only plant certified seed from a known source where a rigorous field scouting program was used. DCT is the most effective seed treatment in controlling seed borne anthracnose. OAC Rex is the only registered variety of white beans with resistance to bacterial blight.

Pre-harvest Weed Control and Desiccation

Pre-harvest products are invaluable in controlling perennial weeds, preventing crop regrowth, and desiccating weeds and beans. Concerns have been raised with market acceptance in some international markets and in assuring safety and quality to the consumer. Delays in harvest of pre-harvested treated beans results in some deterioration in plant structure. Growers will need to pay close attention to timing of application and correct product selection for their target market and situation.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Sommaire de la saison 2006 pour le canola et les haricots comestibles - Rapport sur les grandes cultures de l'Ontario

Table des matières

  1. Canola de printemps
  2. Canola d'automne
  3. Défis pour 2007
  4. Haricots comestibles
  5. Défis pour 2007

Vous pourrez également trouver des renseignements techniques sur la page Grandes cultures du site Web du MAAARO. Les publications du MAAARO mentionnées sont la publication 811F Guide agronomique des grandes cultures, la publication 812F Guide de protection des grandes cultures, la publication 75F Guide de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes et la publication 505 Ontario Weeds. Ces publications sont disponibles à votre centre de ressources locales du MAAARO, ou par téléphone au 1 888 466 - 2372.

Canola de printemps

En 2006, les producteurs de l'Ontario ont semé l'une des cultures de canola les plus restreintes consignées, environ 13 000 acres, à cause des récents enjeux de commercialisation et du coût des intrants à la hausse. Cette saison, les conditions climatiques beaucoup plus favorables qu'en 2005 ont produit des rendements supérieurs à la moyenne, allant de 1 700 lb/acre jusqu'à un remarquable 3 500 lb/acre. La qualité de la culture était en général excellente, malgré qu'on ait rapporté à quelques reprises le refus par la société ADM de canola ayant une teneur trop élevée en graines brunes. On a pu effectuer des semis précoces de la culture du milieu à la fin avril, dans des sols montrant des conditions idéales, ce qui a contribué aux bons rendements expérimentés par la suite. En semant tôt, la croissance du couvert est meilleure et les rangs se referment plus vite par temps plus frais, ce qui favorise aussi le développement du canola. Surtout, la température optimale pour le canola le jour est de 20 - 25 °C, avec en soirée une baisse dans les 10 à 20 °C. En juillet et en août, des températures moyennes et des conditions adéquates d'humidité du sol ont favorisé l'apparition des cosses et le remplissage des grains dans la plupart des régions de cultures du canola. Comparé à l'année 2005, la culture a connu moins de stress cette année, ce qui a donné des rendements plus élevés et une meilleure qualité des grains.

Des tiges vertes des plants à maturité ont retardé et même dans certains cas ralenti la récolte du canola. On ne connaît pas la cause exacte du syndrome « de la tige verte ». On a entendu l'explication suivante, les plants accumuleraient un excès d'azote et de sucres dans la tige par rapport à la capacité de stockage des glucides des gousses et des graines. Sans une capacité suffisante de stockage, les sucres s'accumulent dans les tiges, provoquant le syndrome « de la tige verte ».

Les pressions exercées par les insectes et les maladies étaient inférieures à la normale, même avec une présence élevée de sclérotinia dans certains peuplements. Dans plusieurs champs on a signalé des dégâts dus à la cécidomyie du chou fleur dans les semis tardifs de canola, dans les comtés précédemment infestés. Cet insecte est un ennemi relativement nouveau dans le canola et son impact potentiel n'est pas encore bien connu. Pour plus de détails et des mises à jour sur la cécidomyie du chou fleur, voir la page du MAAARO sur le canola.

Canola d'automne

La survie du canola d'automne tend à être difficile dans le sud ouest sur des sols argileux plus lourds et à être meilleure dans d'autres secteurs aux sols bien drainés. Le déchaussement et le pourridié semblent être les principaux problèmes menaçant la survie. Le temps frais qui a prévalu pendant presque tous les mois de mai et de juin a favorisé le développement d'un épais couvert et une pollinisation précoce de même que l'apparition des cosses.

Les populations du charançon de la graine du chou étaient inférieures que par les années passées. La pression exercée par sclérotinia était en général faible dans la plupart des peuplements. Les rendements de canola d'automne ont été en général de 1 à 1,5 t/acre, de bonne qualité (grade 1).

Cet automne, le temps sec tout le mois d'août et au début septembre a permis de semer à temps. Les conditions extrêmement humides qui ont suivi la levée ont retardé le développement des plants, certains peuplements n'ayant pas atteint le stade 4 à 6 feuilles considéré idéal pour la survie hivernale. La pression exercée par les limaces était très élevée en certains endroits, causant même la perte totale de certains peuplements dans un sol travaillé de façon classique, ce qui est rare. On estime la superficie semblable à celle des années précédentes (de 4 à 5 000 acres).

Défis pour 2007

Enjeux de commercialisation

Le canola est une culture commerciale de rotation très utile dans les secteurs de culture de la province dont les saisons sont plus courtes, mais les enjeux de commercialisation ont limité l'agrandissement de la superficie de production. L'Association des producteurs de canola de l'Ontario continue d'examiner des alternatives possibles de commercialisation. On ignore encore pourquoi il y a une telle proportion de canola qui est déclassé à cause de la teneur en graines brunes.

Recherche sur les variétés

Nombre de producteurs on effectué des essais au champ d'une nouvelle variété hybride d'automne / de printemps qui a donné des rendements encourageants, allant jusqu'à 3 400 lb/acre. Les producteurs prévoient encore des essais de cet hybride en 2007, y compris l'évaluation en semis très précoces. Les hybrides de canola de printemps montrent des différences génétiques dans la sensibilité à la production de graines brunes. Il faut d'autres évaluations au champ en rapport avec cette caractéristique.

Haricots comestibles

On estime que plus de 80 % de la culture de haricots comestibles ont été récoltés. Tout espoir de récolter la superficie qui reste s'estompe rapidement. Des précipitations ininterrompues depuis le début septembre ont donné lieu à beaucoup de frustration chez les producteurs. Une grande partie de la culture précoce qui avait reçu un traitement de dessication au début septembre était prête pour la récolte quand la pluie s'est mise de la partie. Outre les difficultés à la récolte, quiconque était en mesure de récolter en temps opportun a généralement connu des rendements supérieurs à la moyenne malgré les conditions difficiles au champ, qui ont occasionné des pertes élevées. Les producteurs de haricots colorés ont fait face aux plus grands défis, puisque la récolte directe restait le seul choix possible pour sauver le tout. Les rendements rapportés se situent entre 14 et 30 q/acre.

Les producteurs de haricots comestibles ont dû faire face à nombre de défis de production cette année, dont le pourridié, l'anthracnose, la brûlure bactérienne, la moisissure blanche et les revers de température. Un autre facteur a joué, celui de la géographie, qui a influé sur l'incidence des effets ressentis. Les zones de culture plus au sud ont généralement souffert dans une plus grande mesure à cause d'une combinaison de facteurs. La plupart des cultures de haricots comestibles ont été ensemencées au bon moment avec de bonnes conditions des sols et peu de réensemencement. Des orages forts après la levée dans certains secteurs ont causé un flambée précoce de pourridié. Les précipitations que la province a subies du milieu à la fin juillet ont largement stimulé la croissance pendant le dernier stade végétatif et le début de la floraison. Fin juillet, la culture avait atteint un stade de développement précoce, allant de 50 % de la floraison au développement des cosses. D'abondantes pluies fréquentes pendant cette période ont occasionné des flambées de pourridié, causant souvent le jaunissement et le flétrissement de certains peuplements.

Pendant cette période la décision la plus difficile était de savoir, pendant que les haricots étaient entre 10 et 40 % de floraison, s'il fallait appliquer un fongicide contre la moisissure blanche. Même si l'humidité du sol était idéale pour la germination des infections des plantes et des sclérotes, les températures élevées de jour (34 °C) et l'assèchement rapide du couvert ont évité l'infection. Dans la plupart des cas il fallait retarder l'application, l'infection précoce ayant été évitée. Deux à trois semaines plus tard le temps plus frais a causé une infection sclérotique tardive au stade du remplissage des cosses. Les symptômes précoces d'anthracnose sur les feuilles sont devenus évidents dans certains champs de haricots blancs pendant cette période. L'anthracnose a vite progressé pour infecter les cosses. Des applications de fongicides contre l'anthracnose ont été généralement très efficaces pour faire cesser toute propagation de la maladie.

Ce fut l'une des pires années pour la brûlure bactérienne. Les symptômes ont vite progressé sur les feuilles dans certains champs, provoquant une défoliation prématurée. Dans certains cas les essais de traitements foliaires avec des produits à base de cuivre pour faire cesser la maladie ont eu peu de succès.

Les producteurs qui ont utilisé le traitement des semences Cruiser n'ont généralement pas eu à faire de traitement foliaire d'insecticide par la suite pour combattre les cicadelles. Des essais de Cruiser menés par RCAT ont été efficaces pour maîtriser les cicadelles pendant les premières 4 à 6 semaines après les semis, ce qui certaines années peut vouloir dire toute la saison.

Défis pour 2007

Compactage du sol

Cet automne, le temps humide pendant la récolte augmentait la tendance au compactage du sol. Les haricots comestibles sont très sensibles au compactage et on a rapporté des baisses du rendement allant jusqu'à 50 %. Le travail du sol n'est souvent pas suffisant pour remédier à la situation. En 2007, il faut choisir des champs dont le sol démontre une bonne structure, des teneurs élevées en matière organique et qui ont fait l'objet d'une bonne rotation des cultures. Dans certains cas une culture céréalière ou fourragère est préférable à cause du compactage dans les champs où l'on a récolté du maïs à l'automne 2006.

Utilisation de semences de haute qualité

L'anthracnose et la graisse du haricot ou la brûlure bactérienne ont été d'importants défis à relever dans certains champs de haricots comestibles de l'Ontario et ces maladies sont toutes portées par les semences. Il ne faut utiliser que des semences certifiées provenant d'une source dotée d'un programme de dépistage strict. DCT est le traitement pour les semences le plus efficace pour éradiquer l'anthracnose dans les semences. OAC Rex est la seule variété homologuée de haricots blancs qui résiste à la brûlure bactérienne.

Dessication et lutte contre les mauvaises herbes avant la récolte

Les produits de traitement avant la récolte sont indispensables pour éradiquer les mauvaises herbes vivaces, éviter la repousse et favoriser la dessication des mauvaises herbes et celle de la culture. Certains étaient préoccupés quant à l'acceptation par certains marchés internationaux et à l'innocuité ou à la qualité des aliments destinés aux consommateurs. Les délais de récolte des haricots traités peu avant ont causé une certaine détérioration de la structure des plants. Les producteurs devront être prudents et respecter strictement le délai d'attente avant la récolte, et choisir le produit adéquat selon leur date de récolte et leur marché cible.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 16 novembre 2006
Dernière révision : 07 juillet 2017

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca