Ontario Field Crop Report
2006 Forage Crops Seasonal Summary

Table of Contents

  1. Alfalfa Winterkill in Eastern Ontario
  2. New Seedings
  3. Insects
  4. Hay Inventories Tight in Some Areas
  5. First Cut Yields and Quality
  6. Second and Third Cuts
  7. Pastures
  8. Critical Fall Harvest Period
  9. Challenges for 2007

Technical information can be obtained at the OMAFRA Field Crops Webpage and Crop Pest Ontario. Referenced OMAFRA Publications include the Agronomy Guide for Field Crops (Publication 811), the Field Crop Protection Guide (Publication 812), Guide to Weed Control (Publication 75), and Ontario Weeds (Publication 505). These can be obtained from your OMAFRA Resource Centre, or by calling 1-800-668-9938.

Most areas in southern Ontario had excellent seasonal forage yields and good quality. Stored hay and haylage inventories are at average to very high levels creating downward pressure on prices compared to a year ago. Northwestern Ontario was the exception where significantly reduced yields and inventories were experienced in Rainy River and Kenora because of dry weather. Other areas impacted were also parts of Algoma, Manitoulin, Bruce, Grey, Simcoe and Huron. Wet weather during May and June frustrated attempts at making high quality first-cut in some eastern Ontario counties. Subsequent harvests of high forage yields provided a great recovery in some parts of the province, such as the east-central counties, in comparison to the dry weather and hay shortages of 2005.

Alfalfa Winterkill In Eastern Ontario

Significant alfalfa winterkill again occurred in eastern Ontario, although not as severe as in 2005. Up to 40% of the alfalfa was affected with some fields totally lost, the area from Brockville to the Quebec border and up to Ottawa was the most affected. The poor winter hardiness was the result of warm fall temperatures and a late frost, followed by wet weather and saturated soils in December 2005. Extremely cold weather with little snow cover in early January likely resulted in extensive freezing damage. Fields cut during the Critical Fall Harvest Period in 2005 were more severely affected. Other contributing factors included ice sheeting, alfalfa root disease complexes and crown heaving on heavier soils. Diseased older stands on flat, clay soil types were most susceptible to damage.

Alfalfa winterkill was not significant across most other parts of the province despite extensive harvesting during the 2005 Critical Fall Harvest Period because of low forage inventories and good harvest weather. Harvesting during the critical period occurred again in 2006 in many areas. Harvesting during this period can increase the risk of winterkill as experienced in Eastern Ontario.

New Seedings

The winter survival of 2005 summer seedings was poor where extended dry conditions in August and September reduced or delayed emergence going into the fall. Seeding conditions in April and early-May of 2006 were excellent and most new forage seedings were in the ground in optimal time. While most areas received adequate moisture in May and June, some areas including parts of Huron, Bruce, Grey and Simcoe were dry. Where rainfall was delayed, the success of new forage seedings was less consistent.

In general, summer establishment that occurred during optimum seeding dates appear to be in good shape. Later seeded fields that experienced delayed emergence due to drier August weather are at a higher risk of reduced stand establishment and should be scouted for winter survival success early next spring.

Insects

Some alfalfa weevil was reported at threshold levels in the southwest, but very little spraying was required. Potato leafhopper (PLH) levels were above threshold levels in many parts of the province, particularly in the counties bordering Lake Erie. Very few of these acres were sprayed, but an increasing number of affected farmers are considering the use of available PLH resistant alfalfa varieties.

Hay Inventories Tight In Some Areas

Hay yields and inventories are reduced in some of the cow-calf areas of north-western Ontario because of dry weather, particularly Rainy River and Kenora. Forage rainfall crop insurance claims were received in parts of Manitoulin, Algoma, Huron, Bruce, Grey and Simcoe counties. Agricorp paid out $2.2 million this year to 400 customers, down significantly from 2005. Rainfall data can be viewed on the Agricorp website.

First Cut Yields and Quality

Optimum harvest dates of first-cut "dairy quality" alfalfa haylage typically occurred about the third week of May for much of southern Ontario. Yields of early-cut alfalfa haylage were generally excellent. Rain during the last week of May delayed silo filling for some farmers, resulting in slightly lower than optimal crude protein levels and higher fibre levels than the benchmark 20 - 30 - 40 targets. However, according to data supplied by Agri-Food Laboratories, fibre digestibilities (NDFD) were generally higher than expected.

Weather conditions for making dry hay were generally good in early-June, but periods of rain in late-June created challenges for some farmers. Parts of eastern Ontario experienced difficulty making dry first-cut hay without rain-damage due to excessive June rainfall. The good conditions for making dry hay in early-June reduced the need for propionic acid application and baleage for first cut in most parts of the province.

Second and Third Cuts

Second and third cut yields were variable, depending on rainfall in localized areas, but were typically well above average. Second-cut laboratory analysis indicates that most samples have adequate protein, but higher than normal fibre levels. Many of the third and fourth-cut analysis indicate very high protein with very low fibre levels.

Pastures

Pasture growth started a little slow, with cool temperatures and limited rainfall during April and early-May. By mid-May, soil moisture levels were restored allowing pastures to progress as expected. In much of the cow-calf areas, particularly Bruce, Grey, and Simcoe counties, June and early-July were typically hot and dry, resulting in low soil moistures levels while timely rains by mid-July restored moisture levels in most areas. Growth continued at above average through late July, August and September. Livestock gains on pasture have typically been reported as above average with good quality grass available over the grazing season.

There were several exceptions to these good growing conditions. Rainy River, Algoma and Manitoulin were dry to extremely dry throughout the summer months and supplemental feeding was required by mid-season. The Algoma Community Pasture removed cattle from grass in August.

An increased adoption of rotational grazing practices has resulted in increased forage productivity. Increased sales of portable and temporary fence components have been reported by the fence supply industry. These management tools allow the producer to increase forage utilization and provide rest periods for forage re-growth to occur.

Annual forages, such as sorghum-sudan grass, turnips and late-planted oats are increasingly being utilized in grazing and summer feeding programs. These crops provide an opportunity to fill some of the low periods that occur in the perennial forage growth curve and extend the grazing season further into the fall.

Critical Fall Harvest Period

Hayfields looked excellent in September in most areas, with strong fall regrowth. Some forage acreage in parts of the province with a lower risk of alfalfa winterkill was harvested during the Critical Fall Harvest Period. With heavy growth, some producers took a final cut after the killing frost, which typically occurred the first week of October.

Challenges for 2007

Managing Alfalfa Winterkill

Alfalfa winterkill continues to be a serious issue in some parts of the province, particularly eastern Ontario. There are many contributing risk factors, including the weather, soil type, drainage, disease complex, potato leafhopper damage, variety selection, fertility, and cutting management. Options to reduce winterkill involve lowering plant stress to a minimum. These include improved drainage and soil structure, controlling insect pressure, ensuring adequate fertility, selection of varieties that are winter hardy and highly disease resistant, avoiding very short cutting intervals, and respecting the Critical Fall Harvest Period. For more information see:

Potato Leafhopper

Potato leafhopper (PLH) damage in alfalfa is frequently underestimated. PLH levels are frequently high in some parts of the province (such as the Lake Erie counties), resulting in significant damage, yield loss and seeding failures. New alfalfa seedings are particularly vulnerable. More scouting of alfalfa fields needs to occur, with insecticide applied when scouting thresholds are exceeded. PLH resistant varieties should be considered in areas where levels are typically high.

Strategies To Ensure Adequate Forage Inventories During Dry Weather

Dry weather impacts pasture and forage yields and reduces forage inventories. Farmers must develop management strategies in the event of dry weather that include rotational grazing, the use of drought resistant forage species, and the use of annual forages including corn silage. For more information see:

Rotational Grazing

Changing from a continuous to rotational grazing systems which subdivide fields and involve frequently moving livestock can result in significantly more production. A rotational grazing system can double the forage production over a continuous grazing system, and reduce the amount of hay fed during the dry summer slump. Rotational grazing with 5 or 6 paddocks, 5 to 7 days grazing, and 28 to 30 days of rest works well. Even a less intensive 4 paddock, 10 days grazing, 30 day rest system can increase production over continuous grazing. For more information see:

Harvest Management For Quality Dry Hay

Frequent rains and narrow haying windows result in reduced amounts of quality dry hay without rain damage or mould. Predicting the weather can be frustrating, but proper conditioner maintenance and adjustment, strategic windrow management and raking, and the use of propionic acid as a hay preservative, can assist producers in reducing the risk of poor hay quality. For more information see:


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Sommaire de la saison pour les cultures de fourrage - 2006 - Rapport sur les grandes cultures de l'Ontario

Table des matières

  1. Les destructions de luzerne dues à l'hiver dans l'est de l'Ontario
  2. Les nouveaux ensemencements
  3. Les insectes
  4. Des stocks de foin limités dans certaines régions
  5. Le rendement et la qualité des premières coupes
  6. Les deuxième et troisième coupes
  7. Les pâturages
  8. La période critique de la récolte d'automne
  9. Les défis de 2007

Vous pourrez également trouver des renseignements techniques sur la page Grandes cultures du site Web du MAAARO. Les publications du MAAARO mentionnées sont la publication 811F Guide agronomique des grandes cultures, la publication 812F Guide de protection des grandes cultures, la publication 75F Guide de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes et la publication 505 Ontario Weeds. Ces publications sont disponibles à votre centre de ressources locales du MAAARO, ou par téléphone au 1 888 466 - 2372.

Le fourrage de la plupart des régions du sud de l'Ontario a d'excellents rendements saisonniers et est de bonne qualité. Les stocks de foin et d'ensilage préfané sont à des niveaux moyens à élevés, ce qui crée une pression à la vente par rapport à l'an passé. Le nord-ouest de l'Ontario constitue l'exception : à cause du temps sec, les rendements et les stocks ont considérablement diminué à Rainy River et à Kenora. Les autres régions touchées étaient également situées dans Algoma, Manitoulin, Bruce, Grey, Simcoe et Huron. Le climat humide de mai et juin a déçu les attentes concernant la qualité de la première coupe dans certains comtés de l'est de l'Ontario. Dans plusieurs endroits de la province, comme les comtés du Centre-Est, les hauts rendements des récoltes suivantes ont permis de compenser le temps sec et la pénurie de foin de 2005.

Les destructions de luzerne dues à l'hiver dans l'est de l'Ontario

De nouveau, et même si la situation s'est avérée moins grave qu'en 2005, de nombreux peuplements de luzerne ont été détruits par l'hiver dans l'est de l'Ontario. Jusqu'à 40 % de la culture de luzerne a été touchée et des champs ont été complètement dévastés. La région qui part de Brockville et va jusqu'à la limite du Québec pour remonter jusqu'à Ottawa a été la plus atteinte. Cette mauvaise résistance à l'hiver découle des températures chaudes de l'automne et du gel tardif, suivis par un temps humide et par la saturation des sols survenue en décembre 2005. Le froid extrême et la mince couche de neige de début janvier ont probablement augmenté l'étendue des dégâts provoqués par le gel. Les champs coupés au cours de la période critique de la récolte d'automne 2005 ont été plus gravement endommagés. D'autres facteurs ont contribué à cette situation, comme la formation d'une couche de glace, des ensembles de maladies touchant la racine de la luzerne et le déchaussage des couronnes sur les sols lourds. Les peuplements malades les plus anciens, plantés dans des sols plats et argileux, ont été les plus sensibles aux dégâts.

La destruction de la luzerne par l'hiver n'a pas été très sévère dans la plupart des autres parties de la province, et ce, malgré les récoltes généralisées de la période critique de la récolte d'automne 2005 motivées par les faibles stocks de fourrage et un climat propice. De nouveau, dans plusieurs régions, des récoltes ont eu lieu durant la période critique de 2006. La récolte au cours de cette période contribue à aggraver le risque de destruction par l'hiver, comme nous l'avons constaté dans l'est de l'Ontario.

Les nouveaux ensemencements

La résistance à l'hiver des semis d'été de 2005 a été mauvaise là où le temps sec d'août et de septembre avait diminué ou retardé la levée jusqu'à l'automne. Les conditions d'ensemencement d'avril et du début mai de 2006 furent excellentes. La plupart des nouveaux semis de fourrage étaient en terre au meilleur moment. Alors que la plupart des régions bénéficiaient d'une bonne humidité en mai et juin, certaines zones de Huron, Bruce, Grey et Simcoe étaient asséchées. Dans les régions où les pluies ont été retardées, la levée des nouveaux ensemencements a été compromise.

De manière générale, l'implantation estivale effectuée au cours des dates d'ensemencement optimal semble bien se porter. Les champs ensemencés plus tardivement ont connu une levée tardive à cause du climat sec d'août et risquent de voir leur implantation réduite. Tôt au début du printemps prochain, il faudra les surveiller pour assurer leur résistance à l'hiver.

Les insectes

Quelques seuils d'intervention contre les charançons postiches de la luzerne ont été signalés dans le Sud-Ouest. Cependant, très peu de pulvérisations ont été nécessaires. Les concentrations de cicadelle de la pomme de terre ont été inférieures aux seuils d'intervention dans plusieurs parties de la province, et plus particulièrement dans les comtés limitrophes au lac Érié. Très peu de champs ont été pulvérisés, mais un nombre croissant de fermiers touchés songent actuellement à utiliser des cultivars résistants à la cicadelle de la pomme de terre.

Des stocks de foin limités dans certaines régions

À cause du temps sec, les rendements et les stocks de foin sont limités dans plusieurs régions d'élevage du nord-ouest de l'Ontario, en particulier Rainy River et Kenora. Des demandes d'indemnités dans le cadre de l'assurance de précipitation pour les cultures fourragères ont été reçues pour certaines zones des comtés de Manitoulin, Algoma, Huron, Bruce, Grey et Simcoe. Cette année, Agricorp a payé des indemnités de 2,2 millions de dollars à un total de 400 clients, ce qui est nettement moins qu'en 2005. Les données pluviométriques peuvent être consultées sur le site Web d'Agricorp, à l'adresse www.agricorp.com.

Le rendement et la qualité des premières coupes

Dans la majeure partie du sud de l'Ontario, les dates optimales de récolte de la première coupe de la luzerne pure de « qualité laitière » ont eu lieu aux alentours de la troisième semaine de mai. Les rendements de la première coupe pour l'ensilage de luzerne préfanée ont généralement été excellents. Les précipitations de la dernière semaine de mai ont retardé l'ensilage par certains fermiers, ce qui a provoqué une légère diminution des concentrations de protéines brutes et une légère augmentation des concentrations de fibres par rapport aux seuils cibles de 20, 30 et 40. Malgré tout, et selon les données d'Agri-Food Laboratories, la digestibilité des fibres (DFDN) a généralement dépassé les attentes.

Les conditions climatiques ont généralement été favorables au début de juin pour le séchage du foin, mais les périodes de pluie de la fin juin ont posé des problèmes à plusieurs fermiers. Les pluies excessives qui ont sévi en juin dans certaines régions de l'est de l'Ontario ont gêné la première coupe de foin sec exempt de dégâts dus à la pluie. Grâce aux bonnes conditions de séchage du foin du début de juin, les besoins en épandage d'acide propionique ou d'ensilage en grosses balles ont été réduits dans la plupart des régions.

Les deuxième et troisième coupes

Les rendements des deuxième et troisième coupes ont également varié dans ces régions, mais de manière générale, ils sont restés en dessous de la moyenne. Les analyses en laboratoire de la deuxième coupe révèlent que la plupart des échantillons possèdent un taux correct de protéines, mais des concentrations de fibres supérieures à la normale. La plupart des analyses des troisième et quatrième coupes indiquent des concentrations très élevées de protéines et de très faibles concentrations de fibres.

Les pâturages

La croissance du pâturage a légèrement été retardée par les températures fraîches et le manque de pluie d'avril et du début de mai. Vers la mi-mai, les taux d'humidité du sol se sont rétablis et la croissance a repris son cours normal. Dans la plupart des régions d'élevage, et particulièrement dans les comtés de Bruce, Grey et Simcoe, les mois de juin et le début de juillet ont généralement été chauds et secs. Le taux d'humidité des sols est resté bas jusqu'à ce que les pluies survenant à point nommé vers la mi-juillet restaurent le taux d'humidité dans la plupart des régions. De la fin juillet à septembre, la croissance est restée inférieure à la moyenne. Le gain de poids du bétail en prairies a généralement été supérieur à la moyenne, une herbe de bonne qualité étant disponible durant la saison du pâturage d'été.

On signale cependant plusieurs exceptions à ces bonnes conditions de croissance. Les comtés de Rainy River, Algoma et Manitoulin ont connu un climat sec à extrêmement sec tout au long de l'été. Il a fallu supplémenter à la mi-saison. Dans la région d'Algoma, le bétail a été retiré du pâturage collectif en août.

L'adoption accrue du pâturage en rotation a contribué à augmenter la productivité. Le secteur des ventes de clôtures signale une augmentation des ventes de clôtures portables et temporaires. Ce matériel permet au producteur d'optimiser la gestion des pâturages et d'aménager des périodes de repos qui favorisent la reprise de la croissance.

Le fourrage annuel, comme le sorgho commun, le navet et l'avoine tardive, est de plus en plus utilisé dans les programmes estivaux de pâturage et d'affourragement. Ces cultures permettent de combler certaines périodes creuses de la courbe de croissance du fourrage pluriannuel et d'étendre la saison de pâturage jusqu'en automne.

La période critique de la récolte d'automne

En septembre, dans la plupart des régions, les prés de fauche semblaient prometteurs et la repousse d'automne était vigoureuse. Les superficies de luzerne de certaines régions, présentant un faible risque de destruction par l'hiver, ont fait l'objet de récoltes au cours de la période critique de la récolte d'automne. Une croissance vigoureuse a incité plusieurs producteurs à effectuer une dernière coupe après le gel meurtrier, qui survient généralement au cours de la première semaine d'octobre.

Les défis de 2007

La lutte contre la destruction de la luzerne par l'hiver

La destruction de la luzerne par l'hiver demeure une préoccupation dans plusieurs parties de la province, particulièrement dans l'est de l'Ontario. Plusieurs facteurs de risques y contribuent, comme le climat, le type de sol, le drainage, les ensembles de maladies, les dégâts dus à la cicadelle de la pomme de terre, le choix des cultivars, la fertilité, ainsi que la gestion de la coupe. Les solutions pour limiter la destruction par l'hiver consistent à réduire le plus possible le stress subi par les plants. Elles incluent l'amélioration du drainage et de la structure du sol, la lutte contre la menace d'insectes, une fertilité appropriée, le choix de cultivars rustiques, l'accroissement des intervalles de coupe et le respect de la période critique de la récolte d'automne.

La cicadelle de la pomme de terre

Les dégâts causés à la luzerne par la cicadelle de la pomme de terre sont souvent sous estimés. Les concentrations de cicadelles de la pomme de terre sont souvent élevés dans plusieurs parties de la province (comme les comtés du lac Érié), et entraînent d'importants dégâts, une perte de rendement et l'échec de certains ensemencements. Les nouveaux ensemencements de luzerne sont particulièrement vulnérables. Il faut augmenter le nombre des dépistages dans les champs de luzerne, et procéder à des applications d'insecticide lorsque les seuils de dépistage ont été dépassés. Il faudrait examiner la possibilité d'utiliser des cultivars résistants à la cicadelle de la pomme de terre dans les régions où les concentrations sont généralement élevées.

Les stratégies pour garantir des stocks de fourrage suffisants pendant la saison sèche

Le temps sec a des conséquences sur les rendements des pâturages et du fourrage, et tend à réduire les stocks de fourrage. Les agriculteurs doivent trouver des stratégies de gestion en cas de temps sec, comme le pâturage en rotation, l'emploi de cultivars résistants à la sécheresse et l'utilisation de fourrages annuels comme le maïs à ensilage.

Le pâturage en rotation

Le passage du pâturage continu au pâturage en rotation par la subdivision des champs et les déplacements fréquents du bétail peut améliorer substantiellement la production. Le système de pâturage en rotation peut aller jusqu'à doubler la production de fourrage par rapport au système continu, et réduire la quantité de foin utilisée pour l'affouragement pendant la sécheresse du « trou de l'été ». La rotation du pâturage dans 5 ou 6 enclos, avec des périodes de pâturage de 5 à 7 jours et 28 à 30 jours de repos, fonctionne assez bien. Même un système plus intensif de 4 enclos, 10 jours de pâturage et 30 jours de repos peut donner une production supérieure à celle du pâturage continu.

La gestion de la récolte pour un foin sec de qualité

À cause des pluies fréquentes et des courtes plages de temps possibles pour la fenaison, les quantités de foin sec de qualité exempt de dégâts causés par la pluie ou la moisissure sont réduites. Il peut être décourageant de vouloir prédire le climat. Cependant, un bon entretien et un bon réglage de la conditionneuse, une gestion stratégique de l'andainage et l'utilisation d'acide propionique pour conserver le foin pourront aider les producteurs à réduire le risque d'obtenir un foin de mauvaise qualité.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 31 octobre 2006
Dernière révision : 07 juillet 2017

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424 1300
Courriel :ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca