Ontario Field Crop Report
Cereal Crops Seasonal Summary

Table of Contents

  1. Spring Cereals
  2. Fall 2005 Plantings

Incredible! The 2005 winter wheat crop hung tough, finishing with a provincial average yield of 71.5 bu/ac! Despite record heat, and absolutely no rainfall throughout the entire grain fill process, the crop was able to come within 1.5 Bu/ac of trend line yields. We were but one rain away from a new yield record! Quality of the crop was excellent, with high protein levels, high test weights, and phenomenal falling number!

Dismal! Spring cereal yields are down dramatically, with high temperatures and lack of rainfall being too much for the crop. Spring wheat yielded a disappointing 40 Bu/ac on average, off 17% from trend line predictions of 48. Spring grains are even more disappointing, only 2100 pounds/acre, a full 24% off trend line predictions of 2750. Quality is borderline, with test weights barely making grade, and small, shrivelled kernels ruling the day.

Record acreage of winter wheat has been planted this fall. While final numbers are not yet in, estimates run well above 1 million acres of wheat planted. At least 80% of this crop was planted on time, into perfect soil conditions. Yield potential should be excellent!

Winter cereals

An estimated 780,000 acres of winter wheat were planted in the fall of 2004, with at least � of the crop being planted on time. In the southwest, the crop came through the winter in stellar condition, with less than 1% winterkill! Even November planted wheat had excellent winter survival. The same could not be said of central and eastern Ontario, where winter survival was marginal at best. Winter injury from ice cover and wet, soggy soils in the spring combined to reduce stands and cause replanting of some acres in this area.

The disparity between southwest and east central continued into the spring. Nitrogen applications were timely (mid April), with excellent, dry soil conditions for field travel in the southwest. It was so dry in this region that there were concerns over nitrogen loss, due to volatilization. However, if any loss did occur, it was not significant enough to reduce yield. In the east and central regions, wet soils challenged growers to avoid rutting fields, while applying nitrogen before the crop hit the rapid growth stage.

Heavy snowfall in much of the province in late April, coupled with a cool, dry May, slowed crop development significantly. Heading was delayed by 3-5 days, with the first heading dates occurring around May 30th. The cool soil conditions gave rise to more apparent Manganese (Mn) deficiency symptoms than normal. However, in many cases these symptoms were not MN deficiency, but a physiological response to weather stress in general. This drove home the importance of the "squirt and see" approach, where growers treat a small section of row by hand, to see if the crop responds, before spending money on treating the whole field.

New this year was the Weed Emergence Survey, done by Mike Cowbrough, OMAFRA Weed Lead. A number of fields were scouted on a bi-weekly basis throughout the wheat growing area, to determine weed species, weed density, and time of emergence. From this survey, only ½ of wheat fields have sufficient weed pressure to warrant weed control measures. The second target of this survey is to help growers apply herbicides at the right time. This year we continued to have a number of cases of late herbicide application (flag leaf stage) which significantly reduced yield. This survey will be continued and refined for next year, along with a continued extension thrust on this subject.

Dry conditions helped to keep disease pressure low in virtually all of the crop and especially during the critical periods of the crops development. Day after day of high UV index levels caused a great deal of physiological fleck(sunburn), which was often confused with disease. Stripe rustwas present in a few fields at very high levels, but did not spread to the crop in general. Stagonospora (septoria glume blotch) was evident in some fields as well. With low disease levels, response to foliar fungicides was minimal. Some interesting results were obtained with the new fungicide Headline, which warrants further tests next year. In some fields (but not all), significant yield increase were obtained from this fungicide even in the absence of disease. However, thus far, this response is not predictable.

Insect pressure was low in most of the wheat crop. Although there where some high aphid numbers, and isolated reports of cereal leaf beetle, there was no need to control insects in the crop.

Dry, cool conditions turned to hot and dry as May turned to June. With July like conditions, the wheat headed and pollinated much more rapidly than normal, taking only three days for a process that normally takes six days. As the weather stayed hot and dry, Fusariumrisk dropped to the lowest level in recent memory. As more growers are intent upon protecting a good crop, more acres were sprayed with Folicur than in previous years. As expected, with the continuation of dry, hot weather throughout grain fill, there was less response to Folicur applications. Fusarium was essentially a non-issue in this year's crop.

Hot, dry conditions became a huge scare in the wheat crop. In many fields, bottom leaves began to "fire", and in some varieties "onion leafing" occurred, just like when corn is under drought stress. This was of great concern since it was happening to the critical wheat flag leaves. These symptoms were exaggerated wherever any other stress existed. Short rotations, compaction, and drought prone sands all showed dramatic stress symptoms, which lead to very poor yields. The grain fill period was shortened from the hoped for 21 days down to 14 days in many fields. Harvest was advanced accordingly.

With all the hot, dry weather, straw was extremely short, and lodging was virtually non-existent. Harvest began with tough, green straw and shrivelled kernels creating great challenges for combine operators. However, the grain just kept pouring into the bin! While yields were down from the levels of the last several years, there was 10 bushels per acre more wheat than most growers ever expected! Grain quality was excellent. Straw yields did not match grain yields, with straw yields 20% below normal.

Then came the July 16th rain that saved the corn crop. Amazingly, soft white winter wheat that was hardly mature immediately had sprouts. Even some soft red varieties had sprouts, and mildew in grain samples became an issue. Despite these sprouts, the falling numbers remained high in most cases due to the tremendously high initial falling numbers. As harvest wrapped up, the vast majority of the crop was excellent, but the importance of timely harvest of the wheat crop was driven home yet again.

Protein in the crop is � to 1 full point above last year's levels. While this is good news for the hard red crop, the soft wheat crop was almost too high in protein to meet milling and baking requirements. The high number of small kernels in this year's crop has reduced milling yield slightly, and made mill adjustment critical. However, when all is said and done, a much better crop than anyone anticipated!

Spring Cereals

Spring cereal acreage increasedby approximately 15% this year, primarily due to the poor economics of growing corn. Unfortunately, spring cereals did not enjoy the same favourable outcome that winter cereals did.

Planting was timely in the southwest, with much of the crop planted in mid-April. However, much of the crop in the east-central and northern areas was planted later than ideal, due to the wet soil conditions. Even in the southwest, a considerable portion of the crop was not planted prior to the April snow, and the remaining seedings were delayed into May. For the first year in 4 years, there was essentially no window of opportunity to frost seed cereals, as conditions went from snow-covered to dry without any cold nights.

Emergence was good in much of the crop, however a considerable acreage did have variable emergence due to the dry soil conditions. Once the crop was planted, the weather turned extremely dry and any seed not planted into moisture experienced delayed emergence. The dry conditions in much of the province did mean that herbicide and nitrogen applications were applied on a timely basis.

Disease levels remained extremely low in the spring crop because of the low levels of rainfall. Insect pressure was another matter with extreme cases of armyworm outbreaks common. Some fields were completely stripped by armyworm, and many producers were not scouting closely enough to detect armyworm outbreaks before the damage reached severe levels. Cereal leaf beetle was another insect issue in some fields, but did not cause the level of damage that armyworm did.

Continued hot (above 30°C) and extremely dry conditions throughout the growth and development of the crop had a big impact. Some crops headed out at only 40 cm (16 inches) tall. Straw yields were almost nonexistent in these fields, and in many fields straw yields were less then 50% of normal. Yields were down dramatically (20%), and quality suffered as well. Mildew downgraded the spring wheat crop, and many milling oat fields struggled to make test weight. Malt barley fields fought to make grade, with kernel size being too small, and protein levels too high.

While spring cereals were not the bust that spring canola was, the result for most growers was extremely disappointing.

Fall 2005 Plantings

A record acreage of wheat was planted this fall (estimated at 1.2 million acres). Soft red continues to command the largest percentage of the crop, moving up from 2/3rd of the crop last year to � of the crop in 2005. Some of this crop was planted well before the optimum planting date, and there are significant concerns of Barley Yellow Dwarf Virus and Hessian fly damage in this portion of the crop. As well, where some growers chose to use farmer saved seed, there was no seed treatment applied which in specific areas raises alarm bells for the potential of bunt in next year's crop.

Fall weather continued with well above normal temperatures, with October being the driest on record in many locations. While most fields had excellent stand establishment, fields where growers chose to plant shallow rather than into moisture had extremely variable emergence.

Considerable consternation exists over the yellow appearance of many of the early planted wheat fields. These symptoms have been attributed to many factors, from nitrogen or manganese deficiency to rust and lack of moisture. Whatever the cause, these symptoms should have minimal impact on yield potential of the crop next year. Timely planted wheat, with good growth, tillering and crown development in the fall, gives good yield potential prospects if next year will only co-operate.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Rapport sur les grandes cultures de l'Ontario - Sommaire de la saison 2005 pour les céréales

Table des matières

  1. Les céréales d'hiver
  2. Les céréales de printemps
  3. Les semis de l'automne 2005

Vous pourrez également trouver des renseignements techniques sur la page Grandes cultures du site Web du MAAARO. Les publications du MAAARO mentionnées sont la publication 811F Guide agronomique des grandes cultures, la publication 812F Guide de protection des grandes cultures, la publication 75F Guide de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes et la publication 505 Ontario Weeds. Ces publications sont disponibles à votre centre de ressources locales du MAAARO, ou par téléphone au 1 888 466 - 2372.

Incroyable!! La culture de blé d'hiver de 2005 a tenu bon, et a fini par produire un rendement provincial moyen de 71,5 bois/acre! Malgré le record de chaleur et absolument aucune précipitation tout au long du processus de remplissage du grain, la culture s'est quand même située dans la ligne de tendance du rendement de 1,5 bois/acre. Nous sommes passés à une pluie d'un nouveau record de rendement! La qualité de la culture était excellente, avec de hauts niveaux de protéines, des poids au boisseau élevés et un impressionnant indice de chute!

Déprimant!! La culture n'a pas pu lutter contre les températures élevées et le manque de précipitations : les rendements des céréales de printemps ont considérablement chuté. Le blé de printemps a atteint une décevante moyenne de 40 bois/acre, ce qui représente 17 % de moins que la projection de 48 %. Les grains de printemps sont encore plus décevants : 952,5 kg/acre seulement, c'est-à-dire 24 % de moins que la projection de 1 247. La qualité est à la limite du correct, le poids au boisseau parvient à peine à lui permettre de décrocher un grade, et les grains racornis constituent l'ordinaire.

Une superficie record de blé d'hiver a été plantée cet automne. Bien que les chiffres définitifs ne soient pas encore connus, les estimations indiquent plus d'un million d'acres de blé planté. Au moins 80 % de cette culture a été plantée à temps dans des conditions de sol parfaites. Le rendement potentiel devrait être excellent!

Les céréales d'hiver

Environ 780 000 acres de blé d'hiver ont été plantés au cours de l'automne 2004, dont au moins les ¾ en temps opportun. Dans le Sud-Ouest, la culture a passé l'hiver dans des conditions idéales. La destruction par l'hiver est inférieure à 1 %! Même le blé planté en novembre a démontré une excellente résistance à l'hiver. On ne peut pas en dire autant du Centre et de l'Est de l'Ontario, où, au mieux, la résistance à l'hiver a été anecdotique. Au printemps, les dommages hivernaux causés par la couche de glace et les sols mouillés et détrempés ont réduit les peuplements et obligé à replanter dans certains champs de ces régions.

La disparité entre le Sud-Ouest et le Centre-Est s'est confirmée au printemps. Dans le Sud-Ouest, les excellentes conditions et la sécheresse du sol ont permis de rouler dans les champs et d'y répandre l'azote en temps opportun (mi-avril). Il faisait tellement sec dans cette région qu'on s'est inquiété des pertes d'azote par vaporisation. Cependant, les pertes, si toutefois elles ont eu lieu, n'ont pas été assez importantes pour diminuer le rendement. Dans les régions de l'Est et du Centre, alors qu'ils appliquaient de l'azote avant le stade de croissance rapide, les producteurs ont dû lutter pour éviter que les sols mouillés ne se détériorent en ornières.

Fin avril, les importantes quantités de neige qui sont tombées dans la plus grande partie de la province, suivies d'un mois de mai frais, ont considérablement ralenti le développement de la culture. L'épiaison a été retardée de 3 à 5 jours, et a débuté aux alentours du 30 mai. La fraîcheur du sol a entraîné des symptômes de carence en manganèse (Mn) plus apparents qu'à la normale. Dans plusieurs cas, ces symptômes n'étaient toutefois pas dus à une carence en manganèse, mais à une réaction physiologique aux mauvaises conditions climatiques en général. Cela ramène à l'importance de l'approche progressive, qui consiste à traiter manuellement une petite partie du rang et observer la réaction de la culture avant de consacrer un budget important au traitement du champ entier.

L'Enquête sur l'émergence des mauvaises herbes, menée par Mike Cowbrough, spécialiste des mauvaises herbes du MAAARO, est une nouveauté de cette année. Un dépistage a été effectué toutes les deux semaines dans plusieurs champs de la région agricole du blé, afin d'identifier les espèces de mauvaises herbes, leur densité et la période d'émergence. Selon cette enquête, la moitié seulement des champs de blé font face à une menace suffisant à justifier des mesures de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes. Le second objectif de cette enquête est d'aider les producteurs à appliquer les herbicides au bon moment. Cette année, nous avons encore eu un certain nombre de cas d'applications tardives d'herbicide (stade de sortie de la feuille) qui ont considérablement fait chuter le rendement. L'enquête sera poursuivie et raffinée pour l'an prochain, parallèlement à la poursuite de recherches poussées sur ce sujet.

Le temps sec a contribué à maintenir le faible taux de maladies dans presque toutes les cultures, particulièrement pendant les périodes clés du développement. Jour après jour, les indices élevés d'UV ont produit de nombreuses mouchetures physiologiques (insolation), souvent confondues avec des maladies. La rouille jaune du blé est apparue à haute densité dans quelques champs, mais ne s'est généralement pas répandue dans la culture. La tache des glumes causée par Stagonospora (Septoria) est également apparue dans quelques champs. Ces faibles taux d'atteinte ont contribué à réduire la réaction aux fongicides foliaires. Certains résultats intéressants ont été obtenus avec le nouveau fongicide Headline. De nouveaux essais seront effectués l'an prochain. Dans certains champs (mais pas dans tous), une augmentation substantielle du rendement a été obtenue avec ce fongicide, et ce, même en l'absence de maladies. Cependant et pour l'instant, il reste impossible de prévoir la réaction.

Les insectes n'ont constitué qu'une faible menace dans la plupart des cultures de blé. Bien qu'on ait observé de nombreux pucerons, et que des cas isolés de criocères des céréales aient été rapportés, la lutte contre les insectes n'a pas été nécessaire.

Le temps sec et frais de mai est devenu chaud et sec en juin. Ce climat semblable à celui de juillet a entraîné une épiaison et une pollinisation rapides : ce processus qui dure normalement six jours n'en a pris que trois. Le climat demeurant chaud et sec, les risques de fusarium sont descendus au niveau le plus bas connu à ce jour. Une superficie plus importante qu'au cours des précédentes années a été pulvérisée avec du Folicur par des producteurs désireux de protéger cette culture prometteuse. Comme prévu, le temps sec et chaud prévalant au moment du remplissage du grain a contribué à réduire la réaction aux épandages de Folicur. Le fusarium a brillé par son absence dans la culture de cette année.

Le temps chaud et sec a commencé à créer la panique dans les cultures de blé. Dans plusieurs champs, les feuilles inférieures ont commencé à « brûler » et certains cultivars ont présenté le symptôme de la feuille d'oignon, exactement comme le maïs soumis à la sécheresse. Ce phénomène, qui s'est produit durant le stade crucial de la sortie de la feuille, a fait l'objet de préoccupations. Ces symptômes ont été amplifiés dans les cultures soumises à d'autres stress. Les rotations courtes, la compaction et les sols secs sablonneux ont tous montré des symptômes de stress grave, qui ont entraîné des rendements très faibles. Dans plusieurs champs, la période de remplissage du grain est passée des 21 jours prévus à 14 jours. La récolte a été avancée en conséquence.

Le climat chaud et sec a entraîné la production d'une paille extrêmement courte. Il n'y a quasiment eu aucune verse. La récolte a commencé avec une paille dure et verte et des grains racornis qui ont donné du fil à retordre aux conducteurs de moissonneuses-batteuses. Malgré tout, le grain a continué à remplir les cellules! Même si les rendements ont été inférieurs à ceux des années précédentes, les producteurs ont obtenu 10 boisseaux de blé par acre de plus que ce qu'ils attendaient! La qualité du grain était excellente. Les rendements de paille n'ont pas atteint ceux du grain, et ont été inférieurs de 20 % à la normale.

Est arrivée ensuite la pluie du 16 juillet qui a sauvé la culture de maïs. Étrangement, le blé tendre blanc d'hiver, qui était loin de la maturité, a immédiatement germé. Même certains cultivars de blé tendre rouge d'hiver ont germé, et la moisissure est apparue dans les échantillons. Malgré cette germination, l'indice de chute est demeuré élevé dans la plupart des cas, grâce à l'exceptionnel indice de chute initial. À la fin de la récolte, on a pu constater que la grande majorité de la culture était excellente. L'importance de la récolte du blé blanc en temps opportun reste cependant un sujet à régler.

Le taux de protéines de la culture dépasse le niveau de l'an passé de ¾ de point à 1 point. Même si c'est une bonne chose pour le blé de force rouge, le taux de protéines du blé tendre est pratiquement trop élevé pour la mouture et la cuisson. Le nombre élevé de grains de petite taille a légèrement fait chuter le rendement de cette année et a rendu difficile le réglage des broyeurs. Malgré tout cela et pour résumer, la culture a été bien meilleure que prévu!

Les céréales de printemps

Cette année, la superficie de céréales de printemps a augmenté de 15 % environ, principalement à cause du faible revenu généré par la culture de maïs. Malheureusement, les céréales de printemps n'ont pas connu les mêmes bons résultats que les céréales d'hiver.

L'ensemencement s'est fait à temps dans le Sud-Ouest, et la plus grande partie de la culture était en terre à la mi-avril. Cependant, à cause de l'humidité du sol, une grande partie de la culture des régions Nord et du Centre-Est a été plantée trop tard. Même dans le Sud-Ouest, une bonne partie de la culture n'a pas été plantée avant la neige d'avril, et les ensemencements restants ont été retardés jusqu'en mai. Pour la première fois depuis quatre ans, il n'y a quasiment eu aucune occasion pour l'ensemencement des céréales en sol gelé. Les conditions climatiques variaient de la couverture de neige au temps sec, sans aucune nuit froide.

La levée s'est bien passée dans presque toute la culture, bien que la sécheresse du sol l'ait rendue inégale sur une grande superficie. Une fois la culture plantée, le climat est devenu extrêmement sec et les semis qui n'avaient pas été faits pendant la période humide ont connu une levée tardive. Le temps sec qui a prévalu dans presque toute la province a permis aux producteurs d'effectuer des applications d'herbicide et d'azote au bon moment.

Grâce aux faibles précipitations, les taux d'atteinte sont restés très bas dans la culture de printemps. Les insectes ont causé d'autres problèmes, avec des cas graves de pullulation de noctuelles ponctuées. Certains champs ont complètement été dénudés par les noctuelles ponctuées. Certains producteurs n'avaient pas effectué les sérieux dépistages qui leur auraient permis de détecter la pullulation avant que les dégâts n'atteignent un stade critique. Les criocères des céréales ont également posé des problèmes dans certains champs, mais n'ont pas causé autant de dégâts que les noctuelles ponctuées.

La chaleur ininterrompue (au-delà de 30°C) et les conditions de sécheresse extrême tout au long de la croissance et du développement de la culture ont eu de lourdes conséquences. Certaines cultures n'ont pas dépassé une hauteur de 40 cm (16 po). Les rendements de paille ont quasiment été nuls dans ces champs. Dans plusieurs autres, ils ont été inférieurs à la moitié de la normale. Les rendements ont considérablement chuté (20 %), ainsi que la qualité. La moisissure a déclassé la culture de blé de printemps, et bien des champs d'avoine ont eu du mal à atteindre le poids au boisseau. La taille des grains étant trop petite et les niveaux de protéines trop élevés, les champs d'orge de brasserie ont peiné à se classer.

Les céréales de printemps n'ont pas donné une récolte aussi catastrophique que celle du canola de printemps. Néanmoins, les résultats obtenus par la plupart des producteurs ont été extrêmement décevants.

Les semis de l'automne 2005

Une superficie record de blé a été plantée cet automne (environ 1,2 million d'acres). Le pourcentage le plus élevé revient toujours au blé tendre rouge, qui est passé de 2/3 de la culture l'an passé à ¾ en 2005. Une grande partie de cette culture a été plantée bien avant la date de plantation optimale. Cette partie de la culture a fait l'objet d'inquiétudes quant au virus de la jaunisse nanisante de l'orge et à la mouche de Hesse. De même, lorsque les semences conservées à la ferme ont été utilisées, aucun traitement des semences n'a été appliqué dans les régions précises qui avaient sonné l'alarme du danger potentiel de carie pour la culture de l'année précédente.

Les mois d'automne ont connu des températures bien supérieures à la normale. Le mois d'octobre a été le plus sec qu'ont connu bien des endroits. Alors que la plupart des champs bénéficiaient d'une excellente implantation, les champs dans lesquels les producteurs avaient décidé de planter peu profond plutôt que dans l'humidité ont connu une levée très variable.

Le jaunissement de plusieurs des champs de blé précocement ensemencés a provoqué une immense déception. On a attribué ces symptômes à plusieurs facteurs allant de la carence en azote ou en manganèse à la rouille, en passant par le manque d'humidité. Quelle qu'en soit la raison, ces symptômes devraient avoir peu d'impact sur le rendement potentiel de la culture de l'an prochain. Le blé planté au bon moment, qui connaît une bonne croissance et dont le tallage et le développement de la couronne ont lieu en automne, laissera espérer un bon rendement potentiel si la prochaine année se montre coopérative.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 20 novembre 2005
Dernière révision : 07 juillet 2017

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca