Managing Frost Damaged Canola

Canola seedlings can withstand a considerable frost (-5 to -8 degrees C) if plants have become acclimatized following a few days of cold temperatures. However, canola seedlings growing under warm conditions will be tneder, and can be killed by even a few degrees frost. Ice crystals will form on the leaf surface before they form within cells causing damage.
  • prior to taking any action, wait four to five days to assess any damage.
  • check the growing point for green colour at the centre of the leaf rosettes. Although cotyledons or other leaves may be black, re-growth can occur in 4 to 10 days depending on weather conditions.
  • assess stand survival prior to making application of any weed control product. Allow a minimum of 1 to 2 days for plants to recover, before applying any product. If frost damage to canola plants is significant, wait at least 4 to 5 days to assess survival and for new growth to emerge. Plants that have new leaf area are better able to handle (metabolize) the herbicide, even if they are herbicide tolerant. Herbicide activity on weeds will be improved when application is made to weeds that have resumed growth. Liberty works best when applied during the heat of the day.
  • check fields for flea beetle activity. Populations and damage has been low to date, but can build quickly under warm (greater than 15 degrees C), sunny weather. Seed treatments provide protection for 3 to 4 weeks from time of planting, so in some cases control may have run out before canola is past the critical stage (3 to 4 leaves). Action threshold is 25% leaf feeding damage.

For further information on assessing frost damaged canola, refer to Canola Council Factsheet: Tips for Assessing Spring Frost Damage to Canola.

frost damage to winter canola

Figure 1 - Frost damage to winter canola

new growth 3 days following several degrees frost

Figure 2 - Note new growth 3 days following several degrees frost

Frost can be more damaging to canola in flower. Pollination may not be affected, but freezing temperatures of -3 to -4 degrees C for several hours can damage developing seeds and begins as early as 8 days prior to pollination. These freezing temperatures can also reduce seed fill. Fortunately most areas experienced temperatures above this, but it will take several days to assess damage to newly formed pods. Check pods for damaged seeds that will have lost their green colour and turgidity. There is little experience with freezing temperatures at flowering to provide clear guidelines.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Brian Hall - Edible Beans and Canola Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 10 April 2010
Last Reviewed: 30 April 2010

Gestion du canola endommagé par le gel

Les jeunes plants de canola peuvent se remettre d'une gelée rigoureuse (-5 à -8 C) si les plants se sont acclimatés après quelques jours de temps froid. Toutefois, les plantules de canola qui poussent sous des températures chaudes seront plus fragiles et une gelée d'à peine quelques degrés peut leur être létale. Des cristaux de glace peuvent se former à la surface des feuilles avant que l'eau à l'intérieur des cellules ne fasse de même, causant alors des dommages.

  • Avant d'entreprendre quoi que ce soit, attendre quatre à cinq jours pour pouvoir évaluer les dommages.
  • Examiner le point végétatif et rechercher la couleur verte au centre des rosettes de feuilles. Même si les cotylédons ou les autres feuilles sont noirs, il peut y avoir une repousse au bout de 4 à 10 jours selon les conditions météorologiques.
  • Évaluer la survie du peuplement avant d'effectuer toute application d'herbicides. Laisser au moins 1 à 2 jours aux plants pour récupérer avant d'effectuer tout traitement. En présence d'importants dégâts par le gel aux plants de canola, attendre un minimum de 4 à 5 jours pour évaluer la survie et qu'une repousse ne se produise. Les plants avec une nouvelle superficie foliaire sont plus en mesure de supporter (métaboliser) l'herbicide, même ceux qui sont tolérants au produit. L'efficacité des herbicides sur les mauvaises herbes est optimale si on pulvérise sur des plants qui ont repris leur croissance. Liberty est à son meilleur quand on l'applique pendant la période chaude de la journée.
  • Inspecter les champs pour détecter les altises. Les populations et les dommages sont faibles à ce jour, mais peuvent augmenter rapidement par temps chaud (>15 C) et ensoleillé. Les traitements des semences offrent une protection de 3 à 4 semaines à partir des semis, dans certains cas la maîtrise ne sera plus efficace avant que le canola ait franchi le stade critique (3-4 feuilles). Le seuil d'intervention se situe à 25 % de feuilles dont les altises se sont nourries.

Pour plus de détails et savoir comment évaluer les dégâts dus au gel dans le canola, voir la fiche d'information du Conseil canadien du canola intitulée « Tips for Assessing Spring Frost Damage to Canola » (en anglais seulement).

Canola d'hiver endommagé par le gel

Figure 1 - Canola d'hiver endommagé par le gel

Notez la nouvelle pousse 3 jours après une gelée de plusieurs degrés

Figure 2 - Notez la nouvelle pousse 3 jours après une gelée de plusieurs degrés

Canola d'hiver

Le gel endommage davantage le canola au stade de la floraison. Une exposition à plusieurs heures de gel de -3 à -4 C peut ne pas avoir d'effet sur la pollinisation, mais elle peut endommager les graines qui ont commencé à se développer environ 8 jours avant la pollinisation. Le gel peut également faire diminuer le remplissage des gousses. Heureusement la plupart des zones ont connu des températures un peu plus élevées que ces dernières, il faut laisser s'écouler plusieurs jours avant d'évaluer les dommages aux nouvelles gousses. Examiner celles-ci pour voir si elles contiennent des graines endommagées qui ont perdu leur couleur verte et leur turgescence. À l'heure actuelle nous en savons trop peu sur les effets du gel au stade de la floraison pour donner des directives.


Auteur : Brian Hall - spécialiste des haricots comestibles et du canola/MAAARO
Date de création : 20 avril 2010
Dernière révision : 20 mai 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424 1300
Courriel :ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca