White apple leafhopper and potato leafhopper

Excerpt from Publication 310, Integrated Pest Management for Apples,
Order this Publication

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. White apple leafhopper
  3. Potato leafhopper

Introduction

Although many species of leafhopper feed on apple, only two are of economic importance in Ontario. The white apple leafhopper, Typhlocyba pomaria (McAtee), is a native pest found in all apple-growing areas. The potato leafhopper, Empoasca fabae (Harris), is an occasional pest on apple, especially young non-bearing trees.

White apple leafhopper

The white apple leafhopper is native to North America and found in most apple-growing regions in Canada and the United States. Apple trees are probably the only host that white apple leafhopper overwinters on, but during the growing season it may also infest peach, plum, cherry and hawthorn. The insect feeds on foliage and does not attack the fruit directly.

Description

The egg is less than 1 mm in length, cylindrical with tapering ends and creamy white in colour. There are five nymphal instars. Young nymphs (first and second instar) are pale whitish with dull red eyes, and about 1.0-1.5 mm in length (Figure 4-22). During the third instar, wing pads and dull white eyes develop. The fourth and fifth instar nymphs are similar in appearance to the third instar, but are larger in size (Figure 4-23). White apple leafhopper nymphs are differentiated from potato leafhopper nymphs by the way they walk when disturbed - white apple leafhoppers walk forward and backward, while potato leafhoppers walk sideways in a crab-like fashion. Adults are creamy white, about 3 mm in length and hold their wings over their back when resting (Figure 4-24).

Figure 4-22. White apple leafhopper young nymph

Figure 4-22. White apple leafhopper young nymph
Figure 4-23. Older instar of white apple leafhopper - note wing pads
Figure 4-23. Older instar of white apple leafhopper - note wing pads
Figure 4-24. White apple leafhopper adult
Figure 4-24. White apple leafhopper adult (Dr. Art Agnello, Cornell University)

Biology

White apple leafhopper overwinters as an oblong egg about 1 mm in length, inserted beneath the bark and producing blisters on the twigs. Overwintering eggs are most often present on two-year-old wood, and are also found on wood three to five years of age. These eggs begin to hatch prior to bloom, and continue hatching through petal fall. After emerging, nymphs move to foliage and complete their development on the underside on a single leaf or cluster of leaves. Nymphs are seldom seen on the upper surfaces of leaves. Nymphs of the first generation are found on cluster leaves close to the main trunk or large limbs of the tree, and not often found on actively growing terminal shoots. Nymphs develop into adults in early summer. Mating usually occurs early in the morning and oviposition (egg laying) follows about 14 days later. Eggs are laid in the petioles, midribs and large secondary veins on the undersurface of leaves. The oviposition period lasts approximately three weeks and each female can deposit 50-60 eggs. The total lifespan of first generation adults is five to six weeks. Second generation nymphs appear in early August and adults are present from mid to late August, until the first hard frost. This second generation is less synchronized and more difficult to control. In Ontario, there are two generations per year.

Damage

White apple leafhopper damage causes stippling of the leaves and fruit spotting. Both nymph and adult white apple leafhopper insert sucking mouth parts into plant cells to remove the contents. This feeding leaves pale green or whitish stipples on the leaf where cells have been damaged (Figure 4-25). Leaf stippling reduces the photosynthetic area of the leaf, affecting fruit size, colour, maturity and winter hardiness of the tree. Leaf stippling appears more prevalent during the first generation in June and July.

Figure 4-25. Severe stippling injury from white apple leafhopper feeding

Figure 4-25. Severe stippling injury from white apple leafhopper feeding

As white apple leafhopper feed, they deposit excrement on fruit which dries into dark brown spots (Figure 4-26). These marks are unacceptable on apples destined for fresh market sales, especially cultivars with light-coloured skin. Fruit spotting is more prevalent during the leafhoppers' second generation, beginning in August. Dried spots normally wash off with water and brushes on packing lines. White apple leafhopper droppings can be confused with a fungal disease called flyspeck - affecting apples late in the summer. In contrast to leafhopper spots, flyspeck spots are charcoal gray to black in colour and cannot be washed off. Flyspeck usually occurs as a circle of evenly spaced spots - while leafhopper droppings are randomly spaced all over fruit.

Figure 4-26. Leafhopper excrement causing speckling on mature fruit

Figure 4-26. Leafhopper excrement causing speckling on mature fruit

In heavily infested orchards, white apple leafhopper adults are a nuisance to orchard workers during summer pruning and harvest operations. When disturbed, they fly up in clouds into pickers' eyes, ears, noses and mouths. This irritation can reduce worker efficiency and pose a safety threat if workers are distracted when operating equipment or climbing ladders.

Leafhoppers and other sucking insects can transfer diseases (such as fire blight) from one plant to another, however the importance of leafhoppers in the dispersal of this bacterial disease is unknown.

Monitoring and threshold

Check the undersides of 5 leaves from each of 20 randomly selected trees in an orchard block (for a total of 100 leaves). Select older and mid age leaves - located near the trunk area - for the first generation. Observe second generation leafhopper nymphs at arm's length into the canopy, roughly midway into the radius of the tree. Examine leaves in the orchard by carefully observing the undersides for presence of nymphs. Newly hatched nymphs are difficult to see, and a hand lens is recommended.

Initiate monitoring for first generation nymphs by late bloom or petal fall and continue for several weeks. Second generation nymphs are more difficult to monitor due to expanded foliage and a prolonged hatch beginning in late July and continuing well into August. White cast skins left over from nymphs moulting are often seen on leaves and terminals.

Low numbers of white apple leafhopper are not of economic concern. An insecticide treatment is only necessary when a spray threshold of 2-5 nymphs per leaf is observed in a 100 leaf sample.

Management

There are a few parasitoids or predators that attack white apple leafhopper, but none provide biological control. Mullein bugs are sometimes observed feeding on leafhopper nymphs.

Insecticides are most effective on younger nymphal stages during the first generation, and second generation control is not often required. Where late season populations surpass threshold levels, insecticide timing can be difficult due to the extended hatch.

The white apple leafhopper is resistant to organophosphate insecticides. For recommended materials, see OMAFRA Publication 360, Fruit Production Recommendations.

Potato leafhopper

The potato leafhopper, Empoasca fabae (Harris), has a much broader host range than the white apple leafhopper, feeding on apple, grapes, strawberry, potato, many other vegetable crops, beans, alfalfa and approximately 200 other species of plants. The potato leafhopper's toxic saliva causes considerably more damage in orchards.

Description

Young nymphs are yellowish-green (Figure 4-27), and move very quickly on the underside of leaves. Older nymphs develop "wing pads" that distinguish them from the fully winged adults. Nymphs have the curious ability to walk sideways or backwards, and rapidly move to the underside of the leaf if disturbed. Adults are light green, wedge-shaped insects about 3 mm long (Figure 4-28). They have sucking mouth parts and can fly, walk and hop. Their body structure resembles a grasshopper with well developed back legs and wings that fold tent-like across their back.

Figure 4-27. Potato leafhopper nymph

Figure 4-27. Potato leafhopper nymph (NRAES-75, Mid Atlantic Orchard Monitoring Guide. Edited by Henry Hogmire)
Figure 4-28. Potato leafhopper adult
Figure 4-28. Potato leafhopper adult

Biology

Potato leafhoppers do not overwinter in Ontario. Each spring adults are carried by wind currents from southern Gulf states and across the Great Lakes into Ontario. The first adults arrive as early as mid May and continue to arrive well into June. Adults are first noticed in apple orchards in early or mid June, generally just after the first cut of hay in the area. The removal of the food source (alfalfa) usually causes potato leafhoppers to migrate to nearby alternate host crops, including apple. Adults mate and females deposit two to three eggs per day throughout their life span. Eggs are laid on leaves or stems in the upper part of the canopy and hatch in about 10 days. Potato leafhopper nymphs take about 25 days to pass through five life stages (instars), each larger than the previous stage. Only the last three instars possess visible wing pads, which become wings in the adult. As the insects molt from one instar to the next, they leave behind white cast skins. Three or four generations are produced each year and remain active until killed by a hard frost. In hot, dry summer weather, leafhopper populations can build to tremendous numbers and insecticide treatments may be necessary.

Damage

Adults and nymphs feed by sucking plant juices from leaves. They inject a toxin into the plant while feeding, blocking vascular system flow. Feeding reduces plant vigour and plugs off the vascular system, preventing normal movement of water and nutrients to the affected area of the plant. Leaves turn pale green and curl downward at the margins (Figure 4-29). Leaf margins eventually turn brittle and brown - known as hopperburn - and exhibit symptoms resembling aphid injury (Figure 4-30). However, it takes dozens of aphids on a leaf to cause it to curl, whereas the same curling will occur with only two or three potato leafhoppers. Some research suggests potato leafhoppers are involved in the transmission of fire blight through orchards.

Figure 4-29. Leaf curling on terminal due to feeding

Figure 4-29. Leaf curling on terminal due to feeding
Figure 4-30. "Hopper burn" on leaf edges
Figure 4-30. "Hopper burn" on leaf edges

Potato leafhoppers are most often found in tree nurseries and non-bearing orchard blocks, in part because they prefer young, vigorously growing leaves. More importantly, non-bearing plantings have a lighter insecticide spray program than the rest of the orchard, and leafhoppers are able to survive better.

Monitoring and threshold

Check for potato leafhopper during weekly orchard monitoring beginning in early June. Look for curled leaves and shoots that are not growing as vigorously as they should. Check the undersides of leaves for nymphs and adults.

Assess leafhoppers in the field as they are easily disturbed and move off the leaf. Turn the leaf over slowly when monitoring to assess how many leafhoppers are on the lower leaf surface.

There are no spray thresholds established for potato leafhopper in Ontario. It has been documented on other crops that potato leafhopper feeding can affect the rate of photosynthesis, yield and crop quality at fairly low populations, and before leaf symptoms occur. In apples, one or two nymphs per leaf cause leaf curling if allowed to feed for a prolonged period of time (four to seven days).

Insecticides - particularly on nursery trees and in non-bearing blocks - are recommended at the first sign of injury.

Management

There are no parasitoids or predators that provide biological control. If feasible, do not plant alfalfa or establish hay fields near orchards.

For recommended materials, see OMAFRA Publication 360: Fruit Production Recommendations.

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2011
Last Reviewed: 21 July 2011

La cicadelle blanche du pommier et la cicadelle de la pomme de terre

Extrait du Publication 310F, Lutte intégrée contre les ennemis du pommier,
Pour commander la publication

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Cicadelle blanche du pommier
  3. Cicadelle de la pomme de terre

 

Introduction

De nombreuses espèces de cicadelles envahissent les pommiers, mais deux seulement ont une incidence économique en Ontario : la cicadelle blanche du pommier, Typhlocyba pomaria (McAtee), un insecte indigène, présent partout où l'on cultive la pomme; et la cicadelle de la pomme de terre, Empoasca fabae (Harris), qui s'attaque occasionnellement aux pommiers, notamment aux jeunes arbres non productifs.

Cicadelle blanche du pommier

La cicadelle blanche du pommier est indigène en Amérique du Nord; on la rencontre dans la plupart des régions pomicoles du Canada et des États-Unis. Le pommier constitue probablement le seul hôte sur lequel hiverne l'insecte, mais celui-ci peut, à la belle saison, infester également le pêcher, le prunier, le cerisier ou l'aubépine. La cicadelle se nourrit exclusivement des feuilles et n'attaque pas directement le fruit.

Description

L'œuf de cicadelle fait moins de 1 mm de longueur, il est blanc crème et de forme cylindrique, avec des extrémités en pointe. L'insecte passe par cinq stades nymphaux. Les jeunes nymphes des premier et deuxième stades nymphaux sont blanchâtres avec des yeux rouges ternes, et font environ 1,0-1,5 mm de longueur (figure 4-22). Lors du troisième stade nymphal, des ébauches d'ailes et des yeux blancs ternes font leur apparition. Aux quatrième et cinquième stades nymphaux, la cicadelle garde la même apparence qu'au troisième stade, mais elle est plus grande (figure 4-23). Les nymphes de la cicadelle blanche du pommier se distinguent de celles de la cicadelle de la pomme de terre par leur façon de se déplacer lorsqu'elles sont dérangées : la cicadelle blanche avance ou recule, tandis que la cicadelle de la pomme de terre se déplace de côté, à la manière d'un crabe. Les adultes sont blanc crème, mesurent environ 3 mm de longueur et maintiennent leurs ailes au-dessus de leur dos lorsqu'ils sont au repos (figure 4-24).
Figure 4-22. Jeune nymphe de la cicadelle blanche du pommier

Figure 4-22. Jeune nymphe de la cicadelle blanche du pommier.
Figure 4-23. Cicadelle blanche à un stade nymphal avancé; noter les ébauches alaires

Figure 4-23. Cicadelle blanche à un stade nymphal avancé; noter les ébauches alaires .
Figure 4-24. Adulte de la cicadelle blanche

Figure 4-24. Adulte de la cicadelle blanche (Art Agnello, Ph.D., Cornell University).

Cycle biologique

La cicadelle blanche du pommier hiverne sous la forme d'œufs oblongs d'environ 1 mm de longueur, insérés sous l'écorce, qui provoquent l'apparition de cloques sur les rameaux. Le plus souvent, on trouve ces œufs sur des arbres de deux ans d'âge, mais on en découvre également sur du bois de trois à cinq ans. Les œufs commencent à éclore avant la floraison, le processus se poursuivant jusqu'à la fin du stade calice. Après avoir émergé de leur coquille, les nymphes migrent vers le feuillage et complètent leur développement sur la face inférieure d'une seule feuille ou d'un groupe de feuilles. Elles se déplacent rarement sur la face supérieure des feuilles. On trouve les nymphes de la première génération à l'intérieur du feuillage, à proximité du tronc principal ou de grosses branches de l'arbre et occasionnellement sur des pousses terminales en croissance active. Les nymphes deviennent adultes au début de l'été. L'accouplement survient généralement tôt le matin. La ponte suit environ quatorze jours plus tard. Les œufs sont déposés sur les pétioles, les nervures médianes et les grandes nervures secondaires de la face inférieure des feuilles. La période de ponte dure environ trois semaines, chaque femelle pouvant produire de 50 à 60 œufs. La durée de vie globale des adultes de la première génération est de cinq ou six semaines. Les nymphes de la deuxième génération voient le jour au début août et les adultes séjournent dans les arbres entre le milieu et la fin d'août jusqu'à la première gelée meurtrière. La deuxième génération est moins synchronisée dans son développement et plus difficile à maîtriser. En Ontario, on compte deux générations de cicadelles blanches par année.

Dommages

Les dommages causés par la cicadelle blanche du pommier sont de deux ordres, soit les mouchetures des feuilles et la tacheture des fruits. Pour se nourrir, les nymphes et les adultes de la cicadelle du pommier enfoncent leurs pièces buccales dans le tissu foliaire et en extraient le contenu. Ces prélèvements laissent des marques blanchâtres ou vert pâle aux endroits où les cellules des feuilles sont détruites (figure 4-25). La surface photosynthétisante des feuilles s'en trouve ainsi réduite, ce qui a des effets sur le calibre, la couleur et le degré de maturité des fruits, en plus de fragiliser l'arbre en hiver. Les dommages infligés aux feuilles semblent plus importants au cours de la première génération de cicadelles, soit en juin et juillet.
Figure 4-25. Mouchetures sévères des feuilles par la cicadelle blanche

Figure 4-25. Mouchetures sévères des feuilles par la cicadelle blanche.

Les déjections des cicadelles blanches qui se nourrissent des feuilles du pommier tombent et sèchent sur les fruits, où elles laissent des taches brun foncé (figure 4-26). Ces taches rendent les fruits impropres au marché du frais, surtout s'ils ont la peau claire. Les taches se font plus nombreuses à la deuxième génération de cicadelles, qui commence en août. On parvient normalement à enlever les déjections séchées (avec une brosse et de l'eau) au moment du conditionnement. Les taches laissées par les déjections de la cicadelle blanche peuvent être confondues avec une maladie fongique appelée moucheture du pommier, qui se manifeste à la fin de l'été. Contrairement aux souillures laissées par la cicadelle blanche, les mouchetures sont de couleur gris anthracite ou noire et ne disparaissent pas au lavage. En outre, les mouchetures sont généralement disposées en cercle et également distancées, tandis que les taches laissées par les déjections de la cicadelle sont disposées de manière aléatoire sur toute la surface du fruit.
Figure 4-26. Taches sur un fruit à maturité causées par les déjections de la cicadelle blanche

Figure 4-26. Taches sur un fruit à maturité causées par les déjections de la cicadelle blanche.

Dans les vergers fortement infestés, les hordes de cicadelles constituent une sérieuse nuisance pour les travailleurs qui s'affairent à l'émondage des arbres et à la cueillette des fruits. Lorsqu'elles sont dérangées, les cicadelles s'envolent en masse dans toutes les directions et peuvent venir frapper les ouvriers au niveau des yeux, du nez, des oreilles et même de la bouche. Ces irruptions soudaines d'insectes volants, en plus de ralentir le travail, présentent un réel danger pour les ouvriers qui manœuvrent des machines agricoles ou cueillent des fruits dans les échelles.
La cicadelle et d'autres insectes suceurs peuvent transmettre des maladies, dont la brûlure bactérienne, d'un arbre à l'autre, mais on ne connaît pas encore précisément le rôle de la cicadelle dans la transmission de la brûlure bactérienne.

Surveillance et seuil d'intervention

Examiner la face inférieure de 5 feuilles prélevées sur chacun sur 20 pommiers pris au hasard dans un bloc de vergers (pour un total de 100 feuilles). Choisir des feuilles plutôt vieilles, prélevées près du tronc, pour dénombrer les insectes de première génération. Les nymphes de la deuxième génération se trouveront sur des feuilles recueillies à une longueur de bras à l'intérieur du feuillage de l'arbre, à la moitié environ du rayon de celui-ci. Examiner les feuilles sur place. Scruter soigneusement la face inférieure des feuilles à la recherche de nymphes (comme celles-ci sont difficiles à voir, il est recommandé d'utiliser une loupe).
Commencer la surveillance de la première génération de nymphes à la fin de la floraison ou au stade du calice et poursuivre pendant plusieurs semaines. Les nymphes de deuxième génération sont plus difficiles à repérer et à suivre en raison de la pousse des feuilles qui les camouflent et d'une longue période de ponte, qui va de la fin juillet jusque tard en août. Il n'est pas rare d'ailleurs d'apercevoir, sur les feuilles et les pousses terminales des branches, les mues blanches laissées par les nymphes.
Une faible présence de cicadelles n'a rien d'inquiétant sur le plan économique. Un traitement insecticide n'est justifié qu'à partir du moment où l'on compte de 2 à 5 nymphes par feuille dans un échantillon de 100 feuilles.

Lutte

Il existe quelques prédateurs ou parasitoïdes qui s'attaquent à la cicadelle blanche, mais aucun ne permet une lutte biologique efficace. On aperçoit quelquefois la punaise de la molène se nourrissant de nymphes de cicadelle.
Les insecticides sont plus efficaces au début du stade nymphal de la première génération de cicadelles. On peut souvent se passer des insecticides à la deuxième génération. Lorsque les populations de cicadelles en fin de saison dépassent les seuils tolérables, il peut être difficile de déterminer le bon moment d'intervenir en raison de la longue période de ponte.
La cicadelle blanche du pommier est résistante aux insecticides à base d'organophosphorés. Pour connaître les produits recommandés, consulter la publication 360F du MAAARO, Recommandations pour les cultures fruitières.

Cicadelle de la pomme de terre

La cicadelle de la pomme de terre, Empoasca fabae (Harris), s'accommode d'une gamme d'hôtes beaucoup plus large que la cicadelle blanche. Elle peut s'attaquer aux pommiers, aux vignes, aux fraisiers, aux plants de pommes de terre, à plusieurs autres cultures légumières, aux haricots, à la luzerne et à environ 200 autres espèces de plantes. Sa salive, toxique, provoque dans les vergers des dommages plus importants que partout ailleurs.

Description

Les jeunes nymphes, de couleur jaune-vert (figure 4-27), se déplacent rapidement sur le revers des feuilles. En vieillissant, elles développent des ébauches d'ailes qui les distinguent des adultes, lesquels sont dotés d'ailes complètes. Les nymphes ont une curieuse aptitude, soit celle de se déplacer de côté (en plus de reculer). Dès la première menace, elles se réfugient sous les feuilles. Les insectes adultes sont vert pâle, cunéiformes et mesurent environ 3 mm de longueur (figure 4-28). Ils possèdent des pièces buccales adaptées à la succion et peuvent marcher, sauter et voler. Leur structure corporelle ressemble à celle de la sauterelle, avec des pattes arrière bien développées et des ailes qui se replient sur le dos en imitant la forme d'une tente.
Figure 4-27. Nymphe de cicadelle de la pomme de terre

Figure 4-27. Nymphe de cicadelle de la pomme de terre (NRAES-75, Mid Atlantic Orchard Monitoring Guide, publié par Henry Hogmire).

Figure 4-28. Cicadelle de la pomme de terre adulte
Figure 4-28. Cicadelle de la pomme de terre adulte.

Cycle biologique

La cicadelle de la pomme de terre ne survit pas à l'hiver en Ontario. Chaque printemps, des adultes en provenance des États américains voisins du golfe du Mexique sont portés par le vent et arrivent en Ontario après avoir survolé les Grands Lacs. Les premiers apparaissent dès la mi-mai et la migration se poursuit pendant une bonne partie du mois de juin. On les remarque d'abord dans les vergers de pommiers au début ou au milieu de juin, généralement après la première récolte de foin dans la région. La disparition de leur première source de nourriture (la luzerne) incite les cicadelles à rechercher des hôtes intermédiaires dans les environs, notamment dans les vergers de pommiers. Les adultes s'accouplent et les femelles pondent ensuite deux ou trois œufs par jour tout au long de leur vie. Les œufs sont déposés sur des feuilles ou des pédoncules, dans la partie supérieure de la frondaison, et éclosent une dizaine de jours plus tard. Les nymphes mettent environ vingt-cinq jours à passer par les cinq stades nymphaux, progressivement plus gros les uns que les autres. Seules les nymphes des trois derniers stades nymphaux ont des ébauches alaires visibles qui deviendront des ailes véritables au stade adulte. En passant d'un stade nymphal à l'autre, les nymphes abandonnent derrière elles leur ancienne peau, de couleur blanche. De trois à quatre générations se succèdent chaque année et restent en activité jusqu'à ce que la première gelée meurtrière les tue. Lors des périodes de temps chaud et sec en été, les populations de cicadelles peuvent exploser, justifiant dans certains cas le recours aux insecticides.

Dommages

Les adultes et les nymphes se nourrissent de la sève des feuilles. Pendant qu'ils s'alimentent, ils injectent dans les tissus une toxine qui gêne l'écoulement de la sève dans le système vasculaire de l'arbre. Ce faisant, ils affaiblissent l'arbre et obstruent son système vasculaire, ce qui empêche le mouvement normal de l'eau et des nutriments dans la zone affectée. Les feuilles touchées deviennent vert pâle et leur pourtour s'enroule vers le bas (figure 4-29). Le pourtour des feuilles brunit ensuite et devient cassant. On parle de " brûlure de la cicadelle " pour désigner ces lésions. Celles-ci s'apparentent à celles que causent les pucerons (figure 4-30), à la différence que s'il faut des douzaines de pucerons sur une feuille pour que ses bords s'enroulent, il suffit de deux ou trois cicadelles de la pomme de terre pour produire le même effet. Certaines recherches donnent à penser que la cicadelle de la pomme de terre joue un rôle dans la transmission de la brûlure bactérienne au sein des vergers.

Figure 4-29. Enroulement des feuilles sur une pousse terminale

Figure 4-29. Enroulement des feuilles sur une pousse terminale.
Figure 4-30. " Brûlure de la cicadelle " sur le pourtour des feuilles

Figure 4-30. " Brûlure de la cicadelle " sur le pourtour des feuilles.

La cicadelle de la pomme de terre est plus souvent repérée dans les pépinières de pommiers et dans les blocs de vergers non productifs, notamment parce qu'elle préfère les feuilles jeunes, à la pousse vigoureuse. Mais plus important encore, il y a le fait que les plantations non productives font l'objet de pulvérisations moins fréquentes, ce qui permet à la cicadelle de survivre plus facilement.

Surveillance et seuil d'intervention

Dès le début juin, on profitera des tournées hebdomadaires de surveillance pour relever d'éventuels dommages causés par la cicadelle de la pomme de terre, comme des feuilles enroulées ou des pousses qui ne se développent pas comme elles le devraient. En retournant les feuilles, on pourra y découvrir des nymphes ou des adultes.
On peut évaluer approximativement le niveau d'infestation en se déplaçant dans le verger : les cicadelles s'envolent dès qu'elles sont dérangées. Les feuilles doivent être retournées délicatement lorsqu'on les examine, de manière à ne pas effrayer les insectes et à pouvoir les compter.
Aucun seuil d'intervention n'est établi pour la cicadelle de la pomme de terre en Ontario. On sait, d'après des observations réalisées sur d'autres cultures, que les prélèvements effectués par cet insecte, même en petit nombre, peuvent diminuer le taux de photosynthèse du feuillage et affecter le volume et la qualité de la récolte, et ce, avant même qu'apparaissent des indices révélateurs sur les feuilles. Sur un pommier, la présence d'une ou de deux nymphes par feuille peut provoquer l'enroulement de la feuille si on laisse les nymphes agir pendant une période de temps assez longue (quatre à sept jours).
L'emploi d'insecticides - notamment dans les pépinières et les blocs non productifs - est recommandé dès le premier signe d'infestation.

Lutte

Il n'existe pas de parasitoïdes ni de prédateurs naturels pouvant contribuer à la lutte biologique contre cet insecte. Comme première précaution, on évitera autant que possible de planter de la luzerne ou de cultiver du foin à proximité des vergers.
Pour obtenir la liste des produits recommandés, voir la publication 360F du MAAARO, Recommandations pour les cultures fruitières.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 juillet 2011
Dernière révision : 21 juillet 2011

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca