Viburnum Leaf Beetle Pyrrhalta viburni (Paykull) in the Nursery and Landscape



OMAFRA Nursery - Landscape Series

 

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Origins and Distribution
  3. Host Plants
  4. Symptoms
  5. Life Cycle
  6. Control
  7. Related Links

Introduction

Recently, this beetle, closely related to the common elm leaf beetle, Pyrrhalta luteola (Mhller), has become a concern in many urban landscapes and nurseries. It can strip the leaves from viburnums in a relatively short period of time.

Origins and Distribution

Originally from Europe and Asia, established breeding populations were first recorded in 1978 in the Ottawa-Hull area.

Host Plants

Both the adult and larva feed on viburnums.

Table 1. Host Plant Preference of Viburnum Leaf Beetle
Preferred Host Viburnum opulus, European highbush cranberry and its selections
Moderate Damage V. lantana, wayfaringtree viburnum V. rafinesquianum, rafinesque viburnum
Slight Injury V. dentatum, arrowwood viburnum V. trilobum, American highbush cranberry viburnum
Injury from adults under laboratory conditions V. acerifolium, mapleleaf viburnum V. lentago, nannyberry viburnum

Symptoms

Look for skeletonized leaves. Both the adult and the larva feed on the leaves between the midrib and larger veins. This gives the leaves a lace-like or skeleton appearance. Plants which have been defoliated for 2 or 3 consecutive years may be killed. Closely examine the small twigs for egg laying holes and scars.

Life Cycle

Viburnum leaf beetles overwinter as eggs. Eggs hatch in May and the larvae begin feeding on the developing leaves. The larvae are quite small and darkly coloured when they first emerge. First feeding injury appears as small pin pricks or holes. By June the skeletonizing has become quite apparent.

In June, larvae drop or migrate to the ground to pupate in the soil. Adult beetles emerge in late July. They are about 4.5 to 6.5 mm in length and brown in colour. When disturbed, they will fly away or drop to the ground.

Females lay eggs from late summer to the first frost. A hole is chewed in the small twigs. Several eggs are laid in each hole, which is then covered with a mixture of chewed wood and excrement. Egg laying holes can be found in a straight line on the underside of the current season's growth. A single female may lay up to a total of 500 eggs per season.

The beetle's life cycle, from egg hatch to adult takes about 8 to 10 weeks.

Control

In the early spring, closely examine the small twigs from the previous season. Look for the overwintering egg sites. As the temperature increase, these holes appear to swell and the caps of the holes fall off. Prune out and destroy affected wood before egg hatch has occurred.

Once leaves have begun to expand, examine both the surface and the underside for feeding larvae.

If chemical controls are to be used, best control will probably be achieved if applied while larvae are young. Adults may be more difficult to control as they will fly away or drop to the ground if disturbed.

For chemical controls, consult Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Publication 840, Crop Protection Guide for Nursery and Landscape Plants.

Related Links


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Christoph Kessel - Nursery Crops Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: Not Available
Last Reviewed: 7 August 2003

Chrysomèle de la viorne Pyrrhalta viburni dans les pépinières et les aménagements paysagers

Série pépiniéristes - paysagistes, MAAARO

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Origines et distribution
  3. Plantes-hôtes
  4. Symptômes
  5. Cycle biologique
  6. Lutte

Introduction

Depuis peu, cette chrysomèle, proche parente de la galéruque de l'orme, Pyrrhalta luteola (Mhller), est préoccupante dans bien des pépinières et des aménagements paysagers des villes. Elle peut défolier les viornes en assez peu de temps.

Origines et distribution

Originaires d'Europe et d'Asie, les premières populations ont été signalées en 1978 dans la région Ottawa et;Hull.

Plantes-hôtes

A la fois l'adulte et la larve se nourrissent de viornes.

Tableau 1. Hôtes de prédilection de la chrysomèle de la viorne

Très vulnérables
Viburnum opulus, viorne trilobée d'Europe et ses sélections
Modérément vulnérables
V. lantana, viorne mancienne
V. rafinesquianum, viorne de Rafinesque
Légèrement vulnérables
V. dentatum, viorne dentée
V. trilobum, viorne trilobée d'Amérique
Vulnérables aux attaques des adultes en laboratoire
V. acerifolium, viorne à feuilles d'érable
V. lentago, viorne lentago

Symptômes

Rechercher des feuilles dont il ne reste que les nervures. A la fois les adultes et les larves se nourrissent des feuilles entre la nervure médiane et les nervures principales, ce qui donne à la feuille l'apparence d'une dentelle. Les sujets qui sont défoliées pendant 2 ou 3 ans d'affilée peuvent en mourir. Examiner de près les petits rameaux à la recherche de cicatrices et de piqûres dans lesquelles les oeufs ont été déposés.

Cycle biologique

La chrysomèle de la viorne survit à l'hiver à l'état d'oeuf. Les oeufs éclosent en mai. Les larves commencent dès lors à se nourrir des feuilles en croissance. Les larves sont assez petites et de couleur sombre lorsqu'elles émergent. L'alimentation des larves se manifeste d'abord par de petites piqûres sur les feuilles. Dès le mois de juin, le limbe est passablement rongé.

En juin, les larves tombent au sol ou migrent vers le sol et s'y enfoncent en vue de la pupaison. Les adultes émergent vers la fin juillet. Ils mesurent environ 4,5 à 6,5 mm de longueur et sont de couleur brune. Lorsqu'on les dérange, ils s'envolent ou tombent au sol.

Les femelles pondent des oeufs de la fin de l'été jusqu'aux premières gelées. Elles percent des trous dans les ramilles et pondent plusieurs oeufs dans chacun, puis les recouvrent d'un mélange de bois mâché et d'excréments. Durant la saison de croissance, on peut trouver des trous de ponte alignés sur le revers des feuilles. Une même femelle peut pondre jusqu'à 500 oeufs par saison.

Le cycle biologique de la chrysomèle dure de 8 à 10 semaines de l'éclosion de l'oeuf jusqu'au stade adulte.

Lutte

Au début du printemps, examiner de près les ramilles de la saison précédente. Rechercher des oeufs d'hiver. Au fur et à mesure que la température augmente, les trous semblent se gonfler et perdent leur capuchon protecteur. Élaguer et détruire les branches atteintes avant que les oeufs n'éclosent.

Une fois que les feuilles ont commencé à se développer, examiner les deux faces des feuilles à la recherche de marques causées par l'alimentation des larves.

Si l'on a recours à des méthodes de lutte chimique, l'idéal est probablement de faire le traitement lorsque les larves sont encore jeunes. Les adultes peuvent être plus difficiles à combattre, car ils s'envolent ou tombent au sol lorsqu'on les dérange.

Pour connaître les méthodes de lutte chimique, consulter la publication 383F du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario, intitulée Recommandations pour la culture du matériel de pépinière et des plantes paysagères.

Liens connexes


Auteur : Christoph Kessel - spécialiste des cultures de pépinière/MAAARO
Date de création : Non disponible
Dernière révision : 7 Août 2003

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca