Turfgrass Scale

Table of Contents

  1. Turfgrass Scale
  2. History
  3. Description
  4. Life Cycle
  5. Control

Turfgrass Scale

There have been numerous reports this season from lawn care companies who have clients with turfgrass scale. The turfgrass scale nymphs were found in dead patches of grass that did not green up this spring. As the season progressed more damage became evident. A review of our current knowledge of turfgrass scale is included for those of you who have encountered this insect pest.

History

Turfgrass scale, Lecanopsis formicarium is a relatively new pest of turfgrass in Ontario. It was first identified in home lawns, parks and sod farms in Ontario in 1983 and 1984. It is mainly found in newer subdivisions on lawns which have been sodded. Sodded lawns 3-5 years old are most commonly infested.

Description

Female turfgrass scales are oblong and yellow with broad brown lateral stripes on each side (Figure 1). They are about 1.5 mm wide and 2.5 mm long. Females lay eggs which are surrounded by a cottony mass (Figure 2). The nymphs which hatch from these eggs are minute (smaller than the head of a pin) and red in colour and leave a red stain when squashed.

Figure 1. Dorsal view of turfgrass scale

Figure 1. Dorsal view of turfgrass scale

Figure 2. Cottony mass in which pink eggs of the turfgrass scale are emb

Figure 2. Cottony mass in which pink eggs of the turfgrass scale are embedded.

Life Cycle

Turfgrass scales overwinter as mature nymphs. These become adults in May and June and they produce cottony masses of silk which contain the eggs. The eggs hatch into crawlers in late June and July. At the peak of their activity crawlers climb to the end of leaf blades giving them a reddish hue. They can be disseminated by wind, on pets, on shoes etc.. The crawlers then settle down on the crowns of the turf plant and feed until winter. Turfgrass scales overwinter as young nymphs which are 2-3 mm long and are salmon coloured. Nymphs overwinter in lawn in the crowns of turfgrass plants and thatch.

Control

Even though turfgrass scale has been known to occur in Ontario since 1983 it is still not known how serious a pest problem it is. It seems to be associated with dead patches or thinning lawns which become evident in late spring and which tend to recover in the fall. There are currently no insecticides registered for control of turfgrass scale. Dr. Mark Sears at the Environmental Biology Department, University of Guelph, reports that washing leaf blades with a hose when crawlers are present can be an effective way of removing them from a lawn. They are very fragile and do not appear to survive this treatment.

Acknowledgment: Figures 1 and 2 were obtained from Dr. Mark Sears, Department of Environmental Biology, University of Guelph.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA
Creation Date: Not Available
Last Reviewed: 7 August 2003

La cochenille du gazon

Série sur les pelouses - MAAARO (1998)

Table des matières

  1. La cochenille du gazon
  2. Historique
  3. Description
  4. Cycle de vie
  5. Lutte contre la cochenille du gazon

La cochenille du gazon

Plusieurs entreprises d'entretien de pelouses ont signalé la présence cette saison de cochenilles du gazon dans les pelouses de leurs clients. Les nymphes de la cochenille du gazon ont été trouvées cette année dans des touffes de gazon mort n'ayant pas repris au printemps. Plus la saison avançait et plus les dégâts étaient visibles. Une mise à jour des connaissances sur la cochenille du gazon est incluse à l'usage des personnes confrontées à ces insectes ravageurs.

Historique

La cochenille du gazon, ou Lecanopsis formicarium est un parasite relativement récent en Ontario. Il a été identifié pour la première fois en 1983 et 1984 dans des pelouses de particuliers, des parcs et des gazonnières de l'Ontario. On le retrouve principalement dans des parties de pelouses nouvellement gazonnées. La plupart des pelouses de 3 à 5 ans sont également infestées.

Description

Les cochenilles du gazon femelles sont de forme oblongue et de couleur jaune avec de larges rayures brunes de chaque côté du corps (voir figure 1). Leur largeur atteint environ 1,5 mm et leur longueur 2,5 mm. Les femelles pondent des œufs enveloppés dans une masse cotonneuse (voir figure 2). Les nymphes qui sortent de ces œufs sont minuscules (plus petites qu'une tête d'épingle), rouges et laissent une tache rouge lorsqu'on les écrase.

Figure 1. Vue supérieure de la cochenille du gazon

Vue supérieure de la cochenille du gazon

Figure 2. Masse cotonneuse enveloppant les œufs rosés de la cochenille du gazon.

Masse cotonneuse enveloppant les œufs rosés de la cochenille du gazon.

Cycle de vie

La cochenille du gazon hiverne sous la forme d'une nymphe mature. Ses nymphes atteignent l'âge adulte vers mai ou juin et produisent les masses cotonneuses de soie qui contiennent les œufs. Les œufs éclosent pour devenir des larves mobiles vers la fin des mois de juin et juillet. Au plus fort de leur période active, les larves grimpent jusqu'au bout des limbes des feuilles en laissant un dépôt rougeâtre. Elles peuvent être propagées par le vent, les animaux, les chaussures, etc. Les lymphes s'installent alors sur la couronne du plant de gazon et se nourrissent jusqu'à l'hiver. La cochenille du gazon hiverne sous la forme de jeunes nymphes de couleur saumon d'une longueur de 2 à 3 mm. Durant l'hibernation, elles restent dans les couronnes et le chaume de la pelouse.

Lutte contre la cochenille du gazon

Bien que la cochenille du gazon soit connue en Ontario depuis 1983, nous ignorons toujours le degré de gravité de ce problème. Il semblerait qu'il y ait un lien avec la formation de plaques ou la pelouse clairsemée apparaissant à la fin du printemps et ayant tendance à disparaître en automne. Il n'existe actuellement aucun insecticide homologué contre la cochenille du gazon. Le docteur Mark Sears de l'Université de Guelf (Environmental Biology Department) signale cependant que le lavage au tuyau d'eau des limbes porteurs de nymphes peut constituer un moyen efficace de les éliminer de la pelouse. Leur fragilité ne devrait pas leur permettre de survivre à ce traitement.

Remerciements : Les images 1 et 2 proviennent de Mark Sears de l'Université de Guelf (Environmental Biology Department).

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Auteur : Pam Charbonneau - Spécialiste des pelouses/MAAARO
Date de création : Non disponible
Dernière révision : 7 août 2003

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca