Tarnished plant bug and other stinging insects

Excerpt from Publication 310, Integrated Pest Management for Apples.
Order this Publication

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Plant Bugs
  3. Stink bugs

Introduction

Feeding activity of insects with piercing-sucking mouthparts result in either depressions (cat-facing) or upraised bumps on the developing apple, which are visible at harvest and affect the marketability of the fruit. There are two main groups of Hemiptera or true bugs causing this type of damage in Ontario apple orchards - plant bugs (Family Miridae) and stink bugs (Family Pentatomidae).

Plant bugs

Tarnished plant bug Lygus lineolaris (Palisot de Beauvois), apple red bug Lygidea mendax (Reuter) and green apple bug Lygocoris communis (Knight) are all members of the large insect family Miridae or plant bugs. Each causes distinct damage in apples. Tarnished plant bug is one of the most important stinging insects of apples.

Description

Adult tarnished plant bug, apple red bug and green apple bug are similar in size (6-7 mm) and shape, but have characteristic colour patterns used for identification. Tarnished plant bug nymphs are greenish with black spots (Figure 4-63). Wing pads are present on older nymphs. They are distinguished from aphids by their lack of cornicles and rapid movement when disturbed.

Adult tarnished plant bugs are oval, 5-6 mm long, with a brown-yellow mottled appearance (Figure 4-64). A diagnostic feature is the buff or yellow Y on the triangular area between the wings (scutellum). Adults from the overwintering generation tend to be much darker than the summer generation.
Figure 4-63. Tarnished plant bug nymph

Figure 4-63. Tarnished plant bug nymph (Dr. Art Agnello, Cornell University)

Figure 4-64. Tarnished plant bug adult

Figure 4-64. Tarnished plant bug adult (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Saskatoon Research Centre)
As the name implies, apple red bug is a predominantly orange-red insect with brown wings (Figure 4-65). Nymphs are bright red. Green apple bug is a brownish yellow with two dark bands on the thorax behind the head.

Figure 4-65. Apple red bug

Figure 4-65. Apple red bug (Bernard Drouin, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, and Food, QC)

Biology

Apple red bugs and green apple bugs have similar biologies. Both species overwinter as eggs inserted into young bark of apple trees. Eggs hatch by full bloom and nymphs feed on developing fruitlets though the petal fall period.

Adult tarnished plant bugs overwinter under leaf debris, bark, logs and under broadleaf weed litter. They become active on warm days in early spring and attack apple buds before green tissue is even present. In late spring (late May and early June), the insects migrate to herbaceous weeds, flowers and vegetables where they insert eggs into stems and stalks. Nymphs progress through five instars before moulting to adults. The final three instars have wing pads. There are two generations per year.

The tarnished plant bug has a very broad host range, feeding on more than 300 plant species including weeds, vegetables, fruit, flowers, shrubs and trees. They prefer feeding on meristematic tissues, floral buds and immature fruit. Adults are mobile and move from one crop to another as the season progresses, in search of alternate hosts. Damage symptoms are as variable as the host list, and occur as a result of both feeding and egg-laying activities.

Damage

Adult tarnished plant bugs begin feeding on apple buds on warm days in early April, inserting their piercing, sucking mouth parts into plant tissue. Damaged buds exude clear liquid ooze, which becomes amber after several hours. Affected buds do not set and subsequently abort. Adults continue to feed on developing flowers from pink through the petal fall period, when most abandon the crop in search of alternative flowering hosts. Flowers attacked prior to petal fall abort. Fruitlets stung after calyx fall off the tree during June drop, but some hang on through to harvest. Injury on mature fruit usually consists of a dimple or a deeply sunken conical area caused by the injection of a toxin during feeding (Figure 4-66). In general, early season tarnished plant bug damage occurs near the calyx end. Later season damage may be anywhere on the apple. Longitudinal sections cut through the depressions or dimples show that tarnished plant bug feeding causes a narrow tube extending to the core (but not into the core) or calyx (Figure 4-67).

Figure 4-66. Tarnished plant bug injury

Figure 4-66. Tarnished plant bug injury

Figure 4-67. Artist figure of damage by stinging insects

Figure 4-67. Artist figure of damage by stinging insects

Apple red bug feeding injury appears as areas of smooth russeting on the fruit surface, with or without a depression (Figure 4-68). Green apple bug scars appears as raised russeted bumps on the fruit (Figure 4-69).

Figure 6. Apple red bug injury

Figure 4-68. Apple red bug injury

Figure 7. Green apple bug injury

Figure 4-69. Green apple bug injury
The amount of injury depends on numbers of adults successfully overwintering and on spring temperatures. Warm weather in early April, prior to broadleaf weed emergence often results in adult migration into trees. Cool springs usually result in less damage. Some studies indicate tarnished plant bug injury is heaviest on lower branches. While damage to bearing orchards is minimal after June, nurseries and newly planted blocks are susceptible throughout the summer.

Damage by tarnished plant bug can be confused with apple seed chalcid damage. This insect - a small wasp - is an occasional problem in some orchards, and usually controlled by insecticides applied for other pests. Larvae of this insect overwinter in seeds of apples. Pupation occurs in late May and adult emerge mid June. Adults damage fruit by stinging the surface and depositing an egg into the fruit. At harvest, injury appears as a depression on the fruit surface. Cutting the apple open shows a brown, narrow tunnel running through the flesh to the core. Figure 4-67 illustrates different injury type patterns caused by stinging insects.

Monitoring and threshold

There are no set monitoring protocols for these insects. Trapping tarnished plant bug adults with white sticky boards - recommended in some other provinces and states - gives irregular and often unreliable results, and is not recommended in Ontario. Adult insects are wary and quick to take flight. Walking through the orchard every few days in early spring and looking for ooze near or on flower buds gives an indication of adult feeding activity. Alfalfa is a favoured host and when it is harvested, adults will move to adjacent crops in large numbers.

Management

Injury from tarnished plant bug at harvest normally ranges from 0.25% to 1.00%. At this level, pesticide applications targeted at the pest are not economical. Injury levels occasionally increase to 2% or more. Unless tarnished plant bug is a perennial problem in an orchard, treatments are not recommended due to unpredictability of pest activity.

Pre-bloom and petal fall insecticide applications - targeted at other early season pests - may suppress tarnished plant bugs. Many newer narrow-spectrum insecticides have no activity on plant bugs. Cultural management techniques are important in reducing risk of tarnished plant bug injury. The following practices are recommended:

  • practice good sod management by reducing or eliminating alternate weed hosts, particularly chickweed, dandelion, clovers, pigweed and lamb's-quarters
  • avoid mowing of sod from bloom through petal fall period to prevent adult plant bugs from flying into trees
  • maintain clean herbicide strip
  • control weeds at headlands, these act as alternative hosts and resting sites
  • avoid situations where orchards are adjacent to hay (alfalfa) fields, strawberry patches or other susceptible crops

Stink bugs

Stink bugs can occasionally cause fruit damage in orchards.

Description

Green stink bugs, Acrosternum hilare (Say), are the most common pests of the insect family Pentatomiidae found in Ontario apple orchards. Stink bugs are relatively large insects with well-developed shield shaped bodies and small, narrow heads. They have five-segmented antennae and a four-segmented "beak" for mouthparts. Eggs are laid in clusters and have a somewhat barrel shape with a circular pattern of raised bumps on top. Nymphs are oval, predominantly black, and become green as they age. Later instar nymphs have obvious wing pads. The green stink bug adult is, as the name implies, green (Figure 4-70). There are other stink bug species present in orchard habitats, some of which are beneficial predictors.

Figure 8. Green stink bug adult

Figure 4-70. Green stink bug adult

Biology

Stink bugs have a wide host range including ornamental and fruit trees, vines, weeds and other cultivated crops. They overwinter as adults in protected areas, becoming active when temperatures increase in the spring. They are usually present in orchards following bloom.

Damage

Injury to fruit occurs when adult stink bugs pierce the fruit skin to extract plant juices. The injury consists of slightly indented areas with a light brown corky area just under the fruit surface (Figure 4-71). Cutting fruit open shows a feeding tube rarely more than half way to the core. This characteristic helps distinguish stink bug damage from other stinging insects. Injury from stink bugs usually occurs later in the summer, and fruit tends to hang on though the harvest period.

Figure 9. Stink bug injury

Figure 4-71. Stink bug injury (Peter Jentsch, Cornell University, Hudson Valley Laboratory, NY)

Monitoring and threshold

There are no established thresholds or monitoring techniques. Keep in mind that predatory stink bugs may also be present in the orchard.

Management

Stink bugs are not considered economically significant in Ontario. They are occasionally a concern during hot, dry summers when alternate food sources such as broadleaf weeds are scarce. Keep weedy areas along headlands mowed to prevent migration of stink bugs into orchards during dry, droughty summers.

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2011
Last Reviewed: 21 July 2011

Punaise terne et autres insectes piqueurs

Extrait du Publication 310F, Lutte intégrée contre les ennemis du pommier.
Pour commander la publication

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Punaises
  3. Pentatomes (punaises des bois)

Introduction

L'alimentation des insectes aux pièces buccales de type piqueur-suceur donne lieu soit à des dépressions (faces de chat) soit à de petites bosses sur les pommes en croissance. Ces défauts sont visibles à la cueillette et nuisent par conséquent aux qualités marchandes du fruit. Il y a deux principaux groupes d'hémiptéroïdes (superordre caractérisé par des pièces buccales permettant de piquer et de sucer) qui causent ce genre de dommages dans les vergers de l'Ontario : les punaises (famille des Miridae) et les pentatomes (famille des Pentatomidae).

Punaises

La punaise terne, Lygus lineolaris (Palisot de Beauvois), la lygide du pommier, Lygidea mendax (Reuter), et la punaise de la pomme, Lygocoris communis (Knight), sont toutes des insectes de la grande famille des Miridae ou des punaises des plantes. Chacune cause des lésions particulières sur les pommes. La punaise terne est l'un des insectes piqueurs s'attaquant aux pommes parmi les plus répandus.

Description

Au stade adulte, la punaise terne, la lygide du pommier et la punaise de la pomme ont à peu près la même forme et la même taille (6-7 mm), mais elles présentent des motifs de couleur caractéristiques qui permettent de les identifier. Les nymphes de la punaise terne sont verdâtres avec des taches noires (Figure 4-63). Des ébauches alaires sont présentes chez les nymphes plus vieilles. Elles se distinguent des pucerons par l'absence de cornicules et par leurs déplacements plus prestes quand elles sont dérangées.

Les punaises ternes adultes sont de forme ovale, de couleur brune mêlée de jaune et mesurent 5-6 mm de long (Figure 4-64). On les reconnaît à la marque en Y de couleur jaune sur l'écusson (aussi appelé scutellum, soit la partie triangulaire se trouvant entre les ailes). Les adultes de la génération hivernante ont tendance à être beaucoup plus foncés que ceux de la génération estivale.

Figure 4-63. Nymphe de la punaise terne

Figure 4-63. Nymphe de la punaise terne (Art Agnello, Ph.D., Cornell University).

Figure 4-64. Adulte de la punaise terne

Figure 4-64. Adulte de la punaise terne (Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Centre de recherches de Saskatoon).

La lygide du pommier est quant à elle à prédominance rouge orangé avec des ailes brunes (Figure 4-65). Les nymphes sont rouge vif. La punaise de la pomme est jaune-brun et possède deux bandes sombres sur le thorax derrière la tête.

Figure 4-65. Lygide du pommier

Figure 4-65. Lygide du pommier (Bernard Drouin, ministère de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l'Alimentation du Québec).

Cycle biologique

La lygide du pommier et la punaise de la pomme ont des cycles biologiques qui se ressemblent. Les deux espèces hivernent à l'état d'œufs insérés dans l'écorce jeune des pommiers. Les œufs éclosent avant la pleine floraison et les nymphes se nourrissent des jeunes fruits en croissance jusqu'au stade calice.

La punaise terne adulte hiverne sous des débris de végétaux, de l'écorce, des billots et des feuilles mortes de dicotylédones. Elle s'active les jours doux du printemps et s'attaque aux boutons avant que les tissus verts n'apparaissent. Vers la fin du printemps (fin mai, début juin), elle migre vers des plantes adventices herbacées, des fleurs et des légumes, où elle pond ses œufs dans les tiges et les pédoncules. Les nymphes passent par cinq stades nymphaux avant de muer et de devenir adultes. Les individus des trois derniers stades nymphaux ont des ébauches alaires. On compte deux générations par année.

La punaise terne possède un vaste éventail d'hôtes. Elle se nourrit de plus de trois cents espèces végétales, dont des espèces de mauvaises herbes, de légumes, de fruits, de fleurs, d'arbustes et d'arbres. Elle préfère se nourrir de tissus méristématiques, de boutons floraux et de fruits immatures. Les adultes, mobiles, vont d'une culture à l'autre au fil de la saison, à la recherche d'hôtes intermédiaires. Les dommages prennent des formes tout aussi variées que la liste des hôtes. Ceux-ci résultent à la fois des activités alimentaires et des activités de ponte.

Dommages

Les jours doux du début avril, la punaise terne adulte commence à se nourrir des boutons en insérant ses pièces buccales de type perceur-suceur dans les tissus. Les boutons endommagés par la punaise terne exsudent un suintement liquide clair qui devient ambré après plusieurs heures. Comme leur nouaison ne se fait pas correctement, les boutons endommagés avortent. Les adultes continuent de se nourrir des fleurs en croissance, du stade bouton rose avancé jusqu'au calice, après quoi la plupart abandonnent la culture à la recherche d'hôtes intermédiaires parmi les espèces en fleur. Les fleurs attaquées avant le stade calice avortent. Souvent, les jeunes fruits piqués après le stade calice tombent au sol au moment de la chute de juin, bien que certains puissent rester accrochés aux pommiers jusqu'à la cueillette. Les lésions sur les fruits matures consistent habituellement en de petites dépressions ou des cônes déprimés profonds résultant de l'injection d'une toxine par la punaise terne (Figure 4-66). En général, les dommages que la punaise terne cause en début de saison s'observent près de la cuvette oculaire. Les dommages faits en fin de saison peuvent se situer un peu partout sur la pomme. Les sections longitudinales de pommes coupées à travers les dépressions montrent qu'en se nourrissant, les punaises ternes creusent une galerie étroite qui s'étend jusqu'au cœur (sans y entrer) ou jusqu'au calice (Figure 4-67).

Figure 4-66. Lésion causée par la punaise terne.

Figure 4-66. Lésion causée par la punaise terne.

Figure 4-67. Croquis des dommages causés par les insectes piqueurs.

Figure 4-67. Croquis des dommages causés par les insectes piqueurs.

Les lésions attribuables à l'alimentation de la lygide du pommier s'assimilent à un roussissement lisse à la surface du fruit, avec ou sans dépression (Figure 4-68). Les cicatrices laissées par la punaise de la pomme forment de petites bosses surélevées sur le fruit (Figure 4-69).

Figure 4-68. Lésion causée par la lygide du pommier.

Figure 4-68. Lésion causée par la lygide du pommier.

Figure 4-69. Lésion causée par le puceron vert du pommier.

Figure 4-69. Lésion causée par le puceron vert du pommier.

La quantité de lésions dépend du nombre d'adultes hivernants et des températures printanières. Du temps doux au début d'avril, avant la levée des dicotylédones, favorise souvent la migration des adultes vers les arbres. Les printemps frais s'accompagnent habituellement de moins de dommages. Selon certaines études, la punaise terne causerait les dommages les plus lourds sur les branches basses. Même si les dommages causés dans les vergers en production sont minimes après le mois de juin, les pommiers dans les pépinières et les blocs nouvellement plantés sont vulnérables aux attaques de la punaise terne pendant tout l'été.

Les dommages causés par la punaise terne peuvent être confondus avec ceux qui sont causés par le chalcis du pommier. Ce dernier, une petite guêpe, est un ravageur occasionnel dans certains vergers, qui est habituellement maîtrisé par les traitements insecticides dirigés contre d'autres insectes. Ses larves hivernent dans les pépins. La pupaison se produit à la fin de mai et les adultes émergent des pupes à la mi-juin. Les adultes endommagent les fruits par les piqûres qu'ils laissent sur la peau pour chaque œuf qu'ils pondent. À la cueillette, les lésions s'apparentent à une dépression à la surface du fruit. En coupant la pomme, on peut voir la galerie étroite et brune qui traverse la chair jusqu'au cœur. La figure 4-67 montre des vues en coupe de pommes attaquées par différents insectes piqueurs.

Surveillance et seuils d'intervention

Il n'existe aucun protocole de surveillance de ces insectes. Bien que recommandé dans certaines provinces et certains États, le dépistage de la punaise terne adulte à l'aide de plaquettes blanches encollées ne l'est pas en Ontario, parce que son efficacité est variable et que les résultats sont souvent peu fiables. Les insectes adultes sont sur leurs gardes et s'envolent rapidement. On obtient une bonne idée des dommages causés par l'alimentation des adultes en parcourant le verger aux deux ou trois jours au printemps à la recherche de suintement à proximité ou à la surface des boutons. La luzerne étant un hôte de prédilection, sa récolte provoque un déplacement massif des punaises vers les cultures avoisinantes.

Lutte

Normalement, à la cueillette, entre 0,25 et 1,00 % des pommes comportent des lésions causées par la punaise terne, des taux qui, sur le plan économique, ne justifient pas de traitements phytosanitaires dirigés contre cet ennemi. Il arrive que 2 % ou plus des pommes présentent des lésions. À moins que les infestations par la punaise terne ne soient récurrentes, les interventions ne sont pas recommandées, car l'activité de ce ravageur est imprévisible.

Les applications d'insecticides effectuées en préfloraison et au stade calice pour lutter contre d'autres ennemis de début de saison assurent parfois une maîtrise temporaire des punaises ternes. Dans bien des cas, les nouveaux insecticides à spectre étroit sont sans effet contre les punaises ternes. Les méthodes de lutte culturale jouent un rôle important dans la réduction des risques de lésions causées par la punaise terne. Voici certaines pratiques recommandées :

  • garder le gazon bien entretenu en réduisant ou en éliminant les mauvaises herbes qui servent d'hôtes intermédiaires, en particulier la stellaire moyenne, le pissenlit, le trèfle, les amarantes et le chénopode blanc;
  • se garder de tondre le gazon entre la floraison et la fin du stade calice, afin d'éviter que les punaises ne se déplacent vers les pommiers;
  • désherber des bandes dans les allées à l'aide d'herbicides;
  • désherber les tournières, afin de les débarrasser des hôtes intermédiaires et de la végétation offrant un refuge aux punaises;
  • éviter d'installer un verger dans un lieu contigu à des champs de foin (luzerne), des fraiseraies ou des cultures qui présentent un attrait pour les punaises.

Pentatomes (punaises des bois)

Les pentatomes causent occasionnellement des dommages aux fruits des vergers.

Description

La punaise verte, Acrosternum hilare (Say), est la représentante de la famille des pentatomidés la plus commune dans les vergers de pommiers de l'Ontario. Les pentatomes sont des insectes au corps en forme de bouclier, relativement gros, et à tête petite et étroite. Ils ont des antennes à cinq segments et des pièces buccales renfermées dans une gaine appelée bec, divisée en quatre pièces. Leurs œufs, pondus en grappes, sont en forme de petits tonnelets surmontés d'un motif circulaire (qui fait penser à une cloque). Les nymphes, de forme ovale, surtout noires, deviennent vertes en vieillissant. Les nymphes des derniers stades nymphaux ont des ébauches alaires bien visibles. Comme son nom l'indique, la punaise verte adulte est de couleur verte (Figure 4-70). On trouve d'autres espèces de pentatomes dans les vergers, certains d'entre eux étant des prédateurs utiles.

Figure 4-70. Punaise verte adulte.

Figure 4-70. Punaise verte adulte.

Cycle biologique

Les pentatomes ont un vaste éventail d'hôtes, dont les arbres fruitiers et ornementaux, les vignes, les mauvaises herbes et différentes espèces cultivées. Ils hivernent au stade adulte dans des lieux abrités et redeviennent actifs quand les températures s'élèvent au printemps. Ils sont habituellement présents dans les vergers après la floraison.

Dommages

Les lésions aux fruits surviennent quand les pentatomes adultes percent la peau du fruit pour en extraire le jus. La piqûre laisse une lésion légèrement dentelée et une zone liégeuse brun clair juste sous la surface de la peau (Figure 4-71). En tranchant le fruit, on peut apercevoir un tube d'alimentation qui s'enfonce rarement sur plus de la moitié de la distance entre la peau et le cœur. Cette caractéristique confirme que les dommages sont bel et bien attribuables aux pentatomes et non à d'autres insectes piqueurs. Les lésions causées par les pentatomes surviennent habituellement vers la fin de l'été. Les fruits atteints ont tendance à rester accrochés aux arbres passé la période de la cueillette.

Figure 4-71. Lésion causée par un pentatome

Figure 4-71. Lésion causée par un pentatome (Peter Jentsch, Cornell University, Hudson Valley Laboratory, NY).

Surveillance et seuils d'intervention

Aucun seuil d'intervention ni aucune technique de dépistage n'ont été mis au point pour cette famille de ravageurs. Garder à l'esprit que des pentatomes prédateurs peuvent également être présents dans le verger.

Lutte

En Ontario, les pentatomes ne sont pas considérés comme des ennemis ayant une importance économique. Il arrive qu'ils soient problématiques les étés très chauds et secs quand les sources de nourriture de remplacement offertes notamment par les dicotylédones adventices (mauvaises herbes à feuilles larges) sont rares. Garder les tournières tondues de près afin de décourager la migration des pentatomes vers les vergers au cours des étés secs.

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 juillet 2011
Dernière révision : 21 juillet 2011

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca