Spruce Galls

 

This infosheet was originally written by Christoph Kessel, former Nursery Crops Specialist, OMAFRA. It has been updated by Jennifer Llewellyn, Nursery Crops Specialist, OMAFRA.

Table of Contents

  1. Eastern Spruce Gall Adelgid
  2. Cooley Spruce Gall Adelgid

Eastern Spruce Gall Adelgid, Adelges abietis

Symptoms:

Green, pineapple shaped galls found at the base of shoots of the current season's growth from spring to summer. In late summer, galls open and turn brown. Often the tips of infested branches are dead, especially if the plant is heavily infested.

Hosts:

Norway spruce, Picea abies; Colorado spruce, P. pungens; white spruce, P. glauca; red spruce, P. rubens.

Life Cycle:

Only females are known to exist. Nymphs overwinter on the undersides of leaf buds, at their base . Nymphs are small, aphid-like, bluish-grey and about 2-3 mm long. In early spring, about the time when the buds are swelling, these small, greyish nymphs (or "stem mothers") will feed on bud tissue and start to mature. As they mature, they cover themselves in white, waxy fibres. By closely examining the base of the buds in early spring, the greyish adults covered in white, waxy fibres may be observed (Figure 1). Eggs are laid and nymphs hatch about ten days later and begin feeding on the new needles. Eventually the nymphs move to feed at the base of the needles and feeding will cause a gall to develop (Figure 2). This gall will enclose the nymphs.

By late July or early August the galls will turn brown, small openings will appear and winged adults will emerge (Figure 3). After laying eggs on suitable host plants, adult adelgids die. These eggs hatch and newly emerged nymphs overwinter on the undersides of leaf buds, at the base.

Stem mothers on spruce

Figure 1: Stem mothers overwintering on spruce.

Pineapple-shaped galls form at the base of new growth as a result of the feeding from larvae.

Figure 2: Pineapple-shaped galls form at the base of new shoots as a result of the feeding from nymphs.

Galls dry to a brown colour in late summer. Chambers crack open to release winged adults.
Figure 3
: Galls turn brown in late summer. Small openings appear and winged adults will exit the gall.

(Photo credit: Dave Cheung, University of Guelph)

Cooley Spruce Gall Adelgid, Adelges cooleyi

Symptoms:

Green, C-shaped elongated galls will appear at the tips of new shoots from spring to summer (Figure 4). In late summer, galls turn brown and small openings will appear. On Douglas fir, this insect does not form a gall but feeds openly on needles. Feeding injury on Douglas fir appears as yellow, distorted needles (Figure 5) and nymphs are visible with white, waxy fibres as they mature.

Hosts:

Colorado spruce, P. pungens and its cultivars; Engelmann spruce, P. engelmannii; Douglas fir, Pseudotsuga menziesii.

Life Cycle:

This adelgid can complete its life cycle either on spruce or Douglas fir or live part of its life on each host. Its life cycle is similar to that of the eastern spruce gall adelgid.
On spruce, nymphs overwinter on the undersides of leaf buds, at their base . Nymphs are small, aphid-like, bluish-grey and about 2-3 mm long. In early spring, about the time when the buds are swelling, these small, greyish nymphs (or "stem mothers") will feed on bud tissue and start to mature. As they mature, they cover themselves in white, waxy fibres. By closely examining the base of the buds in early spring, the greyish adults covered in white, waxy fibres may be observed (similar to Figure 1). Stem mothers lay eggs and nymphs hatch about ten days later and begin feeding on the new needles. Eventually the nymphs move to feed at the base of the needles and feeding will cause a gall to develop (Figure 4). This gall will enclose the nymphs. Immature females, overwintering under bark scales near the dormant terminal buds, are small, grey and oval in shape. As the new growth begins, adults can be easily recognized by the masses of white, waxy, hairy fibres which they produce. Eggs are laid about the time as the bud cap splits. After hatching, emerged nymphs migrate to the newly developed shoots and begin to feed. Their feeding stimulates the spruce to develop galls, enclosing the nymphs. By July the galls open and adults emerge and fly to other host plants where eggs are laid and a subsequent overwintering generation is produced.

On Douglas fir, nymphs overwinter on the underside of leaf buds at their base. The nymphs will start to feed, mature and cover themselves with white, waxy fibres. Mature adelgids (or "stem mothers") lay eggs just prior to bud break. The next generation of nymphs will hatch about 10 days later. Nymphs will feed openly on needles and do not produce galls but cause needle yellowing and distortion of current season's needles (Figure 5).

Management:

Remove and destroy galls while they are still green and tightly closed, to prevent the emergence of the next generation of adult adelgids. Pesticide applications should be directed at the overwintering nymph stage (undersides of buds) in the early spring when Magnolia x soulangiana is pink in bud. This early spring application should take place before the spruce buds have begun to swell, before nymphs develop protective, white, waxy fibres around their bodies. Pest control applications in mid-Autumn may give some reduction of nymph populations before winter. When adelgids are in the egg stage or enclosed in the galls, they are immune to pest control applications.

The ends of new shoots curl and seal as a result of the feeding damage from larvae.

Figure 4: The ends of new shoots curl and seal as a result of the feeding damage from larvae.

Feeding damage on Douglas Fir does not cause galling, but chlorosis and twisting of new needles.

Figure 5: The alternate host of this adelgid is Douglas fir. Feeding damage on this host does not cause galling, but chlorosis and twisting of new needles.
(Photo credit: Dave Cheung, University of Guelph)

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Jennifer Llewellyn - Nursery Crops Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: July 1999
Last Reviewed: 14 January 2010

Galles de l'épinette

Rédigée à l'origine par Christoph Kessel, anciennement spécialiste de la culture en pépinière, cette fiche d'information a été révisée et mise à jour par Jennifer Llewellyn.

Table des matières

  1. Puceron à galle conique de l'épinette
  2. Puceron de l'épinette de Sitka

Puceron à galle conique de l'épinette, Adelges abietis

Symptômes

Des galles en forme d'ananas au départ de couleur verte se trouvent à la base des pousses annuelles du printemps à l'été. En fin d'été, la galle s'ouvre et brunit. Souvent l'extrémité des branches infestées est morte, surtout dans les cas d'infestations très graves.

Hôtes

Épinette de Norvège, Picea abies; épinette du Colorado, P. pungens; épinette blanche, P. glauca; épinette rouge, P. rubens.

Cycle biologique

Tous les individus sont des femelles. Les nymphes passent l'hiver au revers des bourgeons, à la base. Les nymphes sont petites, semblables aux pucerons, de couleur bleu vert, d'environ 2 à 3 mm de longueur. Au début du printemps, dès le stade de gonflement des bourgeons, les petites nymphes grisâtres (on les appelle les " fondatrices ") se nourrissent des tissus de ces derniers et commencent à se transformer en adultes. Ce faisant, elles se retrouvent recouvertes de fibres blanches cireuses. En examinant attentivement la base des bourgeons au début du printemps, on peut observer les adultes grisâtres couverts de fibres blanches cireuses (figure 1). Les pucerons pondent leurs œufs et les nymphes éclosent une dizaine de jours plus tard et commencent à se nourrir des nouvelles aiguilles. Tôt ou tard les nymphes se déplacent vers la base des aiguilles pour s'y nourrir ce qui provoque la formation d'une galle (figure 2). Cette galle finit par emprisonner les nymphes.

À la fin de juillet ou au début d'août les galles brunissent, de petites ouvertures laissent émerger les nymphes qui se sont transformées en adultes ailés (figure 3). Après avoir pondu leurs œufs sur les plantes hôtes adéquates, les pucerons adultes meurent. Les œufs éclosent et les nymphes qui viennent d'en émerger passeront l'hiver au revers des bourgeons, à la base.

fondatrices passant l'hiver sur l'épinette.

Figure 1: fondatrices passant l'hiver sur l'épinette.

galles en forme d'ananas à la base des pousses annuelles, causées par les nymphes qui se sont nourries

Figure 2: galles en forme d'ananas à la base des pousses annuelles, causées par les nymphes qui se sont nourries

les galles brunissent

Figure 3: les galles brunissent à la fin de l'été. De petites ouvertures laissent émerger les adultes ailés.

(Photo offerte par Dave Cheung, Université de Guelph)

Puceron de l'épinette de Sitka, Adelges cooley

Symptômes

Des galles vertes de forme conique allongée apparaissent aux extrémités des nouvelles pousses du printemps à l'été (figure 4). À la fin de l'été, les galles s'ouvrent et brunissent. Sur le Douglas taxifolié, l'insecte ne forme pas de galle mais se nourrit des aiguilles à découvert. Sur le Douglas taxifolié les dégâts provoquent la déformation et le jaunissement des aiguilles (figure 5) et les nymphes sont plus visibles recouvertes de leurs fibres blanches et cireuses à mesure qu'elles deviennent adultes.

Hôtes

Épinette du Colorado, P. pungens et ses cultivars; épinette d'Engelmann, P. engelmannii; Douglas taxifolié, Pseudotsuga menziesii.

Cycle biologique

De la famille des Adelgidae, ce ravageur peut passer son cycle biologique complet sur l'épinette ou sur le Douglas taxifolié, ou vivre une partie de sa vie sur chacun de ses deux hôtes. Il a un cycle biologique similaire à celui du puceron à galle conique de l'épinette.

Sur l'épinette, les nymphes passent l'hiver sur le revers des bourgeons, à la base. Les nymphes sont petites, semblables à des pucerons, de couleur bleu vert, d'environ 2 à 3 mm de longueur. Au début du printemps, lors du stade de gonflement des bourgeons, ces petites nymphes grisâtres (les " fondatrices ") se nourrissent des tissus des bourgeons et commencent à se transformer en adultes. À mesure de leur transformation, elles se recouvrent de fibres blanches cireuses. Si on examine de près la base des bourgeons au début du printemps, on peut observer les adultes grisâtres couverts de fibres blanches cireuses (similaires à la figure 1). Les fondatrices pondent leurs œufs et les nymphes éclosent une dizaine de jours plus tard et commencent à se nourrir des nouvelles aiguilles. Tôt ou tard les nymphes se déplacent vers la base des aiguilles pour s'en nourrir ce qui provoque la formation d'une galle (figure 4). Cette galle emprisonne les nymphes. Les femelles immatures, qui passent l'hiver sous l'écorce près des bourgeons terminaux dormants sont petites, grises et de forme ovale. À mesure que les nouvelles pousses commencent, les adultes sont facilement reconnaissables à leurs masses de fibres blanches, cireuses et poilues. Elles pondent des œufs au moment du fendillement de la coiffe du bourgeon. Après leur éclosion, les nymphes qui émergent migrent vers les nouvelles pousses et commencent à se nourrir, ce qui provoque la formation de galles sur l'épinette au sein desquelles les nymphes sont emprisonnées. En juillet les galles s'ouvrent et laissent émerger les adultes qui s'envolent vers d'autres végétaux hôtes où ils pondent des œufs, et ainsi de suite, donnant naissance à la prochaine génération qui survivra à l'hiver.

Sur le Douglas taxifolié, les nymphes passent l'hiver au revers des bourgeons, à la base. Les nymphes commencent à se nourrir et à se transformer en adultes; elles se recouvrent de fibres blanches et cireuses. Les pucerons adultes (les " fondatrices ") pondent leurs œufs juste avant le débourrement. La génération suivante de nymphes va éclore environ 10 jours plus tard. Les nymphes se nourrissent des aiguilles à découvert et ne produisent pas de galles, mais provoquent le jaunissement des aiguilles et la déformation des aiguilles des pousses annuelles (figure 5)

Moyens de lutte

Une méthode de lutte consiste à enlever les galles et à les détruire pendant qu'elles sont encore vertes et bien refermées, pour éviter l'éclosion de la génération suivante de pucerons adultes. Des applications de pesticides peuvent éradiquer les nymphes qui ont passé l'hiver (au revers des bourgeons) au début du printemps quand Magnolia x soulangiana est au stade du bouton rose. Cette application tôt au printemps doit avoir lieu avant le gonflement des bourgeons de l'épinette, et que les nymphes ne puissent se protéger avec leurs fibres blanches cireuses. Des applications antiparasitaires peuvent être effectuées au milieu de l'automne pour réduire les populations de nymphes avant l'hiver. Au stade d'œufs ou à l'intérieur des galles, les pucerons restent intouchés par les traitements antiparasitaires.


parmi les dommages causées par les larves qui se sont nourries, notons les extrémités des nouvelles pousses recourbées et refermées.

Figure 4: parmi les dommages causées par les larves qui se sont nourries, notons les extrémités des nouvelles pousses recourbées et refermées.

'hôte intermédiaire de ce puceron est le Douglas taxifolié. Les dégâts causés par les pucerons qui se sont nourris ne provoquent pas la formation de galles, mais la chlorose et l'enroulement des nouvelles aiguilles.

Figure 5: l'hôte intermédiaire de ce puceron est le Douglas taxifolié. Les dégâts causés par les pucerons qui se sont nourris ne provoquent pas la formation de galles, mais la chlorose et l'enroulement des nouvelles aiguilles.

(Photo offerte par Dave Cheung, Université de Guelph)

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca


Auteur : Jennifer Llewellyn, spécialiste de la culture en pépinière, MAAARO
Date de création : juillet 1999
Dernière révision : janvier 2010