Preparing the Soil for Berry Production: The Basics

Successful berry production depends on careful attention to every aspect of production. Most important is proper land preparation, long before strawberries, raspberries or other berry crop is planted. If mistakes are made during the preplant process, the effects can be felt for the life of the planting, and the economic potential of the crop becomes limited. The best management and cultural practices cannot compensate for soil problems that should have been corrected before planting.

Soil Considerations

Plant strawberries and raspberries on sandy loam or loam soil that is 60 - 120 cm deep. Other soil types may be acceptable with good management. However, heavy soils tend to be too cold and wet, while sandy to gravely soils have a poor water holding capacity. A good site for berry production will have good air drainage and wind protection, minimal land slope, an available water supply, physical separation from wild berry plants, and no harmful herbicide residues. Assuming the site is suitable for berry production, the main soil management considerations include the organic matter, fertility, pH, drainage, soil compaction and soil pests.

Organic Matter

Soils for berry crops should have an organic matter (OM) content of 3% or more. The OM can fluctuate considerably up or down according to good or bad management practices. OM serves as a source of energy for helpful micro-organisms, and acts like a sponge, holding nutrients so they don’t leach but remain available to the plant. OM helps to build better soil structure; keeping heavy soils open and helping to bind together lighter soils. OM also facilitates air movement and the entrance and percolation of water into and through the soils. OM improves the water-holding capacity of the soil. In a dry year, plants growing in soil with low OM will not do as well as those in soils with adequate OM.

There are several ways to increase the OM content of soils. The most traditional has been with the use of manure. However, for most horticultural producers a ready supply of manure is not available. Weed-free cattle or swine manure applied at 25-40 tonnes/hectare is beneficial especially if it contains bedding material. Poultry manure could be used but it does not contribute that much to the soil OM. Where poultry manure is used, apply no more than 7tonnes/hectare the fall before planting strawberries. Fresh poultry manure can burn the tender strawberry and raspberry roots. Well composted manure can be applied in the spring; otherwise it should be applied in the previous fall and worked in. Do not apply manure in the spring if berries will be harvested that same year.

A substitute for manure is hay or straw applied at 7 tonnes/hectare in the spring a year before planting. Unless the residue contains at least 1.5% nitrogen, the soil organisms will actually remove nitrogen (about 30 kg/ha) from the soil to break the residue down. Legume based hay materials have enough nitrogen but for non-legume hay or straw, apply 4 kg N per tonne of hay or straw (20 lbs/ton) at the time of application. As the residues break down, most of the nitrogen will be slowly released and made available to the plants.

A third strategy for improving the soil OM content is to plant a cover crop and work it into the soil the year before strawberries are planted. The cover crop will help to improve soil structure and added needed organic matter as the residue decomposes. Cover crops are most beneficial where the soil texture, soil structure or soil organic matter content is not ideal for berry production. Cover crops cannot replace all the benefits that come from manure but when manure is not available, they are a good substitute.

Cover crops include sorghum-sudan grass, pearl millet, winter rye or oilseed radish.

Sorghum-sudan and forage pearl millet

Sorghum-sudan and forage pearl millet are excellent choices for growing as cover crops for soil improvement. The root growth is extensive and the top growth lush. A pre-plant herbicide treatment is recommended for crop establishment. Plant after all threat of frost is past; mid-June. The crop will benefit from the warm temperatures of early to mid-summer. Approximately 50 kg/ha of N will help the crop achieve maximum top growth.

Mow these grasses before they are 1metre in height, in order to encourage tillering and to ensure that stalks are not woody and will break down readily. Allow at least 15 cm of growth to remain in order to encourage the plant to re-grow.

Winter rye

Winter rye is seeded from late August into mid-October, often following field or vegetable crops. It grows until freeze-up, and then commences growth again in March - early April (slightly earlier than winter wheat). Growth rate is very rapid during May. The stand is generally killed in late April or early May by tillage or herbicide use. Rye can produce significant root and top mass for return to the soil. A rye cover crop suppresses winter annual weeds effectively. Winter rye can be seeded later than any other crop and still survive over winter. For good ground cover and erosion protectiprotection, seed winter rye at least a month before freeze-up.

Rye should be killed in the fall or early spring to avoid loss of soil moisture, and difficulties in incorporation. Full season rye is an excellent host for root-lesion nematode, while cover crop or short term rye is no different than wheat.

Oilseed radish

Oilseed radish is commonly seeded in August or early September. It is unaffected by early frosts, can grow to a height of 50 to 90 cm and blooms in October. The plant has a thick but short taproot, varying between carrot and turnip shaped. It is killed by severe frosts in late November or December. Oilseed radish provides a reasonably rapid soil cover and excellent erosion protection over winter and returns moderate amounts of organic matter to the soil. For good growth, this crop must have a large amount of available nitrogen, either applied as fertilizer or manure left from a previous crop. Some oilseed radish varieties release compounds which are toxic to nematodes, but only when large amounts are tilled green into the soil.

Growth will be poor if soil nitrogen levels are low or if soil compaction is severe. Scattered volunteer plants may appear in the following crops.

For more information on growing cover crops, consult OMAFRA publication #811, Agronomy Guide or the cover crop section on the OMAFRA website.

Soil Fertility and pH

The most reliable way to determine fertility and lime requirements for strawberries and raspberries is to take a soil test preferably a year before but no later than the fall before planting.

Where manure has been added, it is advisable to take a soil test, since manures provide a number of nutrients, particularly phosphorous and potassium. Publication #360, Guide to Fruit Production, provides tables to indicate the reduction in fertilizer where manure has been applied.

Most fertilizer requirements can be added just prior to planting. The recommended rate for nitrogen at that time is 50 kg of actual nitrogen per hectare. Nitrogen fertilizer should not be applied in the fall since it could be lost through leaching. Where phosphorous is required, incorporate at least 20 cm. into the soil. Phosphorous does not move very readily through the soil and if it is not incorporated properly the plants will not be able to use it.

Magnesium (Mg) levels should be between 40 - 100 ppm on the soil test. If the levels get below this, yields may be affected because Mg is essential for chlorophyll which produces the food for the plants. If Mg levels get below 40 and if the pH is below 6.5 then add dolomitic limestone (which contains 11 - 22% Mg). If the levels are below 30 ppm and the pH is higher than 6.5 then apply 30 kg/ha of soluble Mg to the soil as one would apply potash. Many fields have potash levels that are too high. In the presence of excess potash, plants will not take up enough Mg even though the soil levels are apparently adequate. Apply additional Mg if the Mg levels are between 31 - 39 ppm and the potash levels are greater than 250 ppm.

Manganese and zinc are part of the suite of soil tests that are accredited by OMAFRA. On your soil test report, the results will be expressed as both ppm and as an index; the index allows for the influence of pH on the nutrient availability. If either of these two micro-nutrients drop below 8 ppm then crop deficiencies may occur. These nutrients are not soil applied but can be applied as foliar sprays if deficiency symptoms show up in the leaves.

The optimum pH for raspberries and strawberries is slightly acidic (around 6.0 - 6.5). In Ontario, if the level gets below 6.1 then lime is recommended for coarse and medium textured soils. On fine soils lime is recommended if the pH dips down to 5.6. At a low pH calcium, magnesium and possibly phosphorous may not be readily available to the plant. If Mg levels are low then dolomitic lime can be used to correct acid soils otherwise calcitic lime is suitable. Apply lime in the fall and preferably one year before planting to allow time for the soil chemistry to change.

If the soil pH is high it usually is not economical to bring it down with sulfur. In most cases the crops will grow well enough at a higher pH. Several micronutrients such as iron may become limiting if the pH gets too high. These deficiencies are best corrected through foliar sprays.

Soil Drainage

Strawberries and raspberries cannot tolerate poorly drained soils. Optimum production will never be achieved if the crop has wet feet, even for a short time. Near perfect drainage is required. Actively growing roots will begin to suffocate and die within 24 hours of being submerged. In addition, wet conditions favour the occurrence of soil borne diseases. Strawberries can be severely damaged by black root rot or red stele. Raspberries are susceptible to Phytophthora root rot. Advice on drainage requirements can be obtained from a drainage contractor.

Soil Compaction

Soil that is compacted can have dramatic affects on the productivity of berry plantings. A hardpan will restrict the movement of water down through the soil resulting in poor drainage. Root development will also be restricted. To break up hardpans, sub-soil before planting. The depth of subsoiling should be no more than a few centimeters below the zone of compaction because any deeper uses more energy and risks the potential of deeper compaction. The best time to subsoil is when the soil is dry, (e.g. August) so that the hardpan shatters. If subsoiling is done when the soil is too moist the hardpan will not be properly disrupted. A cover crop should be established after subsoiling to ensure that roots stabilize the cracks created. Every effort should be made to reduce tillage and traffic operations to prevent re-establishment of the compacted layer.

Soil Pests

The final consideration for preparing the soil is to control pests such as weeds, insects and diseases.

Weeds

The primary weed concerns are perennial weeds such as quackgrass, Canada thistle, bindweed, etc. If these weeds are not controlled before planting then they can become a real problem, and will limit the life of the planting.

In the season before planting it is possible to reduce the perennial weeds through intensive cultivation of fallow land. However, this approach is expensive and severely reduces the soil OM. Herbicides are the most common approach to eradicating these weeds.

The weed that seems to cause the most problems is quackgrass. An approach to controlling quackgrass is to apply glyphosate in the spring before planting when the grass is a minimum of eight inches high with 3-4 leaves. If the field was not fall plowed, an application around May 15 - 20 is probably the earliest application date or else there will not be enough leaf growth to ensure net movement down into the roots for adequate kill. If the field was fall plowed, an early spring application will not be successful because the quackgrass will emerge sporadically. For fallow fields, make two applications, one in May and another in September. For heavy infestations use the high rate on the label.

For broadleaf perennials a suitable herbicide applied over the cover crop could be selected. If a cover crop is not grown, a broad spectrum herbicide such as glyphosate can be used. Timing is crucial for proper control as outlined in OMAFRA publication #75, Guide to Weed Control under the heading “Special Methods of Weed Control - Site Preparation.”

In some cases it may be advisable to rotate into a row crop where a vigorous herbicide program can be implemented. In all cases avoid herbicide residues that can hurt berry plants.

Insects

White grubs and wireworms are two serious soil-borne pests that are common in sod and pasture crops. Berry crops should not be planted within two years of any type of sod. A row crop such as corn or pumpkins could be grown for at least one year prior to planting to help reduce the incidence of grubs, wireworms and other soil insects.

Diseases and Nematodes

Crop rotation is important to prevent the build-up of certain diseases. Strawberries or raspberries should never be planted back to back. Pythium and Rhizoctonia are known to build up in strawberry plantings. The main soil borne disease encountered in both strawberries and raspberries is Verticillium wilt. In addition to infecting strawberries and raspberries, this fungus is also the cause of wilt in solanaceous crops such as tomatoes, potatoes, peppers and eggplants. Therefore strawberries and raspberries should not be planted (preferably within 4 years) after one of these crops. Similarly, lamb’s quarters, pigweed and nightshade are known to harbour Verticillium so weeds should be controlled.

Nematodes are soil borne pests common in both raspberries and strawberries. These are small eel-like worms invisible to the naked eye but easily seen under a microscope. They can be a problem on sandy soils but usually not on heavier soils. Nematode numbers can be determined through analysis of a soil sample.

If the numbers are high, fumigation is a proven and effective means of control. Some cover crops, such as pearl millet, hot mustards, and marigolds, will suppress nematodes. In contrast, legume crops encourage nematode populations.

In summary, optimum production throughout the life of a strawberry or raspberry planting can only be achieved if the soil is properly prepared before planting. Proper preparation includes building up the organic matter content, fertility, appropriate pH, ensuring good drainage and control of pests such as weeds, insects, and diseases.

Adapted from a presentation by Frank Louws, Ontario Horticultural Crops Conference, 1989. Revised August 1998, March 2009, and April 2013.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Pam Fisher - Berry Crop Specialist/OMAFRA; Hannah Fraser - Entomology Program Lead (Hort)/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 April 2013
Last Reviewed: 21 September 2015

La préparation du sol pour la production des baies

Le succès dans la culture des baies repose sur une attention portée à tous les détails de la production. Un facteur de première importance, bien avant la plantation des premiers plants de fraises, de framboises et autres baies, est la préparation adéquate du sol. Si des erreurs sont commises lors des étapes précédant la plantation, les effets s'en feront ressentir pour toute la durée de vie de la plantation, avec des conséquences sur la rentabilité économique des cultures. Les meilleures pratiques de gestion agricole ne peuvent entièrement corriger les problèmes du sol qui auraient dû être réglés au départ.

Facteurs relatifs au sol

Il convient de semer les plants de fraises ou de framboises sur un sol sableux ou de loam sableux d'une profondeur de 60 à 120 cm. D'autres types de sol peuvent certes convenir en y adjoignant de saines pratiques de gestion. Toutefois, les sols denses (à texture fine) ont tendance à être trop froids et humides, alors que les sols graveleux montrent une piètre rétention de l'eau. Un bon site pour la culture des baies doit permettre une bonne circulation de l'air et offrir une protection contre les vents, afficher le moins possible de pente, avoir une source d'eau disponible, être bien séparé des plants de baies sauvages, et ne comporter aucun résidu d'herbicide. En supposant un site qui remplit toutes ces exigences pour la culture des baies, les principales considérations en matière de gestion de sol incluent aussi la teneur en matière organique, la fertilité, le pH, le drainage, la compaction du sol et les organismes parasitaires du sol.

Matière organique

Les sols utilisés en culture des baies doivent avoir une teneur en matière organique d'au moins 3 %. La matière organique peut varier considérablement en fonction de la qualité des pratiques de la gestion des sols. La matière organique sert de source d'énergie pour les microorganismes utiles, et agit comme une éponge en retenant les nutriants, ce qui empêche ces derniers d'être lessivés et les rend disponibles pour la plante. La matière organique contribue à une meilleure structure des sols, en réduisant la densité des sols à texture trop fine et en améliorant la cohésion des sols trop légers. La matière organique facilite le mouvement de l'air de même que l'entrée et la percolation de l'eau dans le sol. La matière organique améliore la capacité de rétention de l'eau dans le sol. Lors d'une année sèche, les plants qui poussent dans un sol pauvre en matière organique ne donneront pas d'aussi bons rendements que dans un sol ayant un contenu adéquat en matière organique.

Il existe plusieurs méthodes pour augmenter la teneur en matière organique des sols. La solution la plus traditionnelle consiste à ajouter du fumier. Par contre, pour nombre de producteurs horticoles, une source de fumier n'est pas immédiatement disponible. Le fumier de porc ou de bovins nourris sans herbe, lorsqu'appliqué à un taux de 25 à 40 tonnes/hectare, peut être appliqué avantageusement, en particulier s'il contient de la litière à bétail. Le fumier de volaille peut aussi être utilisé, bien qu'il ne contribue pas beaucoup à la matière organique du sol. Si du fumier de volaille est utilisé, ne pas appliquer plus de 7 tonnes/hectare à l'automne précédant la culture des fraisiers. Le fumier frais de volaille peut brûler les racines délicates des fraisiers et des framboisiers. Un fumier bien composté peut être appliqué au printemps; sinon, il convient de l'appliquer à l'automne précédent et de l'incorporer au sol. Ne pas appliquer le fumier au printemps s'il est prévu que les baies soient récoltées la même année.

Un substitut pour le fumier est le foin ou la paille, à raison de 7 tonnes/hectare appliquées au printemps de l'année qui précède les cultures. À moins que le résidu ne contienne au moins 1,5 % d'azote, les microorganismes du sol contribueront en fait à éliminer une partie de l'azote du sol (environ 30 kg/ha) lors de la décomposition du résidu. Les foins à base de légumineuses contiennent suffisamment d'azote, mais pour les foins de type non légumineux ou pour la paille, appliquer 4 kg par tonne de foin ou de paille (20 livres/tonne) au moment de l'application. Alors que les résidus se décomposent, la majeure partie de l'azote sera lentement libéré et ainsi rendu disponible pour les plantes.

Une troisième stratégie pour améliorer le contenu en matière organique du sol est de planter une culture couvre-sol et de l'incorporer au sol l'année qui précède la plantation des fraisiers. La culture couvre-sol aidera à améliorer la structure du sol et ajoutera à la matière organique lors de la décomposition des résidus. Les cultures couvre-sol sont bénéfiques lorsque la texture ou la structure du sol, ou encore son contenu en matière organique ne sont pas optimaux pour la culture des baies. Les cultures couvre-sol n'offrent pas tous les avantages du fumier, mais si ce dernier n'est pas disponible, les cultures couvre-sol représentent un substitut valable.

Les cultures couvre-sol qui peuvent être considérées incluent le sorgho du Soudan, le millet perlé, le seigle d'hiver et le radis oléagineux.

Sorgho-soudan et millet perlé fourrager

Le sorgho-soudan et le millet perlé fourrager sont d'excellents choix de culture-abri pour l'amélioration du sol. La croissance racinaire est très active et la partie aérienne bien fournie. Un prétraitement aux herbicides est recommandé pour l'établissement des plants. Planter après que tout danger de gel est écarté, soit la mi-juin. La culture profitera alors des températures clémentes de la première moitié de l'été. L'ajout d'environ 50 kg/ha d'engrais azotés aidera à maximiser la croissance de la culture.

Tondre les herbes avant qu'elles n'atteignent 1 m de haut, de façon à favoriser le tallage et à éviter que les tiges ne se lignifient et ne deviennent cassantes. Laisser une longueur d'au moins 15 cm pour favoriser la reprise de la croissance.

Seigle d'hiver

Le seigle d'hiver est semé de la mi-août jusqu'à la mi-octobre, souvent à la suite des grandes cultures ou des cultures légumières. Il pousse jusqu'au gel hivernal, puis recommence sa croissance en mars ou au début avril (un peu avant le blé d'hiver). Le taux de croissance est très rapide en mai. Le peuplement est généralement tué vers la fin avril ou au début mai par travail du sol ou à l'aide d'herbicides. Le seigle peut produire une biomasse considérable sous forme de racines et de masse et de partie aérienne, qui sera retournée ultimement au sol. Une culture-abri à base de seigle règle efficacement le problème des mauvaises herbes pérennes d'hiver. Le seigle d'hiver peut être semé plus tard que toute autre culture et néanmoins supporter l'hiver qui suit. Pour une bonne couverture du sol et une bonne protection contre l'érosion, semer le seigle d'hiver au moins un mois avant le gel hivernal.

Le seigle doit être tué à l'automne ou tôt au printemps, afin d'éviter les pertes d'humidité du sol et les problèmes d'incorporation. Après une saison de croissance, le seigle est sujet à l'infestation par les nématodes radicicoles, alors que le seigle couvre-sol ne diffère pas du blé.

Radis oléagineux

Le radis oléagineux est généralement semé en août ou au début septembre. Il n'est pas touché par les premières gelées, peut pousser jusqu'à une hauteur de 50 à 90 cm et fleurir en octobre. La plante a une racine pivotante trapue, de forme intermédiaire entre celle de la carotte et du navet. Il est tué par les gelées plus froides de la fin novembre et de décembre. Le radis oléagineux procure une culture-abri dans des délais raisonnablement courts, ainsi qu'une excellente protection contre l'érosion durant l'hiver, tout en rendant au sol des niveaux modérés de matière organique. Pour une bonne croissance, ce type de culture a des besoins en azote assez élevés, soit sous forme d'engrais ou de fumier résiduel d'une culture précédente. Certaines variétés de radis oléagineux relâchent des composés toxiques pour les nématodes, mais seulement lorsque de grandes quantités sont incorporées encore verts dans le sol.

La croissance sera médiocre si les niveaux d'azote dans le sol sont bas, ou si le degré de compaction est fort. Des repousses spontanées peuvent réapparaître dans des cultures suivantes.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les cultures-abri, consulter la publication du MAAARO #811F, Guide agronomique des grandes cultures, ou la section sur les cultures-abri de leur site Web.

Fertilité et pH du so

l La façon la plus fiable de déterminer la fertilité et les besoins en chaux (hydroxyde de calcium) pour les fraises et les framboises est de faire analyser un échantillon de sol l'année qui précède la plantation, et ce au plus tard à l'automne.

Lorsque du fumier a été ajouté, il est également recommandé de prélever un échantillon de sol, puisque le fumier fournit une variété de nutriants, en particulier du phosphore et du potassium. La publication #360F, Guide de la culture fruitière, comprend des tableaux qui indiquent comment rectifier les engrais lorsque du fumier a été appliqué.

La plupart des engrais nécessaires peuvent être appliqués juste avant la plantation. Le taux d'engrais azoté recommandé à ce moment-là est de 50 kg/ha en azote. Les engrais azotés ne doivent pas être appliqués à l'automne puisqu'ils risquent de se perdre par lessivage. Si du phosphore est requis, l'incorporer dans le sol à une profondeur d'au moins 20 cm. Le phosphore ne se déplace pas aisément dans le sol, et il doit être adéquatement incorporé pour assurer sa disponibilité pour les plantes.

Les niveaux de magnésium (Mg) devraient se situer entre 40 et 100 ppm lors des analyses de sol. Si la teneur en Mg se situe en dessous de ces valeurs, les rendements risquent d'en souffrir puisque le Mg est essentiel à la chlorophylle, qui a pour fonction de procurer la nourriture à la plante. Si un niveau de Mg inférieur 40 ppm s'accompagne d'un pH plus bas que 6,5, ajouter du calcaire dolomitique (qui contient entre 11 et 22 % de Mg). Si le niveau est sous les 30 ppm et que le pH est supérieur à 6,5, appliquer 30 kg/ha de Mg soluble au sol, comme on le ferait pour de la potasse. Plusieurs champs ont des niveaux de potasse trop élevés. En présence d'un excès de potasse, les plantes ne pourront absorber assez de Mg, même si les niveaux du sol en Mg sont en apparence adéquats. Ajouter du Mg si les niveaux sont de 31 à 39 ppm, et s'assurer que les niveaux en potasse dépassent les 250 ppm.

Le manganèse et le zinc font partie des éléments pour lesquels des tests de sol sont approuvés par le MAAARO. Les résultats inscrits sur le rapport d'analyse seront exprimés en ppm ainsi que sous la forme d'un indice, qui tient compte du pH du sol afin de mieux rendre compte de la disponibilité du nutriant. Si l'un ou l'autre de ces micronutriants se situe sous les 8 ppm, la culture pourrait se retrouver en situation de carence. Ces nutriants ne sont pas ajoutés directement au sol, mais peuvent être vaporisés sur les feuilles si celles-ci montrent des signes de carence.

Le pH optimal pour les framboises et les fraises est légèrement acide (entre 6,0 et 6,5). En Ontario, dans le cas des sols à texture grossière ou moyenne, si le niveau d'acidité est inférieur à pH 6,1, il est recommandé d'ajouter de la chaux. Pour les sols à texture fine par contre, de la chaux ne sera ajoutée que si le pH descend jusqu'à 5,6. Un pH bas réduit la disponibilité du calcium et de Mg pour la plante, et possiblement aussi celle du phosphore. Si les niveaux de Mg sont bas, il est possible de les rectifier avec de la chaux dolomitique ou avec de la chaux calcitique. Appliquer la chaux à l'automne, préférablement l'année précédant celle de la plantation, pour donner le temps aux changements chimiques de s'opérer dans le sol.

D'un point de vue économique, il ne vaut habituellement pas la peine de rabaisser un pH du sol trop élevé en y ajoutant du soufre. Les cultures pousseront généralement assez bien à un pH élevé. Plusieurs micronutriants tels que le fer peuvent cependant devenir limitatifs à pH élevé. Ces carences sont en pratique corrigées par vaporisation sur les feuilles.

Drainage des sols

Les fraises et les framboises ne supportent pas les sols mal drainés. Pour une production optimale, il importe d'éviter que les racines se retrouvent dans l'eau, même pour de courts délais. Un drainage presque parfait est donc requis. Les racines en croissance rapide suffoqueront et mourront en moins de 24 heures d'immersion. De plus, les conditions humides favorisent les maladies transmises par le sol. Les fraisiers peuvent être endommagés sérieusement par la pourriture noire des racines (pourridié noir) ou par la stèle rouge. Les fraisiers sont également sujets à la phytophthoriose des racines. Pour des conseils sur le drainage, consulter un entrepreneur en drainage.

Compaction du sol

Un sol trop compact peut nuire considérablement à la productivité d'une culture de baies. Une croûte de sol dense nuit à l'infiltration de l'eau dans le sol, ce qui compromet le drainage. Le développement des racines peut aussi être affecté. Pour briser la croûte, procéder à un sous-solage du champ avant la plantation. La profondeur du sous-solage ne doit pas dépasser de plus que quelques cm la zone compactée; un labourage plus profond entraîne en effet des dépenses inutiles en énergie et s'accompagne d'un risque de compaction du sol sous-jacent. Le meilleur moment pour procéder au sous-solage est lorsque le sol est sec (p. ex., au mois d'août) et que la croûte est friable. Un sous-solage effectué alors que le sol est trop humide ne permettra pas une aussi bonne rupture de la croûte. Une culture couvre-sol devrait être implantée à la suite du sous-solage, pour que des racines stabilisent les fissures créées. Il faut dans la mesure du possible minimiser les opérations et le travail du sol pour éviter un retour de la couche compacte du sol.

Organismes nuisibles des sols

Un aspect final à considérer lors de la préparation du sol est le contrôle des organismes nuisibles tels que les mauvaises herbes, les insectes et les maladies.

Mauvaises herbes

Le principal souci en ce qui a trait aux mauvaises herbes est la présence d'herbes pérennes telles que le chiendent, le chardon des champs, le liseron etc. Si ces mauvaises herbes ne sont pas contrôlées avant la plantation, elles constitueront un réel problème et réduiront la durée de vie des plants cultivés.

Une façon de réduire les mauvaises herbes pérennes consiste à cultiver intensément les terres mises en jachère lors de la saison précédant celle de la plantation. Par contre, cette approche est coûteuse et réduit considérablement la teneur en matières organiques. L'utilisation d'herbicides représente une approche plus directe pour éradiquer les mauvaises herbes.

La mauvaise herbe la plus nuisible est probablement le chiendent. Une approche pour le contrôle du chiendent est d'appliquer du glyphosate au printemps précédant la plantation, quand l'herbe mesure au moins 8 pouces de haut et possède 3 ou 4 feuilles. Si le champ n'a pas été labouré à l'automne, l'application la plus précoce peut être faite entre le 15 et le 20 mai, de manière à ce qu'il y ait suffisamment de feuilles pour assurer un transfert de l'herbicide vers les racines et une élimination de la plante. Si le champ a été labouré à l'automne, une application au début du printemps n'est pas conseillée puisque l'émergence sporadique de nouvelles pousses de chiendent est à prévoir. Pour les champs en jachère, faire deux applications : une en mai et une en septembre. Pour une infestation majeure, utiliser la plus haute dose indiquée sur l'étiquette du produit.

Pour les mauvaises herbes pérennes à larges feuilles, choisir un herbicide approprié à la culture couvre-sol. En absence de culture couvre-sol, un herbicide à large spectre tel que le glyphosate peut être utilisé. Le choix du moment de l'application des herbicides est abordé dans la publication #75 du MAAARO, Guide de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes.

Dans certains cas, il est avantageux de faire la rotation avec une culture en rangs et de mettre en place un programme vigoureux de traitement aux herbicides. Peu importe la stratégie choisie, il est impératif d'éviter les herbicides dont les résidus peuvent endommager les plants de baies.

Insectes

Les vers blancs et les vers fil-de-fer sont deux parasites qui se transmettent par le sol et se retrouvent fréquemment dans le gazon précultivé (gazon en plaques) et dans les cultures de pâture. Les cultures de baies ne devraient pas être plantées dans les deux ans suivant tout type de gazon précultivé. Une culture en rangs telle que le maïs ou la citrouille peut être cultivée au moins un an avant la plantation des baies pour réduire l'incidence des vers blancs, des vers fil-de-fer et autres insectes du sol.

Maladies et nématodes

La rotation des cultures est importante pour éviter l'accumulation de certaines maladies. Les fraisiers ou les framboisiers ne devraient jamais être plantés les uns à la suite des autres. Pythium et Rhizoctonia sont connus pour s'accumuler dans les plantations de fraisiers. La principale maladie transmise par le sol chez les fraisiers et les framboisiers est la flétrissure verticillienne. En plus d'infecter les fraisiers et les framboisiers, le champignon Verticillium est aussi responsable de la flétrissure chez les solanacées telles que la tomate, la pomme de terre, le poivron et l'aubergine. Pour cette raison, il faut éviter de planter des fraisiers ou des framboisiers immédiatement après ces cultures (attendre idéalement jusqu'à 4 ans). De façon analogue, le chénopode blanc, l'amarante et la morelle sont également des hôtes de Verticillium, et il faut donc surveiller la présence de ces herbes.

Les nématodes sont des parasites transportés par le sol, qui s'attaquent tant aux fraisiers qu'aux framboisiers. Ce sont des vers dont la forme rappelle les anguilles, qui sont invisibles à l'œil nu mais sont facilement identifiables au microscope. Ils peuvent représenter un problème dans les sols sableux, mais généralement pas sur des sols à texture fine (plus denses). La quantité de nématodes est évaluée par des analyses de sol. S'ils sont trop nombreux, la fumigation est un mode d'éradication efficace. Certaines cultures couvre-sol, telles que le millet perlé, les moutardes fortes et les soucis combattent les nématodes. En revanche, les cultures de légumineuses avantagent ces parasites.

En résumé, la production optimale pour toute la durée de vie d'une culture de fraises ou de framboises requiert une bonne préparation du sol avant la plantation. Ceci comprend la rectification du contenu en matière organique, de la fertilité du sol et du pH, ainsi qu'un bon drainage et le contrôle des parasites tels que les mauvaises herbes, les insectes et les maladies.

Adapté d'une présentation de Frank Louws, Ontario Horticultural Crops Conference (Congrès sur les cultures horticoles de l'Ontario), 1989. Texte révisé en août 1998, en mars 2009 et en avril 2013.


Auteur : Pam Fisher - spécialiste des cultures de petits fruits/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 avril 2013
Dernière révision : 22 septembre 2015

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca