Scale Insects

Excerpt from Publication 310, Integrated Pest Management for Apples,
Order this Publication

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. San Jose scale
  3. European fruit scale
  4. Oystershell scale

Introduction

Scale insects were serious pests of apples in Ontario, and are now less common with the introduction of dwarf rootstocks, pest monitoring and improved spray technology. Numerous scale species exist in Ontario including San Jose scale, Quadraspidiotus perniciosus (Comstock), European fruit scale, Quadraspidiotus ostreaeformis (Curtis), oystershell scale, Lepidosaphes ulmi (Linn.) and other minor scale species.
San Jose scale is the most serious scale pest in Ontario, with less injury observed by European fruit scale. San Jose scale causes direct injury to the fruit and/or injures the host tree by sap feeding - reducing tree vigour and possibly causing death of limbs. Host plants of San Jose scale include apple, pear, quince, plum, apricot, sweet cherries, currants, gooseberries and numerous woody ornamentals.

San Jose scale

San Jose scale, Quadraspidiotus perniciosus (Comstock), is the most common scale seen in orchards, and recently became more of a problem, perhaps due to reduced spray programs.

Description

Females give birth to living young, and do not lay eggs. Crawlers are small, orange-yellow in colour and oval shaped. They have six legs and one pair of antennae. Adult females are nearly round and located beneath a waxy scale covering (about 1.6 mm in diameter) with a raised nipple in the centre of the covering (Figure 4-7). They remain under their scale coverings their entire lives. Adult males are small winged insects about 1 mm in length, and golden brown in colour. Males emerge in flights from beneath elongate scale covers once they have matured. Male flight usually occurs during apple bloom, with a series of three overlapping summer flights from mid summer through fall.
Figure 1. Female scale

Figure 4-7. Female scale (Alan Eaton, University of New Hampshire Coop. Extension)

Biology

San Jose scale overwinters on the tree as immature scales. They remain dormant on the bark until tree sap starts moving in the spring, and are full grown by late May. Active males (small winged insects) emerge from their scales and seek females for mating. Females are immobile and remain under scales throughout their lives. After mating, females begin to produce living young, usually at the rate of 9-10 per day. They reproduce for six weeks and bear from 150-500 offspring (crawlers). Crawlers have six legs and two antennae, and most crawl within 1 m of the parent female in the first few hours of life. Crawlers move to find a suitable place to develop (bark or fruit), and then insert their mouthpart through the bark and begin to feed on sap. Three weeks later they molt and shed their skin. Scales are attached to bark by their sucking mouthparts. As the insects continue to grow, they build a waxy shell around them that protects from dessication, predators and pesticides. Females develop through two nymphal instars to the adult, while males develop through four instars. Scale populations increase rapidly in hot dry weather, and females produce more than 300 million offspring each year. There are two full generations each year. Crawlers spread through orchards by wind, birds' feet, workers' clothing and on farm equipment.

Damage

Heavy infestations of scale insects - particularly on young trees - seriously reduce tree vigour, growth and productivity. Severe infestations can kill whole limbs. Scale is found on limbs (Figure 4-8) or fruit (Figure 4-9). Confirm San Jose scale injury by cutting away bark to reveal a reddish discolouration. San Jose scale feeds on host plant sap. Heavy infestations of scale kill young trees in two to three years. Older trees are more resilient, but can also be killed by severe infestations.

Figure 4-8. San Jose scale on limb

Figure 4-8. San Jose scale on limb (Alan Eaton, University of New Hampshire Coop. Extension)

Figure 4-9. San Jose scale on fruit

Figure 4-9. San Jose scale on fruit

San Jose scale feeding on fruit is most abundant around the blossom and stem ends of fruit, often resulting in small gray patches on apples, surrounded by a small red inflamed area. Fruit with more than two blotches is generally graded out by packers. Some packers accept no scale damage to fruit (zero tolerance), especially for export markets. Early season severe infestations may result in small deformed fruit.

Monitoring and threshold

Monitor fruit at harvest for scale. There are no thresholds for scale insects on apple. In most cases, any fruit injury at harvest warrants corrective measures the following spring. Use black electrical tape (with adhesive side out) around the scaffold limbs of trees, in areas with known infestations, to detect crawler activity. Place bands in trees by mid June for 7-10 days after petal fall and replace every two to three weeks throughout the season. Crawlers yellow bodies will be caught on the tape. Other areas (Michigan) use pheromone traps to time sprays for San Jose scale.

Management

Successful scale insect control starts with prevention. Carefully examine all nursery trees prior to actual planting. If scale insects are present, discard trees or exchange for clean trees. Plant new orchards away from hardwood stands and from older plantings where scale has been a problem.

For established orchards with a history of scale problems, use Superior oil before the tree breaks dormancy when scales have only a thin wax covering. Delaying application until green tissue is present often results in poor scale control, because scales have produced a larger protective wax coating making complete coverage of the insect more difficult. Insecticides have recently been registered to manage crawlers in the orchard. Researchers in the United States apply insecticides when crawlers are active (based on monitoring) in mid June and mid August. For more information on the timing of products for managing scale, see OMAFRA Publication 360, Fruit Production Recommendations.

European fruit scale

European fruit scale, Quadraspidiotus ostreaformis (Curtis), is an occasional pest in Ontario orchards.

Description

Crawlers (nymphs) are bright yellow with long antennae. Females are immobile and covered with a circular waxy coating that is elevated at the centre. Adult males are brownish red with an elongated abdomen, long antennae and wings.

Biology

Mated and fertilized females overwinter as immature scales on twigs (Figure 4-10). Overwintering young begin to develop in adult females - located beneath thick waxy scale coverings - in May and June. Females give birth to live young. Crawlers move to the undersides of leaves, twigs and scaffold limbs to settle and feed. Wood older than three years is usually too thick for insect mouthparts to penetrate. Winged males appear in August, and die after mating with females. European fruit scale has a limited host range and infests primarily Malus (apple) spp., Pyrus (pear) spp. and Prunus (tender fruit) spp. There is one generation of this pest each year.

Figure 4-10. European fruit scale on limb

Figure 4-10. European fruit scale on limb (BC Ministry of Agriculture and Lands)

Damage

Scales suck sap from leaves and twigs in July and August. Young scales produce a large quantity of honeydew - a clear, sweet liquid serving as a medium for fungal growth. Scale causes round spots on bark and weakens trees. Scale appears as spots encircled by a red halo on leaves and fruit (Figure 4-11).

Figure 4-11. European fruit scale on fruit

Figure 4-11. European fruit scale on fruit (BC Ministry of Agriculture and Lands)

Monitoring and threshold

Use electrical tape to monitor for crawlers (refer to San Jose scale monitoring).

Management

Refer to San Jose scale management.

Oystershell scale

Oystershell scale, Lepidosaphes ulmi (Linn.), affects fruit in most apple-growing provinces and states in eastern North America.

Description

Eggs are elliptical, and young nymphs are very small, six-legged and white in colour. Males are small winged insects. Females are about 0.7 mm long, cream-white in colour, and lack legs and antennae. There is one generation of oystershell scale each season.

Biology

Scales overwinter as fertilized females with 40-150 egg masses under their scale. Eggs hatch in late spring, approximately two to three weeks after bloom, and young crawlers emerge. Crawlers are small white with six legs, moving to an appropriate site where to begin feeding. After a few hours of feeding, the scale begins to form. Mating occurs and females die shortly after they lay their last eggs.

Damage

Oystershell scale feeding weakens the plant and damage can also be found on the fruit (Figure 4-12).
Figure 4-12. Oystershell scale on fruit

Figure 4-12. Oystershell scale on fruit

Monitoring and threshold

Use electrical tape to monitor for crawlers, refer to San Jose scale monitoring.

Management

Refer to San Jose scale management.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 21 July 2011
Last Reviewed: 21 July 2011

Cochenilles

Extrait du Publication 310F, Lutte intégrée contre les ennemis du pommier,
Pour commander la publication

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Cochenille de San José
  3. Cochenille ostréiforme
  4. Cochenille virgule

Introduction

Les cochenilles, qui représentaient naguère une menace sérieuse pour la production pomicole en Ontario, sont désormais mieux maîtrisées grâce à l'introduction de porte-greffes nains, de programmes de surveillance des organismes nuisibles et de méthodes de pulvérisation plus efficaces. De nombreuses espèces de cochenilles sont présentes en Ontario, notamment la cochenille de San José, Quadraspidiotus perniciosus (Comstock), la cochenille ostréiforme, Quadraspidiotus ostreaeformis (Curtis), la cochenille virgule du pommier, Lepidosaphes ulmi (Linn.) et d'autres espèces moins importantes.

La cochenille de San José est l'espèce la plus nuisible en Ontario, la cochenille ostréiforme venant au deuxième rang quant aux dommages infligés aux cultures. La cochenille de San José cause des dommages directs aux fruits et/ou nuit aux arbres en s'abreuvant de leur sève, ce qui a pour effet de réduire la vitalité de l'arbre et de provoquer la mort éventuelle d'un certain nombre de branches. Les cultures attaquées par la cochenille de San José comprennent les pommiers, les poiriers, les cognassiers, les pruniers, les abricotiers, les cerisiers à fruits doux, les groseilliers, les groseilliers à maquereau et de nombreuses plantes ornementales ligneuses.

Cochenille de San José

La cochenille de San José, Quadraspidiotus perniciosus (Comstock), est l'espèce de cochenille la plus répandue dans les vergers. Ses effets nuisibles se sont amplifiés ces dernières années, peut-être en raison d'une réduction des programmes de pulvérisation d'insecticides.

Description

L'espèce est vivipare (les femelles ne pondent pas d'œufs). Les larves mobiles sont petites, de forme ovale et de couleur jaune-orange; elles ont six pattes et une paire d'antennes. Les femelles adultes sont presque rondes et s'abritent sous un bouclier cireux (d'environ 1,6 mm de diamètre) portant au centre un ombilic en relief (figure 4-7). Elles demeurent sous leur bouclier leur vie entière. Les adultes mâles sont de petits insectes ailés d'environ 1 mm de longueur, de couleur brun-or. Une fois parvenus à maturité, ils émergent en groupe des boucliers allongés qui les recouvrent et partent en vol. Le vol initial survient généralement à l'époque de la pleine floraison, suivi de trois vols d'été qui se chevauchent à partir du milieu de l'été jusqu'à l'automne.

Figure 4-7. Cochenille femelle

Figure 4-7. Cochenille femelle (Alan Eaton, University of New Hampshire Coop. Extension).

Cycle biologique

La cochenille de San José passe l'hiver sur le pommier, sous la forme d'un individu immature qui reste en dormance sur l'écorce jusqu'à ce que la sève se mette à monter, au printemps; elle atteint sa pleine maturité à la fin mai. Les mâles actifs (devenus alors de petits insectes ailés) émergent de leur bouclier protecteur et partent à la recherche des femelles pour s'accoupler. Les femelles sont immobiles et séjournent sous leur bouclier leur vie durant. Après l'accouplement, les femelles commencent à donner naissance à des petits vivants, généralement au rythme de 9 à 10 par jour. La mise bas dure six semaines, chaque femelle pouvant produire de 150 à 500 larves mobiles. Celles-ci ont six pattes et deux antennes. Dans leurs premières heures de vie, la plupart s'éloignent de leur mère dans un rayon de 1 m. Elles se déplacent ensuite jusqu'à ce qu'elles trouvent un bon endroit (écorce ou fruit) pour se développer, y enfoncent leurs pièces buccales et commencent à se nourrir de la sève. Trois semaines plus tard, elles muent et se débarrassent de leur vieille peau. Elles sont fixées à l'écorce par leurs pièces buccales. Tandis que l'insecte grandit, il se dote d'une coquille cireuse qui le protège de la sécheresse, des prédateurs et des matières toxiques. Avant de parvenir au stade adulte, les femelles et les mâles passent respectivement par deux et par quatre stades nymphaux. Les populations de cochenilles se multiplient rapidement par temps très chaud et sec, les femelles produisant plus de 300 millions de petits chaque année. L'espèce connaît deux générations complètes chaque année. Les larves se dispersent dans les vergers en se laissant porter par le vent ou en se fixant aux pieds des oiseaux, aux vêtements des travailleurs ou à la machinerie agricole.

Dommages

Les infestations importantes de cochenilles - particulièrement sur de jeunes pommiers - affectent sérieusement la vitalité, la croissance et la productivité des arbres. Les infestations graves peuvent étouffer des branches entières. Les insectes se fixent aux branches (figure 4-8) ou aux fruits (figure 4-9). Pour savoir s'ils sont présents sur une branche, il suffit d'en enlever l'écorce : on verra alors apparaître (le cas échéant) des taches rougeâtres. L'insecte se nourrit de la sève de son hôte. L'infestation massive d'un jeune arbre peut le tuer en deux ou trois ans. Les arbres plus vieux résistent mieux, mais peuvent aussi succomber à une infestation d'envergure.
Figure 4-8. Cochenilles de San José sur une branche

Figure 4-8. Cochenilles de San José sur une branche (Alan Eaton, University of New Hampshire Coop. Extension).
Figure 4-9. Cochenilles de San José sur un fruit

Figure 4-9. Cochenilles de San José sur un fruit.

Les attaques de la cochenille de San José sur les pommes se concentrent autour de la cuvette pédonculaire et de l'extrémité apicale et se traduisent souvent par l'apparition de petites taches grises sur la pomme, entourées d'une mince zone enflammée et rougeâtre. Les fruits qui comportent plus de deux taches sont généralement déclassés par les entreprises de conditionnement. Certaines entreprises n'acceptent aucune tache sur les fruits (tolérance zéro), en particulier si ceux-ci sont destinés à l'exportation. Des infestations graves en début de saison végétative peuvent donner de petits fruits déformés.

Surveillance et seuil d'intervention

Il faut examiner soigneusement les fruits au moment de la cueillette, à la recherche de cochenilles. Il n'existe pas de seuil d'intervention en cas de présence de cochenilles sur les fruits. En règle générale, la présence de lésions sur les fruits à la cueillette justifiera l'application de mesures de correction au printemps qui suit. Dans les parcelles infestées, on posera du ruban noir électrique sur les branches charpentières des arbres (l'adhésif tourné vers l'extérieur) de manière à pouvoir suivre l'activité des larves. Les rubans doivent être installés à la mi-juin pour une période de sept à dix jours après le stade calice; on les remplacera ensuite toutes les deux à trois semaines, jusqu'à la fin de la saison. On pourra ainsi constater la présence de larves jaunes engluées sur le ruban. Dans certaines régions (Michigan), on utilise des pièges aux phéromones pour déterminer les moments les plus propices pour les pulvérisations contre la cochenille de San José.

Lutte

Toute lutte efficace contre la cochenille commence par la prévention. Ainsi, on examinera soigneusement les arbres provenant des pépinières et on jettera les arbres infestés ou on les échangera pour des arbres sains. Les nouvelles parcelles de cultures fruitières seront implantées loin des peuplements de feuillus ou des anciennes plantations d'arbres fruitiers où la cochenille a posé problème.
Dans les vergers en exploitation ayant connu des épisodes d'infestation par la cochenille, appliquer de l'huile Superior avant que les arbres ne sortent de leur dormance, au moment où les insectes n'ont qu'une mince coquille de cire pour les protéger. Une application tardive, après l'apparition des tissus verts sur l'arbre, réduit souvent l'efficacité de la lutte contre la cochenille parce que celle-ci aura eu le temps de secréter un épais bouclier de cire qui la rend moins vulnérable aux insecticides. Des insecticides ont récemment été homologués pour lutter contre les infestations de larves mobiles dans les vergers. Les chercheurs américains appliquent les insecticides au moment où les larves sont actives (ainsi que le révèlent les relevés de surveillance), à la mi-juin et à la mi-août. Pour plus d'information sur le calendrier d'application des insecticides contre les cochenilles, consulter la publication 360F du MAAARO, Recommandations pour les cultures fruitières.

Cochenille ostréiforme

La cochenille ostréiforme, Quadraspidiotus ostreaformis (Curtis), est un ravageur occasionnel des vergers de l'Ontario.

Description

Les larves mobiles (nymphes) de la cochenille ostréiforme sont d'un jaune éclatant et possèdent deux longues antennes. Les femelles sont immobiles et sont dotées d'un bouclier circulaire cireux comportant une élévation en son centre. Les mâles adultes sont de couleur rouge brunâtre et possèdent un abdomen allongé, de longues antennes et des ailes.

Cycle biologique

Les femelles, accouplées et fécondées hivernent à un stade immature sur des rameaux (figure 4-10). Les jeunes femelles hivernantes commencent leur évolution vers la maturité - protégées par un épais bouclier de cire - en mai et en juin. Elles donnent naissance à des jeunes vivants. Les larves mobiles se déplacent vers le revers des feuilles et sur les rameaux et les branches charpentières des arbres pour s'y fixer et se nourrir. Le bois des arbres de plus de trois ans est généralement trop épais pour être percé par les pièces buccales de l'insecte. Les mâles, dotés d'ailes, apparaissent en août et meurent après s'être accouplés avec les femelles. La cochenille ostréiforme a un éventail d'hôtes relativement limité. Elle s'attaque surtout aux cultures suivantes : Malus spp. (pommiers), Pyrus spp. (poiriers) et Prunus spp (arbres à fruits à chair tendre). On compte une génération par année.

Figure 4-10. Cochenille ostréiforme sur une branche

Figure 4-10. Cochenille ostréiforme sur une branche (ministère de l'Agriculture et des Terres de la C.-B.).

Dommages

La cochenille s'alimente en aspirant la sève des feuilles et des rameaux tout au long des mois de juillet et d'août. Les jeunes insectes produisent de grandes quantités de miellat - un liquide clair et sucré à l'origine de proliférations fongiques indésirables. En parasitant l'arbre, la cochenille l'affaiblit et produit des taches rondes sur l'écorce. Sa présence est signalée par des taches entourées d'une aréole rouge sur les feuilles et les fruits (figure 4-11).

Figure 4-11. Cochenille ostréiforme sur un fruit

Figure 4-11. Cochenille ostréiforme sur un fruit (ministère de l'Agriculture et des Terres de la C.-B.).

Surveillance et seuil d'intervention

Utiliser du ruban électrique noir pour piéger les larves mobiles et suivre leurs déplacements (voir la même rubrique sous Cochenille de San José.

Lutte

Voir la même rubrique sous Cochenille de San José.

Cochenille virgule

La cochenille virgule, Lepidosaphes ulmi (Linn.), s'attaque aux fruits des pommiers dans la plupart des provinces et États où l'on pratique cette culture, partout dans l'est de l'Amérique du Nord.

Description

Les œufs sont elliptiques et les jeunes nymphes sont très petites, blanches et pourvues de six pattes. Les mâles sont de petits insectes ailés. Les femelles ont environ 0,7 mm de longueur, sont de couleur blanc crème et n'ont ni pattes ni antennes. On compte une génération par saison végétative.

Cycle biologique

La cochenille virgule hiverne sous la forme de femelle fécondée portant des amas de 40 à 150 œufs sous son bouclier. Les œufs éclosent à la fin du printemps, environ deux ou trois semaines après la pleine floraison; les jeunes larves mobiles sortent alors de leur lieu d'hivernage. Ces larves à six pattes, blanches et petites, migrent vers un site où elles pourront commencer à se nourrir. Après s'être alimentée pendant quelques heures, la cochenille commence à prendre sa forme adulte. L'accouplement a lieu et les femelles meurent peu de temps après avoir terminé leur ponte.

Dommages

Les prélèvements de sève effectués par la cochenille virgule affaiblissent l'arbre et peuvent aussi endommager le fruit (figure 4-12).
Figure 4-12. Cochenille virgule sur un fruit.

Figure 4-12. Cochenille virgule sur un fruit.

Surveillance et seuil d'intervention

Utiliser du ruban électrique noir pour piéger les larves mobiles et suivre leurs déplacements (voir la même rubrique sous Cochenille de San José).

Lutte

Voir la même rubrique sous Cochenille de San José.

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 21 juillet 2011
Dernière révision : 21 juilllet 2011

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca