Ontario Weeds: Yellow nutsedge

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. For more information...

Name: Yellow nut sedge, Cyperus esculentus L.,

Other Names: CYPES, souchet comestible, Chufa, Earth almond, Ground almond, Northern nut-grass, Nut-grass, Rushnut, Yellow nut-grass, amande de terre, souchet rampant.

Family: Sedge Family (Cyperaceae)

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by underground stems (rhizomes) and tubers. It is easily distinguished from all grasses by its triangular stem together with slender, tuber-bearing rhizomes. Several other species of nut sedge also occur in Ontario but this is the most troublesome one and the most likely to occur in cultivated land.

Photos and Pictures

Yellow nut sedge.

Yellow nut sedge.

Yellow nut sedge.
Yellow nut sedge.

Stem and leaf-base characteristics of a typical sedge. A. Side view of triangular stem with 3-ranked arrangement of leaves. B. Top view of "A".
Stem and leaf-base characteristics of a typical sedge. A. Side view of triangular stem with 3-ranked arrangement of leaves. B. Top view of "A".

Stems & Roots: The underground system is a mixture of long, thin, wiry rhizomes 5 - 20 cm (2 - 8 in.) long or longer, and a mass of fine fibrous roots. Rhizomes are light brown to whitish, have nodes and internodes with short, dark brown, dry scale-like sheaths; tubers produced at the tips of some rhizomes, dark brown, somewhat spindled-shaped, 5 - 20 mm (1/5 - 4/5 in.) long and usually narrower, edible with a taste somewhat suggestive of almonds; stems 10 - 90 cm (4 in. - 3 ft) high, distinctly triangular in cross-section and usually less than 1 cm (2/5 in.) thick; leaves numerous at the base of the plant and sparse up the stem except for a cluster of usually 3 to 5 at the base of the inflorescence; leaf arrangement alternate and 3-ranked, that is, the leaves pointing outwards in 3 directions from the stem; leaf sheath closed forming a 3-sided cylinder around the stem; leaf blades grass-like, long (often longer than the stem) and narrow, 3 - 10 mm (1/8 - 2/5 in.) wide, flat or somewhat folded, light green to yellowish-green; no ligule and no auricles.

Flowers & Fruit: Inflorescence an umbrella-like cluster of yellowish to brownish branches at the tip of the stem; spikelets (containing the seeds) very small and closely arranged along slender secondary branches. Flowers from July to August.

Habitat: Yellow nut sedge is native on moist, sandy soils throughout much of North America. It is common in Southern Ontario, frequently infesting moist areas of cultivated fields, pastures, roadsides, gardens and lawns.

 

For more information...

... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds

... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

...on weeds in field crops, contact Mike Cowbrough (mike.cowbrough@ontario.ca), Weed Management Specialist (Field Crops), OMAFRA
...on weeds in horticultural crops, contact Kristen Callow (kristen.callow@ontario.ca), Weed Management Specialist (Hort Crops), OMAFRA

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author:
Creation Date:
Last Reviewed:

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Souchet comestible

Nom : Souchet comestible, Cyperus esculentus L.,

Autres noms : CYPES, yellow nut sedge, amande de terre, souchet rampant, souchet-sultan, souchet traçant, trasi, chufa, earth almond, northern nut-grass, nut-grass, rushnut, yellow nut-grass.

Famille : Famille des cypéracées - Souchet

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant à partir de graines, de tiges souterraines (rhizomes) et de tubercules. Il se distingue facilement des Graminées par sa tige triangulaire et ses rhizomes minces portant des tubercules (c). Il y a en Ontario plusieurs autres variétés de souchet, mais le souchet comestible est le plus nuisible et le plus répandu dans les terres cultivées.

|

Photos et illustrations

ouchet comestible. A. Champ infesté B. Plante entière
Figure 25. Souchet comestible. A. Champ infesté B. Plante entière

Souchet comestible.
Souchet comestible.

Souchet comestible
Souchet comestible.

Tige et base de feuille caractéristiques des Cypéracées. A. Vue latérale de la tige triangulaire et de la disposition des feuilles sur trois plans. B. Coupe transversale de la tige.


Tige et base de feuille caractéristiques des Cypéracées. A. Vue latérale de la tige triangulaire et de la disposition des feuilles sur trois plans. B. Coupe transversale de la tige.

Tiges et rhizomes: Le réseau souterrain se compose de longs rhizomes minces et drus de 5 à 20 m (2-8 po) de longueur ou plus, et d'un ensemble de fines racines fibreuses. Rhizomes, brun clair ou blanchâtres, ponctués de noeuds (a) et d'entrenoeuds (b) couverts de courtes gaines brun foncé écailleuses et sèches; tubercules (c) brun foncé, plus ou moins fuselés, de 5 à 20 mm (1/5-4/5 po) de longueur et habituellement étroits et comestibles à goût d'amande, produits à l'extrémité de certains rhizomes; tiges hautes de 10 à 90 cm (4 po-3 pi), triangulaires en coupe transversale (fig. 25 A, B) et ayant moins de 1 cm (2/5 po) d'épaisseur; feuilles nombreuses à la base, plus rares le long de la tige, sauf pour un groupe de 3 à 5 feuilles sous l'inflorescence, et s'orientant dans trois directions différentes (fig. 25 A, B); gaine foliaire fermée, embrassant la tige triangulaire; limbe semblable à celui des Graminées, long (souvent plus long que la tige) et étroit, de 3 à 10 mm (1/8-2/5 po) de largeur, plat ou plus ou moins plissé, vert pâle ou vert jaunâtre; pas de ligule; pas d'oreillettes;

Fleurs et fruits : pour inflorescence, une touffe de rameaux jaunâtres ou brunâtres en forme de parapluie renversé à l'extrémité de la tige; épillets (contenant les graines) très petits et rapprochés sur de minces rameaux secondaires (d). Floraison en juillet et en août.

Habitat : Le souchet comestible est une plante indigène que l'on trouve dans les sols sablonneux humides, presque partout en Amérique du Nord. Il est répandu dans le sud de l'Ontario où il infeste souvent les zones humides des champs cultivés, des pâturages, des bords de route, des jardins et des pelouses.

| Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 2000
Dernière révision : 12 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca