Ontario Weeds: Yellow avens

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. For more information...

Name: Yellow avens, Geum aleppicum Jacq. var. strictum (Ait.) Fern.,

Other Names: Benoîte stricte, Burs, benoîte d'Alep

Family: Rose Family (Rosaceae

General Description: Perennial, reproducing only by seed. It is distinguished in the rosette stage by longstalked, pinnately compound leaves, each with a large terminal leaflet and irregularly sized and shaped lateral leaflets; and in the flowering and fruiting stages, by its variable leaves, its deep yellow to orange-yellow flowers and the brown spherical, burlike clusters of seeds, each with a long hooked beak that will cling to skin and clothing.

Photos and Pictures

Yellow avens.

Yellow avens.

Yellow avens.

Yellow avens.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, to 1 m (40 in.) high, frequently branched above. Leaves very variable, rosette leaves long-stalked, pinnately compound with a large terminal leaflet and a mixture of large and small leaflets along each side of the central stalk (rachis), leaflets coarsely toothed, hairy and green on both surfaces; stem leaves alternate (1 per node), similar but with shorter stalks, especially towards the top of the stem and each with a pair of green leaflet-like stipules where the leafstalk joins the stem; upper leaves stalkless, sometimes just shallowly toothed or lobed without being divided into leaflets.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers few in widely branching inflorescences, 1 - 2 cm (2/5 - 4/5 in.) across, with 5 deep yellow to orange-yellow petals, 5 smaller sepals, numerous stamens and pistils in a dense central cluster; at maturity each flower stalk lengthening and the cluster of pistils enlarging into a nearly spherical brown to dark brown head or bur about 2 cm (4/5 in.) in diameter; each single-seeded pistil (now a fruit or "seed") in the mature bur has a sharply hooked tip which clings to fur, clothes and skin. Flowers from early June to late summer, and the burs persist into late fall or winter.

Habitat: Yellow avens occurs throughout Ontario in meadows, open woods, pastures, waste areas and roadsides, but is rarely found in cultivated land.

For more information...

... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds

... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

...on weeds in field crops, contact Mike Cowbrough (mike.cowbrough@ontario.ca), Weed Management Specialist (Field Crops), OMAFRA
...on weeds in horticultural crops, contact Kristen Callow (kristen.callow@ontario.ca), Weed Management Specialist (Hort Crops), OMAFRA

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Benoîte stricte

Nom : Benoîte stricte, Geum aleppicum Jacq. var. strictum (Ait.) Fern.,

Autres Noms : GEUAS, yellow avens, benoîte d'Alep, burs.

Famille : famille des Rosacées - Rose

Description générale : plante vivace, se reproduisant uniquement par germination (graines). Elle se caractérise, au stade de la rosette foliaire, par ses feuilles composées-pennées à pétioles longs, par sa grande foliole terminale (a) et par ses folioles latérales de formes et de grandeurs irrégulières (b,c). Aux stades florifère et fructifère, elle se distingue par ses fleurs variant du jaune foncé à l'orangé et ses bouquets de graines semblables à des bardanes brunes et sphériques, chaque graine étant munie d'un long bec recourbé (f).

Photos et illustrations

Benoîte stricte.

Benoîte stricte.

Benoîte stricte.

Benoîte stricte.

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges dressées, pouvant atteindre 1 m (40 po) de hauteur, fréquemment ramifiées vers le sommet. Feuilles très variables : feuilles de la rosette longuement pétiolées, composées-pennées avec une grande foliole terminale (a) et un mélange de grandes (b) et de petites (c) folioles de chaque côté du rachis (axe central); folioles grossièrement dentées, velues et vertes sur les deux faces; feuilles caulinaires alternes (1 par noeud), semblables à celles de la rosette mais portées par des pétioles plus courts, surtout vers le sommet de la tige, chaque feuille garnie d'une paire de stipules (d) vertes semblables à des folioles à l'endroit où le pétiole (e) se fixe à la tige; feuilles supérieures sessiles, parfois légèrement dentées ou lobées sans être divisées en folioles.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs peu nombreuses, regroupées en inflorescences largement ramifiées, de 1 à 2 cm (2/5-4/5 po) de diamètre, avec 5 pétales jaune foncé à orangés, 5 sépales plus petits, des étamines et pistils nombreux rassemblés en un bouquet central compact; à maturité, le pédoncule de chaque fleur s'allonge et le bouquet de pistils grossit en une tête ou bardane brune à brun foncé presque sphérique, mesurant environ 2 cm (4/5 po) de diamètre, chaque pistil à graine unique devenu fruit ou graine étant nettement recourbé à son extrémité de façon à s'accrocher à la fourrure, aux vêtements et à la peau. Floraison du début juin à la fin de l'été; persistance des bardanes tard en automne ou même en hiver.

Habitat : la benoîte stricte se trouve partout en Ontario dans les prairies, les bois clairs, les pâturages, les terrains incultes et en bordure des routes, mais rarement sur les terres cultivées.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 avril 2005
Dernière révision : 12 avril 2005

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca