Ontario Weeds: Yarrow

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Related Links

Name: Yarrow, Achillea millefolium L.,

Other Names: achillée mille-feuille, Common yarrow, Fernweed, Milfoil, herbe à dinde, millefeuille, Achillea lanulosa Nutt.

Family: Composite or Aster Family (Compositae

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by spreading underground rootstalks, often forming very dense feathery- or ferny-leaved patches. It is distinguished by its very finely divided, feather-like or ferny leaves, the dense patches from its spreading underground root system, its flat-topped clusters of small flower heads, each head with usually 5 tiny white ray florets, and its characteristic sage-like aroma. Forms with pinkish to purplish or yellow flowers are cultivated as ornamental perennials and may escape to lawns and roadsides.

Photos and Pictures

Yarrow.

Yarrow.

Yarrow. Flowers.
Yarrow.

Yarrow. A. Base of plant from horizontal underground rootstalk.
Yarrow.
A. Base of plant from horizontal underground rootstalk.

B. Flowering stem.
B. Flowering stem.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, usually covered with fine woolly hair, about 60 cm (2 ft) tall but up to 100 cm (40 in.) in fertile situations, or very short in lawns or trampled situations; leaves very numerous at base of plant but fewer and smaller upwards on the stem, finely divided or feather-like, lower ones long-stalked, the upper stalkless, alternate (1 per node), green to grayish-green, finely woolly to silky-hairy.

Flowers & Fruit: Flower heads very small but numerous in dense, flat-topped to rounded clusters, each head 3 - 7 mm (1/8- ¼ in.) across, ray florets usually only 5 per head, white or rarely pinkish; disk florets more numerous, whitish; seeds small, flat, grayish with whitish margins. The whole plant has a characteristic sage-like odour which is offensive to some people but attractive to others. Flowers from June to late autumn.

Habitat: Yarrow is very common throughout Ontario in natural areas, meadows, pastures, waste places, roadsides, and frequently in lawns.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Achillée mille-feuille

Nom : Achillée mille-feuille, Achillea millefolium L.,

Autres Noms : ACHMI, yarrow, herbe à dinde, mille-feuille, herbe à dindon, common yarrow, fernweed, milfoil, Achillea lanulosa Nutt.

Famille : famille des composées ou Astéracées - Marguerite

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant à partir de graines et de rhizomes traçants (A) et formant des touffes plumeuses très denses. Elle se reconnaît à ses feuilles plumeuses et très finement divisées, aux touffes qu'elle forme à partir de son système racinaire ramifié, à ses panicules à sommet plat formées de petits capitules portant chacun 5 petits fleurons blancs en rayons (a), et à son odeur de sauge. On utilise les variétés à fleurs rosâtres violettes ou jaunes comme plantes vivaces ornementales; elles peuvent s'échapper et se propager aux pelouses et au bord des routes.

Photos et illustrations

Achillée mille-feuille

Achillée mille-feuille

Achillée mille-feuille.  Fleurs
Achillée mille-feuille

Achillée mille-feuille A. Base d'une plante issue d'un rhizome horizontal.
Achillée mille-feuille A. Base d'une plante issue d'un rhizome horizontal.

B. Tige florifère.
B. Tige florifère.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges dressées, d'environ 60 cm (2 pi) de hauteur et pouvant atteindre 100 cm (40 po) dans les endroits fertiles, ou très courtes dans les pelouses et les endroits piétinés, habituellement couvertes de poils fins et laineux; feuilles très nombreuses à la base de la plante (A), moins nombreuses et plus petites vers le haut (B), finement divisées ou plumeuses, celles du bas à longs pétioles, celles du haut sessiles, alternes (1 par noeud), vertes ou vert grisâtre, à poils fins, laineux ou soyeux.

Fleurs et fruits : capitules très petits, nombreux, en grappes fournies planes ou bombées, ayant chacun de 3 à 7 mm (1/8-1/4 po) de diamètre; rayons (a) à 5 fleurons par capitule, blanc ou rosâtres; disque à fleurons (b) plus nombreux et blanchâtres; graines petites, plates, grisâtres et à bords blanchâtres. La plante dégage une odeur de sauge, désagréable pour certains, agréable pour d'autres. Floraison de juin à la fin de l'automne.

Habitat : On trouve l'achillée mille-feuille partout en Ontario, en milieu sauvage, dans les prairies, les pâturages, les lieux incultes, au bord des routes et, souvent, sur les pelouses.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 23 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 23 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca