Ontario Weeds: Wormseed mustard

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Caution
  9. For more information...

Name: Wormseed mustard, Erysimum cheiranthoides L.,

Other Names: ERYCH, vélar fausse giroflée, Treacle mustard, vélar giroflée

Family: Mustard Family (Cruciferae

General Description: Annual or winter annual, reproducing only by seed. It is distinguished from other mustards by its slender leaves which do not clasp the stem, the 2-branched hairs on the stems and 3-branched hairs on leaves which can be seen with magnification, a slightly bluish-green cast to leaves and stems, the small, pale yellow flowers, and the slender, angular seedpods about 2 cm (4/5 in.) long which are tipped with a short blunt beak.

Photos and Pictures

Wormseed mustard. A. plant beginning ot flower. B. elongating inflorescences with seedpods.
Wormseed mustard.
A. plant beginning ot flower. B. elongating inflorescences with seedpods.

Wormseed mustard.

Wormseed mustard. A. Plane. B. Seedling. C. Young plant.
Wormseed mustard.
A. Plane. B. Seedling. C. Young plant.

 

Stems & Roots: Stems 15 - 100 cm (6 - 40 in.) high, erect, usually branched, firm, apparently hairless but slightly rough due to tiny, flat-lying, 2-branched hairs; leaves alternate (1 per node), nearly linear or broader near the middle and tapering to both ends, without teeth or with a few wavy or slightly pointed teeth, slightly rough on both surfaces with tiny 3-branched hairs.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers similar to those of Wild mustard but paler yellow and much smaller, about 6 mm (¼ in.) across and crowded in clusters at the ends of the stems and branches, these lengthening as the pods begin to develop; seedpods on slender stalks about 1 cm (2/5 in.) long which stand out from the stem, the pod itself standing upwards or nearly parallel to the stem, 15-25 mm (3/5-1 in.) long, usually somewhat 4-angled in cross-section and tipped by a short blunt beak; seeds dull reddish-yellow, very small, about 1 mm (1/25 in.) long and usually less than half as wide. Flowers from mid-June to late autumn and sheds mature seeds soon after flowering begins; plants often turning purplish at maturity.

Habitat: Wormseed mustard is common throughout Ontario, growing in a very wide variety of habitats from dry, rocky, shallow soils to moist sandy shores, to rich loam and clays, and is found in grainfields, hay and pastureland, waste places, gardens, poorly kept lawns, roadsides and railways, riversides, sandy beaches and limestone talus.

Caution: Every effort should be made to prevent Wormseed mustard from going to seed in fields of oats or barley where these cereal grains may be used for feeding pigs. Seeds of Wormseed mustard have an extremely bitter taste, and when feed is contaminated by a very small fraction of a percentage of Wormseed mustard seeds, pigs will refuse to eat it. Apparently cattle and horses can tolerate larger proportions of Wormseed mustard than can pigs.

For more information...

... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds

... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

...on weeds in field crops, contact Mike Cowbrough (mike.cowbrough@ontario.ca), Weed Management Specialist (Field Crops), OMAFRA
...on weeds in horticultural crops, contact Kristen Callow(kristen.callow@ontario.ca), Weed Management Specialist (Hort Crops), OMAFRA

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author:
Creation Date:
Last Reviewed:

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Vélar fausse giroflée

Nom : Vélar fausse giroflée, Erysimum cheiranthoides L.,

Autres noms : ERYCH, wormseed mustard, vélar giroflée, treacle mustard

Famille : familles des Crucifères - Moutarde

Description générale : plante annuelle ou annuelle d'hiver se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines); il se distingue des autres Crucifères par ses feuilles minces, qui n'embrassent pas la tige, ses poils visibles à la loupe, bifides (a) sur les tiges et trifides (b) sur les feuilles, la couleur légèrement vert bleuâtre de ses feuilles et de ses tiges, ses petites fleurs jaune pâle, et ses siliques (c) minces, anguleuses, faisant environ 2 cm (4/5 po) de longueur, terminées par un court bec tronqué.

Photos et illustrations

Vélar fausse giroflée.  Plante au début de la floraison.  B.  Inflorescence accrescentes garnies de siliques.

Vélar fausse giroflée. Plante au début de la floraison. B. Inflorescence accrescentes garnies de siliques.

Vélar fausse giroflée.


Vélar fausse giroflée . A. Plante entière. B. Plantule. C. Jeune plant.

Vélar fausse giroflée . A. Plante entière. B. Plantule. C. Jeune plant.

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges de 15 à 100 cm (6-40 po) de hauteur, dressées, habituellement ramifiées, fermes, d'apparence glabre mais en fait légèrement rêches à cause de minuscules poils bifurqués couchés (a, exagérés); feuilles alternes (1 par noeud), presque linéaires ou plus larges vers le milieu et rétrécies aux deux bouts, à bord lisse ou légèrement flexueux ou muni de quelques dents peu pointues, un peu rêches sur ses deux faces à cause de minuscules poils trifides (b, exagérés).

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs semblables à celles de la moutarde des champs, mais jaune plus pâle et beaucoup plus petites, environ 6 mm (1/4 po) de diamètre et réunies aux extrémités des tiges et des rameaux en grappes serrées qui s'allongent lorsque les siliques commencent à se développer; siliques (c) à mince pédicelle long d'environ 1 cm (2/5 po) qui s'écarte obliquement de la tige; silique pointée vers le haut ou presque parallèle à la tige, faisant de 15 à 25 mm (3/5-1 po) de longueur, de section en général quadrangulaire et terminée par un court bec tronqué; graines jaune rougeâtre mat, très petites, environ 1 mm (1/25 po) de longueur, en général deux fois plus longues que larges. Floraison de la mi-juin jusque tard à l'automne; disperse ses graines mûres tôt après le début de la floraison; la plante vire souvent au pourpre à maturité.

Habitat : Le vélar fausse giroflée est commun partout en Ontario; il pousse dans une multitude d'habitats : sols secs, rocailleux et peu profonds, rives humides sablonneuses, limons et argiles fertiles; on le rencontre dans les champs de céréales, les prés de pâturage et de fauche, les terrains incultes, les jardins, les pelouses mal entretenues, en bordure des routes, des voies ferrées et des cours d'eau, sur les plages sablonneuses et les talus calcaires.

Mise en garde: il ne faut épargner aucun effort pour empêcher le vélar fausse giroflée de monter en graines dans les champs d'avoine et d'orge destinées à l'alimentation des porcs. Les graines de vélar fausse giroflée ont un goût extrêmement amer et les porcs refusent de manger un aliment qui en contient, même en très petite quantité. Les bovins et les chevaux semblent pouvoir en tolérer une plus grande proportion que les porcs.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 avril 2005
Dernière révision : 12 avril 2005

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca