Ontario Weeds: Wire-stemmed muhly

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Wire-stemmed muhly, Muhlenbergia frondosa (Poir.) Fern.,

Other Names: muhlenbergie feuillée

Family: Grass Family (Gramineae)

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by rhizomes.

Photos and Pictures

Wire-stemmed muhly.

Wire-stemmed muhly.

Wire-stemmed muhly. A. 1 much-branched floering stem arising from a mass of scaly rhizomes. B. Leaf-base. C. Leaf-base enclosing part of the next-younger leaf.

Wire-stemmed muhly. A. 1 much-branched floering stem arising from a mass of scaly rhizomes. B. Leaf-base. C. Leaf-base enclosing part of the next-younger leaf.

Stem and leaf-base characteristics of a typical grass.

Stem and leaf-base characteristics of a typical grass.

Stems & Roots: Rhizomes usually in a tangled mass at or just below the soil surface and consisting of many short, scaly, much branched, beige to pink or purplish, brittle segments; stems slender, wiry, up to 100cm (40in.) long, varying from upright to nearly prostrate, usually much branched and bushy in aspect, smooth; exposed stem internodes yellowish-green above each node and grading upward to pinkish-purple below the next node; leaf sheaths green, smooth, shorter than the stem internodes, with separate margins that open and expose the internodes of the stem; ligule membranous, its outer margin ragged, 0.5mm (1/50in.) long; no auricles.

Flowers & Fruit: Leaf blades rather thin, 2.5-15cm (1-6in.) long and 2-8mm (1/12-1/3in.) wide, tapering to a long, thin point; inflorescence of small, soft, somewhat silky panicles, these at first green, then becoming greenish-purple to purple at maturity, very numerous, being produced at the ends of stems and from most leaf axils, each with clusters of crowded spikelets; spikelets soft, hairy, 2-3.3mm (1/12-1/8in.) long, each spikelet with 1 floret and an awn 4-12mm (1/10-½in.) long or awnless. Flowers from July to September.

Habitat: Wire-stemmed muhly is a native plant found in southern and eastern Ontario in moist, rich soil in woods, thickets, shores, banks and flood plains, from which it has spread into cultivated fields, roadsides and waste places.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its tangled mass of beige-purple, scaly rhizomes, its slender somewhat purplish stems and its numerous compact inflorescences from upper leaf axils as well as ends of stems.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2000
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Muhlenbergie feuillée

Nom : Muhlenbergie feuillée, Muhlenbergia frondosa (Poir.) Fern.,

Autres noms : MUHFR, wire-stemmed muhly.

Famille : famille des Graminées.

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant par graines et par rhizomes.

Photos et illustrations

Muhlenbergie feuillée

Muhlenbergie feuillée

Muhlenbergie feuillée.

Muhlenbergie feuillée.
A. Tige florifère fortement ramifiée issue d'un ensemble de rhizomes enchevêtrés et écailleux B. Base du limbe feuille C. Gaine embrassant la base d'une nouvelle feuille.

Caractéristiques du chaume et de la base du limbe d'une graminée.

Caractéristiques du chaume et de la base du limbe d'une graminée.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Rhizomes formant habituellement un ensemble enchevêtré juste sous la surface du sol et composé de nombreux segments (a) cassants, courts, écailleux, très ramifiés, beiges, roses ou pourpres; chaumes minces, filiformes, lisses, atteignant 100 cm (40 po) de longueur, dressés ou presque couchés, habituellement très ramifiés et d'aspect broussailleux; partie visible des entrenoeuds allant du vert jaunâtre au-dessus des noeuds (b) au pourpre rosâtre sous les noeuds suivants (c); gaines foliaires (d) vertes, lisses, plus courtes que les entrenoeuds du chaume, à bords séparés (e) qui s'ouvrent pour découvrir les entrenoeuds; ligule (f) membraneuse, de 0,5 mm (1/50 po) de longueur, à bords externes effrangés; pas d'oreillettes.

Fleurs et fruits : limbes plutôt minces, d'une longueur de 2,5 à 15 cm (1-6 po) et d'une largeur de 2 à 8 mm (1/12-1/3 po), se terminant en une pointe longue, étroite et mince; inflorescence formée de panicules petites, molles et quelque peu soyeuses (g), d'abord vertes, puis pourpre verdâtre ou pourpres à maturité, très nombreuses, apparaissant à l'extrémité des chaumes et à l'aisselle de la plupart des feuilles et portant des grappes serrées d'épillets; épillets (h) mous, velus, d'une longueur de 2 à 3,3 mm (1/12-1/8 po) et contenant un fleuron muni ou non d'une arête (i); lorsqu'elle est présente l'arête fait de 4 à 12 mm (1/10-1/2 po) de longueur. Floraison de juillet à septembre.

Habitat : La muhlenbergie feuillée est une plante indigène que l'on trouve dans le sud et l'est de l'Ontario, en milieu humide et riche (boisés, fourrés, rivages, berges et plaines d'inondation) d'où elle s'est échappée pour envahir les terres cultivées, les bords de routes et les terrains vagues.

Espèces similaires : La muhlenbergie se caractérise par ses rhizomes enchevêtrés, beiges ou pourpres, couverts d'écailles, ses chaumes minces tirant sur le pourpre et ses inflorescences nombreuses, compactes et fixées à l'aisselle des feuilles supérieures aussi bien qu'à l'extrémité des chaumes.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 26 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 26 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca