Ontario Weeds: Wild mustard

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Leaves
  7. Flowers and Fruit
  8. Habitat
  9. Similar Species
  10. Related Links
Name: Wild mustard, Sinapis arvensis L.,

Other Names: Charlock, Common mustard, Field mustard, Herrick, Kale, Mustard, Yellow mustard, moutarde des champs, moutarde sauvage, sénevé, Brassica kaber (DC.) L.C. Wheeler var. pinnatifida (Stokes) L.C. Wheeler.

Family: Mustard Family (Cruciferae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Wild mustard (A - plants; B - flowers and seedpods).
Wild mustard (A - plants; B - flowers and seedpods).

Wild mustard

Wild mustard

 

Wild mustard. A. Base of plant. B. Flowering stem. C. Seedpod. D Young plant. E. Seedling, top and side views. F. Seedling with 2 true leaves.

Wild mustard. A. Base of plant. B. Flowering stem. C. Seedpod. D Young plant. E. Seedling, top and side views. F. Seedling with 2 true leaves.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, 20-90cm (8-36in.) high, branching in the upper part, harshly hairy near the base but weakly hairy or smooth upwards, greenish or sometimes purplish.

Leaves: Seedling with broad kidney-shaped cotyledons; stem leaves alternate (1 per node), somewhat hairy; lowermost leaves on young plants long-stalked and either without lobes or with shallow to deep lobes near the base of the blade; upper leaves stalkless and coarsely toothed but usually not lobed.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers in small clusters which lengthen as the seedpods develop, bright lemon yellow, about 1.5cm (3/5in.) across with 4 small sepals, 4 larger petals arranged in the form of a cross (Family name "Cruciferae" means crucifix or cross), 4 long and 2 short stamens (total 6) and 1 slender pistil; flower stalks thin and short (3-5mm, 1/8-1/5in. long), becoming thicker but not longer as the seedpods develop, sometimes nearly as thick as the pod itself; seedpods (siliques) 3-5cm (1¼-2in.) long, sometimes bristly hairy but usually without hair, often with lengthwise ribs, erect and pressed to the stem or spreading out; each pod has a flattened terminal beak with 1 or rarely 2 seeds in its base and a main section containing several seeds which are released when the 2 sides or valves split apart from the bottom end and fall away entirely; seeds spherical, 1.5mm (1/16in.) in diameter, black or purplish. Flowering may begin as early as late May and continue throughout the summer.

Habitat: Wild mustard occurs throughout Ontario, being most frequent in cultivated fields and gardens, but occasionally appearing in fence lines, along roadsides and in waste areas.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from similar mustards by its somewhat kidney-shaped cotyledons being broad with a deep, wide, rounded notch at the end, the hairy stem with lower leaves stalked and either lobed or unlobed but upper ones stalkless and merely toothed, its large flowers and its seedpod with a short thick stalk and a flat beak that is about 1/3 the total length of the pod and usually contains an additional seed or two; and from Yellow rocket by being annual with hairy stems, its lemon-yellow flowers usually not appearing before late May and its seedpods on short, thick stalks and having a prominent, flat beak containing 1 or 2 seeds.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2000
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Moutarde des champs

Nom : Moutarde des champs, Sinapis arvensis L.,

Autres noms : SINAR, wild mustard, moutarde sauvage, sénevé, jotte, ravonée jaune, snôve, moutarde d'été, charlock, common mustard, field mustard, herrick, kale, mustard, yellow mustard, Brassica kaber (DC.) L.C. Wheeler var. pinnatifida (Stokes) L.C. Wheeler.

Famille : familles des Crucifères - Moutarde

Description générale : Plante annuelle se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines).

Photos et illustrations

Moutarde des champs

Moutarde des champs
A - plantes entières
B - fleurs et siliques

Moutarde des champs.

Moutarde des champs.

Moutarde des champs. A. Base de la plante. B. Tige florifère. C. Silique. D Jeune plant. E. Plantule (vue latérale et vue de haut). F. Plantule au stade 2 vraies feuilles.

Moutarde des champs. A. Base de la plante. B. Tige florifère. C. Silique. D Jeune plant. E. Plantule (vue latérale et vue de haut). F. Plantule au stade 2 vraies feuilles.

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges dressées, verdâtres, parfois violacées, de 20 à 90 cm (8-36 po) de hauteur, se ramifiant dans le haut, couvertes de poils hérissés près de la base, mais légèrement velues ou glabres dans le haut.

Feuilles : plantules à larges cotylédons réniformes (a); feuilles caulinaires alternes (1 par noeud), légèrement velues; chez la plantule, feuilles inférieures longuement pétiolées, et soit non découpées en lobes (D), soit profondément lobées (b) à la base du limbe; feuilles supérieures sessiles, grossièrement dentées, mais habituellement non divisées.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs jaune citron, réunies en petites grappes qui s'allongent au fur et à mesure que les siliques se développent, faisant environ 1,5 cm (3/5 po) de diamètre et constituées de 4 petits sépales, de 4 pétales plus grands disposés en croix (le nom de la famille Crucifères vient de « crucifix » ou « croix »), de 4 longues étamines et de 2 courtes (6 au total) et de 1 pistil mince; pédoncules minces et courts (3-5 mm, 1/8-1/5 po de longueur), devenant plus épais sans toutefois s'allonger à mesure que les siliques se développent, atteignant quelquefois l'épaisseur des siliques; siliques (capsules) de 3 à 5 cm (1 1/4-2 po) de longueur, parfois couvertes de poils hérissés, mais habituellement glabres, portant souvent des nervures longitudinales; siliques dressées et appliquées contre la tige ou étalées, chacune se terminant par un bec aplati (c) dont la base contient 1 ou plus rarement 2 graines (d) et comportant une section principale (e) à plusieurs graines qui sont libérées quand les deux côtés ou valves s'entrouvrent à la base ou tombent au sol; graines sphériques de 1,5 mm (1/16 po) de diamètre, noires ou violacées. La floraison peut commencer dès la fin de mai et se poursuivre tout l'été.

Habitat : la moutarde des champs se rencontre partout en Ontario, surtout dans les champs cultivés et les jardins, mais parfois le long des clôtures et des routes et dans les terrains incultes.

Espèces similaires : elle se distingue des autres « moutardes » par ses larges cotylédons (a) un peu réniformes dont le sommet arrondi est profondément échancré, ses tiges velues, ses feuilles inférieures pétiolées, parfois lobées parfois non, ses feuilles supérieures sessiles et seulement dentées (b), ses grosses fleurs et sa silique à court pédicelle épais et à bec aplati (c) mesurant le tiers de la longueur totale de la silique, et contenant en général une ou deux graines supplémentaires. La moutarde des champs se différencie de la barbarée vulgaire par son mode de végétation annuel, ses tiges velues, ses fleurs jaune citron n'apparaissant pas en général avant la fin de mai, et ses siliques à court pédicelle épais, terminées par un long bec plat contenant 1 ou 2 graines.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 14 mars 2005
Dernière révision : 14 mars 2005

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca