Ontario Weeds: Tuberous vetchling

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Related Links

Name: Tuberous vetchling, Lathyrus tuberosus L.,

Other Names: gesse tubéreuse, Earth-nut pea, Everlasting pea, Perennial pea, Vetchling, Wild pea, macusson, châtaigne de terre

Family: Legume or Bean Family (Leguminosae

General Description: Perennial reproducing by many underground tubers (like small potatoes) and by seed. Before flowering, it is distinguished by its slender, non-winged, weak stems with alternate, compound leaves having just 2 opposite leaflets plus a 3-branched, thread-like tendril, and reproducing from numerous, small, potato-like tubers. Everlasting pea, Lathyrus latifolius L., (gesse à feuilles larges, gesse vivace), resembles Tuberous vetchling but is a larger, coarser plant with broadly winged stems, winged leafstalks and does not reproduce by tubers.

Photos and Pictures

Tuberous vetchling.

Tuberous vetchling.

Tuberous vetchling. A. Flowering stem. B. Fruiting stem with several seedpods.

Tuberous vetchling. A. Flowering stem. B. Fruiting stem with several seedpods.

Stems & Roots: Stems 20-100cm (8-40in.) long, slender, hairless, wingless, much-branched, weak and usually sprawling in a tangled mass; in spring and summer usually coming directly from small, potato-like tubers which may be as much as 40cm (16in.) deep in the ground; leaves compound and alternate (1 per node) but appearing simple and opposite (2 per node) because each compound leaf consists of 2 stalkless, opposite leaflets and a slender, 3-branched tendril (rarely 1- or 2-branched) at the end; leaf-stalk (between the 2 leaflets and the stem) short, 8-20mm (1/3-4/5in.) long, slender, wingless, and with a pair of slender, pointed stipules about 1cm (2/5in.) long on either side where it joins the stem; each individual leaflet narrowly elliptic, 2-5cm (4/5-2in.) long, pointed at both ends.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers pink to violet, resembling a Sweet pea in colour, shape and fragrance, in groups of about 5 (2 to 10) on long, erect stalks from the leaf axils; seedpods light brown, about 2cm (4/5in.) long and usually containing 2 to 3 greenish to brownish seeds. Flowers from June to September.

Habitat: Tuberous vetchling occurs in cultivated fields, pastures, meadows, orchards, old gardens, edges of woods, roadsides and sometimes in gravel quarries in scattered locations in southern Ontario.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Gesse tubéreuse

Nom : Gesse tubéreuse, Lathyrus tuberosus L.,

Autres noms : LTHTU, tuberous vetchling, macusson, châtaigne de terre, earth-nut pea, everlasting pea, perennial pea, vetchling, wild pea

Famille : famille des Légumineuses - Trèfles, vesces

Description générale : plante vivace se reproduisant par de nombreux tubercules souterrains (comme de petites pommes de terre) et par germination (graines). Avant la floraison, elle se distingue par ses fines tiges fragiles, non ailées, aux feuilles composées, alternes comptant seulement 2 folioles opposées (b) et une vrille (c) terminale, filiforme trifide, et par ses nombreux petits tubercules, semblables à ceux des pommes de terre, qui lui permettent de se multiplier. La gesse à fleurs jaunes, Lathyrus latifolius L., (non illustrée) [LTHLA, everlasting pea, gesse à feuilles larges, pois vivace, gesse vivace] ressemble à la gesse tubéreuse mais elle est plus grosse et plus grossière, ses tiges sont largement ailées, ses pétioles sont également ornés d'ailes et elle n'a aucun tubercule.

Photos et illustrations

Gesse tubéreuse.

Gesse tubéreuse.


Gesse tubéreuse. A. Tige florifère. B. Tige fructifère portant quelques gousses.

Gesse tubéreuse. A. Tige florifère. B. Tige fructifère portant quelques gousses.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges de 20 à 100 cm (8-40 po) de longueur, minces, glabres, non ailées, très ramifiées, fragiles et habituellement étalées en masses enchevêtrées; au printemps et à l'été, elles naissent habituellement de petits tubercules, comme ceux des pommes de terre, qui sont enfouis dans le sol jusqu'à 40 cm (16 po) de profondeur; feuilles composées et alternes (1 par noeud) mais qui semblent simples et opposées (2 par noeud), celles-ci étant formées de deux folioles sessiles opposées et d'une fine vrille trifide (rarement simple ou bifide) à leur sommet; pétiole (d) (entre les 2 folioles et la tige) court (8-20 mm, 1/3-4/5 po), mince, non ailé et muni d'une paire de minces stipules (e) pointues d'environ 1 cm (2/5 po) de longueur fixées d'un côté ou de l'autre du point d'insertion du pétiole sur la tige; chaque foliole de forme elliptique étroite, de 2 à 5 cm (4/5-2 po) de longueur, s'effilant aux deux bouts.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs (f) roses ou violettes, semblables à celles du pois de senteur par leur forme, leur couleur et leur parfum, en groupes de 5 (2 à 10) sur de longs pédoncules (g) dressés aux aisselles des feuilles; gousses (h) brun clair, d'environ 2 cm (4/5 po) de longueur et contenant habituellement 2 ou 3 graines verdâtres à brunâtres. Floraison de juin à septembre.

Habitat : on trouve la gesse tubéreuse dans les régions dispersées du sud de l'Ontario autant dans les champs cultivés, les pâturages, les prairies, les vergers, les anciens jardins et à l'orée des bois, qu'en bordure des routes et parfois dans les carrières de gravier.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 avril 2005
Dernière révision : 12 avril 2005

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca