Ontario Weeds: Thyme-leaved speedwell

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Flowers and Fruit
  6. Stems and Roots
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Thyme-leaved speedwell, Veronica serpyllifolia L.,

Other Names: véronique à feuilles de serpolet, Veronica, véronique à feuilles de thym

Family: Figwort or Snapdragon Family (Scrophulariaceae)

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by spreading underground rhizomes and rooting stems.

Photos and Pictures

Thyme-leaved speedwell, prostrate plant with upright flowering stems.
Thyme-leaved speedwell, prostrate plant with upright flowering stems.

Thyme-leaved speedwell. A. Plant. B. Flower. C. Seedpod. Thyme-leaved speedwell. A. Plant. B. Flower. C. Seedpod.

Thyme-leaved speedwell.

Thyme-leaved speedwell.

Stems & Roots: Plants tufted with spreading branches which soon curve upwards into erect stems, or with horizontal stems rooting at nodes touching the ground and producing short erect branches, or occasionally just single erect stems from underground rhizomes; stems 10-30cm (4-12in.) high, somewhat fleshy, very finely hairy; leaves on horizontal stems and lower parts of erect stems, opposite (2 per node), oval to roundish or broadly ovate, lacking teeth or with very fine teeth, stalkless, with 3 to 5 main veins arising from the base of the leaf, the side veins curving in towards the tip; on the upper parts of the stems the leaves (or flower bracts) with flowers in their axils (angle between leaf and stem) are usually alternate (1 per node) and smaller than the lower opposite leaves.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowerstalk usually shorter than its leafy bract; sepals 4, small; corolla flat with 4 lobes, pale bluish-white with blue lines or bright blue; stamens 2; seedpods flat, appearing soon after the blossom falls, deeply notched at the tip, appearing 2-lobed, 4-8mm (1/6-1/3in.) wide, broader than long. Flowers from late spring until late autumn.

Habitat: Thyme-leaved speedwell occurs throughout Ontario in waste places, pastures, roadsides, meadows and lawns. There are at least eight different kinds of speedwell in Ontario and identification may be difficult.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its perennial habit, lower leaves opposite, somewhat roundish and lacking teeth or with very fine teeth, its short-stalked flowers with white or bluish 4-lobed corolla, its flowers stalk usually shorter than the leafy bract just below it, and its seedpod notched at the end.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Véronique à feuilles de serpolet

Nom : Véronique à feuilles de serpolet, Veronica serpyllifolia L.,

Autres Noms : VERSE, thyme-leaved speedwell, véronique à feuilles de thym, veronica

Famille : famille des Scrophulariacées - Linaire, scrofulaire

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant par graines (germination), et se propageant par rhizomes et par stolons.

Photos et illustrations

Véronique à feuilles de serpolet.  Plante couchée à tiges florifères dressées
Véronique à feuilles de serpolet. Plante couchée à tiges florifères dressées.

Véronique à feuilles de serpolet. A. Plante. B. Fleur. C. Capsule.

Véronique à feuilles de serpolet. A. Plante. B. Fleur. C. Capsule.

Véronique à feuilles de serpolet

Véronique à feuilles de serpolet

Tiges et rhizomes : Plante cespiteuse (formant des touffes compactes) à tiges étalées puis ascendantes et dressées, ou à tiges horizontales qui s'enracinent là où les noeuds (a) touchant le sol, donnant naissance à de courts rameaux dressés; parfois tiges solitaires dressées, issues des rhizomes; tiges de 10 à 30 cm (4-12 po) de hauteur, un peu charnues, très finement velues; feuilles opposées (2 par noeud) sur les tiges horizontales (b) et le bas des tiges dressées (c), ovales ou arrondies ou larges-ovées, non dentées ou très finement dentées, sessiles, parcourues de 3 à 5 nervures principales prenant naissance à la base de la feuille, nervures latérales incurvées vers le sommet de la feuille; dans le haut des tiges, feuilles (bractées) en général alternes (1 par noeud) (d), plus petites que les feuilles opposées du bas, ayant chacune une fleur à leur aisselle.

Fleurs et fruits : pédoncule (e) de la fleur habituellement plus court que la bractée foliacée (d); 4 petits sépales; corolle plate à 4 lobes, blanc bleuté striée de bleu ou de bleu vif; 2 étamines; capsules (f) aplaties, apparaissant dès la défloraison, profondément échancrées au sommet, apparemment bilobées, de 4 à 8 mm (1/6-1/3 po) de largeur, plus larges que longues. Floraison de la fin du printemps jusque tard en automne.

Habitat : La véronique à feuilles de serpolet se rencontre partout en Ontario dans les terrains incultes, les pâturages, les prairies, les pelouses ainsi qu'en bordure des routes. Il existe au moins 8 variétés différentes de véroniques en Ontario et leur identification précise est parfois difficile.

Espèces similaires : On reconnaît la véronique à feuilles de serpolet à son type de croissance vivace, à ses feuilles inférieures opposées, un peu arrondies, non dentées ou très finement dentées, à ses fleurs blanches ou bleuâtres, dont la corolle est 4-lobée et le pédoncule, (c) en général plus court que la bractée foliacée (d) située juste au-dessous, et à ses capsules échancrées.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 08 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 08 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca