Ontario Weeds: Stink grass

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Stink grass, Eragrostis cilianensis (All.) Lutati,

Other Names: éragrostide, fétide, Love grass, Stinking love grass, éragrostide à forte odeur, E. megastachya (Koel.) Link

Family: Grass Family (Gramineae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Stink grass.

Stink grass.

Stink grass. A. Plant. B. Leaf base.

Stink grass. A. Plant. B. Leaf base.

Stem and leaf-base characteristics of a typical grass.

Stem and leaf-base characteristics of a typical grass.

Stems & Roots: Stems 10-50cm (4-20in.) long, tufted, outer stems of a bunch often lying on the ground and rooting at the nodes (a) but with upturned tips; leaves hairless, flat, 3-10mm (1/8-3/8in.) wide; leaf sheaths split, the margins overlapping, not hairy except for a tuft of short (1-3mm, 1/25-1/8in.) hair on either side at the junction of blade and sheath; ligule a band of hairs about .5mm (1/50in.) high; no auricles but the tufts of hairs on each side of the collar might be mistaken for auricles; tiny glands present on leaf margins, sheaths, and in a ring encircling the stem just below each node.

Flowers & Fruit: Inflorescence, dark gray-green to light brownish, branching but either dense and compact or open and spreading, both kinds often on the same plant; spikelets small, oblong, 5-15mm (1/5-3/5in.) long, 3mm (1/8in.) wide but having 10 to 40 florets; each floret about 2.5mm (1/10in.) containing a single, tiny, yellowish to reddish-orange, egg-shaped kernel ("seed") about 0.7mm (1/30in.) long. Fresh plants have a distinct odour which many people find disagreeable. Flowers from August to September.

Habitat: Stink grass occurs in coarse sandy or gravelly soils in edges of fields, waste areas, right-of-way throughout southern Ontario, being most common in central and southwestern areas. Introduced from Europe.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its tufted habit, its gray-green to light brownish inflorescences that may be both compact and loose on the same plant, and its small, compact, many-floreted spikelets that readily shed their tiny yellowish to orange kernels at maturity.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2000
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Éragrostide fétide

Nom : Éragrostide fétide, Eragrostis cilianensis (All.) Lutati,

Autres Noms : ERAME, stink grass, éragrostide à forte odeur, E. cilianensis (All.) Lutati, love grass, stinking love grass.

Famille : famille des Graminées.

Description générale : Plante annuelle ne se reproduisant que par graines.

Photos et illustrations

Éragrostide fétide

Éragrostide fétide

Éragrostide fétide. A. Plante. B. Base du limbe.

Éragrostide fétide. A. Plante. B. Base du limbe.

Caractéristiques du chaume et de la base du limbe d'une graminée.

Caractéristiques du chaume et de la base du limbe d'une graminée.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Chaumes longs de 10 à 50 cm (4-20 po), en touffes; chaumes extérieurs d'une touffe souvent couchés et s'enracinant à l'endroit des noeuds (a); extrémités orientées vers le haut. Feuilles glabres, plates, larges de 3 à 10 mm (1/8-3/8 po); gaines fendues, à bords chevauchants, non velues, sauf pour une touffe de poils (b) courts (1-3 mm, soit 1/25-1/8 po) de chaque côté, à la jonction du limbe et de la gaine; ligule, sous forme de bande velue, ayant environ 0,5 mm (1/50 po) de hauteur; pas d'oreillettes, mais des touffes de poils (b) semblables à des oreillettes de part et d'autre, à la jonction du limbe et de la gaine; glandes minuscules (c) sur les bords de la feuille, sur les gaines et autour (d) de la tige, sous chaque noeud (e).

Fleurs et fruits : Inflorescence gris-vert foncé ou brun clair, à ramification serrée (f) ou étalée (g), les deux formes de ramification se trouvant souvent sur une même plante; épillets (h) petits, allongés, longs de 5 à 15 mm (1/5-3/5 po) et portant de 10 à 40 florules de 2,5 mm (1/10 po), qui contiennent chacune une seule graine, minuscule, jaunâtre ou rouge orangé, en forme d'oeuf et ayant environ 0,7 mm (1/30 po) de longueur. La plante fraîche a une odeur caractéristique que beaucoup trouvent désagréable. Floraison en août et en septembre.

Habitat : On trouve l'éragrostide fétide dans tout le sud de l'Ontario, dans les sols caillouteux ou sablonneux, en bordure des champs, dans les lieux incultes et dans les servitudes. Il est cependant plus commun dans les régions centrales et du sud-ouest. Il est originaire d'Europe.

Espèces similaires : Il se développe par touffes et se distingue grâce à ses inflorescences gris-vert ou brun clair qui, sur une même plante, peuvent être serrées et étalées, et à ses petits épillets serrés, portant de nombreuses florules, qui perdent à maturité leurs minuscules graines jaunâtres ou orangées.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 19 janvier 2005
Dernière révision : 19 janvier 2005

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca