Ontario Weeds: Spotted spurge

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Spotted spurge, Euphorbia nutans Lag.,

Other Names: euphorbe couchée, Wartweed, euphorbe maculée, formerly misnamed as Euphorbia maculata L

Family: Spurge Family (Euphorbiaceae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Spotted spurge.

Spotted spurge.

Spotted spurge.

Spotted spurge.

Stems & Roots: Stems mostly erect and bushy-branched throughout, or nearly prostrate, finely hairy when young, smooth and somewhat succulent when older, green or reddish; leaves opposite (2 per node), stalkless, oblong or lanceolate, usually somewhat asymmetrical (uneven) at their bases, dark green above and often with a red or reddish-purple blotch near the middle, lighter green and usually somewhat finely hairy on the undersurface, margins distinctly toothed; lower leaves of upright plants often dropping early, leaving the lower stem and lower parts of the branches nearly bare.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers complex, individually very small without sepals or petals and unisexual but clustered together in structures called cyathia very similar to those described for Leafy spurge; each cyathium is a tiny cup about 2-4mm (1/12-1/6in.) across with 4 tiny wings at its margins and containing several single stamens and a single 3-lobed pistil with a 3-branched style and stigma; ovary maturing into a 3-lobed, hairless seedpod about 2-2.5mm (1/12-1/10in.) long and containing 3 small seeds about 1.3mm (1/20in.) long with a few transverse wrinkles on the sides. The whole plant, including stem, roots, leaves and flowers, with the possible exception of mature seeds, contains a sticky, white milky juice which exudes freely from any cut or broken surface.

Habitat: Spotted spurge is very common in the southwestern portion of southern Ontario, occurring in cultivated fields, gardens, waste areas and roadsides. It can also be found in the counties bordering the north shore of Lake Ontario.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its usually bushy-branched habit, its opposite leaves with uneven bases and reddish blotches near the middle, its milky juice, and its tiny flowers with 3-lobed, 3-seeded, hairless seedpods.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Euphorbe maculée

Nom : Euphorbe maculée, Euphorbia nutans Lag.,

Autres Noms : EPHMA, spotted spurge, euphorbe couchée, wartweed, anciennement Euphorbia maculata L.

Famille : famille des Euphorbiacées - Euphorbe

Description générale : plante annuelle se reproduisant uniquement par germination (graines).

Photos et illustrations

Euphorbe maculée

Euphorbe maculée
Euphorbe maculée.

Euphorbe maculée

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges essentiellement dressées et fortement ramifiées ou presque couchées, couvertes de poils fins au début, lisses et un peu charnues lorsqu'elles vieillissent, vertes ou rougeâtres;

Feuilles : feuilles opposées (2 par noeud), sessiles, oblongues ou lancéolées, habituellement un peu asymétriques à leur base (a), vert foncé sur le dessus, et portant souvent une tache rouge ou rouge violacé au centre du limbe, vert plus clair et habituellement un peu velues sur la face inférieure, bords nettement dentés; feuilles inférieures des plants dressés se détachant tôt en général, laissant le bas de la tige et les parties inférieures des rameaux presque nus.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs complexes, très petites (b), sans sépales ni pétales, unisexuées mais groupées en structures appelées cyathes comme chez l'euphorbe ésule (fig. 112B); le cyathe consiste en une corolle minuscule, d'environ 2 à 4 mm (1/12-1/6 po) de diamètre, bordée par 4 ailes minuscules et contenant plusieurs étamines simples, un seul pistil trilobé à style trifide et un stigmate; ovaire mûrissant en une capsule glabre trilobée (c) d'environ 2 à 2,5 mm (1/12-1/10 po) de longueur et contenant 3 petites graines longues d'environ 1,3 mm (1/20 po), ornées de quelques rides transversales sur les côtés. Toutes les parties de la plante y compris la tige, les racines, les feuilles et les fleurs, à l'exception peut-être des graines mûres, contiennent un suc laiteux, blanc et collant qui s'écoule librement de toute surface brisée ou coupée.

 

Habitat : l'euphorbe maculée est très commune dans la région sud-ouest du sud de l'Ontario; on la trouve dans les champs cultivés, les jardins, les terrains incultes, et en bordure des routes, ainsi que dans les comtés qui bordent la rive nord du lac Ontario.

Espèces similaires : elle se caractérise par ses ramifications habituellement nombreuses, ses feuilles opposées à base asymétrique et portant une tache rougeâtre au centre, son suc laiteux et ses minuscules fleurs trilobées donnant 3 capsules glabres à 3 graines.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 20 octobre 2004
Dernière révision : 20 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca