Ontario Weeds: Russian thistle

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Leaves
  7. Flowers and Fruit
  8. Habitat
  9. Similar Species
  10. Related Links

Name: Russian thistle, Salsola pestifer A. Nels.,

Other Names: soude roulante, Saltwort, Tumbleweed, chardon de Russie, herbe roulante de Russie, Salsosa iberica Sennen & Pau. S. Kali L. var. tenuifolia Tausch, S. tragus L. subsp. iberica Sennen & Pau

Family: Goosefoot Family (Chenopodiaceae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed. A very bushy, much-branched, spiny plant 5-120cm (2in. - 4ft) high, its diameter often exceeding its height.

Photos and Pictures

Russian thistle

Russian thistle

Russian thistle. A. Seedling. B. Base of young plant. C. Mature plant. D. Portion of branch with 3 flowers.

Russian thistle. A. Seedling. B. Base of young plant. C. Mature plant. D. Portion of branch with 3 flowers.

Stems & Roots: Stems green, usually striped with red lines, and rough with short, firm hair.

Leaves: Cotyledons (seed leaves) very narrow and grass-like, gradually lengthening and reaching 3-5cm (1-2in.) long; first true leaves apparently opposite (2 per node), as long as or longer than the cotyledons, needle-like, round or slightly flattened in cross-section, softly sharp-pointed; later leaves gradually shorter but mostly alternate (1 per node); young plants often with crowded erect leaves and resembling a grass; older plants with firm, short, bract-like leaves, usually only 6mm (¼in.) long, with a broad base tapering to a slender point and ending in a hard, sharp spine.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers small, lacking petals but with 5 pinkish to greenish-white, membranous-winged sepals, stalkless in the axil of each cluster of 3 spine-tipped bract-like leaves. At maturity, the brittle stem breaks at the top of the root and the whole plant is rolled and tumbled by the wind, dropping seeds with each bounce and turn. Seeds cone- or top-shaped, the broader end flattened or hollowed and with a small point in the centre, about 2mm (1/12in.) across and the same long; the coiled embryo being visible through the nearly transparent seed coat. Flowers from July to August.

Habitat: Russian thistle occurs throughout Ontario, usually in coarse soils along roadsides, railroads, waste areas, and occasionally in pastures and fields on sandy soils.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from most other plants by its spininess and nearly spherical shape and from other so-called "tumbleweeds" by the long, thin, needlelike leaves of the young plant, and by the short, bract-like leaves and extremely spiny nature of the older plant.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Soude roulante

Nom : Soude roulante, Salsola pestifer A. Nels.,

Autres Noms : SASKR, Russian thistle, herbe roulante de Russie, chardon de Russie, saltworth, tumbleweed, Solsosa iberia Sennen & Pau, S. Kali L. var. tenuifolia Tausch, S. tragus L. subsp. iberica Sennen & Pau

Famille : famille des Chénopodiacées - Chou gras

Description générale : plante annuelle se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines). Très touffue, buissonnante, épineuse, de 5 à 120 cm (2 po-4 pi) de hauteur, diamètre souvent supérieur à la hauteur.

Photos et illustrations

Soude roulante

Soude roulante

Soude roulant. A. Plantule. B. Base d'un jeune plant. C. Plant adulte. D. Portion de branche portant 3 fleurs.

Soude roulant. A. Plantule. B. Base d'un jeune plant. C. Plant adulte. D. Portion de branche portant 3 fleurs.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges vertes habituellement striées de rouge, rêches à cause de la présence de poils courts et durs;

Feuilles : cotylédons (a) très étroits, semblables à ceux des graminées, s'allongeant graduellement pour atteindre de 3 à 5 cm (1-2 po) de longueur; premières vraies feuilles (b) apparemment opposées (2 par noeud), aussi longues ou plus longues que les cotylédons, en forme d'aiguille, de section ronde ou légèrement aplatie, à pointe légèrement aiguë; feuilles ultérieures graduellement plus courtes mais presque toutes alternes (1 par noeud); plantes jeunes portant souvent des feuilles dressées et serrées les unes contre les autres leur donnant l'aspect d'une graminée; chez la plante adulte, feuilles (c) fermes, courtes, semblables à des bractées, seulement 6 mm (1/4 po) de longueur habituellement, à base large se rétrécissant en pointe mince et à extrémité épineuse et dure.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs (d) petites, sans pétales mais avec 5 sépales blanc rosâtre ou blanc verdâtre, à aile membraneuse, insérées sans pédoncule à l'aisselle de chaque groupe de 3 feuilles bractéiformes à pointe épineuse (D). À la maturité, la tige principale, fragile, se brise au niveau du collet et la plante entière roule sur le sol au gré du vent, éparpillant ses graines de-ci de-là. Graines en forme de cône ou de toupie, le bout large aplati ou déprimé, doté d'une petite pointe au centre, environ 2 mm (1/12 po) de diamètre et de hauteur; l'embryon enroulé est visible à travers l'enveloppe presque transparente de la graine. Floraison de juillet à août.

Habitat : la soude roulante se rencontre partout en Ontario, habituellement dans les sols à texture grossière, le long des chemins, des voies ferrées, dans les terrains incultes et parfois les pâturages et les terres sablonneuses.

Espèces similaires : elle se distingue de la plupart des plantes par ses épines et sa forme presque sphérique, et des autres soudes par ses longues feuilles minces en forme d'aiguille (a, b) chez le jeune plant, et les feuilles courtes (c) et extrêmement épineuses chez la plante adulte.

| Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 2000
Dernière révision : 14 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca