Ontario Weeds: Purslane speedwell

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Flowers and Fruit
  6. Stems and Roots
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links
Name: Purslane speedwell, Veronica perlgrina L.,

Other Names: véronique voyageuse, Neckweed, Veronica

Family: Figwort or Snapdragon Family (Scrophulariaceae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Purslane speedwell.

Purslane speedwell.

Purslane speedwell. A. Plant. B. Seedpod.
Purslane speedwell.
A. Plant. B. Seedpod.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect or much-branched near the base and becoming erect, smooth or with fine, slightly sticky hair; stems and leaves with a somewhat fleshy texture (hence "purslane" in the English name); lower and middle leaves opposite (2 per node), oblong or somewhat linear, smooth or irregularly toothed, lower ones short-stalked, middle and upper ones stalkless; upper leaves alternate (1 per node), smaller and narrower, each with a flower in its axil.

Flowers & Fruit: Flower stalks extremely short; corolla flat, 4-lobed, 2mm (1/12in.) across, white or whitish; seedpods flat, heart-shaped with a notch at the top; each leafy bract usually much longer than its flower or seedpod. Flowers from early May to July, and occasionally again in autumn.

Habitat: Purslane speedwell occurs throughout Ontario but is most common in the southern portion of the province in gardens, orchards, lawns, waste places, roadsides, railways, stony areas and occasionally in greenhouses.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its somewhat smooth and fleshy stem and leaves, its lower leaves opposite and narrow, upper ones alternate, smaller, and its tiny white flowers on very short stalks, followed by small heart-shaped seedpods.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Véronique voyageuse

Nom : Véronique voyageuse, Veronica perlgrina L.,

Autres Noms : VERPG, purslane speedwell, neckweed, veronica.

Famille : famille des Scrophulariacées - Linaire, scrofulaire

Description générale : Plante annuelle se reproduisant seulement par graines (germination).

Photos et illustrations

Véronique voyageuse. A. Plante. B. Capsule.


Véronique voyageuse.
A. Plante. B. Capsule.

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges dressées ou très ramifiées dans le bas et ascendantes, glabres ou couvertes de poils fins, légèrement gluants; tiges et feuilles à texture un peu charnue; feuilles inférieures et médianes (a) opposées (2 par noeud), oblongues ou relativement linéaires, à bord uni ou irrégulièrement denté, celles du bas courtement pétiolées, celles du milieu et du haut sessiles; feuilles supérieures (b) alternes (1 par noeud), plus petites et plus étroites, chacune ayant une fleur (c) à son aisselle.

Fleurs et fruits : pédoncule extrêmement court; corolle plate, à 4 lobes, faisant 2 mm (1/12 po) de diamètre, blanche ou blanchâtre (comme dans la figure 163B); capsules (d) aplaties, cordées, échancrées au sommet; chaque bractée foliacée en général beaucoup plus longue que la fleur ou la capsule. Floraison du début de mai à juin, et parfois de nouveau à l'automne.

Habitat : La véronique voyageuse se rencontre partout en Ontario, mais elle est plus commune dans le sud, dans les jardins, les vergers, les pelouses, les terrains incultes, les endroits rocailleux, le long des routes et des voies ferrées et parfois dans les serres.

Espèces similaires : On la reconnaît à ses tiges et feuilles lisses et un peu charnues, à ses feuilles inférieures (a) opposées et étroites, à ses feuilles supérieures (b) alternes, plus petites, à ses fleurs blanches minuscules (c) portées par un très court pédoncule auxquelles succèdent de petites capsules cordiformes (d).

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 04 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 04 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca