Ontario Weeds: Purslane

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Leaves
  7. Flowers and Fruit
  8. Habitat
  9. Similar Species
  10. Related Links

Name: Purslane, Portulaca oleracea L.,

Other Names: Portulaca, Pursley, Pusley, Pussley, Wild portulaca, pourpier potager, pourpier gras

Family: Purslane Family (Portulacacae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed. A low-growing or prostrate plant with succulent reddish stems, thick leaves and small flowers. Stems and leaves flat on the ground or slightly raised, 2-3cm (1in.) high.

Photos and Pictures

Purslane.

Purslane. A. Seedling. B. Plant.

Purslane. A. Seedling. B. Plant.

Stems & Roots: Stems - very fleshy or watery, smooth, reddish-green to purplish-red, repeatedly branched and often forming circular mats 30-60cm (1-2ft) in diameter or larger.

Leaves: Cotyledons (seed leaves) of emerging seedlings 2-5mm (1/12-1/5in.) long, and half or less wide, thick, fleshy and reddish- reddish-green on a bright red stalk; leaves mostly alternate (1 per node) except the first few apparently opposite (2 per node), and those near the tips of branches crowded together; all leaves flat but thick and fleshy, deep green to reddish-green, broadest near the rounded or squared tip and narrowed towards the base, completely hairless.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers small, 5-10mm (1/5-2/5in.) across, in axils of stem leaves or near the tips of branches, opening only on bright sunny mornings with 5 small, pale yellow petals which soon fall off, 6-10 tiny yellowish stamens and 1 pistil; seedpods nearly spherical, about 5mm (1/5in.) in diameter, opening by a slit that goes all the way around the seedpod just below the middle so the top part comes off as a lid; seeds numerous, flattened, rounded or somewhat kidney-shaped, about 0.6mm (1/40in.) across, black and shiny. Flowers from July to September.

Habitat: Purslane is one of the most common weeds in gardens throughout Ontario, occurring also in row crops, waste areas and edges of driveways but not surviving under heavy shade and thus rarely seen in grainfields, hay fields or pastures. The very fleshy nature of Purslane enables it to continue flowering and ripening seeds for several days after being hoed or uprooted. Though rarely producing roots from the stem, if even a small portion of the root of an uprooted plant touches the soil, it can grow a new root system and become re-established.

Similar Species: Purslane is distinguished from similar prostrate plants by its reddish, fleshy stem with watery juice, its fleshy, thick, greenish leaves without teeth, its small flowers with yellow petals and its small, inconspicuous, spherical seedpods which open with a circular lid, scattering many tiny black seeds. Prostrate pigweed has a tougher stem, thin leaves, and tiny greenish flowers in somewhat spiny clusters in axils of leaves. The prostrate annual spurges have thinner stems and leaves, and all plant parts contain a white milky juice that is never found in Purslane.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2000
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Pourpier potager

Nom : Pourpier potager, Portulaca oleracea L.,

Autres Noms : POROL, purslane, pourpier gras, pourpier commun, pourpier sauvage, portulaca, pursley, pusley, pussley, wild portulaca

Famille : famille des Portulacacées - Pourpier

Description générale : plante annuelle se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines). Plante à port couché ou à croissance basse, à tiges rougeâtres grasses, à feuilles épaisses et à petites fleurs. Tiges et feuilles couchées sur le sol ou légèrement ascendantes, de 2 à 3 cm (1 po) de hauteur.

Photos et illustrations

Pourpier potager

Pourpier potager. A. Plantule. B. Plante adulte.

Pourpier potager. A. Plantule. B. Plante adulte.

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges très charnues ou aqueuses, lisses, vert rougeâtre ou rouge violacé, dont les ramifications se ramifient à leur tour et forment souvent un tapis circulaire de 30 à 60 cm (1-2 pi) de diamètre ou plus.

Feuilles : Les cotylédons des plantules levant de terre font de 2 à 5 mm (1/12-1/5 po) de longueur, et sont au moins deux fois plus longs que larges (a), épais, charnus et vert rougeâtre et sont portés par un axe rouge vif; feuilles surtout alternes (1 par noeud) sauf les premières apparemment opposées (2 par noeud), et celles situées vers l'extrémité des rameaux, qui sont groupées; toutes les feuilles sont plates mais épaisses et charnues, vert foncé ou vert rougeâtre, plus larges vers le sommet carré ou arrondi et plus étroites vers la base, complètement glabres.

Fleurs et fruits : Fleurs (b) petites, de 5 à 10 mm (1/5-2/5 po) de diamètre, aux aisselles des feuilles, des tiges ou vers l'extrémité des rameaux, s'ouvrant seulement les matins très ensoleillés, munies de 5 petits pétales jaune pâle qui tombent tôt, de 6 à 10 minuscules étamines jaunâtres et de 1 pistil; capsules (c) presque sphériques, environ 5 mm (1/5 po) de diamètre, s'ouvrant circulairement juste sous le milieu, la partie supérieure se détachant comme un couvercle; graines nombreuses, aplaties, arrondies ou un peu réniformes, noires et luisantes et d'environ 0,6 mm (1/40 po) de diamètre. Floraison de juillet à septembre.

Habitat : Le pourpier potager est une des mauvaises herbes les plus communes dans les jardins partout en Ontario; on le rencontre aussi dans les cultures sarclées, les terrains incultes et en bordure des allées; comme il ne survit pas dans les endroits très ombragés, on le voit rarement dans les champs de céréales ou les prés de fauche et de pâture. Grâce à sa nature très charnue, le pourpier potager peut fleurir et fructifier plusieurs jours après avoir été sarclé ou déraciné. Bien qu'elle s'enracine rarement au niveau des tiges, la plante partiellement déracinée est capable de s'implanter de nouveau à partir d'un petit fragment de racine laissé au contact du sol.

Espèces similaires : On distingue le pourpier potager des autres plantes à port également couché par ses tiges rougeâtres, charnues, remplies d'un suc aqueux, ses feuilles charnues, épaisses, verdâtres et non dentées, ses petites fleurs aux pétales jaunes et ses discrètes petites capsules sphériques qui s'ouvrent circulairement pour libérer de nombreuses graines noires minuscules. L'amarante fausse-blite, qui est également une plante à port couché, a des tiges plus rudes, des feuilles minces, et de minuscules fleurs verdâtres en grappes légèrement épineuses aux aisselles des feuilles. Les euphorbes annuelles couchées ont des tiges et des feuilles plus minces, et toutes les parties contiennent un suc laiteux qu'on ne trouve jamais dans le pourpier potager.

| Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 2000
Dernière révision : 14 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca