Ontario Weeds: Prostrate knotweed

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Leaves
  7. Flowers and Fruit
  8. Habitat
  9. Similar Species
  10. Related Links

Name: Prostrate knotweed, Polygonum aviculare L.,

Other Names: renouée des oiseaux, Doorweed, Knot-grass, Mat-grass, Road-spread, traînasse, renouée aviculaire

Family: Buckwheat or Smartweed Family (Polygonaceae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Prostrate knotweed.

Prostrate knotweed.

Prostrate knotweed (A - plant on a dry lawn; B - portion of stems showing ocrea).

Prostrate knotweed (A - plant on a dry lawn; B - portion of stems showing ocrea).


Prostrate knotweed. A. Plant. B. Branch tip with flowers in several leaf axils. C. 1 older leaf with 1 "seed" in its axil, the "seed" still enclosed in its sepals.

Prostrate knotweed. A. Plant. B. Branch tip with flowers in several leaf axils. C. 1 older leaf with 1 "seed" in its axil, the "seed" still enclosed in its sepals.

Stems & Roots: Stems prostrate or semi-erect from a thin, tough, wiry, deeply penetrating taproot; stems slender, tough and wiry; growth habit variable: in open sunny situations stems fully prostrate, to 1m (40in.) or longer, or main stems prostrate with short, upturned branches, but in partly shaded situations, such as a grain crop, stems are nearly erect to 30 or 40cm (12-16in.) high; stem nodes (joints) distinct, thickened, and surrounded by a thin, papery ocrea (membranous sheath) that usually has a torn or jagged margin.

Leaves: Leaves alternate (1 per node), up to 5cm (2in.) long but usually much shorter, their width about 1/3-1/5 of their length, usually broadest near or past the middle, and narrower towards both ends.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers small and inconspicuous, 2mm (1/12in.) or less long, without petals but with 5 tiny greenish, pinkish or purplish sepals, produced in axils of leaves and partially enclosed in the ocrea; mature "seed" more or less enclosed by the drying sepals, slightly rough, dull brown, triangular in cross-section and about 2mm (1/12in.) long. Flowers from June to September.

Habitat: Prostrate knotweed occurs throughout Ontario in areas of moderately heavy foot- or wheel-traffic where the soils may be low in fertility and so heavily compacted that other plants are unable to survive. It is one of the most common weeds along roadsides, edges of or cracks in sidewalks and pavement, and heavy-traffic areas in lawns. It also occurs in gardens and cultivated fields where it tends to have a more erect habit of growth.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its thin, wiry stems with small leaves, the ragged ocrea surrounding the stem above every leaf, and its tiny greenish to pinkish or purplish flowers in axils of leaves. Prostrate knotweed, an introduction from Eurasia, is similar to several, closely related, native species of knotweed. One of the more common of these is Striate knotweed, Polygonum achoreum Blake,[POLAH, renouée coriace, Erect knotweed] This plant sometimes occurs in similar situations, especially roadsides, and is distinguished from Prostrate knotweed by its coarser, more erect stems, broader and more rounded leaves, and by its triangular seeds being smooth and olive-coloured. All knotweeds have wiry stems with swollen nodes, membranous ocrea, and tiny flowers arising inside the ocrea in leaf axils.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Renouée des oiseaux

Table des matières

Nom : Renouée des oiseaux, Polygonum aviculare L.,

Autres noms : POLAV, prostrate knotweed, traînasse, renouée aviculaire, doorweed, knot-grass, mat-grass, road-spread.

Famille : famille des Polygonacées - Renouée, sarrasin

Description générale : Plante annuelle se reproduisant seulement par graines.

Photos et illustrations

Renouée des oiseaux

Renouée des oiseaux

Prostrate knotweed (A - plant on a dry lawn; B - portion of stems showing ocrea).

Renouée des oiseaux (A - pied de renouée dans une pelouse desséchée, B - partie de tiges laissant voir les ochr).
 Renouée des oiseaux A. Plante B. Extrémité de rameau portant plusieurs fleurs axillaires C. « Graine » encore enveloppée dans ses sépales, à l'aisselle d'une feuille adulte.

Renouée des oiseaux A. Plante B. Extrémité de rameau portant plusieurs fleurs axillaires C. « Graine » encore enveloppée dans ses sépales, à l'aisselle d'une feuille adulte.

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges couchées ou semi-dressées issues d'une mince racine pivotante, résistante, filiforme et profonde; leur port est variable : en plein soleil, les tiges qui font 1 m (40 po) ou plus de longueur, sont complètement couchées ou bien les tiges maîtresses sont couchées mais leurs rameaux courts sont dressés; en situation partiellement ombragée, par exemple, dans un champs de céréales, les tiges, hautes de 30 à 40 cm (12-16 po), sont pratiquement dressées; noeuds (a) de la tige nettement marqués, gonflés et entourés d'un mince ochréa (gaine membraneuse) (b) parcheminé et à bord généralement découpé.

Feuilles : feuilles alternes (1 par noeud), pouvant atteindre 5 cm (2 po) de longueur, mais habituellement beaucoup plus courtes, 3 à 5 fois plus longues que larges (en général, largeur maximale vers le milieu ou dans la 2e moitié du limbe) et plus étroites aux deux extrémités.

Fleurs et fruits : petites fleurs discrètes, 2 mm (1/12 po) ou moins de longueur, sans pétales mais avec 5 minuscules sépales (c) verdâtres, rosâtres ou violacés, nichées aux aisselles des feuilles et partiellement dans l'ochréa; à maturité, la « graine » (d) est plus ou moins enveloppée par les sépales séchés, légèrement rugueuse, brun mat, de section triangulaire et d'environ 2 mm (1/12 po) de longueur. Floraison de juin à septembre.

Habitat : On trouve la renouée des oiseaux partout en Ontario dans les endroits modérément piétinés ou tassés par des véhicules et là où les sols peu fertiles sont si compactés que les autres plantes ne peuvent y survivre. C'est une mauvaise herbe commune le long des chemins, sur les bords et dans les fissures de trottoirs ou des allées, et dans les zones très piétinées des pelouses. Quand on la trouve dans les jardins et les champs cultivés, son port est en général plus dressé.

Espèces similaires : La renouée des oiseaux se reconnaît à ses tiges filiformes, ses petites feuilles, son ochréa à bord découpé, ses minuscules fleurs dont le coloris varie du verdâtre au violacé, nichées aux aisselles des feuilles. La renouée des oiseaux, originaire d'Eurasie, ressemble à plusieurs variétés indigènes de renouées auxquelles elle est étroitement apparentée. Une des plus communes est la renouée coriace, Polygonum achoreum Blake, (non illustrée) [POLAH, striate knotweed]. On retrouve cette plante quelquefois aux mêmes endroits, surtout en bordure des routes; elle se différencie de la renouée des oiseaux par ses tiges plus trapues et plus dressées, ses feuilles plus larges et plus arrondies et par ses graines triangulaires, lisses et olivâtres. Toutes les renouées ont des tiges filiformes à noeuds gonflés, des ochréas membraneux (b) et des fleurs minuscules nichées dans l'ochréa aux aisselles des feuilles.

| Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 2000
Dernière révision : 12 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca