Ontario Weeds: Pennsylvania smartweed

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Leaves
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Pennsylvania smartweed, Polygonum pensylvanicum L.,

Other Names: renouée de Pennsylvanie, Pinkweed, persicaire glanduleuse

Family: Buckwheat or Smartweed Family (Polygonaceae)

General Description: Native to North America and very similar to Pale smartweed in general shape and habit of growth.

Photos and Pictures

Pennsylvania smartweed.

Lady's Thumb. A. Plant. B. Portion of stem with leafstalk and ocrea. Pale smartweed. C. Portion of stem with lower surface of leaf blade, leafstalk and ocrea. Pennsylvania smartweed. D. Portion of lower stem with leafstalk and ocrea. E. Portion of upper stem with leaf stalk and ocrea showing stalked glands.
Lady's Thumb.
A. Plant. B. Portion of stem with leafstalk and ocrea. Pale smartweed. C. Portion of stem with lower surface of leaf blade, leafstalk and ocrea. Pennsylvania smartweed. D. Portion of lower stem with leafstalk and ocrea. E. Portion of upper stem with leaf stalk and ocrea showing stalked glands.

Leaves: Distinguished from Pale smartweed by the absence of matted whitish hair on the undersurface of lower leaves although a few, scattered, short, straight hairs may be present; by the absence of, or only occasional presence of tiny yellowish, unstalked glands on the undersurfaces of upper leaves; by the presence of orange to red or purplish, distinctly stalked glands (glandular hairs) on the upper stems below and in the flower spikes.

Flowers & Fruit: Distinguished from Pale smartweed by the deep pink to reddish colour of the flowering spikes; and by the larger "seeds" that are round-ovate, flattened, slightly hollowed on one side but not the other, and about 3mm (1/8in.) long by 2.5mm (1/10in.) wide; their larger size giving the spikes a coarser texture than in Pale smartweed. Flowers from July to September.

Habitat: Pennsylvania smartweed is native to moist soils in much of southern Ontario. It occurs as a weed in meadows, hay fields, depressional areas in cultivated land, and in roadside ditches.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from lady's-thumb by the complete absence of hair from the surface of the ocrea, the complete absence of a fringe of hair from the margin of the ocrea, the presence of stalked glands on the upper stems, and by its coarser spikes and larger seeds.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Renouée de Pennsylvanie

Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario

Table des matières

  1. Nom
  2. Autres Noms
  3. Famille
  4. Description générale
  5. Feuilles
  6. Fleurs et fruits
  7. Habitat
  8. Espèces similaires
  9. Liens connexes
  10. Pour plus de renseignements...

Nom : Renouée de Pennsylvanie, Polygonum pensylvanicum L.,

Autres noms : POLPY, Pennsylvania smartweed, persicaire glanduleuse, pinkweed

Famille : famille des polygonacées - Renouée, sarrasin

Description générale : originaire d'Amérique du Nord et très semblable à la persicaire pâle par son allure générale et son type de croissance

Photos et illustrations

Renouée de Pennsylvanie
Renouée de Pennsylvanie

Renouée persicaire. A. Plante. B. Portion de tige avec pétiole et ochréa. Persicaire pâle. C. Portion de tige montrant la face inférieure du limbe, le pétiole et l'ochréa. Renouée de Pennsylvanie. D. Portion de tige inférieure avec pétiole et ochréa. E. Portion de tige supérieure avec pétiole et ochréa.


Renouée persicaire.
A. Plante. B. Portion de tige avec pétiole et ochréa. Persicaire pâle. C. Portion de tige montrant la face inférieure du limbe, le pétiole et l'ochréa. Renouée de Pennsylvanie. D. Portion de tige inférieure avec pétiole et ochréa. E. Portion de tige supérieure avec pétiole et ochréa.

 

Feuilles : elle se distingue de la persicaire pâle par l'absence de poils feutrés blanchâtres au revers des feuilles inférieures - bien que quelques poils (m) épars, courts et droits puissent être présents - l'absence ou la présence seulement occasionnelle de minuscules glandes sessiles, jaunâtres au revers des feuilles supérieures, la présence de glandes nettement pédonculées (poils glanduleux) (n) orangées, rouges ou violacées sur les tiges supérieures en-dessous et à l'intérieur des épis floraux.

Fleurs et fruits : elle se distingue de la persicaire pâle par la couleur rose foncé ou rougeâtre des épis florifères, et les grosses graines rondes-ovées, aplaties, légèrement déprimées d'un seul côté et d'environ 3 mm (1/8 po) de longueur sur 2,5 mm (1/10 po) de largeur, et la grande taille des graines donnant aux épis une allure moins gracieuse que celle de la persicaire pâle (comparer les planches 27 et 29). Floraison de juillet à septembre.

Habitat : la renouée de Pennsylvanie est indigène dans les sols humides de presque tout le sud de l'Ontario. C'est une mauvaise herbe que l'on trouve dans les prés, les prairies de fauche, les dépressions des terres cultivées et les fossés longeant les chemins.

Espèces similaires : on la différencie de la renouée persicaire par l'absence totale de poils autant à la surface de l'ochréa (D, E) que sur son bord (p), la présence de glandes pédonculées (n) sur les tiges supérieures, l'allure moins gracieuse des épis, et la taille plus grande des graines.

| Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 2000
Dernière révision : 14 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca