Ontario Weeds: Motherwort

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Motherwort, Leonurus cardiaca L.,

Other Names: agripaume cardiaque, agripaume, herbe piquante

Family: Mint Family (Labiatae)

General Description: Perennial, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Motherwort.

Motherwort. A. Top of plant before flowers open.
Motherwort. A. Top of plant before flowers open.

B. Mature calyx with its 5 slender, spiny-tipped lobes.
B. Mature calyx with its 5 slender, spiny-tipped lobes.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, 40-180cm (16-70in.) high, square, somewhat hairy along the angles, branched, frequently several stems from 1 coarsely fibrous root crown; leaves opposite (2 per node), lower ones long-stalked, rounded in outline, palmately cleft into usually 5 or more main lobes which are coarsely or irregularly toothed, upper leaves on shorter stalks, smaller, and only 3- or 5-cleft.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers in the axils of small upper leaves; calyx tubular with 5 slender, sharp lobes, 3 pointing upwards and 2 downwards, becoming hard, sharp, and spiny at maturity; the calyx breaking off and clinging as a bur to clothing or fur; corolla pink to pale purple or whitish, upper lip conspicuously white-hairy, not lobed, lower lip 3-lobed; each flower producing 4 nutlets ("seeds") which are triangular, dark brown and hairy at the apex. Flowers from June to August

Habitat: Motherwort occurs throughout southern Ontario in yards, waste places, fence lines, and roadsides.

Similar Species: It is distinguished in non-flowering stages by its palmately lobed leaves (almost like maple leaves) in geometrically precise arrangement in 4 vertical planes around the square stem. Flowering and fruiting plants are distinguished by their palmately lobed leaves, clusters of pinkish flowers in leaf axils, and the calyx of each flower with 5 very sharp lobes, 3 pointing upwards and 2 downwards, these becoming spiny bur-like clusters on mature and dry stems.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2000
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Agripaume cardiaque

Nom : Agripaume cardiaque, Leonurus cardiaca L.,

Autres Noms : LECCA, motherwort, agripaume, herbe piquante.

Famille : famille des Labiées - Menthe

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines).

Photos et illustrations

Agripaume cardiaque


Agripaume cardiaque. A. Sommet d'une plante avant l'épanouissement des fleurs.
Agripaume cardiaque. A. Sommet d'une plante avant l'épanouissement des fleurs.

Agripaume cardiaque. B. Calice mûr à 5 lobes étroits et épineux.
Agripaume cardiaque. B. Calice mûr à 5 lobes étroits et épineux.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges dressées, de 40 à 180 cm (16-70 po) de hauteur, carrées, un peu velues le long des arêtes, ramifiées, souvent issues en petit nombre d'une même racine fasciculée tenace; feuilles opposées (2 par noeud), les inférieures longuement pétiolées, à contour arrondi, palmées, découpées généralement en 5 lobes principaux ou plus munis de grosses dents irrégulières, les feuilles supérieures courtement pétiolées, plus petites, et découpées seulement en 3 ou 5 lobes.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs groupées aux aisselles des petites feuilles supérieures; calice (B) tubuleux à 5 lobes linéaires, pointus, dont 3 pointent vers le haut (a) et 2 vers le bas (b), devenant durs et épineux à maturité, le calice se détache et s'accroche aux vêtements et à la toison; corolle rose, pourpre clair ou blanchâtre, lèvre supérieure nettement couverte de poils blancs, non lobée, lèvre inférieure trilobée; chaque fleur donne 4 nucules (« graines ») triangulaires, brun foncé et velues à l'apex. Floraison de juin à août.

Habitat : L'agripaume cardiaque se rencontre partout dans le sud de l'Ontario dans les cours, les terrains incultes, le long des clôtures et des routes.

Espèces similaires : Lorsqu'elle n'est pas en fleurs, on la reconnaît à ses feuilles palmatiglobées (rappelant les feuilles d'érable) disposées selon un ordre géométrique précis sur 4 plans verticaux autour de la tige carrée. Aux stades de la floraison et de la fructification, on la reconnaît à ses feuilles palmatiglobées, à ses grappes de fleurs axillaires rosâtres, au calice de chaque fleur terminé par 5 lobes dont 3 pointent vers le haut et 2 vers le bas et qui se transforment en une masse épineuse sur les tiges mûres et sèches.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 03 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 03 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca