Ontario Weeds: Leafy spurge

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Leafy spurge, Euphorbia esula complex*

Other Names: euphorbe ésule, euphorbe feuillue

Family: Spurge Family (Euphorbiaceae)

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by widely spreading underground roots having numerous small pinkish buds from which new leafy shoots are produced.

Photos and Pictures

Leafy spurge (A - plant; B - portion of inflorescence showing cyathia between pairs of bracts).
Leafy spurge
(A - plant; B - portion of inflorescence showing cyathia between pairs of bracts).

Leafy spurge. A. Top of flowering plant. B. Detail of a portion of the inflorescence showing 2 oval bracts (e), each with a small branch in its axil and between the branches is 1 cyathium consisting of a cup (h) with U-shaped glands (j) and tiny lobes (k) on its rim and showing 3 male flowers (f) (3 single stamens) and 1 female flower (g) (1 single pistil) that have emerged from inside it.
Leafy spurge.
A. Top of flowering plant. B. Detail of a portion of the inflorescence showing 2 oval bracts (e), each with a small branch in its axil and between the branches is 1 cyathium consisting of a cup (h) with U-shaped glands (j) and tiny lobes (k) on its rim and showing 3 male flowers (f) (3 single stamens) and 1 female flower (g) (1 single pistil) that have emerged from inside it.

Stems & Roots: Similar to Cypress spurge but taller and coarser. Stems erect, up to 1m (40in.) high; leaves numerous, alternate (1 per node), or crowded and some appearing opposite (2 per node), 3-7cm (1¼-3in.) long, linear or wedge-shaped, and 1 whorl of 7 or more leaves at the tip of the stem; inflorescence greenish, consisting of a large umbel-like cluster of 7 or more branches at the tip of the main stem and smaller branching clusters at the ends of these and other branches below the main umbel; leaves (bracts) of the inflorescence very broadly ovate to almost kidney-shaped and usually abruptly tipped with a very fine point.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers tiny, unisexual and very unusual; several male (pollen-producing) flowers consisting only of single, tiny stamens without sepals or petals, and 1 female (seed-producing) flower consisting only of a single pistil also without sepals or petals crowded in a cup-like structure, the rim of which has 4 yellowish U-shaped glands and 4 tiny lobes, the whole complex of several tiny male and one female flowers in a cup being called a cyathium; seedpods 3-lobed, containing 3 seeds about 2.5mm (1/10in.) long, smooth, grayish to yellowish or brownish and usually with a tiny yellow bump near the base; the seedpods exploding when dry and throwing the seeds several metres in all directions. The plants are deep green to almost bluish-green during spring, changing to yellowish-green or olive-green at flowering time during June and July, and changing back to a dull green or sometimes reddish-green after flowering; then sometimes with a secondary period of flowering in late August or September, shedding seeds while still flowering.

Habitat: Leafy spurge occurs in several localities throughout Ontario, occupying a wide variety of soils and habitats, including cultivated land, meadows, pastures, waste places, open woodland, roadsides, and gardens.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from most other plants by having milky juice, spreading roots with pink buds, its slender green leaves that are mostly alternate, and its yellowish-green inflorescence, and from Cypress spurge by its taller, coarser habit, longer leaves, and fewer branches in the main umbel at the tip of the stem. It is distinguished from the annual erect spurges by its perennial habit, and tall, coarse stems with mostly linear leaves.

*There is still considerable confusion about the botanical name for the Leafy spurge that grows in North America. What is called Leafy spurge is actually a complex of several closely related groups of plants which seem to have physiological differences but are very similar in appearance. Insects and disease organisms can tell the difference even though people cannot! The names E. virgata and E. x pseudovirgata are also being used for this complex in current literature.

 

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Euphorbe ésule

Nom : Euphorbe ésule, Euphorbia esula complex*

Autres Noms : EPHES, leafy spurge, euphorbe feuillue.

Famille : Spurge Famille (Euphorbiaceae)

Description générale : plante vivace se reproduisant par germination (graines) et par des racines très étendues qui portent de nombreux petits bourgeons rosâtres desquels jaillissent de nouvelles pousses feuillues.

Photos et illustrations

Euphorbe ésule (A -plante entière; B - partie de l'inflorescence où l'on peut voir les cyathes situés entres les paires de bractées

Euphorbe ésule (A -plante entière; B - partie de l'inflorescence où l'on peut voir les cyathes situés entres les paires de bractées

Euphorbe ésule. A. Sommet d'une plante florifère. B. Détail d'une partie de l'inflorescence montrant 2 bractées ovales (e), chacune portant un petit axe à son aisselle; entre les rameaux, on trouve un cyathe, soit une coupe (h) ornée de glandes en U (j) et de lobes minuscules (k) sur ses bords; on y voit 3 fleurs mâles (f) (3 étamines uniques) et une fleur femelle (g) (1 pistil unique) qui jaillissent du centre.

Euphorbe ésule. A. Sommet d'une plante florifère. B. Détail d'une partie de l'inflorescence montrant 2 bractées ovales (e), chacune portant un petit axe à son aisselle; entre les rameaux, on trouve un cyathe, soit une coupe (h) ornée de glandes en U (j) et de lobes minuscules (k) sur ses bords; on y voit 3 fleurs mâles (f) (3 étamines uniques) et une fleur femelle (g) (1 pistil unique) qui jaillissent du centre.

Tiges et rhizomes : semblable à l'euphorbe cyprès mais plus grande et moins raffinée. Tiges dressées, pouvant atteindre 1 m (40 po) de hauteur; feuilles nombreuses, alternes (1 par noeud) (a) ou groupées, certaines semblant alors opposées (2 par noeud) (b), de 3 à 7 cm (1 1/4-3 po) de longueur, linéaires ou cunéiformes, 7 feuilles ou plus rassemblées en un verticille au bout de la tige (c); inflorescence verdâtre, en forme de grande ombelle à 7 axes ou plus au sommet de la tige principale (c) et en bouquets ramifiés plus petits au bout de ces axes et au sommet d'autres rameaux inférieurs (d); bractées (e) de l'inflorescence très largement ovées ou presque réniformes, se terminant habituellement de façon abrupte en une pointe très fine.

Feuilles : nombreuses, alternes (1 par noeud)(a) ou groupées, certaines semblant alors opposées (2 par noeud) (b), de 3 à 7 cm (1 1/4-3 po) de longueur, linéaires ou cunéiformes, 7 feuilles ou plus rassemblées en un verticille au bout de la tige (c); inflorescence verdâtre, en forme de grande ombelle à 7 axes ou plus au sommet de la tige principale (c) et en bouquets ramifiés plus petits au bout de ces axes et au sommet d'autres rameaux inférieurs (d); bractées (e) de l'inflorescence très largement ovées ou presque réniformes, se terminant habituellement de façon abrupte en une pointe très fine.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs minuscules, unisexuées et très inhabituelles, serrées les unes contre les autres en une structure cupulaire (h) appelée cyathe (B), dépourvue de pétales et de sépales, dont le bord porte 4 glandes jaunâtres en forme de U (j) et 4 lobes minuscules (k); l'inflorescence renferme un petit nombre de fleurs mâles (productrices de pollen) à une seule étamine (f) infime, sans sépales ni pétales, et une seule fleur femelle (productrice de graines) réduite à un pistil unique (g), sans sépales ni pétales; capsules (m) trilobées, contenant 3 graines d'environ 2,5 mm (1/10 po) de longueur, lisses, grisâtres, jaunâtres ou brunâtres, habituellement ornées, d'une minuscule bosse jaune près de la base; les capsules éclatent lorsqu'elles sont sèches et projettent leurs graines à plusieurs mètres dans toutes les directions. Les plantes sont vert foncé ou presque vert bleuâtre au printemps, devenant vert jaunâtre ou vert olive au moment de la floraison, en juin et juillet, puis virant au vert terne ou parfois vert rougeâtre après la floraison; elles ont parfois une deuxième période de floraison à la fin d'août ou en septembre, perdant leurs graines alors qu'elles fleurissent encore.

Habitat : on trouve l'euphorbe ésule dans plusieurs localités de l'Ontario, dans de nombreux types de sols et d'habitats, dont les terres cultivées, les prairies, les pâturages, les terrains incultes, les boisés dégagés, les jardins et le bord des routes.

Espèces similaires : elle se différencie de la plupart des autres plantes par son suc laiteux, ses racines étalées, ornées de bourgeons roses, ses feuilles vertes et étroites, presque alternes, et son inflorescence vert jaunâtre. Elle se distingue de l'euphorbe cyprès par sa taille plus grande et son aspect moins raffiné, ses feuilles plus longues et ses rameaux moins nombreux dans l'ombelle principale, au bout de la tige. On la reconnaît entre les euphorbes annuelles à port dressé par son cycle de croissance vivace et ses longues tiges grossières aux feuilles essentiellement linéaires.

* Il faut signaler la confusion généralisée qui persiste encore en ce qui concerne le botanique de l'euphorbe ésule qu'on trouve en Amérique du Nord. Ce qu'on nomme euphorbe ésule est en fait un complexe de plusieurs groupes de plantes étroitement apparentées qui semblent avoir des caractéristiques physiologiques différentes malgré leur aspect très semblable. Insectes et maladies savent les distinguer, même si les personnes n'y parviennent pas! Les noms E. virgata et E. x pseudovirgata sont également utilisés dans la documentation scientifique actuelle pour désigner ce complexe.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca