Ontario Weeds: Lady's thumb

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Leaves
  7. Flowers and Fruit
  8. Caution
  9. Habitat
  10. Similar Species
  11. Related Links

Name: Lady's-thumb, Polygonum persicaria L

Other Names: renouée persicaire, Red shank, Smartweed, persicaire pied rouge, persicaire

Family: Buckwheat or Smartweed Family (Polygonaceae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Lady's thumb

Lady's thumb

Lady's Thumb. Leaves.

Lady's Thumb. Flowers.

A. Plant. B. Portion of stem with leafstalk and ocrea. Pale smartweed. C. Portion of stem with lower surface of leaf blade, leafstalk and ocrea. Pennsylvania smartweed. D. Portion of lower stem with leafstalk and ocrea. E. Portion of upper stem with leaf stalk and ocrea showing stalked glands.

Lady's Thumb. A. Plant. B. Portion of stem with leafstalk and ocrea. Pale smartweed. C. Portion of stem with lower surface of leaf blade, leafstalk and ocrea. Pennsylvania smartweed. D. Portion of lower stem with leafstalk and ocrea. E. Portion of upper stem with leaf stalk and ocrea showing stalked glands.

Stems and Roots: Stems erect from a taproot, 20-100cm (8-40in.) high, green or reddish, smooth except for slightly swollen at the distinct nodes; each node with a hairy ocrea (cylindrical membranous sheath surrounding the stem).

Leaves: Leaves alternate (1 per node), narrowly elliptic, 2-15cm (4/5-6in.) long, greenish above and slightly paler below, usually with a reddish to brownish or purplish blotch near the middle; undersurface of leaf often slightly rough with tiny bumps, but never glandular or hairy, ocrea arising with the leafstalk at each node, membranous and somewhat papery, its surface covered with short, upward slanting hair and its upper margin ciliate with a fringe of short, erect hair about 1-2mm (1/25-1/12in.) long.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers small, densely crowded into narrow cylindrical spikes (1-4.5cm, 2/5-2in.) long at ends of stems and branches; each flower with 5 pinkish sepals 2-4mm (1/12-1/6in.) long, sometimes nearly white; fruits ("seeds") more or less enclosed by the sepals when mature, shiny, smooth, black, broadly ovate in outline, about 2mm (1/12in.) long; of 2 kinds, either rounded-triangular or flattened or somewhat lens-shaped in cross-section; the seed often slightly thickened near the middle. Seedling with cotyledons (seed leaves) about 8-12mm (1/3-½in.) long by 2-3mm (1/12-1/8in.) wide, tapered towards both ends, reddish on the undersurface; stem below the cotyledons often reddish to brownish-green; cotyledons soon withering on developing stems. Flowers from June to September.

Habitat: Lady's-thumb is an introduced weed which occurs in cultivated land on nearly all soil textures throughout Ontario as well as along roadsides and waste places.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from other members of the Smartweed Family by the following combination of characteristics: undersurface of leaves without matted white hair or yellowish glands, ocrea with hair on the surface and a fringe of longer hair on the margin, and the stem lacking glands on the upper portion near the spikes of flowers. The reddish or purplish blotch usually present on the upper surface of the leaves cannot be relied upon as a distinguishing feature of Lady's-thumb. Occasionally it is absent from this species and frequently can be found on leaves of other species as well.

Caution: The seed is a frequent contaminant in small grains. 

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2000
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Renouée persicaire

Nom : Renouée persicaire, Polygonum persicaria L

Autres noms : POLPE, lady's-thumb, persicaire pied rouge, persicaire, red shank, smartweed.

Famille : famille des polygonacées - Renouée, sarrasin.

Description générale : Plante annuelle se reproduisant seulement par graines.

Photos et illustrations

Renouée persicaire

Renouée persicaire

Renouée persicaire. Feuilles

Renouée persicaire. Fleures.

Renouée persicaire. A. Plante. B. Portion de tige avec pétiole et ochréa. Persicaire pâle. C. Portion de tige montrant la face inférieure du limbe, le pétiole et l'ochréa. Renouée de Pennsylvanie. D. Portion de tige inférieure avec pétiole et ochréa. E. Portion de tige supérieure avec pétiole et ochréa.

Renouée persicaire. A. Plante. B. Portion de tige avec pétiole et ochréa. Persicaire pâle. C. Portion de tige montrant la face inférieure du limbe, le pétiole et l'ochréa. Renouée de Pennsylvanie. D. Portion de tige inférieure avec pétiole et ochréa. E. Portion de tige supérieure avec pétiole et ochréa.

 

Tiges et rhizomes: tiges dressées, issues d'une racine pivotante, de 20 à 100 cm (18-40 po) de hauteur, vertes ou rougeâtres, lisses sauf à la hauteur des noeuds légèrement renflés (a); chaque noeud est doté d'un ochréa velu (gaine membraneuse entourant la tige) (b, B).

Feuilles: feuilles alternes (1 par noeud), elliptiques, étroites, de 2 à 15 cm (4/5-6 po) de longueur, verdâtres sur le dessus et légèrement plus pâles sur le dessous, portant en général une tache (c) rougeâtre, brunâtre ou violacée au milieu; dessous de la feuille souvent un peu rêche, avec de minuscules bosses, mais jamais glanduleux ni velu; l'ochréa (b, B) enrobe 3 fois la tige au-dessus de chaque noeud (a) à la base du pétiole, est membraneux, garni de poils (d) courts, pointant vers le haut, et son bord supérieur est cilié, c'est-à-dire muni d'une frange de poils (e) courts et dressés d'environ 1 à 2 mm (1/25-1/12 po) de longueur.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs petites, serrées les unes contre les autres pour former d'étroits épis cylindriques, de 1 à 4,5 cm (2/5-2 po) de longueur, au sommet des tiges et des rameaux; chaque fleur a 5 sépales rosâtres, parfois presque blancs, de 2 à 4 mm (1/12-1/6 po) de longueur; graines noires et luisantes, plus ou moins enveloppées dans les sépales à maturité, longues d'environ 2 mm (1/12 po), de section soit triangulaire-arrondie soit légèrement lenticulaire ou aplatie; graine souvent un peu plus épaisse au centre; chez le jeune plant, cotylédons (feuilles embryonnaires) d'environ 8 à 12 mm (1/3-1/2 po) de longueur et 2 à 3 mm (1/12-1/8 po) de largeur, rétrécis aux deux bouts et à face inférieure rougeâtre; l'axe hypocotylé est souvent de couleur variant du rougeâtre au vert brunâtre; les cotylédons flétrissant (f) rapidement lorsque la tige se développe. Floraison de juin à septembre.

Habitat : La renouée persicaire est une mauvaise herbe introduite que l'on trouve dans les champs cultivés, quelle que soit leur texture, partout en Ontario, ainsi que sur les bords de routes et les terrains incultes.

Espèces similaires : on distingue la renouée persicaire des autres membres de la famille des Polygonacées grâce aux caractéristiques suivantes : envers des feuilles dépourvu de poils blancs enchevêtrés ou de glandes jaunâtres; ochréa (b, B) velu (d) en surface, et frangé de poils (e) plus longs en bordure; absence de glandes sur la partie supérieure des tiges, près des épis de fleurs. La tache (c) rougeâtre ou violacée habituellement présente sur la face supérieure des feuilles ne peut être considérée comme un trait distinctif fiable de la renouée persicaire; en effet, celle-ci en est parfois dépourvue. En outre, cette tache est fréquemment observée sur les feuilles d'autres espèces.

Mise en garde: ses graines contaminent fréquemment les céréales à paille.

| Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 2000
Dernière révision : 12 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca