Ontario Weeds: Jerusalem artichoke

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links
Name: Jerusalem artichoke, Helianthus tuberosus L.,

Other Names: Topinambour, Tuberous sunflower, hélianthe tubéreux.

Family: Composite or Aster Family (Compositae

General Description: Perennial, reproducing both by seed and by spreading, fleshy, underground tubers resembling slender potatoes.

Photos and Pictures

A. Top of flowering plant. B. Green shoots from sprouted tubers and young plants.
A. Top of flowering plant. B. Green shoots from sprouted tubers and young plants.

A, Dense stand of young plants in a cultivated field. B. Tubers.
A, Dense stand of young plants in a cultivated field. B. Tubers.

Jerusalem artichoke

Basal portion with 2 tubers, and upper part of a flowering plant.
Basal portion with 2 tubers, and upper part of a flowering plant.

Jerusalem artichoke flowers

Stems & Roots: Stems erect, 1 - 3 m (40 in. - 10 ft) high, with few branches except near the top or occasionally bushy-branched throughout; lower leaves opposite (2 per node), stalked, ovate or broadest near the roundish base and tapering towards the pointed tip (b), 10 - 25 cm (4 - 10 in.) long, somewhat toothed, harshly hairy on the upper surface but smooth or softly hairy on the lower surface, usually with 3 main veins from the tip of the leafstalk; middle leaves similar and either opposite or alternate (1 per node); upper leaves smaller and usually alternate but occasionally opposite.

Flowers & Fruit: Flower heads bright yellow, resembling the cultivated sunflower but smaller, 5-10 cm (2-4 in.) across; flower heads also resembling those of Black-eyed Susan but ray florets longer and more upright, and disk florets larger, not as crowded and yellowish rather than purplish to blackish; seeds similar to cultivated sunflower but somewhat smaller (about 3-4 mm, 1/8-1/6 in. long and only 1-2 mm, 1/25-1/12 in. wide). Flowers from August to late autumn.

Habitat: Jerusalem artichoke occurs in moist meadows and valleys in southern Ontario; it has occasionally been cultivated as an ornamental and for its edible tubers, persisting after cultivation in old gardens, and spreading to cultivated fields, fence lines and roadsides.

Similar Species: It is distinguished by its tall, erect stems producing numerous, fleshy tuberous roots like slender potatoes, its medium to large leaves broad near the base and harsh on the upper surface, and its bright yellow, sunflower-like flower heads.

Related Links

... on Jerusalem Artichoke (Order No.94-077)
... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2000
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Topinambour

Nom : Topinambour, Helianthus tuberosus L.,

Autres Noms : HELTU, Jerusalem artichoke, hélianthe tubéreux, tuberous sunflower.

Famille : famille des composées ou Astéracées - Marguerite

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant à partir de graines (germination) et de tubercules (a) charnus qui se multiplient comme de petites pommes de terre.

Photos et illustrations

Topinambour. A. Sommité florifère. B. Pousses verte issues des germes de tubercules et de jeunes plants
Topinambour. A. Sommité florifère. B. Pousses verte issues des germes de tubercules et de jeunes plants

A. Touffe compacte de jeunes plants dans un champ cultivé. B. Tubercules.
A. Touffe compacte de jeunes plants dans un champ cultivé. B. Tubercules.

Topinambour

Racines portant 2 tubercules et portion supérieure d'une plante florifère.
Racines portant 2 tubercules et portion supérieure d'une plante florifère.

Topinambour

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges dressées, de 1 à 3 m (40 po-10 pi) de hauteur, surtout simples en bas, ramifiées en haut, ou portant des rameaux sur toute leur longueur; feuilles inférieures opposées (2 par noeud), pétiolées, ovées ou plus larges près de la base arrondie et se terminant en pointe (b), de 10 à 25 cm (4-10 po) de longueur, un peu dentées, à poils rugueux sur le dessus, mais glabres ou à poils doux sur le dessous, habituellement marquées de 3 nervures principales qui partent du pétiole; feuilles intermédiaires opposées ou alternes (1 par noeud) et présentant les mêmes caractères; feuilles supérieures plus petites, presque toujours alternes, mais parfois opposées.

Fleurs et fruits : capitules (c) jaune vif, semblables à ceux du tournesol cultivé mais plus petits, de 5 à 10 cm (2-4 po) de diamètre; fleurs du disque jaunes, moins serrées que celles de la rudbeckie hérissée; fleurs en rayons plus longues et plus dressées que celles de la rudbeckie hérissée; graines semblables à celles du tournesol cultivé, quoique plus petites (3-4 mm, 1/8-1/6 po) de longueur; 1-2 mm, 1/25-1/12 po de largeur). Floraison d'août à la fin de l'automne.

Habitat : On trouve le topinambour dans les prairies et les vallées humides du sud de l'Ontario; parfois cultivé comme plante ornementale ou pour ses racines comestibles, il a persisté dans les anciens jardins et s'est étendu aux champs cultivés; on le trouve aussi le long des routes et des clôtures.

Espèces similaires : Il se distingue par ses hautes tiges dressées qui produisent de nombreuses racines tubéreuses charnues, semblables à de petites pommes de terre, par ses feuilles moyennes ou grandes, larges près de la base et rugueuses sur le dessus, et par ses capitules jaune vif semblables à ceux des tournesols.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 19 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 19 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca