Ontario Weeds: Hoary alyssum

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Leaves
  7. Flowers and Fruit
  8. Habitat
  9. Similar Species
  10. Related Links

Name: Hoary alyssum, Berteroa incana (L.) DC,

Other Names: berteroa blanche, alysse

Family: Mustard Family (Cruciferae

General Description: Annual or short-lived perennial, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Hoary alyssum.

Hoary alyssum. A. Base of plant. B. Top of flowering and fruiting stem.

Hoary alyssum. A. Base of plant. B. Top of flowering and fruiting stem.

Stems & Roots: Stems - erect, 20-70cm (8-28in.) high, usually branched above and frequently purplish; green or each plant with 1 to many stems per plant;

Leaves: First leaves in a basal rosette, long-stalked, broadest near the tip; middle leaves similar but smaller; upper leaves stalkless, either elliptic or broader near the base, tapering to a long narrow point; all leaves alternate (1 per node), entire (without teeth) and not clasping the stem; stems, leaves, sepals and seedpods covered with very short star-shaped hairs giving the whole plant a gray hoary appearance;

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers like Wild mustard but smaller (3mm, 1/8in. across) with deeply lobed, white petals, clustered near the tips of the stems and branches; seedpods on erect stalks and held close to the stem; pods elliptical or oval, 5-8mm (1/5-1/3in.) long by 3-4mm (1/8-1/6in.) wide, slightly flattened; septum (membranous partition) as wide as the greatest width of the pod and usually remaining on the stalk after the sides of the pod have fallen off when mature, each pod containing 4 to 12 reddish-brown to brownish lens-shaped seeds 1-1.5mm (1/25-1/16in.) long with a faint suggestion of a wing around the edge. Flowers from late May to autumn, maturing and shedding seeds throughout the summer.

Habitat: Hoary alyssum occurs throughout Ontario but is more common in the southern part, particularly on sandy soils. It is found in hay and pasture fields, meadows, roadsides, waste areas and occasionally in gardens or poorly kept lawns.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from other mustards with rounded seedpods by its stalkless, non-clasping stem leaves with smooth (entire) margins, the dense star-shaped hairs that give the whole plant a hoary appearance, and the broad septum (membranous partition) in the oval, hoary seedpods which are held erect and very close to the stem.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Berteroa blanche

Nom : Hoary alyssum, Berteroa incana (L.) DC,

Autres noms : BEFIN, hoary alyssum, alysse

Famille : familles des Crucifères - Moutarde 

Description générale : plante annuelle ou vivace à vie courte se reproduisant uniquement par germination (graines).

Photos et illustrations

Berteroa blanche

Berteroa blanche. A. Base de la plante. B. Sommité florifère et fructifère.

Berteroa blanche. A. Base de la plante. B. Sommité florifère et fructifère.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges dressées, de 20 à 70 cm (8-28 po) de hauteur, habituellement ramifiées vers le haut et souvent violacées, ordinairement vertes; une à plusieurs tiges par racine.

Feuilles : premières feuilles en rosette basilaire, à pétioles longs, plus larges vers l'extrémité; feuilles du milieu semblables mais plus petites; feuilles du haut sessiles, elliptiques ou plus larges à la base, et s'effilant en une longue pointe étroite; toutes les feuilles alternes (1 par noeud), entières (sans dents) et n'embrassant pas la tige (a); tiges, feuilles, sépales et silicules (capsules) couverts de poils étoilés très courts donnant l'impression que toute la plante est couverte d'un duvet gris.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs comme celles de la moutarde des champs mais plus petites (3 mm, 1/8 po de diamètre) aux pétales blancs profondément lobés, regroupées aux bouts des tiges et des rameaux; silicules sur des pédoncules dressés, près de la tige; capsules (b) elliptiques ou ovales, de 5 à 8 mm (1/5-1/3 po) de longueur sur 3 à 4 mm (1/8-1/6 po) de largeur, légèrement aplaties; cloison (c) (division membraneuse) aussi large que la plus grande largeur de la capsule et restant habituellement sur les pédoncules après la chute des parois de la silicule à maturité; chaque capsule contenant de 4 à 12 graines lenticulaires brun rougeâtre ou brunes, de 1 à 1,5 mm (1/25-1/16 po) de longueur et laissant voir l'esquisse d'une aile en bordure. Floraison de la fin mai à l'automne, avec maturation et production de graines durant tout l'été.

 

Habitat : la berteroa blanche se trouve partout en Ontario, mais elle est plus commune au sud, surtout dans les sols sablonneux. Elle existe dans les champs de fauche, les pâturages, les prairies, les terrains incultes, en bordure des routes et parfois dans les jardins ou les pelouses mal entretenues.

Espèces similaires : la berteroa blanche se différencie des autres Crucifères par ses silicules arrondies, ses feuilles (a) sessiles qui n'embrassent pas la tige et dont les bords sont lisses (entiers), ses poils étoilés et touffus qui donnent l'impression que toute la plante est couverte de duvet, et la large cloison (division membraneuse) (c) de ses silicules ovales, duveteuses, dressées et portées très près de la tige.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 12 avril 2005
Dernière révision : 12 avril 2005

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca