Ontario Weeds: Ground ivy

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Ground-ivy, Glechoma hederacea L.,

Other Names: lierre terrestre, Creeping Charlie, Gill-over-the-ground, gléchome lierre, lierre-terrestre panaché

Family: Mint Family (Labiatae)

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by creeping stems.

Photos and Pictures

Ground ivy, in a lawn.

Ground ivy, in a lawn.

Portion of a "creeping" stem lying on the ground surface, rooting from every node, as well as producing leaves and upright shoots from most nodes.

Ground ivy. Portion of a "creeping" stem lying on the ground surface, rooting from every node, as well as producing leaves and upright shoots from most nodes.

Stems & Roots: Stems prostrate, rooting at every node which touches the ground, producing short, erect, leafy branches 10-30cm (4-12in.) high and slightly hairy; leaves opposite (2 per node), long-stalked, hairy, green or somewhat purplish; margins coarsely round-toothed to wavy-toothed.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers 1 to several (usually in pairs) in axils of upper leaves; calyx short, tubular with 5 short, sharp, soft points; corolla blue-violet to purplish, about 10-23mm (2/5-7/8in.) long and 6-10mm (¼-2/5in.) wide, of 5 united petals, irregular, tubular, 2-lipped at the end, the upper lip with 2 shallow lobes and the lower lip with 3 larger lobes; each flower producing 4 tiny nutlets ("seeds"). The leaves and stems have a strong, disagreeable, almost rancid mint-like odour but the flowers are sweeter and they are sometimes used as a garnish when icing cakes. Flowers from late spring until autumn.

Habitat: Ground-ivy occurs throughout Ontario but is much more common in the southern parts of the province, infesting gardens, roadsides, waste areas, pastures, open woods and occasionally edges of cultivated fields.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from other low-growing plants by its creeping square stems, opposite, long-stalked, rounded to kidney-shaped leaves with round or wavy teeth, prominent axillary blue to purplish flowers and strong, rather rancid, mint-like odour.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Lierre terreste

Nom : Lierre terreste, Glechoma hederacea L.,

Autres Noms : GLEHE, ground-ivy, gléchome lierre, lierre terrestre panaché, rondette, creeping charlie, gill-over-the ground.

Famille : famille des Labiées - Menthe

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant par germination (graines) et au moyen de tiges traçantes.

Photos et illustrations

Lierre terrestre, dans une pelouse

Lierre terrestre, dans une pelouse

Lierre terrestre. Portion de tige traçante courant sur le sol, s'enracinant à chaque noeud, la plupart des noeuds donnant naissance à des feuilles et à des tiges dressées.

Lierre terrestre. Portion de tige traçante courant sur le sol, s'enracinant à chaque noeud, la plupart des noeuds donnant naissance à des feuilles et à des tiges dressées.

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges couchées, s'enracinant à chaque noeud (a) qui touche le sol, produisant de courts rameaux feuillus, dressés, de 10 à 30 cm (4-12 po) de hauteur et légèrement velus; feuilles opposées (2 par noeud), longuement pétiolées, velues, vertes ou légèrement violacées, munies de grosses dents arrondies ou à bord flexueux.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs, solitaires ou groupées en petit nombre (habituellement par paires) à l'aisselle des feuilles supérieures; calice court, tubuleux, à 5 dents souples et pointues; corolle bleu-violet ou pourpre, de 10 à 23 mm (2/5-7/8 po) de longueur et 6 à 10 mm (1/4-2/5 po) de largeur, formée de 5 pétales soudés, irrégulière, tubuleuse, bilabiée à son sommet, lèvre supérieure légèrement découpée en 2 lobes (b) et lèvre inférieure en 3 lobes plus larges (c); chaque fleur produisant 4 nucules (« graines ») minuscules. Les feuilles et les tiges dégagent une forte odeur désagréable, rappelant la menthe, mais presque âcre; en revanche, les fleurs sont plus suaves et on les utilise parfois pour décorer les gâteaux. Floraison de la fin du printemps jusqu'à l'automne.

Habitat : Le lierre terrestre se rencontre partout en Ontario, mais il est beaucoup plus commun dans le sud de la province, où il infeste les jardins, les terrains incultes, les bords de route, les pâturages, les bois dégagés et parfois les lisières des champs cultivés.

Espèces similaires : On le distingue des autres plantes basses par ses tiges traçantes carrées, ses feuilles opposées, longuement pétiolées, arrondies ou réniformes, à bord flexueux ou muni de dents rondes, ses fleurs axillaires proéminentes et sa forte odeur de menthe plutôt âcre.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 2 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 2 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca