Ontario Weeds: Green foxtail

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Green foxtail, Setaria viridis (L.) Beauv.,

Other Names: sétaire verte, Bottle brush, Bottle grass, Bristle grass, Foxtail millet, Millet, Pigeon grass, Wild millet, mil sauvage

Family: Grass Family (Gramineae)

General Description: Annual, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Green foxtail (A - plants; B - leaf-base with hairy ligule and ciliate margins of leaf sheath).

Green foxtail (A - plants; B - leaf-base with hairy ligule and ciliate margins of leaf sheath).

Green foxtail

Green foxtail. A. Plant with stem folded twice. B. Leaf bse. C. Spike. Bristly foxtail. D. Leaf-base. E. Spike. F. Cluster of 3 spikelets and 6 bristles with backward-pointing barbs.

Green foxtail. A. Plant with stem folded twice. B. Leaf bse. C. Spike. Bristly foxtail. D. Leaf-base. E. Spike. F. Cluster of 3 spikelets and 6 bristles with backward-pointing barbs.

 

Stem and leaf-base characteristics of a typical grass.

Stem and leaf-base characteristics of a typical grass.

Stems & Roots: Stems erect or spreading, 10-100cm (4-40in.) tall or occasionally taller, usually round in cross-section but occasionally much flattened; leaves and leaf sheaths of very young plants often densely hairy but with upward-pointing hair; upper leaf blades and leaf sheaths mostly without hair; margins and both surfaces of leaf blades rough with very fine forward-pointing barbs; leaf sheath split with overlapping margins, both margins being fringed with a band of short hair; ligule a fringe of hair 1.5-2mm (1/16-1/12in.) long; no auricles.

Flowers & Fruit: Inflorescence a very dense spike 1-15cm (2/5-6in.) long and 0.6-2.0cm (1/4-4/5in.) wide, usually straight and erect or rarely somewhat curved, the larger ones sometimes with short branches up to 1cm (2/5in.) long, and covered with short green to slightly purplish bristles which give the inflorescence a bottle-brush appearance; the bristles have microscopic forward-pointing barbs that allow the seed head to be dragged downwards but not pushed upwards over the skin or a rough surface. Spikelets about 2mm (1/12in.) long by 1mm (1/25in.) wide; each contains a single fertile floret ("seed" or "grain"), that is rounded on one surface but flattened on the other, finely cross-ridged (seen only with magnification), and dull yellowish-green with brownish spots. Flowers from July to August.

Habitat: Green foxtail is very common and widespread throughout all agricultural regions of Ontario. It grows well in all soil textures and occurs in cultivated lands, waste places, roadsides, gardens and occasionally lawns.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from Yellow foxtail by its green or purple bristles, the absence of long, kinky hair on the upper surface of the leaf blade near the stem, the presence of a fringe of hair on both margins of the leaf sheath, and its somewhat smaller grains or seeds. It is distinguished from Bristly foxtail by its denser, more continuous spike whose bristles do not cling when sliding the fingers upwards on it. It is distinguished from Giant foxtail by its usually shorter stature, its shorter, thinner and usually erect inflorescence (rarely curved or nodding) and the absence of a covering of short hair on leaf surfaces in the middle and upper parts of the plant.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Sétaire verte

Nom : Sétaire verte, Setaria viridis (L.) Beauv.,

Autres noms : SETVI, green foxtail, sétaire verdâtre, foin sauvage, mil sauvage, bottle grass, bristle grass, foxtail millet, millet, pigeon grass, wild millet.

Famille : famille des Graminées.

Description générale : Plante annuelle ne se reproduisant que par graines.

Photos et illustrations

Sétaire verte (A - Plantes; B - Jonction de la gaine et du limbe, laissant voir la ligule poilue et les bords ciliés de la gaine).

Sétaire verte (A - Plantes; B - Jonction de la gaine et du limbe, laissant voir la ligule poilue et les bords ciliés de la gaine).

Sétaire verte

Sétaire verte

Sétaire verte. A. Plant dont le chaume est replié deux fois B. Base du limbe C. Épi; Sétaire verticillée D. Base du limbe E. Épi F. Grappe de 3 épillets sur laquelle on voit 6 soies aux barbes pointées vers le bas.

Sétaire verte. A. Plant dont le chaume est replié deux fois B. Base du limbe C. Épi; Sétaire verticillée D. Base du limbe E. Épi F. Grappe de 3 épillets sur laquelle on voit 6 soies aux barbes pointées vers le bas.

Caractéristiques du chaume et de la base du limbe d'une graminée.

Caractéristiques du chaume et de la base du limbe d'une graminée.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Chaumes dressés ou étalés, de 10 à 100 cm (4-40 po) de hauteur ou plus, cylindriques en coupe transversale, mais parfois aplatis; feuilles et gaines des très jeunes plantes souvent velues, à poils orientés vers le haut; feuilles et gaines foliaires supérieures à peu près glabres; bords (a) et faces (b) de la feuille rudes, à barbes très fines, orientées vers l'avant; gaine fendue, à bords chevauchants (c), bordée de poils courts (d); pour ligule (e), une frange de poils longs de 1,5 à 2,0 mm (1/16-1/12 po); pas d'oreillettes.

Fleurs et fruits : pour inflorescence, un épi très dense, de 1 à 15 cm (2/5-6 po) de longueur et de 0,6 à 2,0 cm (1/4-4/5 po) de largeur, droit et dressé, rarement recourbé, pourvu, s'il est gros, de rameaux courts atteignant jusqu'à 1 cm (2/5 po), et couvert de soies courtes qui donnent à l'inflorescence l'aspect d'une brosse à bouteille; soies vertes tirant parfois sur le pourpre, pourvues de barbes microscopiques orientées vers le haut qui empêchent l'épi de glisser à rebrousse-poil contre la peau ou toute surface rugueuse. Chaque épillet, de 2 mm (1/12 po) de longueur sur 1 mm (1/25 po) de largeur, renferme une seule florule fertile (« graine »), arrondie sur un plan et aplatie sur l'autre, finement striée quand on l'observe à la loupe et vert jaunâtre mat tacheté de brun. Floraison en juillet et en août.

Habitat : La sétaire verte est très répandue dans toutes les régions agricoles de l'Ontario. Elle pousse dans tous les types de sol et se trouve dans les terres cultivées, les lieux incultes, les jardins, au bord des routes et parfois sur les pelouses.

Espèces similaires : Elle se distingue de la sétaire glauque par ses soies vertes ou pourpres, la face supérieure glabre de ses feuilles à proximité du chaume, sa frange de poils (d) sur les deux marges (c) de la gaine et ses graines plutôt petites. Elle diffère de la sétaire verticillée par son épi compact et uniformément garni dont les soies n'adhèrent pas à la peau lorsqu'on glisse les doigts vers le sommet de l'épi. Sa taille habituellement plus petite, son inflorescence en général plus courte, plus mince et dressée (rarement incurvée ou inclinée) et ses feuilles glabres au milieu et au haut de la plante permettent de la distinguer de la sétaire géante.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 10 janvier 2005
Dernière révision : 10 janvier 2005

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca