Ontario Weeds: Goutweed

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Leaves
  7. Flowers and Fruit
  8. Habitat
  9. Similar Species
  10. Related Links

Name: Goutweed, Aegopodium podagraria L.,

Other Names: égopode podagraire, Bishop's goutweed, herbe aux goutteux

Family: Carrot Or Parsley Family (Umbelliferae)

General Description: Perennial, reproducing by seed and by widely spreading, much-branched, whitish underground stems (rhizomes) producing dense patches.

Photos and Pictures

Goutweed


Goutweed

Goutweed. A. Non-flowering plant with 2 basal leaves and 1 radical leaf.

Goutweed. A. Non-flowering plant with 2 basal leaves
and 1 radical leaf.

Goutweed. B. Top of flowering stem.
Goutweed. B. Top of flowering stem.

Stems & Roots: Flowering stems erect, 40-90cm (16-36in.) high, branched in the upper part but seldom seen when the weed infests lawns or gardens.

Leaves: Basal leaves arise directly from the rhizomes at the ground surface; these and the leaves arising from below the ground surface (called "radical leaves") are all long-stalked, divided in 3 main parts but quite variable as each part may be redivided into as many as 5 subdivisions, a single leaf therefore consisting of from 3 to as many as 15 broad, flat, somewhat oval leaflets, the separation often incomplete giving the lobed leaflet a "mitten-like" appearance; all leaflets irregularly coarsely to finely toothed; base of terminal leaflet symmetrical; base of lateral leaflet not symmetrical; stem leaves alternate (1 per node), similar to basal leaves but usually smaller, with fewer divisions and with a short stalk; bases of leafstalks broad, flat and winged so they more or less encircle the stem at the node.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers individually very small, white, in compound umbels without any bracts immediately below the umbel. Flowers from June to August.

Habitat: Goutweed was widely cultivated as a vigorous perennial ground cover because of its strong spreading rhizome system, but the same characteristics enable it to escape from cultivation and invade lawns, hedges, gardens, roadsides and waste places, the habitats in which it occurs throughout most of southern Ontario. Some cultivated forms have variegated leaves, the leaflets being green near the centre but whitish around their margins. These are usually less aggressive than forms with entirely green leaves.

Similar Species: Goutweed is distinguished by its very vigorous, aggressive spreading habit, its widely spreading whitish rhizomes, and its compound leaves consisting of 3 to 15 broad leaflets which usually have a symmetrical base on the terminal leaflet but non-symmetrical bases on the lateral leaflets.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Égopode podagraire

Nom : Égopode podagraire, Aegopodium podagraria L.,

Autres Noms : AEOPO, goutweed, herbe aux goutteux, bishop's goutweed.

Famille : famille des Ombellifères - Carotte, persil

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant par germination (graines) et par des tiges souterraines blanchâtres (rhizomes) (a) très ramifiées et largement étendues produisant des parcelles denses.

Photos et illustrations

Égopode podagraire


Égopode podagraire

Égopode podagraire. A. Plant non florifère portant 2 feuilles basilaires et 1 feuille radicale.

Égopode podagraire. A. Plant non florifère portant 2 feuilles basilaires et 1 feuille radicale.

Égopode podagraire. B. Sommet d'une tige florifère.

Égopode podagraire. B. Sommet d'une tige florifère.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Tiges florifères dressées, de 40 à 90 cm (16-36 po) de hauteur, ramifiées dans sa partie supérieure mais rarement observées quand la mauvaise herbe envahit les pelouses et les jardins.

Feuilles : feuilles basilaires issues directement des rhizomes à la surface du sol (b); ces feuilles, ainsi que celles attachées plus profondément sous la surface du sol (c), toutes dites « feuilles racinaires », sont longuement pétiolées, divisées en 3 parties principales (d), à divisions très variables, chacune pouvant à son tour se subdiviser 5 fois; chaque feuille peut comprendre de 3 à 15 grandes folioles plates et un peu ovales, à séparation souvent incomplète donnant à la foliole lobée l'apparence d'une mitaine (e); toutes les folioles sont découpées de façon irrégulière en dents grossières ou fines; base de la foliole terminale symétrique (f); base des folioles latérales asymétrique (g); feuilles caulinaires alternes (1 par noeud), semblables aux feuilles basilaires mais habituellement plus petites, moins divisées et courtement pétiolées; base des pétioles (h) large, plate et ailée, embrassant plus ou moins la tige au niveau du noeud.

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs individuelles très petites, blanches, en ombelles composées, sans bractées immédiatement sous l'ombelle (j). Floraison de juin à août.

Habitat : L'égopode podagraire a été largement cultivé comme couvre-sol vivace et vigoureux en raison de son robuste réseau de rhizomes étendus, mais ces mêmes caractères lui permettent d'échapper à la culture et d'envahir les pelouses, les haies, les jardins, les bords de routes et les terrains incultes, où on le trouve dans presque tout le sud de l'Ontario. Certaines formes cultivées ont des feuilles panachées, les folioles étant vertes au centre mais blanchâtres en bordure. Ces formes sont habituellement moins envahissantes que celles aux feuilles entièrement vertes.

Espèces similaires : L'égopode podagraire se caractérise par sa façon très envahissante de se répandre, ses rhizomes blanchâtres largement étendus et ses feuilles composées de 3 à 15 grandes folioles, la foliole terminale ayant habituellement une base symétrique (f) et les autres une base asymétrique (g).

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 28 octobre 2004
Dernière révision : 28 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca