Ontario Weeds: Goat's beard

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Leaves
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links
Name: Goat's-beard, Tragopogon dubius Scop.,

Other Names: Western goat's-beard, Yellow goat's-beard, salsifis majeur, Tragopogon major Jacq.

Family: Composite or Aster Family (Compositae

General Description: Biennial, occasionally annual or short-lived perennial, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Goat's beard

Goat's beard. A. Plant before flowering. B. Flower heaf about to open. C. Flower heaf in full bloom.
Goat's beard. A. Plant before flowering.
B. Flower heaf about to open. C. Flower heaf in full bloom.

D. Mature "seed" head. E. 1 "seed".
D. Mature "seed" head. E. 1 "seed".

Stems & Leaves: Stems 30-100cm (12-40in.) high, smooth, round, somewhat fleshy, from a deeply penetrating, thick taproot; stemless, juvenile annual plants and first-year biennials without stems resemble shoots of grass; Leaves - alternate (1 per node), long, linear, very grass-like but smooth and fleshy rather than firm or harsh; younger leaves somewhat downy-hairy; dry, brown, shriveled leaves from the previous year's rosette frequently persisting around the base of leafy-stemmed and flowering plants;

Flowers & Fruit: Flower heads large, 4-6cm (1¾-2¼in.) across, showy, pale lemon-yellow, borne singly at ends of stems and branches (resembling Meadow goat's-beard); stalk at the base of the flower head very thick, hollow, tapering gradually downwards to normal stem thickness; involucral bracts usually 10 or more, green, 2.5-4cm (1-¾in.) long at flowering, elongating to about 7.5cm (3in.) or longer as the seeds mature; only ray (strap-shaped) florets present, the outer ones opening first and the unopened inner florets somewhat resembling disk florets; flower heads opening and pointing towards the sun each morning, twisting slightly and following the sun until midday, and closing during the afternoon; mature seed head a white, fluffy sphere, 7-10cm (3-4in.) in diameter; each seed including its slender beak about 3cm (1¼in.) long and tipped with a white, umbrella-like circle of feathery bristles (pappus); whole plant, except the seed, with a white, milky juice. Flowers in June and July and occasionally continues until September.

Habitat: Goat's-beard occurs throughout Ontario in pastures, meadows, roadsides and occasionally gardens.

Similar Species: Flowering plants are distinguished by their long, smooth, slender grass-like leaves, their lemon yellow flower heads surrounded by usually 10 or more, slender, tapering, green involucral bracts which are longer than the yellow florets,their thick, hollow, gradually tapering stalks below the flower heads, and their large, spherical seed heads. Non-flowering plants are distinguished by their erect, fleshy. smooth-textured, grass-like leaves with milky juice, the leaves usually long, gradually tapering, and not having crisped or wrinkled margins, and their long, tapering taproots.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Salsifis majeur

Nom : Salsifis majeur, Tragopogon dubius Scop.,

Autres Noms : TRODM, goat's-beard, western goat's-beard, yellow goat's-beard, Tragopogon major Jacq.

Famille : famille des composées ou Astéracées - Marguerite 

Description générale : Plante bisannuelle, parfois annuelle ou vivace à vie courte, se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines).

Photos et illustrations

Salsifis majeur

Salsifis majeur. A. Plante avant la floraison B. Capitule prêt à s'ouvrir C. Capitule épanoui.

Salsifis majeur. A. Plante avant la floraison B. Capitule prêt à s'ouvrir C. Capitule épanoui.

D. Porte-graines à maturité E. Graine (akène aigretté).

D. Porte-graines à maturité E. Graine (akène aigretté).

 

Tiges et Rhizomes : Tiges de 30 à 100 cm (12-40 po) de hauteur, lisses, rondes, un peu charnues, issues d'une grosse racine pivotante profondément enracinée; feuilles alternes (1 par noeud), longues, linéaires, semblables à des brins d'herbe, mais douces et charnues plutôt que fermes et rêches; les feuilles plus jeunes un peu duveteuses; les feuilles sèches, brunes, flétries (a) de la rosette de l'année précédente persistant en général, à la base des tiges feuillues et des tiges florifères.

Fleurs et fruits : grands capitules voyants, de 4 à 6 cm (1 3/4-2 1/4 po) de diamètre, jaune citron pâle, portés individuellement au bout des tiges et des rameaux (semblables au salsifis des prés); pédoncules (b) creux, très épais à la base du capitule (c), s'amincissant graduellement pour atteindre l'épaisseur normale de la tige (d); involucre constitué de 10 bractées (e) ou plus, vertes, de 2,5 à 4 cm (1-1 3/4 po) de longueur à la floraison, atteignant 7,5 cm (3 po) ou plus à mesure que les graines mûrissent; fleurons en rayons (f) seulement, ceux externes s'ouvrant d'abord, les autres ayant l'air de former le disque; les capitules s'ouvrent et se tournent vers le soleil chaque matin, et le suivent jusqu'au milieu de la journée, pour se fermer l'après-midi; porte-graines (D) blanc, sphérique et duveteux, à maturité, atteignant de 7 à 10 cm (3-4 po) de diamètre; graine mûre longue d'environ 3 cm (1 1/4 po), son bec grêle y compris, coiffée d'une aigrette (g) circulaire en forme de parapluie renversé, blanche et duveteuse. Toutes les parties de la plante, sauf la graine, renferment un suc laiteux. Floraison en juin et juillet, parfois jusqu'en septembre.

Habitat : On trouve le salsifis majeur partout en Ontario, dans les pâturages, les prairies, au bord des routes et parfois dans les jardins.

Espèces similaires : Les plantes florifères se reconnaissent à leurs capitules jaune citron enserrés par 10 bractées (e) ou plus, vertes, effilées, dépassant les fleurons (f) jaunes, à leurs pédoncules (b) creux et épais sous les capitules, s'amincissant jusqu'à atteindre les dimensions normales de la tige, et à leur gros porte-graines sphérique. Les plantes non florifères se reconnaissent à leurs feuilles dressées, charnues, douces, à suc laiteux, semblables à des brins d'herbe, et à leurs longues racines pivotantes.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 25 novembre 2004
Dernière révision : 25 novembre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca