Ontario Weeds: Field Horsetail

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Caution
  8. Habitat
  9. Related Links

Name: Field horsetail, Equisetum arvense L., [EQUAR].

Other Names: Horse-pipes, Joint-grass, Mare's-tail, prèle des champs, queue-de-renard, prèle commune

Family: Horsetail Family (Equisetacae

General Description: Perennial. Never has flowers or seeds but reproduces by spores and by horizontal underground stems (rhizomes). Distinguished by its ashy-gray, unbranched, leafless shoots tipped with brownish, spore-producing cones in early spring, and later, from late spring or early summer onwards, by its whorls of 6 to 8 green, leafless branches and complete absence of flowers.

Photos and Pictures

Field horsetail - fruiting stage
Field horsetail, fruiting stage.

Field horsetail - vegetative stage

Field horsetail, vegetative stage.

Field horsetail - vegetative shoot, spore-producing reproductive shoot

Field Horsetail. A. Vegetative shoot (Green). B. Spore-producing reproductive shoot (whitish to light brown).

 

Stems & Roots: The rhizomes are dark brown or blackish, spread out for long distances and are often 1 m (3 1/3 ft) below the ground surface. They send up numerous aboveground shoots but of two different types at different times of the year. In early spring, the shoots are ashy-gray to light brown, unbranched, hollow, jointed stems; each node (joint) surround-ed by a toothed (b) sheath (a); and the tip of stem end-ing in a brownish, spore-producing cone (c). After the cones have shed their spores (early May) these whitish to light brown stems wither and die down. At the same time, the second type of shoot emerges from the ground. These are green, slender, erect, hollow stems, leafless but with whorls of 6 to 8 branches at nearly every node; each branch may branch again with whorls of smaller branches; stems and branches surrounded by a small, toothed sheath (d) at each node but never end in a spore-producing cone. Both kinds of stems are easily pulled apart at the nodes and can be fitted back together like sections of a stove pipe.

Flower and Fruit: The cones shed their spores in early May.

Habitat: Field horsetail occurs in all parts of Ontario in depressional areas with poorly drained soils, as well as in sandy or gravelly soils with good drainage such as railroad embankments and roadsides. An intense competitor, it can severely suppress crops and other plants.

Caution: It contains a substance which destroys vitamin B in animals. It is especially poisonous to young horses. Hay containing this weed may be more poisonous than fresh plants in the field.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Prèle des champs

Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario

Table des matières

  1. Nom
  2. Autres Noms
  3. Famille
  4. Description générale
  5. Tiges et rhizomes
  6. Fleurs et fruits
  7. Habitat
  8. Mise en garde
  9. Liens connexes

Nom : Prèle des champs, Equisetum arvense L.,

Autres noms : EQUAR, field horsetail, queue-de-renard, prèle, herbe à écurer, prèle commune, horse-pipes, joint-grass, mare's-tail

Famille : famille des Équisétacées - Prèle

Description générale : Plante vivace ne produisant ni fleurs ni graines, mais se reproduisant par spores et par tiges souterraines horizontales (rhizomes). La prèle se caractérise par l'absence de fleurs et par ses deux types de tiges, l'une gris cendre, non ramifiée, sans feuilles, se terminant par des cônes sporifères et apparaissant au début du printemps, l'autre portant des verticilles formés de 6 à 8 rameaux verts sans feuilles, apparaissant plus tard, vers la fin du printemps ou au début de l'été.

Photos et illustrations

Image de la Prèle des champs au stade fructifère.

Prèle des champs, stade fructifère.

Image de la Prèle des champs au stade végétatif.

Prèle des champs, stade végétatif.

Image de la Prèle des champs avec la tige stérile et la tige sporifère.

Prèle des champs. A. Tige stérile (verte). B. Tige sporifère (blanchâtre ou brun clair).

 

Tiges et rhizomes: Rhizomes brun foncé ou noirâtres rampant sur de longues distances, souvent à 1 mètre (3 1/3 pi) de profondeur. Ses rhizomes produisent à des moments différents de l'année de nombreuses tiges aériennes appartenant à deux types. Au début du printemps, elles sont gris cendre ou brun clair, non ramifiées, creuses et nouées (B, pl. 1) ; une gaine (a) dentée (b) entoure chaque noeud, et la tige se termine par un cône brun où se forment les spores (c) Après la dispersion des spores (début mai), les cônes pâlissent pour devenir brun clair, se fanent et meurent. Simultanément, un second type de tige apparaît, mince, dressée et creuse, (A, pl. 2) de couleur verte, sans feuilles, mais ornée d'un verticille de 6 à 8 rameaux presque à chaque noeud; chaque rameau pourra se ramifier et porter des verticilles plus petits; une petite gaine dentée (d) entoure chaque noeud de la tige et des rameaux; la tige ne se termine jamais par un cône sporifère. Les deux types de tiges se détachent facilement à l'endroit des noeuds et s'emboîtent comme les sections d'un tuyau de poêle.

Fleurs et fruits : Les cônes dispersent leurs spores au début du mois de mai.

Habitat : La prèle des champs se trouve partout en Ontario, tant dans les dépressions mal drainées que sur les sols sableux ou caillouteux bien drainés, comme les talus de chemins de fer et les bords de routes. La prèle est très envahissante et peut étouffer les plantes cultivées et non cultivées.

Mise en garde: Elle renferme, en outre, une substance qui détruit la vitamine B chez les animaux. Elle est particulièrement toxique pour les jeunes chevaux. Il se peut que la prèle séchée dans le foin soit plus toxique que la prèle fraîche.

| Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 2000
Dernière révision : 08 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca