Ontario Weeds: Dandelion

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Related Links

Name: Dandelion, Taraxacum officinale Weber,

Other Names: pissenlit, dent-de-lion, pissenlit officinal

Family: Composite or Aster Family (Compositae

General Description: Perennial, reproducing only by seed.

Photos and Pictures

Dandelion.  Flowers.


Dandelion.  Leaves.

Dandelion. A. Plant. G. 1 "seed".

Dandelion. A. Plant. G. 1 "seed".

 

B-F. Variations in shape and lobing of leaves on different plants.
B-F. Variations in shape and lobing of leaves on different plants.

 

B-F. Variations in shape and lobing of leaves on different plants.
B-F. Variations in shape and lobing of leaves on different plants.

Stems & Roots: Leaves in a basal rosette on a thick, deeply penetrating taproot, elongated, deeply and irregularly lobed along each side or sometimes just shallowly toothed, the amount and shape of lobing or toothing being extremely variable from one plant to another.

Flowers & Fruit: Flower heads showy, bright yellow, 3.2-5cm (1¼-2in.) across, borne singly on long, smooth, leafless, unbranched, hollow stalks which arise from among the rosette leaves; only ray (strap-shaped) florets present; outer row of involucral bracts short and spreading or bent down; seed heads white, more or less spherical, 3.5-5cm (1½-2in.) across; seeds long, slender with a slender beak tipped with a tuft of white hair (pappus or "parachute"); whole plant with sticky white juice. Flowers from early spring to late autumn.

Habitat: Dandelion occurs throughout Ontario in virtually every kind of habitat, from openings in deep woods to cultivated fields, from rocky hillsides to fertile gardens, and lawns.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from other plants with milky juice and lobed or divided leaves in rosette stage by the soft texture and irregular lobing of leaves, the absence of prickles on margins or midribs, the smooth or softly hairy leaf surfaces, and a deeply penetrating taproot. Flowering plants are distinguished by their large yellow flower heads with only ray (strap-shaped) florets and borne singly on long, unbranched, leafless, hollow stalks which arise from among the rosette leaves, these followed by white, spherical seed heads up to 5cm (2in.) in diameter.

Related Links

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario : Pissenlit

Nom : Pissenlit, Taraxacum officinale Weber,

Autres Noms : TAROF, dandelion, dent-de-lion, pissenlit officinal.

Famille : famille des composées ou Astéracées - Marguerite 

Description générale : Plante vivace se reproduisant seulement par germination (graines).

Photos et illustrations

Image de la Pissenlit : fleurs


Image de la Pissenlit : feuilles.

 

Image de la Pissenlit. A. Plante entière. G. Graine (akène aigretté).


Figure 225. Pissenlit.
A. Plante entière. G. Graine (akène aigretté).


B-F. Diversité des feuilles d'une plante à l'autre.
B-F. Diversité des feuilles d'une plante à l'autre.

B-F. Diversité des feuilles d'une plante à l'autre.
B-F. Diversité des feuilles d'une plante à l'autre.

 

Tiges et rhizomes : Feuilles en rosette basilaire à partir d'une racine pivotante (A, a) forte et bien enracinée, allongées, profondément et irrégulièrement lobées, parfois un peu dentées, lobes et dents variant considérablement d'une plante à l'autre (A-F).

Fleurs et fruits : capitules voyants, jaune vif, de 3,2 à 5 cm (1 1/4-2 po) de diamètre, solitaires sur des hampes longues, nues, sans feuilles, non ramifiées et creuses levant parmi les feuilles de la rosette; fleurons ligulés (rayons) seulement; bractées externes de l'involucre courtes et étalées ou réfléchies; porte-graines blanc, plus ou moins sphérique, de 3,5 à 5 cm (1 1/2-2 po) de diamètre; graines longues, minces, à bec effilé (c) surmonté d'une aigrette touffue blanche. Toutes les parties de la plante contiennent un suc laiteux collant. Floraison du début du printemps à la fin de l'automne.

 

Habitat : On trouve le pissenlit partout en Ontario, dans pratiquement tous les types d'habitats, des clairières en forêt aux champs cultivés, et des versants rocheux, aux jardins et aux pelouses.

Espèces similaires : Il se distingue, en rosette, des autres plantes à suc laiteux et à feuilles lobées ou divisées par ses feuilles douces, irrégulièrement lobées, parfois pubescentes, par l'absence de piquants sur le bord de ses feuilles et sur leurs nervures, et par sa longue racine pivotante, profondément enracinée. Les plantes florifères se reconnaissent à leurs grands capitules à rayons jaunes, portés individuellement sur des hampes longues, nues, creuses et non ramifiées, levant parmi les feuilles de la rosette, et par ses porte-graines blancs, sphériques, pouvant atteindre 5 cm (2 po) de diamètre.

| Retour à La galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes

 


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 01 juillet 2000
Dernière révision : 08 octobre 2004

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca