Ontario Weeds: Cypress spurge

Return to the Ontario Weeds Gallery

Excerpt from Publication 505, Ontario Weeds, Order this publication

Table of Contents

  1. Name
  2. Other Names
  3. Family
  4. General Description
  5. Stems and Roots
  6. Flowers and Fruit
  7. Habitat
  8. Similar Species
  9. Caution
  10. Related Links

Name: Cypress spurge, Euphorbia cyparissias L.,

Other Names: euphorbe cyprès, Graveyard spurge, Graveyard weed, Poor man's-hedge, rhubarhe des pauvres

Family: Spurge Family (Euphorbiaceae)

General Description: Perennial reproducing by seed and from widely spreading, much-branched underground roots with numerous pink buds and forming dense stands.

Photos and Pictures

Cypress Spurge

Cypress Spurge

Cypress Spurge

Cypress Spurge

Cypress Spurge

Stems & Roots: Stems erect 10-80cm (4-32in.) high, usually much-branched above; leaves alternate (1 per node), very numerous, small, narrow, linear or club-shaped; tip of stem at beginning of inflorescence (flowering branches) with a whorl of 10 or more shorter leaves.

Flowers & Fruit: Flowers yellowish-green on a many-branched umbel (usually 10 or more main branches) at the tip of the main stem and on the upper branches; leaf-like bracts of the inflorescence short and broad, heart-shaped, tapering towards the pointed tip, at first light yellowish-green but usually turning reddish-green towards maturity; flowers very small, unisexual, without sepals or petals, and crowded together in a complex structure called a cyathium, like those described for Leafy spurge); one little cyathium between each pair of bracts throughout the inflorescence; each flower cluster producing a 3-lobed seedpod containing 1 to 3 egg-shaped, smooth, grayish seeds 1.5-2mm (1/16-1/12in.) long. The whole plant contains an acrid sticky white juice. Flowering begins in late spring or early summer and may continue intermittently until late autumn.

Habitat: Two kinds of Cypress spurge occur in Ontario, a sterile diploid form which does not produce viable seed, and a fertile tetraploid form which produces abundant fertile seed. The sterile form, reproducing only from underground parts was once commonly cultivated in gardens and cemeteries. It has persisted in many localities and occasionally spreads vegetatively to surrounding roadsides and waste places. This form occurs throughout Ontario. The fertile form which can reproduce by seed as well as by underground parts has become a rampant and troublesome weed in Dufferin County and in the Braeside area of eastern Renfrew County, occupying hundreds of hectares of pasture, abandoned cultivated land, woodland, and roadsides.

Similar Species: It is distinguished from most other plants by its milky juice, its spreading perennial roots with pink buds, its numerous, small slender leaves, and its yellowish-green inflorescence, from the upright annual spurges (Petty, Sun and Broad-leaved) by its perennial habit, and from these and Leafy spurge by its slender stems with numerous, crowded, narrow leaves, its umbel with usually more than 10 slender branches from the tip of the main stem, its heart-shaped bracts or leaves in the inflorescence tapering towards the tip, and by the production of densely leafy branches after early summer flowering.

Caution: Although sheep can be forced to eat Cypress spurge and may develop a preference for it, the literature suggests it may be toxic to cattle and horses. The milky juice can be irritating on bare skin and cause a potentially serious rash for some people.

Related Links

... on general Weed topics
... on weed identification, order OMAFRA Publication 505: Ontario Weeds
... on weed control, order OMAFRA Publication 75: Guide To Weed Control

 

| Back to the Ontario Weeds Gallery |


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 01 June 2002
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2003

Les mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario :
Euphorbe cyprès

Nom : Euphorbe cyprès, Euphorbia cyparissias L.,

Autres Noms : EPHCY, cypress spurge, graveyard spurge, rhubarbe des pauvres, rhubarbe du paysan, graveyard weed, poor man's-hedge.

Famille : famille des Euphorbiacées - Euphorbe

Description générale : plante vivace se reproduisant par germination (graines) et par des racines très étalées et ramifiées qui portent de nombreux bourgeons roses et forment des peuplements denses.

Photos et illustrations

Euphorbe cyprès

Euphorbe cyprès

Euphorbe cyprès

Euphorbe cyprès

Euphorbe cyprès
Euphorbe cyprès.

Tiges et rhizomes : tiges dressées, de 10 à 80 cm (4-32 po) de hauteur, habituellement très ramifiées au sommet; feuilles alternes (1 par noeud) (a), très nombreuses, petites, étroites, linéaires ou en forme de gourdin; sommet de la tige, sous l'inflorescence (rameaux florifères), garni d'un verticille de 10 feuilles courtes ou plus (b).

Feuilles :feuilles alternes (1 par noeud) (a), très nombreuses, petites, étroites, linéaires ou en forme de gourdin; sommet de la tige, sous l'inflorescence (rameaux florifères), garni d'un verticille de 10 feuilles courtes ou plus (b)

Fleurs et fruits : fleurs jaune verdâtre sur une ombelle très ramifiée (habituellement 10 axes principaux ou plus) au sommet de la tige principale et sur les rameaux supérieurs; bractées (c) de l'inflorescence foliacées, courtes et larges, cordées, s'effilant à leur extrémité, d'abord vert-jaune clair mais habituellement vert rougeâtre à la maturité; fleurs minuscules, unisexuées, sans sépales ni pétales, groupées en une structure complexe appelée cyathe semblable à celle de l'euphorbe ésule (fig. 112B); cyathes dispersés dans toute l'inflorescence entre les paires de bractées; chaque bouquet de fleurs produisant une capsule trilobée qui contient de 1 à 3 graines ovoïdes, lisses, grisâtres, longues de 1,5 à 2 mm (1/16-1/12 po). Toutes les parties de la plante contiennent un suc blanc, âcre et collant. Floraison depuis la fin du printemps ou le début de l'été, se poursuivant parfois, de façon intermittente, jusque tard à l'automne.

Habitat : on trouve deux variétés d'euphorbe cyprès en Ontario, une forme diploïde stérile qui ne produit pas de graines viables, et une forme tétraploïde fertile qui produit de nombreuses graines fertiles. La forme stérile, qui se multiplie seulement par ses parties souterraines, était autrefois communément cultivée dans les jardins et les cimetières. Elle a survécu dans de nombreuses localités et s'étend en bordure des routes et dans les terrains incultes environnants. On la trouve partout en Ontario. La forme fertile, qui peut se reproduire par germination aussi bien que par ses parties souterraines, est devenue une mauvaise herbe rampante qui suscite de l'inquiétude dans le comté de Dufferin et dans la région de Braeside située dans l'est du comté de Renfrew, où elle a envahi des centaines d'hectares de pâturage, de terres cultivées abandonnées, de régions boisées et de bords de route.

Espèces similaires : elle se distingue de la plupart des autres plantes par son suc laiteux, ses racines vivaces traçantes à bourgeons roses, ses feuilles nombreuses, petites et étroites, et son inflorescence vert jaunâtre. Elle se différencie des euphorbes annuelles à port dressé (euphorbe peplus, euphorbe réveille-matin et euphorbe à grandes feuilles) grâce à son type de croissance vivace. En outre, les caractères suivants permettent de la reconnaître non seulement parmi les plantes précédentes, mais également parmi des plants d'euphorbe ésule : tiges fines, garnies de nombreuses feuilles étroites, serrées les unes contre les autres; ombelles habituellement composées de plus de 10 axes frêles prenant naissance au sommet de la tige principale; inflorescence à bractées ou feuilles cordées s'effilant vers le sommet; rameaux devenant abondamment feuillus après la floraison en début d'été.

Mise en garde: bien qu'on puisse obliger les moutons à ingérer l'euphorbe cyprès et qu'ils préfèrent ensuite cette plante, la documentation à ce sujet précise qu'elle est toxique pour les bovins et les chevaux. Son suc laiteux peut irriter la peau nue et provoquer des démangeaisons graves chez certaines personnes.

| Retour à la galerie de mauvaises herbes de l'Ontario |


Liens connexes


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca